DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. This application, filed November 26, 2024, is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/377,663, filed October 6, 2023, which issued as U.S. Patent No. US 12,154,325 B2 on November 26, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Double Patenting
4. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,783,574 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, and 7 of US 11,783,574 disclose, teach, and suggest all the limitations of claim 1 of the current application.
Claims 2-7 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 because claims 2-7 depend from claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,783,574 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 6 and 7 of US 11,783,574 disclose, teach, and suggest all the limitations of claim 8 of the current application.
Claims 9-15 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 8 because claims 9-15 depend from claim 8.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,783,574 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 7, and 12 of US 11,783,574 disclose, teach, and suggest all the limitations of claim 16 of the current application.
Claims 17-20 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 16 because claims 17-20 depend from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. (US 2021/0233198 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wells discloses:
a method for determining whether a personal mobility vehicle (PMV) is parked correctly ([0003]), comprising:
sensing, by one or more sensors of the PMV, a signal corresponding to an orientation of the PMV ([0018]);
receiving, by a server or an application on a user device, the signal corresponding to an orientation of the PMV ([0013], [0018], [0032]; FIG. 1; FIG. 2: 243);
determining, by the server or an application on the user device, a sensed orientation of the PMV ([0032]; FIG. 3A; FIG. 3B);
determining, by the server or an application on the user device, based on the sensed orientation, whether the PMV satisfies one or more parking rules ([0013], [0018]),
Wells does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the parking rules is that the PMV is in an upright position, but Wells does disclose parking rules ([0013], ([0026]); Wells does disclose determining whether a vehicle is parked in a permissible location or orientation ([0016], [0018]); and Wells does disclose that a vehicle parked upright is parked in a permissible area and orientation ([0032]; FIG. 3A), all of which suggests that the method of Wells comprises that at least one of the parking rules is that the PMV is in an upright position for the benefit of issuing an alert when the vehicle is impermissibly parked on the ground ([0022], [0032]);
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Wells in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to issue an alert when the vehicle is impermissibly parked on the ground; and
Wells does not explicitly disclose providing, by the server to a user application, an indication of the upright position to the user, but Wells does disclose that the method comprises a client device that executes an application and communicates with a micro-mobility service ([0011], [0013]; FIG. 1: 110, 140); Wells does disclose that the machine learning model outputs whether an image shows a validly parked vehicle ([0019], [0020]); Wells does disclose issuing an alert to a client device when the method determines that a vehicle is impermissibly parked ([0022]); Wells does disclose that the method penalizes a user when the user impermissibly parks a vehicle; and Wells does disclose that the method logs an indication in a user profile database that the user did, or did not, repark a vehicle in a permissible location following an alert ([0022]); all of which suggests that the method of Wells comprises providing, by the server to a user application, an indication of the upright positions to the user for the benefit of notifying the user that the user has complied with the rules of the method and will not be penalized;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Wells in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to notify a user that the user has complied with the rules of the method and will not be penalized.
Regarding claim 2, Wells discloses obtaining, by an application on a user device, an image of the PMV ([0017]); inputting, by the server or the application on the user device, the image into a machine learning model ([0019], [0026]); and wherein determining whether the PMV satisfies the one or more parking rules includes determining, by the server or the application, based on the image and the signal, whether the PMV is in an upright position ([0020], [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Wells discloses that the indication comprises a completion indication. ([0019], [0022], [0026])
Regarding claim 4, Wells discloses that the indication comprises an instruction to repark the parked PMV because the parked PMV does not satisfy one or more of the one or more parking rules. ([0030])
Regarding claim 5, Wells discloses: obtaining, by the application on a user device, a second image of the parked PMV ([0017]); generating, by the server or the application on the user device, and the machine learning model, a second indication of whether the parked PMV satisfies the one or more parking rules ([0020], [0026]); and providing, by the application, the second indication of whether the parked PMV satisfies the one or more parking rules to a display of the user device ([0013], [0018], [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Wells discloses that signal comprises data from a gyroscope of the PMV. ([0018]; Wells discloses an accelerometer, and a gyroscope is a type of accelerometer.)
