DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 04/22/2026.
Claims 1-20 received on 04/22/2026 are considered in this Office Action.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 05/21/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claims 1 and 19-20 under 35 USC § 102/103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In the Remarks, Applicant argues that prior arts cited by the Examiner fails to disclose the following additional new limitations: the first form displays both the sensitive information and the one or more interactive controls and the second form displays the one or more interactive controls and omits the sensitive information.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kurian (US20190294773A1) specifically teaches replacing or hiding sensitive information while retaining the interactive controls, thus teaching displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle (para. [0049]: “For example, in a private mode (e.g., a mode that may be active when a user is alone using the system—e.g., a driver is in a vehicle with no passengers)”, wherein driver corresponds to first user in the vehicle), wherein the first form displays both the sensitive information and the one or more interactive controls (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may display and/or otherwise present a graphical user interface similar to graphical user interface 800, which is illustrated in FIG. 8. […] For example, if the vehicle is in private mode, the entire content of the text message may be displayed.”); or
displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle (para. [0130]: “the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service),”), wherein the second form displays the one or more interactive controls and omits the sensitive information, such that an information amount of the first information displayed in the second form is less than an information amount of the first information displayed in the first form (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may display and/or otherwise present a graphical user interface similar to graphical user interface 800, which is illustrated in FIG. 8. […] Based on a privacy mode that is active in the vehicle, more or less information may be displayed on the screen. […] But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”; Abstract: “The vehicle computing platform may, based on the passenger sensor data indicating that the passenger seat in the vehicle is occupied, obscure information on a screen of the vehicle”; para. [0090]: “For example, if a public privacy mode is active, if a text message is received and displayed on a screen, a false or shortened phone number (e.g., instead of a full phone number, just display the first digit, the last digit, a middle digit, asterisks, or the like), a shortened name or nickname (e.g., instead of a spouse's name, display “Spouse” or “Person 1,” or a nickname), or other pre-determined replacement information may be displayed in one or more fields of the text message in place of the actual information relating to that text message.”, wherein “without showing the text of the message” indicates omits the sensitive information, while retaining other elements in the screen).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, the newly added claim limitations of claim 1 recites “the first information comprises sensitive information related to a first user […] wherein the first form displays […] the sensitive information […] the second form […] omits the sensitive information”, and claim 2 recites claim limitations identical in scope by reciting “the first information displayed in the first form comprises sensitive information related to the first user, and the first information displayed in the second form does not comprise the sensitive information related to the first user”, and therefore does not constitute a further limitation. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 101
The additional claim limitation of displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle, wherein the second form displays the one or more interactive controls and omits the sensitive information, such that an information amount of the first information displayed in the second form is less than an information amount of the first information displayed in the first form integrates the abstract idea into a practical application of concealing sensitive information as supported by para. [0004] of the specification, which is reproduced below:
[0004] This application provides a privacy protection method and a related apparatus, so that when it is detected that there are a plurality of occupants in a vehicle, to-be-displayed sensitive information is processed in a preset manner and then processed to-be-displayed sensitive information is displayed, to prevent the sensitive information from being seen by another occupant. This improves concealment of information display in the vehicle
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurian (US 20190294773 A1).
