Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “voids formed between the plurality of cooling fins form the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities” of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). While Figure 2 illustrates a “plurality of cooling fins” KR1-KR3, Figure 2 fails to clearly illustrate the cooling fins KR1-KR3 forming the “tunnel-shaped cavities” of Figure 1. Indeed, it is not clear how certain regions of the material M1-MS3 and cavities HR1-HR3 of Figure 1 could be structural embodied by the cooling fins KR1-KR3 of Figure 2, as there would be no means of supporting the cooling fins is certain regions absent some unspecified structural feature. See the illustration of the Region as issue below. No new matter should be entered.
Region of Figure 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “tunnel-shaped cavities” in line 7. “Tunnel-shape” is not a phrase whose scope one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize. A “tunnel” customarily is a circular, rectangular or horseshoe cross-sectioned geometry, but the phrase is not, per se, limited to these interpretations. The Applicant’s disclose fails to provide a definition or clarification on the matter, and one of ordinary skill would not be apprised of the scope of the claim. The balance of claims are rejected on dependence.
Claim 3 recites the phrase “at least one of the plurality of cooling elements includes a plurality of cooling fins as part of the metallic material, the plurality of cooling fins being mutually spaced apart in a stacked arrangement, a stacking direction of the plurality of cooling fins differs from the first direction, and voids formed between the plurality of cooling fins form the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities.” Related to the scope of the phrase “tunnel-shaped” detailed above in the rejection of claim 1, the claim fails to make clear how the claimed “voids formed between the plurality of cooling fins” are formed in relationship with the undefined geometry of the “tunnel-shaped cavities”. Figure 1 illustrates a solid-structured materials MS1-MS3, the materials forming “tunnel-shaped cavities” HR1-HR3. Figure 2 illustrates . Figure One of ordinary skill would not be apprised of the scope of the claim. Claim 4 is rejected on dependence.
Claim 5 recites the phrase “discloses wherein the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities are arranged equidistantly perpendicular to the first direction in a cross-sectional surface of an associated cooling element”. Equidistant is a geometric term describing the forming a right angle. Equidistant is a geometry term describing being equal distance away from something. It is not clear how an object can be both equidistant and perpendicular to a direction, and one of ordinary skill would not be apprised of the scope of the claim. For the purposes of rejection, the phrase will be interpreted to mean either geometric properties.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the at least one of the plurality of cooling elements is produced via an additive manufacturing technique”. The instant claim amounts to a product-by-process claim (See MPEP 2113). It is noted that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966. The claim fails to make clear what structure is implied by the means of production, and one of ordinary skill would not be apprised of the claim scope. For the purpose of the rejection, the means of production will be interpreted as not having any implied structure. Claim 9 is rejected according to the same rationale for reciting a substantially similar claim.
Claim 15 recites “wherein, in the operating state of the CT detector module, the at least one X-ray converter element is in heat-conducting contact with each of the plurality of cooling elements of the cooling apparatus via a corresponding thermal contact surface.” The instant phrase amounts to a method of using the apparatus of claim 1. MPEP 2173.05(p)(II) explains that a claim that recites both an apparatus and the method of using the apparatus is indefinite under 112(b) for failing to clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim. For the purposes of rejection, the scope will be interpreted as not being limited by the method of using the device, and only per the structure. Claim 16 is rejected based on dependence and the same rationale for reciting substantially similar limitations of apparatus and method of using.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the at least one X-ray converter element is in heat-conducting contact with each of the plurality of cooling elements of the cooling apparatus via a corresponding thermal contact surface by a thermally conductive medium (singular), and the thermally conductive media (plural) have different thermal conductivities" in lines 1-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether a single medium or a plurality of different media are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SUN et al. (US 20220249046 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SUN discloses a cooling apparatus to dissipate heat from an X-ray converter element (cooling assembly 360 for a PET-CT device; abstract, [0045]), the cooling apparatus comprising:
a plurality of cooling elements arranged in a row along a first direction (FIG 8 shows one of a plurality of cooling plates 360 that are connected to one another in a row; [0060]), wherein
each of the plurality of cooling elements has a metallic material that has a plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities along the first direction, the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities configured for through-flow by a fluid along the first direction (thermally conductive metal material such as Ag, Cu, Al form flow channels supporting a cooling media that flows through the channel from a first to a second end to absorb heat; [0009, 0059, 0060, 0090]),
the plurality of cooling elements are configured to make surface-to-surface contact with a corresponding thermal contact surface of the X-ray converter element (the cooling plates 660 first layer 661 is thermally connected to the detection cell 621, with heat being conducted from the detection elements to the plate through the contacting surfaces via heat conduction material; [0009, 0060, 0068, 0088, 0089]), and
the plurality of cooling elements are arranged in the row such that respective tunnel-shaped cavities overlap at least partially at interfaces between adjacent cooling elements (cooling plates 661 and 662 having flow channels 807 which are connected via inlet/outlet structures 804/805 overlap at interface are horizontally and vertically stacked; [0088]FIG 6A-C, 8A-B).