Regarding claim 7, Wells discloses that the signal comprises data from an accelerometer of the PMV. ([0018])
Regarding claim 8, Wels discloses:
a method for validating the upright position of a parked personal mobility vehicle (PMV) ([0003]), comprising:
capturing, by an application on a user device, an image of the parked PMV using a camera ([0017], [0019]);
processing, by a server or the application on the user device, the captured image using a machine learning model to identify the PMV’s position and orientation ([0019], [0020]);
determining, by a server or the application on the user device, whether the PMV is upright based on the identified position and orientation ([0018], [0032]; FIG. 3A; FIG. 3B); and
providing, by the application on the user device, a validation result indicating whether the PMV is upright ([0020], [0022]).
Wells does not explicitly disclose providing, by the application on the suer device, a validation result indicating whether the PMV is upright, but Wells does disclose that the method comprises a client device that executes an application and communicates with a micro-mobility service ([0011], [0013]; FIG. 1: 110, 140); Wells does disclose that the machine learning model outputs whether an image shows a validly parked vehicle ([0019], [0020]); Wells does disclose issuing an alert to a client device when the method determines that a vehicle is impermissibly parked ([0022]); Wells does disclose that the method penalizes a user when the user impermissibly parks a vehicle; and Wells does disclose that the method logs an indication in a user profile database that the user did, or did not, repark a vehicle in a permissible location following an alert ([0022]); all of which suggests that the method of Wells comprises providing, by the application on the user device, a validation result indicating whether the PMV is upright for the benefit of notifying the user that the user has complied with the rules of the method and will not be penalized;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Wells in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to notify a user that the user has complied with the rules of the method and will not be penalized.
Regarding claim 10, Wells discloses that the validation result comprises a completion indication. ([0019], [0022], [0026])
Regarding claim 11, Wells discloses that the validation result comprises an instruction to repark the parked PMV because the parked PMV does not satisfy one or more parking rules. ([0030])
Regarding claim 12, Wells discloses obtaining, by the application on a user device, a second image of the parked PMV ([0017]); generating, by the server or the application on the user device, and the machine learning model, a second indication of whether the parked PMV satisfies the one or more parking rules ([0020], [0026]); and providing, by the application, the second indication of whether the parked PMV satisfies the one or more parking rules to a display of the user device ([0013], [0018], [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Wells discloses obtaining, by the server or the application on a user device, sensor data from one or more sensors of the parked PMV ([0017], [0018]); inputting, by the server or the application on the user device, the sensor data into the machine learning model ([0019]); and wherein determining whether the PMV satisfies one or more parking rules includes determining, by the server or the application, based on the sensor data and the image, whether the PMV is in an upright position ([0018], [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Wells discloses that sensor data comprises data from a gyroscope of the PMV. ([0018]; Wells discloses an accelerometer, and a gyroscope is a type of accelerometer.)
Regarding claim 15, Wells discloses 15. The method of claim 13, wherein the sensor data comprises data from an accelerometer of the PMV. ([0018])
Regarding claim 16, Wells discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a series of instructions to perform a method. ([0035], [0036])
The remainder of claim 16 is rejected as claim 1.
Claims 17 is rejected as claim 2.
Claim 18 is rejected as claim 4.
Claim 19 is rejected as claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Wells discloses obtaining, by the server or the application on a user device, sensor data from one or more sensors of the parked PMV ([0017], [0018]); inputting, by the server or the application on the user device, the sensor data into the machine learning model ([0019]); and wherein determining whether the PMV satisfies the one or more parking rules includes determining, by the server or the application, based on the sensor data and the image, whether the PMV is in an upright position ([0018], [0032]).
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0279489 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wells discloses a machine learning model is trained on a dataset of images depicting parked vehicles in various orientations ([0019], [0020]).
Wells does not disclose a convolutional neural network.
Liu, addressing the same problem of how to configure a machine learning model for application to parking a vehicle, teaches a method, system, and computer program for determining the location of a parked vehicle using video and vehicle sensor analysis ([0001]), wherein the method comprises a convolutional neural network ([0031]) for the benefit of generating a trained parking scene recognition model that determines if a vehicle is in a parking scene or not ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Liu with the method of Wells because that would have enabled the method to generate a trained parking scene recognition model that determines if a vehicle is in a parking scene or not.
Conclusion
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689