Kurian is cited in the IDS received on 03/24/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Kurian teaches a privacy protection method (para. [0002]: “Aspects of the disclosure relate to providing information security and preventing unauthorized access to resources of an information system”), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a vehicle, first information, wherein the first information comprises sensitive information related to a first user and one or more interactive controls (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may display and/or otherwise present a graphical user interface similar to graphical user interface 800, which is illustrated in FIG. 8. As seen in FIG. 8, graphical user interface 800 may be a screen that is shown that allows for viewing and/or responding to messages. For example, graphical user interface 800 may show text or multimedia messages received on a computing device connected to vehicle computing platform 110”; para. [0131]: “In addition, graphical user interface 800 may include one or more controls and/or other elements enabling a user of graphical user interface 800 and/or vehicle computing platform 110 to respond to a message.”, wherein “text” corresponds to an example sensitive information related to a first user as it is sent to the driver, and “controls to responds to a message” corresponds to an example of one or more interactive controls, and displaying them in the vehicle indicates obtaining, by a vehicle, first information); and
displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle (para. [0049]: “For example, in a private mode (e.g., a mode that may be active when a user is alone using the system—e.g., a driver is in a vehicle with no passengers)”, wherein driver corresponds to first user in the vehicle), wherein the first form displays both the sensitive information and the one or more interactive controls (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may display and/or otherwise present a graphical user interface similar to graphical user interface 800, which is illustrated in FIG. 8. […] For example, if the vehicle is in private mode, the entire content of the text message may be displayed.”); or
displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle (para. [0130]: “the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service),”), wherein the second form displays the one or more interactive controls and omits the sensitive information, such that an information amount of the first information displayed in the second form is less than an information amount of the first information displayed in the first form (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may display and/or otherwise present a graphical user interface similar to graphical user interface 800, which is illustrated in FIG. 8. […] Based on a privacy mode that is active in the vehicle, more or less information may be displayed on the screen. […] But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”; Abstract: “The vehicle computing platform may, based on the passenger sensor data indicating that the passenger seat in the vehicle is occupied, obscure information on a screen of the vehicle”; para. [0090]: “For example, if a public privacy mode is active, if a text message is received and displayed on a screen, a false or shortened phone number (e.g., instead of a full phone number, just display the first digit, the last digit, a middle digit, asterisks, or the like), a shortened name or nickname (e.g., instead of a spouse's name, display “Spouse” or “Person 1,” or a nickname), or other pre-determined replacement information may be displayed in one or more fields of the text message in place of the actual information relating to that text message.”, wherein “without showing the text of the message” indicates omits the sensitive information, while retaining other elements in the screen).
Regarding claim 2, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1. Kurian further teaches wherein the first information displayed in the first form comprises sensitive information related to the first user, and the first information displayed in the second form does not comprise the sensitive information related to the first user (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, if the vehicle is in private mode, the entire content of the text message may be displayed. But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”).
Regarding claim 3, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 2. Kurian further teaches wherein the sensitive information related to the first user comprises one or more of the following: a person name, a phone number, an address, a time, audio, a photo, a video, a call record, a chat record, a search record, schedule information, a document, a message, health data, and exercise data (para. [0130]: “For example, if the vehicle is in private mode, the entire content of the text message may be displayed. But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”; para. [0090]: “For example, if a public privacy mode is active, if a text message is received and displayed on a screen, a false or shortened phone number (e.g., instead of a full phone number, just display the first digit, the last digit, a middle digit, asterisks, or the like), a shortened name or nickname (e.g., instead of a spouse's name, display “Spouse” or “Person 1,” or a nickname), or other pre-determined replacement information may be displayed in one or more fields of the text message in place of the actual information relating to that text message”, wherein “text of the message” corresponds to a message).
Regarding claim 4, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1. Kurian further teaches wherein the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form comprises at least one of: skipping, by the vehicle, displaying the first information in the first display area; or after replacing sensitive information related to the first user in the first information with non-sensitive information, displaying, by the vehicle, in the first display area of the vehicle, the first information that comprises the non-sensitive information (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, if the vehicle is in private mode, the entire content of the text message may be displayed. But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”, wherein “without showing the text of the message” corresponds to skipping, by the vehicle, displaying the first information in the first display area).
Regarding claim 8, Kuiran teaches the method according to claim 1. Kuiran further teaches wherein after the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”), the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the vehicle, second information (para. [0090]: “if a text message is received and displayed on a screen”; para. [0130]: “graphical user interface 800 may show text or multimedia messages received on a computing device connected to vehicle computing platform 110”, wherein a new text message is received indicates second information), and displaying, by the vehicle, the second information in the first display area of the vehicle in a fourth form when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle, wherein the second information displayed in the fourth form does not comprise sensitive information related to the first user (FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured.”, wherein without showing the text of a newly received message indicate fourth form does not comprise sensitive information related to the first user).
