DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 28 November 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-10, 21-25, 27, 31 and 32. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 10 and 21-23, as well as the cancellation of claims 6, 26 and 28-30 and the addition of claims 31 and 32.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “base at an end of the insertion portion” (claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Additionally, while the PCB itself is shown, the “(PCB) encased within the base” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: at line 12 of claim 1, “in response” should apparently read –in response to--; at line 2 of claim 7, “of as a number” should apparently read –as a number--; at line 14 of claim 21, “in response” should apparently read –in response to--;. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-5, 7-10, 21-25, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
7. At line 16 of claim 1, it is unclear if “the capacitive parameters” refers to “at least two capacitive sensors” or “a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor” recited at lines 4-5.
8. At line 3 of claim 2, it is unclear if “the capacitive parameters” refers to “at least two capacitive sensors” or “a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor” recited at lines 4-5 of claim 1.
9. At line 1 of claim 3, it is unclear if “the capacitive parameters” refers to “at least two capacitive sensors” or “a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor” recited at lines 4-5 of claim 1.
10. At line 1 of claim 4, it is unclear if “the capacitive parameters” refers to “at least two capacitive sensors” or “a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor” recited at lines 4-5 of claim 1.
11. At line 8 of claim 21, it is unclear if “the capacitive parameters” refers to “at least two capacitive sensors” or “a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor” recited at lines 3-4.
12. At line 3 of claim 22, it is unclear if “the capacitive parameters” refers to “at least two capacitive sensors” or “a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor” recited at lines 3-4 of claim 21.
13. Claim 22 at line 2 recites the limitation "the cavity". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
14. At line 4 of claim 31, it is unclear if “a motor” is the same as or different than “a motor” recited at line 9 of claim 1. For purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as the same motor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 1-5, 7-10, 21-25, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veaux (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0252265) in view of Zipper (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0000642) and further in view of Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0236151). Regarding claims 1, 7 and 8, Veaux discloses a sex toy 10 (Fig. 1 and [0042]), comprising:
a housing (of flexible material - [0042]) having a phallic shape; the toy constitutes a housing given the processor and associated components may be incorporated therein (0047] and [0053]), the housing comprising a main body upper side (top side of 12) and a main body lower side (opposite of top side, and referred to as “the underside, forwardmost portion 19” [0042]), forming an insertion portion 12 that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1-2 and [0042]-[0043]);
at least two capacitive sensors 16, including a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor (on different rows of the array) ([0045]-[0046] and Figs. 1-5),
at least one of the capacitive sensors 16 being provided in the main body upper side (Fig. 1), and at least one of the capacitive sensors 16 being provided in the main body lower side (“array 14 of sensors 16 includes a denser portion 18 on the underside, forwardmost portion 19 of the external portion 12” [0042]); a motor [0027]; and a silicone case (flexible material such as silicone) that covers the insertion portion where the capacitive sensors are provided (sensors 16 may be just beneath the surface of the insertion portion 12 – [0042]).
However, Veaux fails to disclose explicitly that the housing constitutes a shell, wherein the main body upper side and the main body lower side constitute a shell. Zipper discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux, wherein the toy comprises a housing, wherein the housing comprises a shell, having a phallic shape, comprising a main body upper shell 412 and a main body lower shell 411 forming an insertion portion that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1 and 5 and [0089]), wherein the sensors and associated electrical circuitry/components are mounted within the shells [0079], wherein the shells may comprise a recess for physiological sensors as shown in Fig. 5 on shell 412 and described at [0135] and [0090]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a housing for incorporating mechanical and electrical components of a sex toy as taught by Veaux ([0027] and [0042]), to comprise a main body upper shell and a main body lower shell as taught by Zipper, as Veaux recognizes that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), and Zipper teaches that mechanical/electrical/sensing components may require different support structures/hardware for mounting/housing each.
However, the combination of Veaux and Zipper fails to disclose explicitly that the motor is operable to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a first vibration level in response to the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor being triggered, and to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a second vibration level in response to in response to the first capacitive sensor being triggered while the second capacitive sensor is not triggered, wherein the sex toy generates greater vibrations at the first vibration level than at the second vibration level.