Figure 3A of SUN shows a cooling plate 360 with attached detector modules 320
Regarding claim 2, SUN discloses wherein each of the plurality of cooling elements has at least one of a recess or a protrusion on an external face, away from the first direction, the at least one of the recess or the protrusion configured to make surface-to-surface contact with the corresponding thermal contact surface of the X-ray converter element (FIG 4 shows detecting units 402 including a base 406 detachably connected to the first layer 361 of the cooling assembly 360 via connecting mechanisms including rivets, clamping, bolting, any of which could be consider a protrusion or a recess and a heat conducting element; [0067]).
Regarding claim 5, SUN discloses wherein the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities are arranged equidistantly perpendicular to the first direction in a cross-sectional surface of an associated cooling element ([0060]).
Regarding claim 7, SUN discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of cooling elements is configured as a single piece (FIG 8A-B shows flow channels as a single piece; [0088]).
Regarding claim 8, SUN discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of cooling elements is produced via an additive manufacturing technique (See also rejection under 112b above for clarification of claim scope).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the at least one of the plurality of cooling elements is produced via a subtractive manufacturing technique (See also rejection under 112b above for clarification of claim scope).
Regarding claim 13, SUN discloses wherein the plurality of cooling elements have a closed profile away from the first direction, so that the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities in the row of the plurality of cooling elements form a closed cooling duct along the first direction (FIG 3A, 8).
Regarding claim 14, SUN discloses a CT detector module comprising: the cooling apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above); and at least one X-ray converter element including an X-ray detector layer on a top face and a thermal contact surface on a bottom face, wherein in an operating state of the CT detector module, the at least one X-ray converter element is in heat-conducting contact with the cooling apparatus via the thermal contact surface (FIG 5 shows detecting modules 520 including a plurality detecting cells having scintillator/detector structures or semiconductor structures in thermal contact with the cooling apparatus 561; [0065-0070]).
Regarding claim 15, SUN discloses wherein, in the operating state of the CT detector module, the at least one X-ray converter element is in heat-conducting contact with each of the plurality of cooling elements of the cooling apparatus via a corresponding thermal contact surface (FIG 5; [0065-0070]).
Regarding claim 17, SUN discloses a CT device comprising: at least one CT detector module as claimed in claim 14 ([0060, 0065-0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YE (US 20210341633 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YE discloses a cooling apparatus to dissipate heat from an X-ray converter element (FIG 3-4), the cooling apparatus comprising:
a plurality of cooling elements arranged in a row along a first direction (detector module 208 may include a plurality of detector sub-modules, [0063]; frame 404 may include cooling fins 405 arranged in a stacked row; [0079]),
wherein each of the plurality of cooling elements has a metallic material that has a plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities along the first direction (frame 404 can be an alloy and includes fins interspacing tunnel-shaped cavities along a direction; [0079, 0091]),
the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities configured for through-flow by a fluid along the first direction (air filles interspaces frames and fins; [0080, 0091]),
the plurality of cooling elements are configured to make surface-to-surface contact with a corresponding thermal contact surface of the X-ray converter element (frame 404 has thermal contact with detectors 406; [0091]), and
FIG 4 of YE shows a sub-module 450 having frame 404 for cooling electronics 402/406.