Regarding claim 9, Kuiran teaches the method according to claim 1. Kuiran further teaches wherein after the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form (para. [0130]: “But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”), the method further comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in the first form when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle (para. [0049]: “For example, in a private mode (e.g., a mode that may be active when a user is alone using the system—e.g., a driver is in a vehicle with no passengers),”; para. [0130]: “For example, if the vehicle is in private mode, the entire content of the text message may be displayed. But if the vehicle is in public mode (e.g., based on a stranger riding in the vehicle, such as with a taxi or ride-sharing service), the screen might not show any information about the message, might only show that a message was received without showing the text of the message, or the information may otherwise be obscured”, wherein when only a driver is detected in the vehicle a private mode will be activated, thus displaying in the first form).
Regarding claim 10, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1. Kurian further teaches wherein the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in the first form when there is only the first user in the vehicle and the first user is a driver (FIG. 8; para. [0049]: “For example, in a private mode (e.g., a mode that may be active when a user is alone using the system—e.g., a driver is in a vehicle with no passengers)”; para. [0130]: “For example, if the vehicle is in private mode, the entire content of the text message may be displayed.”).
Regarding claim 11, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1. Kurian further teaches wherein the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in the first form when there is only the first user in the vehicle (para. [0049]: “For example, in a private mode (e.g., a mode that may be active when a user is alone using the system—e.g., a driver is in a vehicle with no passengers)”) and a user of a logged-in account on the vehicle is the first user (FIG. 2; para. [0072]: “At step 206, vehicle computing platform 110 may receive driver identification information. For example, a driver may login or otherwise identify to vehicle computing platform 110 via an interface of vehicle computing platform 110. In some embodiments, vehicle computing platform 110 may determine a presence of a mobile device associated with the driver”; para. [0090]: “based on a privacy mode, data presented on the screen may be obfuscated or altered (e.g., to display pre-determined values set by a driver, vehicle owner, account owner, or the like). For example, data displayed on a screen may be displayed in a non-obfuscated or non-altered state when a private privacy mode is active (e.g., the driver or user is alone).”; para. [0126]: “A driver profile may include driver preferences (e.g., a default privacy mode, information about what privacy mode to activate in what circumstance, what information to obscure or not obscure when in a particular privacy mode, and the like)”).
Regarding claim 15, Kuiran teaches the method according to claim 1. Kuiran further teaches wherein before the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form, the method further comprises: receiving, by the vehicle, a first operation (FIG. 5; para. [0026]: “[…] the computing platform may send, to the vehicle, the request to change the current privacy mode of the vehicle to the different privacy mode. In some embodiments, receiving the input corresponding to the request to change the current privacy mode of the vehicle to the different privacy mode of the vehicle may include receiving, via a touch-screen interface, a tap input corresponding to the request to change the current privacy mode of the vehicle to the different privacy mode of the vehicle.”; para. [0125]: “In addition, graphical user interface 500 may include one or more controls and/or other elements (not shown) enabling a user of graphical user interface 500 and/or vehicle computing platform 110 to view more details about the privacy mode, activate or de-activate a privacy mode, change a privacy mode, change settings, or the like”); and
in response to the first operation, enabling, by the vehicle, a privacy mode (FIG. 5; para. [0125]: “FIG. 5, graphical user interface 500 may be a screen that is shown that indicates an active privacy mode of a vehicle”).
Regarding claim 18, Kuiran teaches the method according to claim 1. Kuiran further teaches further comprising: determining, by the vehicle, based on one or more of facial recognition, voiceprint recognition, a device identifier of an electronic device, a Bluetooth identifier of the electronic device, and pressure sensor data, whether there is one occupant or a plurality of occupants in the vehicle (para. [0069]: “Referring to FIG. 2A, at step 201, vehicle computing platform 110 may receive driver sensor data. For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may receive driver sensor data from vehicle sensors 115. Driver sensor data may indicate whether a driver seat in a vehicle is occupied. Vehicle sensors 115 may include seat-weight sensors, body scanners, lasers, cameras, scales, infrared sensors, microwave sensors, fingerprint scanners, retina scanners, biometric scanners, or other sensors for gathering data about a driver of a vehicle”; para. [0075]: “Referring to FIG. 2C, at step 209, vehicle computing platform 110 may receive passenger sensor data. For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may receive passenger sensor data from vehicle sensors 115. Passenger sensor data may indicate whether a passenger seat in the vehicle is occupied. Vehicle sensors 115 may include seat-weight sensors, body scanners, lasers, cameras, scales, infrared sensors, microwave sensors, fingerprint scanners, retina scanners, biometric scanners, or other sensors for gathering data about one or more passengers of a vehicle.”; para. [0086]: “A privacy mode of the vehicle may be determined based on one or more factors discussed above, including driver information, passenger information,”).