Lee discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux and Zipper (Abstract), wherein the toy comprises capacitive sensors 22’A-22’C, wherein the capacitive sensors signal a change in the motor ([0017] and [0024]) to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a first vibration level in response to a first capacitive sensor being triggered, and to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a second vibration level in response to the first capacitive sensor being triggered while the second capacitive sensor is not triggered,
wherein the sex toy generates greater vibrations at the first vibration level than at the second vibration level ([0018]: activation of sensor A produces a low level of activation of the vibration; activations of sensors A and B produces a second or medium level of activation/vibration; and activation of sensors A, B and C produces a third or high level of activation of the vibrator; additionally, if 22A is the first (and only) sensor triggered, which would be the case upon initial insertion into the body cavity, the vibrations are lower than if both 22A and 22B are triggered [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a motor for providing vibratory output corresponding to sensed conditions as taught by Veaux and Zipper, to generate vibrations that increase in accordance with the particular sensor being triggered as suggested by Lee, as Veaux recognizes that tactile output provided to the user may be proportional to the intensity of touch/pressure sensed [0038], and Lee teaches that the tactile output may be vibration, which increases with the particular sensors being activated [0018].
Regarding claim 2, while Veaux teaches that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), Veaux fails to disclose explicitly that the motor is positioned within a cavity formed by the main body upper shell and the main body lower shell, and is located in an area of the insertion portion where the capacitive sensors are provided. Zipper discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux, wherein the toy comprises a housing, wherein the housing comprises a shell comprising a main body upper shell 412 and a main body lower shell 411 forming an insertion portion that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1 and 5 and [0089]), wherein the sensors, associated electrical circuitry/components, and vibratory motor 204 are mounted within the shells in an area of the sensors ([0079], [0081] and Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a housing for incorporating mechanical and electrical components of a sex toy as taught by Veaux ([0027] and [0042]), to contain the motor within the main body upper shell and the main body lower shell as taught by Zipper, as Veaux recognizes that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), and Zipper teaches that mechanical/electrical/sensing components and motors contained within the shells/housing provide for a unitary, compact structure ([0081] and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Veaux teaches that the capacitive sensors 16 are encased on an internal surface of each of the main body upper side (Fig. 1), and the main body lower side (“array 14 of sensors 16 includes a denser portion 18 on the underside, forwardmost portion 19 of the external portion 12” [0042]). However, Veaux fails to disclose explicitly that the main body upper side (Fig. 1), and the main body lower side each constitute a shell. Zipper discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux, wherein the toy comprises a housing, wherein the housing comprises a shell comprising a main body upper shell 412 and a main body lower shell 411 forming an insertion portion that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1 and 5 and [0089]), wherein the sensors and associated electrical circuitry/components are mounted within the shells [0079], wherein the shells may comprise a recess for physiological sensors as shown in Fig. 5 on shell 412 and described at [0135] and [0090]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a housing for incorporating mechanical and electrical components of a sex toy as taught by Veaux ([0027] and [0042]), to comprise a main body upper shell and a main body lower shell as taught by Zipper, as Veaux recognizes that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), and Zipper teaches that mechanical/electrical/sensing components may require different support structures/hardware for mounting/housing each.
Regarding claim 4, the capacitive sensors 16 of Veaux are arranged along an insertion direction of the sex toy (Fig. 1 and [0042]), to enable triggering of different numbers of the at least two capacitive sensors at different insertion depths of the sex toy (intended use, though capable thereof [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, the at least two capacitive sensors 16 of Veaux have substantially the same shape and area (Fig. 1 and [0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Veaux teaches that the sex toy further comprises: a base at an end of the insertion portion 12; and at least one printed circuit board 150 encased within the base (Fig. 9; [0027], [0029], [0060] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Veaux teaches that each of the capacitive sensors 16 connects to the PCB by conductive elements/wiring [0027].
Regarding claims 21 and 27, Veaux discloses an operation method for a sex toy 10 (Fig. 1 and [0042]), the sex toy comprising: a housing (of flexible material - [0042]) having a phallic shape; the toy constitutes a housing given the processor and associated components may be incorporated therein (0047] and [0053]), the housing comprising a main body upper side (top side of 12) and a main body lower side (opposite of top side, and referred to as “the underside, forwardmost portion 19” [0042]), forming an insertion portion 12 that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1-2 and [0042]-[0043]),
at least two capacitive sensors 16, including a first capacitive sensor and a second capacitive sensor (on different rows of the array) ([0045]-[0046] and Figs. 1-5)
at least one of the capacitive sensors 16 being provided in the main body upper side (Fig. 1), and at least one of the capacitive sensors 16 being provided in the main body lower side (“array 14 of sensors 16 includes a denser portion 18 on the underside, forwardmost portion 19 of the external portion 12” [0042]), a motor [0027], and a silicone case (flexible material such as silicone) that covers the insertion portion where the capacitive sensors are provided (sensors 16 may be just beneath the surface of the insertion portion 12 – [0042]), the method comprising:
driving the motor to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at various intensity levels corresponding to levels sensed by the capacitive sensors [0046].
