DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final rejection in response to claims filed on 06/18/2026. Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15, 17 and 19 are amended. Claim 20 is canceled. New claim 21 is added. Therefore, claims 1-19 and 21 are pending and are examined herein.
Priority
There are no prior filed applications in which the present claims hold priority to, therefore, the earliest filing date is the filing date of the present disclosure, 11/26/2024.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture, or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-9, 21: A method for automated digital account change implemented using a computing device, comprising:
Claims 10-19: A intelligent system for automated digital account change, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors:
Claims 1-9, 21 recite a method which falls under the potentially eligible subject matter category “process.” Claims 10-19 recite a system with memory and a processor, which is an apparatus claim and falls under the potentially eligible subject matter category “machine or manufacture.” Therefore, all of the claims are directed to at least one potentially eligible subject matter category, therefore the claims are to be further analyzed under step 2.
Step 2a Prong 1: Is the claim reciting a Judicial Exception(A Law of Nature, a Natural Phenomenon (Product of Nature), or An Abstract Idea?)
The claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification are analyzed herein. Representative claims 1, 10 and 19 are marked up, isolating the abstract idea from additional elements, wherein the abstract idea is in bold and the additional elements have been italicized as follows:
Claim 1: A method for automated digital account change implemented using a computing device, comprising:
scanning a digital footprint of one or more digital accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms;
determining, using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model and based on scanning the digital footprint of the one or more digital accounts of the user, a detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions;
automatically generating, based on the detected event, an interactive checklist including a plurality of checklist action items to be performed to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event;
automatically generating at least one prompt for at least one checklist action item of the plurality of checklist action items on a display for the user or another user to accept or reject the at least one checklist action item;
automatically modifying the interactive checklist with an accept modification responsive to receiving user input for the at least one prompt via the display to accept the at least one checklist action item; and
automatically performing the at least one checklist action item to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event and based on the accept modification.
Claim 10: An intelligent system for automated digital account change, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and
machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors:
scan a digital footprint of one or more digital accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms;
determine, using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model and based on scanning the digital footprint of the one or more digital accounts of the user, a detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions;
automatically generate, based on the detected event, an interactive checklist including a plurality of checklist action items to be performed to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event;
automatically generate at least one prompt for at least one checklist action item of the plurality of checklist action items on a display for the user or another user to accept or reject the at least one checklist action item;
automatically modify the interactive checklist with an accept modification responsive to receiving user input for the at least one prompt via the display to accept the at least one checklist action item; and
automatically perform the at least one checklist action item to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event and based on the accept modification.
Claim 19: An intelligent system for automated digital account change, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors:
scan a digital footprint of one or more digital accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms;
determining, using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model, a detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions, the detected event comprises a death of the user, the death satisfying at least one of the plurality of trigger event conditions comprising such as being verified as a legally reported death through a death reporting authority;
automatically generate, based on the detected event, an interactive checklist including a plurality of checklist action items to be performed to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event;
automatically generate at least one prompt for at least one checklist action item of the plurality of checklist action items on a display for another user to accept or reject the at least one checklist action item;
automatically modify the interactive checklist with an accept modification responsive to receiving user input for the at least one prompt via the display to accept the at least one checklist action item, the modifying including displaying the at least one prompt on the display of a user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and
automatically perform the at least one checklist action item to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event and based on the accept modification.
When evaluating the bolded limitations of the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, it is clear that representative claims 1, 10, and 19 recite an abstract idea under the category “certain methods of organizing human activity.” More specifically, the present claims fall under the sub-grouping “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions as outlined in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C). In the present case, the limitations in bold fall within at least “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people,” as the limitations recite social activities and following rules or instructions which facilitate interactions between people. As a non-limiting example, the claims recite scan a footprint of one or more accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms, and determine a detected event (death of a user). This example is at least an example of monitoring personal behavior which is a social activity. These limitations are also recited with such generality that they encompass any manner of arriving at the intended outcome, including instructions to an individual to perform the functions. The subsequent limitations in bold, given their broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification encompass the steps of generating a checklist of action items for a user to perform, prompting the user to accept or reject the checklist item, modifying the interactive checklist to accept the checklist item, and performing the checklist item to change information for the digital accounts of the user. These fall directly within “managing personal behavior” as it merely recites interactions with an individual which manage their personal behavior by determining a set of tasks for an individual to complete. The fact that the interactions are potentially between an individual and a computer does not preclude the claim from reciting “certain methods of organizing human activity. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) states, “Finally, the sub-groupings encompass both activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions or a person signing a contract online) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial interaction), and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping. It is noted that the number of people involved in the activity is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping. Instead, the determination should be based on whether the activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings.”