Regarding claim 19, Kuiran further teaches a vehicle (FIG. 1A, wherein “vehicle sensor and vehicle computing platform” indicates a vehicle), wherein the vehicle comprises one or more processors and one or more memories, the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories store computer program code, and the computer program code comprises computer instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the vehicle to perform (para. [0066]: “As illustrated in greater detail below, vehicle computing platform 110 may include one or more computing devices configured to perform one or more of the functions described herein”; para. [0068]: “vehicle computing platform 110 may include one or more processors 111, memory 112, and communication interface 117. A data bus may interconnect processor(s) 111, memory 112, and communication interface 117. Communication interface 117 may be a network interface configured to support communication between vehicle computing platform 110 and one or more networks (e.g., private network 195, public network 190, or the like). Memory 112 may include one or more program modules having instructions that when executed by processor(s) 111 cause vehicle computing platform 110 to perform one or more functions described herein”) claim limitations similar to those of the method of claim 1, and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 20, Kuiran further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a vehicle, cause the vehicle to perform (Claim 16: “Non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by a computing platform comprising at least one processor, memory, and a communication interface, cause the computing platform to”; para. [0066]: “As illustrated in greater detail below, vehicle computing platform 110 may include one or more computing devices configured to perform one or more of the functions described herein”) claim limitations similar to those of the method of claim 1, and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian, in view of Feit (US20160059864A1).
Feit is cited in the IDS received on 03/24/2025.
Regarding claim 5, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1. Kurian further teaches wherein when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle, the method further comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, sensitive information in a second display area of the vehicle in the first form, wherein the second display area is different from the first display area (para. [0049]: “In some embodiments […] For example, in a private mode (e.g., a mode that may be active when a user is alone using the system—e.g., a driver is in a vehicle with no passengers), a main screen or display may be used. But in a different privacy mode (e.g., a public privacy mode, which may be active when a stranger is in the vehicle—e.g., in a taxi and/or ride-sharing situation), an alternate screen or display (e.g., a screen on a driver's car door, armrest, corner dashboard, or other area) may be used to display information instead of or in addition to a main screen. For example, in a public privacy mode, information may be obscured or obfuscated on a main screen (e.g., “Account balance: hidden”), but the information may be displayed on an alternate screen or display (e.g., showing an actual account balance).”), but fails to specifically teach displaying the first information in a second display area of the vehicle in the first form.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Feit teaches wherein when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle (FIG. 3: “More than one passenger in vehicle”), the method further comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a second display area of the vehicle in the first form, wherein the second display area is different from the first display area (para. [0049]: “the privacy component 170 may select a display component or a mode based on a presence of one or more occupants. […] The privacy component 170 may select a heads up display over a center console display to render a notification associated with a phone call”; para. [0055]: “rendered on a display such as the HUD rather than the center console display”, wherein “rendered on a display such as the HUD” indicates replicating the screen/information shown in the center console display in a different display).