However, Veaux fails to disclose explicitly that the housing constitutes a shell, wherein the main body upper side and the main body lower side constitute a shell. Zipper discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux, wherein the toy comprises a housing, wherein the housing comprises a shell, having a phallic shape, comprising a main body upper shell 412 and a main body lower shell 411 forming an insertion portion that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1 and 5 and [0089]), wherein the sensors and associated electrical circuitry/components are mounted within the shells [0079], wherein the shells may comprise a recess for physiological sensors as shown in Fig. 5 on shell 412 and described at [0135] and [0090]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a housing for incorporating mechanical and electrical components of a sex toy as taught by Veaux ([0027] and [0042]), to comprise a main body upper shell and a main body lower shell as taught by Zipper, as Veaux recognizes that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), and Zipper teaches that mechanical/electrical/sensing components may require different support structures/hardware for mounting/housing each.
However, the combination of Veaux and Zipper fails to disclose explicitly that the motor is driven to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a first vibration level in response to the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor being triggered, and driving the motor to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a second vibration level in response to the first capacitive sensor being triggered while the second sensor is not triggered, wherein the sex toy generates greater vibrations at the first vibration level than at the second vibration level.
Lee discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux and Zipper (Abstract), wherein the toy comprises capacitive sensors 22’A-22’C, wherein the capacitive sensors signal a change in the motor ([0017] and [0024]) to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a first vibration level in response to a first capacitive sensor being triggered, and to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a second vibration level in response to the first capacitive sensor being triggered while the second capacitive sensor is not triggered,
wherein the sex toy generates greater vibrations at the first vibration level than at the second vibration level ([0018]: activation of sensor A produces a low level of activation of the vibration; activations of sensors A and B produces a second or medium level of activation/vibration; and activation of sensors A, B and C produces a third or high level of activation of the vibrator; additionally, if 22A is the first (and only) sensor triggered, which would be the case upon initial insertion into the body cavity, the vibrations are lower than if both 22A and 22B are triggered [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a motor for providing vibratory output corresponding to sensed conditions as taught by Veaux and Zipper, to generate vibrations that increase in accordance with the particular sensor being triggered as suggested by Lee, as Veaux recognizes that tactile output provided to the user may be proportional to the intensity of touch/pressure sensed [0038], and Lee teaches that the tactile output may be vibration, which increases with the particular sensors being activated [0018].
Regarding claim 22 and in view of its indefinite nature, while Veaux teaches that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), Veaux fails to disclose explicitly that the motor is positioned within a cavity formed by the main body upper shell and the main body lower shell, and is located in an area of the insertion portion where the capacitive sensors are provided. Zipper discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux, wherein the toy comprises a housing, wherein the housing comprises a shell comprising a main body upper shell 412 and a main body lower shell 411 forming an insertion portion that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1 and 5 and [0089]), wherein the sensors, associated electrical circuitry/components, and vibratory motor 204 are mounted within the shells in an area of the sensors ([0079], [0081] and Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a housing for incorporating mechanical and electrical components of a sex toy as taught by Veaux ([0027] and [0042]), to contain the motor within the main body upper shell and the main body lower shell as taught by Zipper, as Veaux recognizes that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), and Zipper teaches that mechanical/electrical/sensing components and motors contained within the shells/housing provide for a unitary, compact structure ([0081] and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, Veaux teaches that the capacitive sensors 16 are encased on an internal surface of each of the main body upper side (Fig. 1), and the main body lower side (“array 14 of sensors 16 includes a denser portion 18 on the underside, forwardmost portion 19 of the external portion 12” [0042]). However, Veaux fails to disclose explicitly that the main body upper side (Fig. 1), and the main body lower side each constitute a shell. Zipper discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux, wherein the toy comprises a housing, wherein the housing comprises a shell comprising a main body upper shell 412 and a main body lower shell 411 forming an insertion portion that is insertable into a human body (Figs. 1 and 5 and [0089]), wherein the sensors and associated electrical circuitry/components are mounted within the shells [0079], wherein the shells may comprise a recess for physiological sensors as shown in Fig. 5 on shell 412 and described at [0135] and [0090]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a housing for incorporating mechanical and electrical components of a sex toy as taught by Veaux ([0027] and [0042]), to comprise a main body upper shell and a main body lower shell as taught by Zipper, as Veaux recognizes that the housing may incorporate various mechanical/electrical/sensing components ([0027] and [0042]), and Zipper teaches that mechanical/electrical/sensing components may require different support structures/hardware for mounting/housing each.