Therefore, since the limitations are not meaningfully different from other ideas found to be abstract in examples from MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), the claims at least recite an abstract idea under “certain methods of organizing human activity.”
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Claims 1, 10 and 19 recite the following additional elements:
- computing device in claim 1
- digital footprint, digital accounts, and digital platforms; in claims 1, 10, and 19
- artificial intelligence neural network trained model, in claims 1, 10, and 19
- automated digital account change
- automatically generating..., automatically generating..., automatically modifying..., automatically performing..., in claims 1, 10, and 19
- a display in claims 1, 10, and 19
- A intelligent system comprising: one or more processors; in claims 10 and 19
- one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors: in claims 10 and 19
- the display of a user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors in claim 19
The additional elements listed above, when considered individually and in combination with the claim as a whole, are no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a general purpose computer as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). In this case, the abstract idea steps of “scan a footprint of one or more accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms, and determine a detected event (death of a user)” and “generating a checklist of action items for a user to perform, prompting the user to accept or reject the checklist item, modifying the interactive checklist to accept the checklist item, and performing the checklist item to change information for the digital accounts of the user” are instructed to be performed on generic computing components such as “computing device,” “a display,” “An intelligent system,” “one or more processors,” “one or memory components,” and a “user-device.” In line with paragraphs [0038] and [0039] of the instant specification, these components are no more than generic computing components. Furthermore, the fact that the “footprint,” “accounts” and “platforms” are merely indicated to be “digital,” and that the “generating, modifying, and performing steps” are indicated to be performed automatically is equivalent to merely applying the abstract idea to a computing environment. The claims merely invoke computers or other machinery as a tool to perform an existing process as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f) which states, “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.”
Furthermore, the step of determining of a detected event associated with the user is merely a result-oriented solution which lacks details as to how “using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model” is meant to arrive at the intended outcome. In other words, it merely indicates that the model is an artificial intelligence model, trained using neural networks, but does not recite anything more than that. Therefore, this also falls within “apply it” because the limitation attempts to cover any use of artificial intelligence and neural networks to solve the identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. See MPEP 2106.05(f) “Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished.” Furthermore, the claims fail to provide an improvement to computer functionality, technology or a technical field because it is not apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the claims reflect an improvement under MPEP 2106.05(a). More specifically the arrangement of computer components as claimed: “- one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors” or “the display of a user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors” does not recite an improved computing infrastructure or any improvements to computer functionality. Secondly, the claims do not purport improving “artificial intelligence” or “neural networks” because they merely implement them in a black box manner by claiming any use of the “artificial intelligence” or “neural networks” to perform the abstract idea. Even when considering the additional element of the artificial intelligence neural network performing the “determining” “based on scanning the digital footprint,” this is still a black-box level use of the technical fields because it merely recites the input, whilst still lacking the level of detail necessary to arrive at the outcome(thus being equivalent to “apply it” when viewed in combination with the computing elements.)
Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, none of the additional elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claims 1, 10 and 19 recite the following additional elements:
- computing device in claim 1
- digital footprint, digital accounts, and digital platforms; in claims 1, 10, and 19
- artificial intelligence neural network trained model, in claims 1, 10, and 19
- automated digital account change
- automatically generating..., automatically generating..., automatically modifying..., automatically performing..., automatically change information in claims 1, 10, and 19
- a display in claims 1, 10, and 19
- A intelligent system comprising: one or more processors; in claims 10 and 19
- one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors: in claims 10 and 19
- the display of a user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors in claim 19-
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computing components such as “computing device,” “a display,” “An intelligent system,” “one or more processors,” “one or memory components,” and a “user-device” to perform the abstract idea of “certain methods of organizing human activity” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, limiting the abstract idea to be performed using “artificial intelligence,” or “neural networks” does not meaningfully limit the claim beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Even when considering the additional element of the artificial intelligence neural network performing the “determining” “based on scanning the digital footprint,” this is still a black-box level use of the technical fields because it merely recites the input, whilst still lacking the level of detail necessary to arrive at the outcome(thus being equivalent to “apply it” when viewed in combination with the computing elements.) Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus claims 1, 10, and 19 are not patent eligible because the claims are directed to an abstract without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18 and 21 are also given the full two part analysis both individually and in combination with the claims they depend on herein:
Claims 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, 13, and 20 merely further the limit the abstract idea by reciting limitations to modifying the checklist that still fall within “managing personal behavior or interactions or relationships between people” such as “displaying the at least prompt to a remote user,”(claims 2, 11, 20) “adding a checklist item based on a response to the prompt,”(claims 3, 12) and “removing the checklist item in response to ‘reject.’”(Claims 4, 13) These are merely a presentation of information to a user to manage their personal behavior in the form of prompts, and are merely interactions between a person and a computer which still fall within “certain methods of organizing human activity.” Furthermore, the additional elements of displaying on “the display of a user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors” in claims 2, 11, & 20 has already been covered in independent claim 19. These claims still fall within a generic use of computers added after the fact to the abstract idea because displaying on a remote user device is no more than using computers in their ordinary capacity to perform economic or other tasks (a display to display). Even when considered individually, or in combination with the previous cited additional elements, the claims still fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or meaningfully limit the abstract idea to significantly more (an inventive concept). Therefore, claims 2, 3, 4, 11, 12 and 13 are still patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 5, 6, 7, 8, 14, 15, 16, and 17 further limit the abstract idea because it merely defines the “detected event,” however, the further limitations still fall within the scope of “managing personal behavior, interactions or relationships between people.” For example, claims limit the “detected event” to “name change of the user,”(5 & 14) “address change of the user,” (6&15) “ job status of a user, will preparation for a user,” (7 & 16) and “death of the user”(8 &15). All of the further limitations are merely social interactions or activities indicating an event that has occurred regarding a user, therefore, it is still falls within “certain methods of organizing human activity.” There are no further limitations to consider, and even when considering these further limitations to the previous additional elements the claims are still no more than “apply it” or mere instructions to carry out the abstract idea on a generic computer. Therefore, the claims are still patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application or significantly more.
Claims 9 and 18 merely further limit the interactive checklist to be “items performed by another in response to the death of the user.” The fact that the checklist is performed by another user still falls within “certain methods of organizing human activity,” because the categories covers interactions between multiple people as well. The fact that the action items include “closure of the digital accounts of the user,” is still part of “managing personal behavior or interactions or relationships between people,” because it encompasses mere instructions to an individual to perform the activity. Furthermore, there are no further limitations to consider, and even when considering these further limitations to the previous additional elements the claims are still no more than “apply it” or mere instructions to carry out the abstract idea on a generic computer. Therefore, the claims are still patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application or significantly more.
Claim 21 recites:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
- providing training dataset input labels associated with a training dataset to an artificial intelligence neural network algorithm, the plurality of training dataset input labels being associated with a plurality of user interactions of the user with the one or more digital accounts of the user; and
- updating the artificial intelligence neural network trained model via the artificial intelligence neural network algorithm and based on the training dataset input labels to associate the plurality of training dataset input labels with a certain accuracy percentage exceeding a confidence threshold value;
- wherein determining that the detected event associated with the user has occurred comprises determining that the detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions to surpass the certain accuracy percentage exceeding the confidence threshold value.
However, the steps in bold merely add more of the same abstract idea, because they merely recite the training of a model using the inputs, wherein the inputs are the user interactions of the user. Therefore, in addition to reciting “certain methods of organizing human activity,” the concept of training a model is no more than creating “mathematical relationships” which is also an abstract idea under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), “When determining whether a claim recites a mathematical concept (i.e., mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations), examiners should consider whether the claim recites a mathematical concept or merely limitations that are based on or involve a mathematical concept.” Therefore, the steps of provided training input labels, updating the model based on the labels with a “certain accuracy percentage exceeding a confidence threshold value, and determining the event has occurred based on the event conditions surpassing the certain accuracy percentage exceeding the confidence threshold value. Therefore, the claims recite at least abstract idea grouping. MPEP 2106.04(a) states, “It should be noted that these groupings are not mutually exclusive, i.e., some claims recite limitations that fall within more than one grouping or sub-grouping. For example, a claim reciting performing mathematical calculations using a formula that could be practically performed in the human mind may be considered to fall within the mathematical concepts grouping and the mental process grouping. Accordingly, examiners should identify at least one abstract idea grouping, but preferably identify all groupings to the extent possible, if a claim limitation(s) is determined to fall within multiple groupings and proceed with the analysis in Step 2A Prong Two.” Furthermore, the additional element of the model being an “artificial intelligence neural network,” is no more than a general link to a technical field (being artificial intelligence/neural networks), because the implementation of these fields is not recited with enough specificity to be meaningfully limiting on the abstract idea. In other words, the model is only an “artificial intelligence, neural network” model by name, but only at a level that it is a “black box” model without any details on how artificial intelligence or neural networks are specifically used to arrive at the outcome. Furthermore, even when considered individually or as an ordered combination, the claims are no more than “apply it,” for the same reasons that they fail to provide specific steps to arrive at the idea or the solution at hand. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in claim 21 meaningfully limits the abstract idea such that it significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watt Lagnese et al. (US 10949937 B1) hereinafter Watt, in view of Goenka et al. (US 11706308 B2) hereinafter Goenka.