Kurian and Feit are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of protecting the privacy of the driver in response to presence of other passengers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Feit and render on a different display depending on the privacy mode. Doing so would disable notifications associated with personal messages, such as text messages, email, etc. from appearing on the center console display (Feit, para. [0054]) when another passenger is present, thus privacy management is provided, thereby enhancing security of applications or communications utilized by occupants of a vehicle, such as a driver, for example (Feit, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1. Kurian further teaches wherein when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle, the method further comprises: outputting, by the vehicle, sensitive in a third form through a first electronic device, wherein the first information displayed in the third form comprises sensitive information related to the first user (para. [0049]: “In some embodiments […] For example, in a private mode (e.g., a mode that may be active when a user is alone using the system—e.g., a driver is in a vehicle with no passengers), a main screen or display may be used. But in a different privacy mode (e.g., a public privacy mode, which may be active when a stranger is in the vehicle—e.g., in a taxi and/or ride-sharing situation), an alternate screen or display (e.g., a screen on a driver's car door, armrest, corner dashboard, or other area) may be used to display information instead of or in addition to a main screen. For example, in a public privacy mode, information may be obscured or obfuscated on a main screen (e.g., “Account balance: hidden”), but the information may be displayed on an alternate screen or display (e.g., showing an actual account balance).”. wherein displaying in a different display indicates third form), but fails to specifically teach outputting, by the first information in a third form through a first electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Feit teaches wherein when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle, the method further comprises: outputting, by the vehicle, the first information in a third form through a first electronic device, wherein the first information displayed in the third form comprises sensitive information related to the first user (para. [0055]: “In this example, if passengers are detected by the sensor component 150, the privacy component 170 may have the notification component 180 or the system 100 operate in privacy mode or generate private views. Here, notifications, such as a notification for a telephone call, may be generated on the heads up display (HUD) rather than a center console display (e.g., which would be associated with public mode). Similarly, in privacy mode, information such as call history or recent calls may be masked, not rendered, or rendered on a display such as the HUD rather than the center console display.”; para. [0049]: “the privacy component 170 may select a display component or a mode based on a presence of one or more occupants. […] The privacy component 170 may select a heads up display over a center console display to render a notification associated with a phone call”, wherein “rendered on a display such as the HUD” indicates replicating the screen/information shown in the center console display in a different display, wherein displaying in a different display such as HUD indicates third form as the display is different, thus the form may be different).
Kurian and Feit are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of protecting the privacy of the driver in response to presence of other passengers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Feit and render on a different display depending on the privacy mode. Doing so would disable notifications associated with personal messages, such as text messages, email, etc. from appearing on the center console display (Feit, para. [0054]) when another passenger is present, thus privacy management is provided, thereby enhancing security of applications or communications utilized by occupants of a vehicle, such as a driver, for example (Feit, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Kurian in view of Feit teaches the method according to claim 5. Feit further teaches wherein: the second display area of the vehicle comprises one or more of the following: a display area of a head-up display device, a display area of a dashboard, or a display area of a sun visor (para. [0062]: “A second display 420 may be a heads up display (HUD) on the vehicle. As an example, if a system 100 for privacy management has a banking application designated as a private application, a privacy component 170 may have the system 100 enter privacy mode based on the presence of the front passenger 404, which may be detected by the sensor component 150. As an example, the management component 130 may render the banking application on the HUD display 420 rather than the center console display 410”); and the first display area of the vehicle is a display area of a central display screen or a display area of a passenger display screen (para. [0062]: “In FIG. 4, a first display 410 is a center console display. Generally, center console displays are viewable by most occupants within a vehicle, such as a driver 402 and a front passenger 404. In this example, seats 412 and 414 are not occupied, although other examples may include occupants at these respective positions. […] management component 130 may render the banking application on the HUD display 420 rather than the center console display 410).
Regarding claim 16, Kuiran teaches the method according to claim 15, but fails to specifically teach wherein before the receiving, by the vehicle, a first operation, the method further comprises: outputting, by the vehicle, first prompt information, wherein the first prompt information prompts at least the first user to enable the privacy mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Feit teaches wherein before the receiving, by the vehicle, a first operation (para. [0056]: “a user may utilize the interface component 120 to quickly move or shift applications from public view to private view or between a public mode to a privacy mode (e.g., on the fly). In other words, the management component 130 may enable a user to toggle between privacy mode and public mode, such as with the push of a button or other user input.”), the method further comprises: outputting, by the vehicle, first prompt information, wherein the first prompt information prompts at least the first user to enable the privacy mode (FIG. 3; para. [0061]: “FIG. 3 is an illustration of an example flow diagram of a method 300 for privacy management, according to one or more embodiments. At 302, the method 300 begins. At 304, a determination is made as to whether a door has been opened. If no door has been opened, privacy is disabled such that no privacy scheme is applied or a system is placed in public mode at 310. In other embodiments, a prompt may be presented at 310 to determine whether private mode is desired. If no door has been opened (e.g., on the passenger side of the vehicle),”).