Regarding claim 24, the capacitive sensors 16 of Veaux are arranged along an insertion direction of the sex toy (Fig. 1 and [0042]), to enable triggering of different numbers of the at least two capacitive sensors at different insertion depths of the sex toy (intended use, though capable thereof [0042]).
Regarding claim 25, the at least two capacitive sensors 16 of Veaux have substantially the same shape and area (Fig. 1 and [0046]).
Regarding claim 26, the capacitive sensors 16 of Veaux are arranged such that at least two capacitive sensors are configured to be triggered simultaneously when the sex toy comes into contact with human body as the capacitive sensors of Veaux are presented in an array 14 (Fig. 1 and [0042].
Regarding claim 28, the method further comprises transmitting the number of the capacitive sensors that are triggered to a first device 54 (Fig. 3 and [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 29, the method further comprises transmitting the number of the capacitive sensors that are triggered from the first device 54 to a second device 56’ (Fig. 3 and [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Veaux teaches the at least two capacitive sensors 16 include the first capacitive sensor, the second capacitive sensor and a third capacitive sensor (on different rows of the array) ([0045]-[0046] and Figs. 1-5), however the combination of Veaux and Zipper fails to disclose explicitly that the motor is configured to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a third vibration level in response to the first capacitive sensor, the second capacitive sensor and the third capacitive sensor being triggered,
wherein the sex toy generates greater vibrations at the third vibration level than at the first vibration level.
Lee discloses a sex toy insertable into a human body, as likewise disclosed by Veaux and Zipper (Abstract), wherein the toy comprises capacitive sensors 22’A-22’C, wherein the capacitive sensors signal a change in the motor ([0017] and [0024]) to cause the sex toy to generate vibrations at a third vibration level in response to first, second and third capacitive sensors being triggered, and to cause the sex toy to generate greater vibrations at a third vibration level greater than at the first vibration level ([0018]: activation of sensor A produces a low level of activation of the vibration; activations of sensors A and B produces a second or medium level of activation/vibration; and activation of sensors A, B and C produces a third or high level of activation of the vibrator; additionally, if 22A is the first (and only) sensor triggered, which would be the case upon initial insertion into the body cavity, the vibrations are lower than if both 22A and 22B are triggered [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a motor for providing vibratory output corresponding to sensed conditions as taught by Veaux and Zipper, to generate vibrations that increase in accordance with all sensors being triggered as suggested by Lee, as Veaux recognizes that tactile output provided to the user may be proportional to the intensity of touch/pressure sensed [0038], and Lee teaches that the tactile output may be vibration, which increases with the number of sensors being activated [0018].
Response to Arguments
18. Applicant’s arguments filed 28 November 2025 with respect to the Drawings have been fully considered and while some objections were resolved, the base at an end of the insertion portion is not shown, as outlined above.
19. Applicant’s arguments filed 28 November 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 and 21-30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments.
20. Applicant’s arguments filed 28 November 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 4, 6, 22, 24 and 26-30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered, however new grounds of rejection are presented above in light of the amendments.
21. Applicant’s arguments filed 28 November 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 and 21-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Veaux in view of Zipper and Lee have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant contends that Lee does not disclose that the intensity of the vibration increases as the number of sensors triggered increases; for example, Lee does not disclose that two sensors must be triggered to produce an increased level of vibration (or that three must be triggered to produce a further increased level of vibration as recited in claims 31 and 32). However, this argument is not persuasive. It is noted that the claim language as of this amendment appears to reflect triggering of one sensor while the other sensor is not triggered (for claim 1), or triggering two (or three) sensors, but does not appear to recite explicitly that the intensity of the vibration increases as the number of sensors triggered increases. However, it is taken from Lee at [0018] that activation of sensor A produces a low level of activation of the vibration; activations of sensors A and B produces a second or medium level of activation/vibration; and activation of sensors A, B and C produces a third or high level of activation of the vibrator, which would read on the level of vibration increasing as the number of sensors are activated. Lee is interpreted to mean that sensors A and B would continue to be activated if sensor C is activated, as sensor C would not be activated until the device reached a deeper level of insertion in the body cavity. In view of the foregoing, the rejection claims 1-5, 7-10 and 21-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Veaux in view of Zipper and Lee has been maintained.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791