Regarding Claims 1 and 10:
Watt discloses a centralized system to coordinate the teams involved in settling or reconciling the affairs of a given estate, with a centralized estate resource system to create, manage, track, and coordinate tasks checklist for each personnel. Teaches:
Claim 1 Preamble: - A method for automated digital account change implemented using a computing device, comprising: (Watt [Col. 11 Lines 12-20] Trust management accounts 140 may also receive notifications from ERS 100 of decedent's death and the eventual disposition of the funds in any of the accounts associated with the decedent's estate account in ERS 100. In other examples, accounts to be reclassified after a decedent dies, such as to close an account or change the servicing entity to ESA team 114 or ESLT 110, may proceed via a different process and the results entered manually into ERS 100.)
Claim 10 Preamble: - A intelligent system for automated digital account change, comprising: one or more processors; (Watt [Col. 12 Lines 19-25]Example computing device 220 may include one or more processors 224, interfaces 226, storage units 228 and may implement ERS 100A. ERS 100A may include estate account management unit 102, checklist manager unit 104, report generation unit 202, access authorization unit 204, alert and messaging unit 206, change request feedback unit 208, dataset 210, and search unit 212.)
- one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; (Watt [Col. 13 Lines 1-8] Storage units 228 may represent one or more of any of a variety of random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and/or long-term storage memory, alone or in any combination. Some examples may include solid state drives, hard disk drives, arrays of hard disk drives or some combination. In some examples, storage units 228 are used to store program instructions for execution by processors 224.)
- and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors: (Watt [Col. 13 Lines 9-16] Storage units 228 may be used by software or applications running on computing device 220 (e.g., ERS 100A) to temporarily store information during program execution. For example, storage units 228 may be configured to store information related to estate assets associated with an estate account of a decedent of the financial institution. Storage units 228 may also store the task estate settlement services team checklists and checklist status associated with the estate account.)
Claim 1 Body also representative of claim 10:
- determining a detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions; (Watt [Col. 5 Lines 53-65] In some examples an “estate account” may be called a “relationship.” An estate account, or “relationship,” will generally represent one death (and a relationship team will be assigned to work on that individual's death-related accounts). In the example of FIG. 1, ERS 100 functions on an estate account or relationship level. Each death creates a new decedent “relationship”. Eventually there are always some accounts (either new or existing) within each decedent's estate account, i.e. revocable trust, terminating irrevocable trust and similar accounts. Upon receipt of a death notification form (DNF), ESLT 110 may assign the estate account to an ESLT team member, which in some examples may also be called an ESLT administrator. [Col. 8 Lines 19-24] Some example checklist items for an ESLT 110 member may include receiving a death notification, starting an estate account based on the death notification, and beginning to gather any governing documents. Death notification can come from a variety of sources, including the estate executor or another representative.) Watt’s death notification is an example of a “detected event” associated with the user, in view of [0019] of the present scope which includes “death of a user 106.”