Kurian and Feit are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of protecting the privacy of the driver in response to presence of other passengers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Feit and prompt whether private mode is desired. Doing so would enhance user friendliness by allowing driver to select his/her desired privacy mode, thus privacy management is provided, thereby enhancing security of applications or communications utilized by occupants of a vehicle, such as a driver, for example (Feit, para. [0005]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian, in view of Feit, and further in view of Gerrese (US 20230126561 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1, but fails to specifically teach wherein: the first information is navigation information, and the navigation information comprises a navigation route, an origin address, and a destination address; the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when it is detected that there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the navigation route, the origin address, and the destination address in the navigation information when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle; and the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, only the navigation route in the navigation information when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle
However, in the same field of endeavor, Feit teaches wherein: the first information is navigation information, and the navigation information comprises a navigation route, (para. [0039]: “Here, in this example, the semi-private application may have a lower level of access or limited functionality. If a navigation application is marked as semi-private, the management component 130 may provide a user with access to general navigation functionality, but disable access to navigation history, favorite locations (e.g., home address, work address, etc.), search history, the ability to create bookmarks or favorites, etc. In other words, when an application or shortcut is designated as semi-private, functionality may be managed or controlled based on a presence of one or more occupants or additional occupants in a vehicle. In this way, the management component 130 may enable a user to setup presentation of home screens, shortcuts, etc. in an occupant based manner”);
the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when it is detected that there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the navigation route, (para. [0053]: “When merely a driver is detected by the sensor component 150, the privacy component 170 may run one or more of these applications in a public mode, which enables notifications associated with the respective applications. In other words, the notification component 180 may provide one or more notifications for the driver in this scenario (e.g., where the driver is the only occupant in the vehicle).”); and
the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, only the navigation route in the navigation information when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle (para. [0039]: “If a navigation application is marked as semi-private, the management component 130 may provide a user with access to general navigation functionality”, wherein general navigation functionality indicates navigation route in the navigation information).
Kurian and Feit are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of protecting the privacy of the driver in response to presence of other passengers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Feit and apply privacy mode to navigation applications. Doing so would prevent passengers from seeing sensitive information while navigation application is shown, thus privacy management is provided, thereby enhancing security of applications or communications utilized by occupants of a vehicle, such as a driver, for example (Feit, para. [0005]). Kurian in view of Feit fails to specifically teach the navigation information comprises a navigation route, an origin address, and a destination address.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gerrese teaches the navigation information comprises a navigation route, an origin address, and a destination address (para. [0004]: “in which in-vehicle displays could present a privacy concern if displaying personal information such as a passenger's name, address, preferences, etc. In general, sensitive user information is intelligently parsed out or generalized based on user preference and the presence of unknown passengers. In some examples, sensitive user information is routed to more secure channels such as a mobile device application or a personalized display. In some implementations, the position of passengers within a vehicle is determined to identify which displays are in each passenger's field of view. Additionally, pick-up and drop-off locations can be scrambled to nearby destinations to obscure a home address, work address, or other identifiable address information”; para. [0006]: “adapting information displayed on a display screen, and the adapting the information includes at least one of changing a name, removing a name, changing an address, hiding address information, and hiding preferences”); and displaying, by the vehicle, the navigation route, the origin address, and the destination address in the navigation information when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle and concealing the origin address, and the destination address when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle (FIG. 2 206: Ride shared with another passenger [Wingdings font/0xE0] NO”; para. [0053]: “If there are no other passengers in the vehicle at step 304, the method proceeds to step 312 and the full passenger experience including autonomous vehicle features is provided. If there are one or more other passengers in the vehicle at step 304, at step 306, autonomous vehicle features available to the passengers are adjusted, as discussed above. This includes both limiting personalization of full-cabin features (e.g., HVAC, surround sound), as well as limiting personal information displayed on in-vehicle display screens.”, wherein the limiting personal information, such as concealing the pick-up and drop-off location is not performed when there is only the first user in the vehicle).