YE discloses first embodiment wherein a plurality of sub-modules adjacently arranged with each sub-module including fins forming channels on a single side of the sub-module (See FIG 3-4 for example). YE discloses a second embodiment where fins and tunnel-shaped cavities, respectively, are formed on both sides of the sub-module frame (FIG 8, FIG 13A-B), but does not explicitly disclose the plurality of cooling elements arranged in the row such that respective tunnel-shaped cavities overlap at least partially at interfaces between adjacent cooling elements. In light of the teachings of respective of the first and second embodiments of YE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the two embodiments to arrive at the claimed overlapping cavities, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, YE discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of cooling elements includes a plurality of cooling fins as part of the metallic material, the plurality of cooling fins being mutually spaced apart in a stacked arrangement, a stacking direction of the plurality of cooling fins differs from the first direction, and voids formed between the plurality of cooling fins form the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities (FIG 3-4 show the tunnel-shaped cavities stacked in a direction different from the cavity direction).
Regarding claim 4, YE wherein the stacking direction is perpendicular to the first direction (FIG 3-4).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, YE discloses wherein the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities can be spaced equally or a different distances from one another perpendicular to the first direction in a cross-sectional surface of an associated cooling element ([0091]).
Regarding claims 7-9, YE discloses the cooling element is configures as single piece that can be provided via additive or subtractive manufacturing (“the transfer fins 505 and the frame 504 may be manufactured together as a one-piece or integral component. As another example, the transfer fins 505 may be welded to the frames 504”; [0091]).
Regarding claim 10, YE discloses that different cooling elements in the row have at least one of a different cavity volume, density, number, or surface (heat transfer fins may be events or unevenly arranged; [0091]). Providing different sub-modules with different fin/cavity configurations to match the different local heat loads along the detector would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, YE discloses different cooling elements in the row have at least one of a different cavity volume, density, number, or surface (heat transfer fins may be events or unevenly arranged; [0091]). Because a fluid (e.g. air) warms as it flows along the direction in the device of YE, and it is known to that heat dissipation is proportional to a radiant surface area, providing an increasing number of cavities, or an increasing cavity surface would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, with the expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 13, YE discloses wherein the plurality of cooling elements have a closed profile away from the first direction, so that the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities in the row of the plurality of cooling elements form a closed cooling duct along the first direction (FIG 4).
Regarding claim 14, YE discloses a CT detector module comprising: the cooling apparatus as claimed in claim 1; and at least one X-ray converter element including an X-ray detector layer on a top face and a thermal contact surface on a bottom face, wherein in an operating state of the CT detector module, the at least one X-ray converter element is in heat-conducting contact with the cooling apparatus via the thermal contact surface ([0003, 0044, 0077]; FIG 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, YE discloses in the operating state of the CT detector module, the at least one X-ray converter element is in heat-conducting contact with each of the plurality of cooling elements of the cooling apparatus via a corresponding thermal contact surface (FIG 3).
Regarding claim 16, YE discloses wherein in the operating state of the CT detector module, the at least one X-ray converter element is in heat-conducting contact with each of the plurality of cooling elements of the cooling apparatus via a corresponding thermal contact surface by a thermally conductive medium, and the thermally conductive media have different thermal conductivities (the plurality of heat transfer fins 505 may be evenly or unevenly arranged… an interspace between two heat transfer fins may be filled with an effective heat dissipation material; [0091]). Providing different sub-modules with different fin/cavity configurations to match the different local heat loads along the detector would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 17, YE discloses a CT device comprising at least one CT detector module as claimed in claim 14 ([0044, 0077]).
Regarding claim 18, YE discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of cooling elements includes a plurality of cooling fins as part of the metallic material (frame with fins can be alloy; [0091]), the plurality of cooling fins being mutually spaced apart in a stacked arrangement, a stacking direction of the plurality of cooling fins differs from the first direction, and voids formed between the plurality of cooling fins form the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities (fins form tunnel-shaped cavities; FIG 3-4).
Regarding claim 19, YE discloses wherein the stacking direction is perpendicular to the first direction (FIG 3).
Regarding claim 20, YE discloses wherein the plurality of continuous tunnel-shaped cavities are arranged equidistantly perpendicular to the first direction in a cross-sectional surface of an associated cooling element (FIG 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CORBIEL et al. (US 20230225679 A1) discloses cooling system for a radiation detector comprising a closed cooling conduit.
CASEY BRYANT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/CASEY BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884