- automatically generating, based on the detected event, an interactive checklist including a plurality of checklist action items to be performed to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event; (Watt [Col. 6 Lines 63- Col. 7 Line 3] Checklist manager unit 104 may be configured to generate the task checklists for the plurality of estate settlement services teams 110-118 based on the estate asset information for a given decedent. An estate account for the given decedent may differ greatly from an estate account for another decedent. As such, the tasks required to settle the estate account for the given decedent may be different than that of another estate account. [Col. 16 Lines 61-67] An estate settlement services team member may update the estate account for the decedent within ERS 100B to include contact information for parties outside the bank, documents sent to or received from government services or other institutions, results of communications with estate representatives or other organizations and similar information related to the estate account. [Col. 19 Lines 28-43] Other icons may include a checklist complete icon 526, which may indicate that the central will filing team checklist (WILLS) has been completed. [Col. 14 Lines 40-50] One example notification may include an automated message to TPP team 112 that certain checklist items from ESLT 110 are complete, which may allow TPP team 112 to continue with other items on their checklist. For example, ESLT 110 may have received approval to proceed with the decedent's estate settlement.) The broadest reasonable interpretation of “automatically change” information includes any automation steps within the process of changing information. Therefore, sending an automated message to a team to perform other items on the checklist such as changing information, satisfies “automatically change information.”
- automatically generating at least one prompt for at least one checklist action item of the plurality of checklist action items on a display for the user or another user to accept or reject the at least one checklist action item; (Watt [Col. 7 Lines 19-25] In some examples, checklists within ERS 100 are in sequential order. Checklist manager unit 104 within ERS 100 may prompt a user to seek approval for the situation where a user needs an exception to skip a step. Checklist manager unit 104 may prompt the user to get exception approval prior to that user being able to proceed with skipping the step and completing the checklist. [Col. 8 Lines 4-19] ERS 100 may generate an at least partially customizable checklist to track the status of ESLT 110 tasks for the estate account. A partially customizable checklist may include items that the team member may add or delete, depending on the situation of the particular estate account. For example, a team member may customize a checklist based upon if the decedent is a new or existing client, because there may be different regulatory or other compliance requirements for vetting each type of client. In other examples, ERS 100 may auto customize the checklist in that ERS 100 pulls over all existing accounts related to the decedent's social security number. Existing accounts may have specific requirements in the checklist for the ESLT administrator to address. If there are no existing accounts for a decedent, then ERS 100 would not pull over and auto customize the checklist.)
- automatically modifying the interactive checklist with an accept modification responsive to receiving user input for the at least one prompt via the display to accept the at least one checklist action item; (Watt [Col. 13 Lines 35-53] In some examples checklist manger unit 104 may add the task to the first team's list, remove the caution symbol, or change the font color from a grey to another color to indicate that ERS 100A has released the lock on the conditional task and the task is now available. In some examples, processors 224 may use alert and messaging unit 206, discussed below, notify other teams that a conditional task is available. (47) Report generation unit 202 may be configured to generate progress reports for the plurality of estate settlement services teams, with each of the progress reports indicating progress towards completion of a respective task checklists. The progress reports may be viewable by the at least one team member of each of the plurality of estate settlement services teams having authorized access to the estate account.)
- and automatically performing the at least one checklist action item to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event and based on the accept modification. (Watt [Col. 14 Lines 40-50] One example notification may include an automated message to TPP team 112 that certain checklist items from ESLT 110 are complete, which may allow TPP team 112 to continue with other items on their checklist. For example, ESLT 110 may have received approval to proceed with the decedent's estate settlement. Once ERS 100A has this approval, alert and messaging unit 206 may send an automated message to TPP team 112 to contact appraisers in the one or more states where the decedent has property so the appraiser can begin cataloging and valuation.)