Gerrese is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is the same field of endeavor of protecting the privacy of the user in response to presence of other passengers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian in view of Feit to incorporate the teachings of Gerrese by removing personal information such as the origin and destination when other passengers are in the vehicle. Doing so would enhance safety by protecting first and second passenger personally identifiable information, during the portion of the first passenger ride (Gerrese, para. [0005]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian, in view of Feit, and further in view of Android Auto (NPL-Android Auto is getting updated looks, and you should be excited).
Android Auto is attached in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1, but fails to specifically teach the first information is incoming call notification information, and the incoming call notification information comprises a caller name, an answer control, and a hang up control; the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when it is detected that there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the caller name, the answer control, and the hang up control in the incoming call notification information when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle; and the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, only the answer control and the hang up control in the incoming call notification information when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Feit further teaches wherein: the first information is incoming call notification information, and the incoming call notification information comprises a caller name(para. [0002]: “Examples of information which may be rendered or displayed may include […] caller identification (caller ID) information, […]. In some scenarios, this may not be desirable to the driver of the vehicle.”);
the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when it is detected that there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the caller name, non-obscured in the incoming call notification information when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle (para. [0053]: “When merely a driver is detected by the sensor component 150, the privacy component 170 may run one or more of these applications in a public mode, which enables notifications associated with the respective applications. In other words, the notification component 180 may provide one or more notifications for the driver in this scenario (e.g., where the driver is the only occupant in the vehicle).”; para. [0002]: “Examples of information which may be rendered or displayed may include […] caller identification (caller ID) information, […]. In some scenarios, this may not be desirable to the driver of the vehicle.”, wherein when only the driver is in the vehicle, non-obscured notification is shown thus comprising of caller ID); and
the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, obscured incoming call notification information when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle (para. [0055]: “the presence of passengers may be utilized to determine which display on which to render notifications, such as a notification for a telephone call. In this example, if passengers are detected by the sensor component 150, the privacy component 170 may have the notification component 180 or the system 100 operate in privacy mode or generate private views.”; para. [0002]: “Examples of information which may be rendered or displayed may include […] caller identification (caller ID) information, […]. In some scenarios, this may not be desirable to the driver of the vehicle.”, wherein caller ID information is a private information and is hidden as indicated by para. [0002])
Kurian and Feit are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of protecting the privacy of the driver in response to presence of other passengers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Feit and apply privacy mode during phone calls. Doing so would prevent passengers from seeing sensitive information during a phone call, thus privacy management is provided, thereby enhancing security of applications or communications utilized by occupants of a vehicle, such as a driver, for example (Feit, para. [0005]). Kurian in view of Feit fails to specifically teach incoming call notification information comprises a caller name, an answer control, and a hang up control.
However, Android Auto teaches incoming call notification information comprises a caller name, an answer control, and a hang up control (FIG. 1, wherein a notification with caller name, an answer control, and a hang up control).
Andriod Auto FIG. 1
Android Auto is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is relevant to the problem of providing a notification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian in view of Feit to incorporate the teachings of Android Auto by providing a notification comprising of caller name, an answer control, and a hang up control, and thus display or hide the caller name based on whether another passenger is in the vehicle. Doing so would allow the driver to see who is calling, if the driver is alone, and furthermore, allow to answer or hang up, thus enhancing user experience.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian, in view of Truskovsky (EP2821948A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kurian teaches the method according to claim 1. Kurian further teaches the displaying, by the vehicle (FIG. ; FIG. 8; para. [0130]: “For example, vehicle computing platform 110 may display and/or otherwise present a graphical user interface similar to graphical user interface 800”) but fails to specifically teach wherein: the first information is a travel recommendation card, and the travel recommendation card comprises a flight number, a travel time, a destination, and a departure place; the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in a first display area of the vehicle in a first form when it is detected that there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the flight number, the travel time, the destination, and the departure place in the travel recommendation card when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle; and the displaying, by the vehicle, the first information in the first display area of the vehicle in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, only the travel time in the travel recommendation card when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle.