However, Watt fails to teach:
- scanning a digital footprint of one or more digital accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms;
-that the “determining,” is done using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model and based on scanning the digital footprint of the one or more digital accounts of the user,
Alternatively, Goenka discloses a system to automate account transfers in which the system periodically queries social graph information to determine that an event such as a death has occurred. Goenka teaches:
- scanning a digital footprint of one or more digital accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms;(Goenka [Col. 14 Line 55-Col. 15 Line 3] In a first embodiment, in step 510, the method may scrape one or more public records databases. A public records database may comprise a governmental or quasi-governmental data sources that records, for example, deaths or individuals. Alternatively, the method may scrape known websites that post details regarding individuals. For example, the method may scrape a site that publishes obituaries. (107) In a second embodiment, the method may perform an Internet search using details of the user. For example, the method may search the Internet (using a search engine) for the user's name to identify any recent web pages addressing the user. Next, the method may classify the sentiment of those documents (in the same manner described previously) to determine if the recent web pages match the predicted sentiment. )
- determining, using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model and based on scanning the digital footprint of the one or more digital accounts of the user,, a detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions; (Goenka [Col. 6 Lines 5-23] Post extraction component (110A) forwards the social media data to NLP processors (110B). In one embodiment, the social graph monitor (110) may include multiple NLP processors (110B) to perform natural language processing (NLP) in parallel. In one embodiment, NLP processors (110B) utilize sentiment analysis routines to classify a group of posts into one or more sentiments. In some embodiments, NLP processors (110B) may utilize one or more neural networks (or deep neural networks) to classify text within social media posts into one or more sentiments (e.g., expressing remorse, indicating a death, etc.). In one embodiment, the NLP processors (110B) may utilize a machine learning framework (e.g., TensorFlow) to train a plurality of machine learning models (e.g., using a deep learning architecture with long short-term memory units). In one embodiment, the NLP processors (110B) convert each post into a word vector for input into the machine learning modules and the output of NLP processors (110B) are sentiment scores for each post. [Col. 6 Lines 41-46] Upon receiving confirmation (e.g., via a lack of response from the user), the alert generator (110D) forwards a signal to crawler (110E) indicating that a sentiment has occurred (e.g., a user has passed away). In response, crawler (110E) may crawl public data sources as a final check to confirm that the sentiment is accurate. [Col. 6 Lines 53-59] Condition processor (116) includes a rule processor (112). In one embodiment, the rule processor (112) acts as a gateway device for analyzing a transfer condition (e.g., the death of a user) and selecting the conditions to execute from condition storage (114B). For example, condition storage (114B) may store a list of conditions and associated actions to take based on that condition on a per-account basis. ) The broadest reasonable interpretation of “based on scanning the digital footprint of one or more of the digital accounts of the user,” is that the determining step uses the information scraped from the digital accounts. Goenka satisfies this limitation because it performs natural language processing on social media posts tied to the user, and other public data sources as a final check to determine that the detected event (death) occurred.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Watt with the teachings of Goenka, particularly, by using Goenka’s trigger condition techniques utilizing an AI, neural-network trained model to predict a sentiment of social media posts to indicate a death, which would trigger the “death notification” in Watt. This is a simple substitution that would result in the predictable outcome of the claimed limitations taught by the combination of Watt and Goenka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination through the benefit of Goenka’s improved accuracy of determining the death of a user and reducing false positive. (Goenka [Col. 2 Lines 31-41] The system then determines if this sentiment triggers a transfer condition. The proposed solution of using NLP sentiment analysis combined with social media remedies the problems in existing solutions where inactivity (which may be unintentional) prematurely or inaccurately triggers account deactivation routines. (9) In addition to improving systems for detecting transfer conditions, such as the death of a user, the disclosed embodiments describe a fine-grained condition engine that can perform a variety of account transfer operations based on user-defined rules.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 1,
Furthermore, Watt Teaches:
- wherein automatically modifying the interactive checklist further comprises: displaying the at least one prompt on the display of a user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the computing device. (Watt [Col. 12 Lines 51-65] Interfaces 226 may include one or more interfaces for communicating via a network. Interface 226 may represent, for example, one or more of a network interface card (MC), a radio for communicating over a radio access network (RAN), a wireless network card (which may conform to one or more IEEE 802.11 standards), or the like, alone or in any combination. Interfaces 226 may also represent connections to send and receive information to other components within computing device 220, such as interfaces to storage units 228, or user input devices such as a keyboard and display devices. Processors 224 may be configured to present a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display unit operatively coupled to computing device 220. The GUI appearance may be different for different team members depending, for example, on the team member's level of access and which team the team member is assigned. An example GUI will be discussed in more detail in FIG. 5. [Col. 18 Lines 59-64] FIG. 5 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example ERS estate account summary display. Estate account summary display 500, as depicted by FIG. 5, is an example graphical user interface (GUI) on a display unit that may be operatively coupled to computing device 220, as described in FIG. 2.) Since each team member in Watt has their own Gui that displays the tasks and features of Fig. 5, then the limitation has been satisfied because the prompt is displayed on a user device remotely and communicatively coupled to the computing device (server).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 2, and The intelligent system of claim 11,
Furthermore Watt teaches further comprising, wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors:
- adding a checklist action item to the plurality of checklist action items as part of the interactive checklist based on a response to the at least one prompt. (Watt [Col. 8 Lines 4-8] ERS 100 may generate an at least partially customizable checklist to track the status of ESLT 110 tasks for the estate account. A partially customizable checklist may include items that the team member may add or delete, depending on the situation of the particular estate account. [Col. 13 Lines 30-42] Based on the second team completing their task, ERS 100A may cross-reference the completed task on the second team's checklist and unlock, add or otherwise notify the first team, via checklist manager unit 104, that the first team's conditional task may now be started. In some examples checklist manger unit 104 may add the task to the first team's list, remove the caution symbol, or change the font color from a grey to another color to indicate that ERS 100A has released the lock on the conditional task and the task is now available. In some examples, processors 224 may use alert and messaging unit 206, discussed below, notify other teams that a conditional task is available.)
Regarding Claims 4 and 13:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 2, and The intelligent system of claim 11,
Furthermore Watt teaches further comprising, wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors:
- removing the at least one checklist action item responsive to receiving user input for the at least one prompt via the display to reject the at least one checklist action item. (Watt [Col. 17 Lines 28-33] The end state 330 for each estate may depend on the situation of each estate. ERS 100B may be configured to customize, add, delete and ignore certain items that do not apply to a given estate. For example, for an estate with no urgent personal property, ERS 100B end state 330 would not include a final urgent personal property 320 checklist. [Col. 21 Lines 45-63] In examples where a cross-reference links the first team's checklist to a task on a second team's checklist, computing device 220 may also update the second team's checklist (96). For example, where a task on the second team's checklist is conditional on the first task from the first checklist, computing device 220 may update the second task to indicate that the first task has been marked complete and that the second task may now be completed. As discussed above, computing device 220 may update the second task by changing the font from “greyed out” and not selectable, to a different color, or removing a caution indicator from the first task, or by some other technique. Computing device 220 may repeat this cross-reference action to manage the tasks on additional checklists for additional teams. Any checklist may cross-reference to any other checklist with a variety of different dependencies. In some examples the cross-reference may be conditional as described above, or information-only without any dependency, along with other types of dependencies. )
Regarding Claims 7 and 16:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 1, and The intelligent system of claim 10,
Furthermore Watt teaches:
- wherein the detected event comprises one or more of a name change of the user, an address change of the user, a job status of the user, a death of the user, a will preparation for the user, or combinations thereof. (Watt [Col. 5 Lines 53-65] In some examples an “estate account” may be called a “relationship.” An estate account, or “relationship,” will generally represent one death (and a relationship team will be assigned to work on that individual's death-related accounts). In the example of FIG. 1, ERS 100 functions on an estate account or relationship level. Each death creates a new decedent “relationship”. Eventually there are always some accounts (either new or existing) within each decedent's estate account, i.e. revocable trust, terminating irrevocable trust and similar accounts. Upon receipt of a death notification form (DNF), ESLT 110 may assign the estate account to an ESLT team member, which in some examples may also be called an ESLT administrator. [Col. 7 Lines 39-45] For example, the estate settlement services teams may need to verify that each team is working with the latest revision of the decedent's last will and testament. As one example, estate services liaison team 110 may proceed through the first few items in the estate services liaison team 110 checklist, but need to halt further steps until notified that the team has the most recent valid will. ) Since both “a death of a user” and “will preparation for the user” are satisfied by Watt, the limitation has been taught because the detected event only must require at least one of the list or combinations thereof.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 1, and The intelligent system of claim 10,
Watt Teaches:
- wherein the detected event comprises a death of the user, the death satisfying at least one of the plurality of trigger event conditions comprising (Watt [Col. 5 Lines 53-65] In some examples an “estate account” may be called a “relationship.” An estate account, or “relationship,” will generally represent one death (and a relationship team will be assigned to work on that individual's death-related accounts). In the example of FIG. 1, ERS 100 functions on an estate account or relationship level. Each death creates a new decedent “relationship”. Eventually there are always some accounts (either new or existing) within each decedent's estate account, i.e. revocable trust, terminating irrevocable trust and similar accounts. Upon receipt of a death notification form (DNF), ESLT 110 may assign the estate account to an ESLT team member, which in some examples may also be called an ESLT administrator.)
However, Watt fails to teach or suggest:
- comprising being verified as a legally reported death through a death reporting authority.