However, Truskovsky teaches the first information is a travel recommendation card, and the travel recommendation card comprises a flight number, a travel time, a destination, and a departure place (FIG. 2; para. [0039]: “shown in FIG. 2, a mobile device 100 displays an e-ticket 200. In this example, the e-ticket is an electronic boarding pass for an airline (e.g. Air Canada). The electronic boarding pass (as an example of an e-ticket 200) includes a name, label or logo 202 ("Air Canada") that identifies the airline (or other service-provider, merchant, or commercial entity that has issued the e-ticket). The electronic boarding pass (e-ticket 200) may also include a gate identifier ("B50") 204, a departure airport identifier 206, a destination airport identifier 208, a passenger name 210, a flight number ("AC870") 212, departure date 214, boarding time 216 and seat number 218. The”);
the displaying the first information in a first display area in a first form when it is detected that there is only a first user in the vehicle comprises: displaying, by the vehicle, the flight number, the travel time, the destination, and the departure place in the travel recommendation card when it is detected that there is only the first user in the vehicle (FIG. 2; para. [0037]: “The device automatically redacts or edits the ticket information prior to displaying the information in order to conceal private information that the user may consider to be confidential or personal.”; para. [0039]: “FIG. 2, a mobile device 100 displays an e-ticket 200. In this example, the e-ticket is an electronic boarding pass for an airline (e.g. Air Canada). The electronic boarding pass (as an example of an e-ticket 200) includes a name, label or logo 202 ("Air Canada") that identifies the airline (or other service-provider, merchant, or commercial entity that has issued the e-ticket). The electronic boarding pass (e-ticket 200) may also include a gate identifier ("B50") 204, a departure airport identifier 206, a destination airport identifier 208, a passenger name 210, a flight number ("AC870") 212, departure date 214, boarding time 216 and seat number 218.”, wherein when the user is alone, such information does not need to be concealed); and
the displaying the first information in the first display area in a second form when it is detected that there are the first user and a second user comprises: displaying only the travel time in the travel recommendation card when it is detected that there are the first user and the second user in the vehicle (FIG. 3; para. [0039]: “FIG. 3 shows the same electronic boarding pass (e-ticket 200) after it has been processed by the mobile device to identify and conceal or redact the private information. Only the public information is presented on the e-ticket shown by way of example in FIG. 3. In this example, the destination airport identifier 208, passenger name 210 and seat number 218 are considered by the mobile device (based on its settings) to be private information. These elements of information are thus redacted, removed, concealed or obscured in such a way as to prevent an unauthorized third party from reading them”).
Kurian and Truskovsky are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of protecting the privacy of the user in response to presence of other passengers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Truskovsky by including a privacy mode of the driver for an application managing e-tickets. Doing so would allow driver to hide his/her private information in an e-ticket application, thus redacts or edits the ticket information prior to displaying the information in order to conceal private information that the user may consider to be confidential or personal (Truskovsky, para. [0037]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian, in view of Feit, and further in view of Cullinane (US20140156133A1).
Regarding claim 17, Kurian in view of Feit teaches the method according to claim 16. Feit further teaches (para. [0056]: “a user may utilize the interface component 120 to quickly move or shift applications from public view to private view or between a public mode to a privacy mode (e.g., on the fly). In other words, the management component 130 may enable a user to toggle between privacy mode and public mode, such as with the push of a button or other user input.”).
However, Cullinane teaches outputting, by the vehicle, first prompt information, the method further comprises: outputting, by the vehicle, first guide information, wherein the first guide information notifies at least the first user of a first shortcut button for enabling/disabling the mode, and the first operation is a trigger operation for the first shortcut button (FIG. 9 940: “Press ON Button”; para. [0036]: “or button inputs 219, for activating or deactivating one or more autonomous driving modes and for enabling a driver or passenger 290”, wherein “Press ON Button” is an example corresponding to first guide information, wherein the first guide information notifies at least the first user of a first shortcut button for enabling/disabling the mode, and the first operation is a trigger operation for the first shortcut button).
Cullinane is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is relevant to the problem of activating a mode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurian in view Feit to incorporate the teachings of Cullinane by providing instructions to activate a mode. Doing so would allow driver view instructions on how to activate a mode, thus enhancing user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NAKANISHI (US 20240256205 A1) teaches changing notification information when an occupant other than the driver is present in the vehicle.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SANG KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3668