Goenka teaches:
- trigger event conditions comprising being verified as a legally reported death through a death reporting authority.(Goenka [Col. 6 Lines 41-52] Upon receiving confirmation (e.g., via a lack of response from the user), the alert generator (110D) forwards a signal to crawler (110E) indicating that a sentiment has occurred (e.g., a user has passed away). In response, crawler (110E) may crawl public data sources as a final check to confirm that the sentiment is accurate. For example, crawler (110E) may query one or more third-party public data records sources to confirm the sentiment (e.g., by verifying a death record or similar record). Once the crawler (110E) confirms the sentiment, the social graph monitor (110) transmits a notification to condition processor indicating a transfer condition has occurred. [Col. 14 Lines 55-62] In a first embodiment, in step 510, the method may scrape one or more public records databases. A public records database may comprise a governmental or quasi-governmental data sources that records, for example, deaths or individuals. Alternatively, the method may scrape known websites that post details regarding individuals. For example, the method may scrape a site that publishes obituaries.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Watt with the teachings of Goenka, particularly, by verifying that the death is a legally reported death through an authority. This is a simple substitution that would result in the predictable outcome of the claimed limitations taught by the combination of Watt and Goenka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination through the benefit of Goenka’s additional verification to protect against false positives. (Goenka [Col. 9 Lines 4-13] As described above, a transfer condition may correspond to the death of the user. Thus, the method implements an additional verification check to further protect against false positives. Specific embodiments of verifying a transfer condition are described more fully in the description of FIG. 5, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety. In general, the method may attempt to contact the user using various contact mechanisms and may also query public records to confirm whether the transfer condition has occurred.)
Regarding Claims 9 and 18:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 8, and The intelligent system of claim 17,
Furthermore, Watt teaches:
- wherein the interactive checklist comprises the plurality of checklist action items to be performed by another user in response to the death of the user, (Watt [Col. 6 Lines 55-62] Checklist manager unit 104 may create, edit, manage, track and coordinate the task checklists for each of the estate settlement services teams 110-118, and interactions between the task checklists for the teams. Checklist manager unit 104 may also enable team members of each of the estate settlement services teams 110-118 to modify and/or view the task checklists.) The checklist manager satisfies the “action items to be performed by another user,” because the tasks are generated for the plurality of “estate settlement service teams” (another users).
- the plurality of action items including closure of the one or more digital accounts of the user. (Watt [Col. 11 Lines 12-20] Trust management accounts 140 may also receive notifications from ERS 100 of decedent's death and the eventual disposition of the funds in any of the accounts associated with the decedent's estate account in ERS 100. In other examples, accounts to be reclassified after a decedent dies, such as to close an account or change the servicing entity to ESA team 114 or ESLT 110, may proceed via a different process and the results entered manually into ERS 100.)
Regarding Claim 19:
Watt teaches:
- A intelligent system for automated digital account change, comprising: one or more processors; (Watt [Col. 12 Lines 19-25]Example computing device 220 may include one or more processors 224, interfaces 226, storage units 228 and may implement ERS 100A. ERS 100A may include estate account management unit 102, checklist manager unit 104, report generation unit 202, access authorization unit 204, alert and messaging unit 206, change request feedback unit 208, dataset 210, and search unit 212.)
- one or more memory components communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; (Watt [Col. 13 Lines 1-8] Storage units 228 may represent one or more of any of a variety of random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and/or long-term storage memory, alone or in any combination. Some examples may include solid state drives, hard disk drives, arrays of hard disk drives or some combination. In some examples, storage units 228 are used to store program instructions for execution by processors 224.)
- and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory components that cause the intelligent system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors: (Watt [Col. 13 Lines 9-16] Storage units 228 may be used by software or applications running on computing device 220 (e.g., ERS 100A) to temporarily store information during program execution. For example, storage units 228 may be configured to store information related to estate assets associated with an estate account of a decedent of the financial institution. Storage units 228 may also store the task estate settlement services team checklists and checklist status associated with the estate account.)
- determining a detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions; (Watt [Col. 5 Lines 53-65] In some examples an “estate account” may be called a “relationship.” An estate account, or “relationship,” will generally represent one death (and a relationship team will be assigned to work on that individual's death-related accounts). In the example of FIG. 1, ERS 100 functions on an estate account or relationship level. Each death creates a new decedent “relationship”. Eventually there are always some accounts (either new or existing) within each decedent's estate account, i.e. revocable trust, terminating irrevocable trust and similar accounts. Upon receipt of a death notification form (DNF), ESLT 110 may assign the estate account to an ESLT team member, which in some examples may also be called an ESLT administrator. [Col. 8 Lines 19-24] Some example checklist items for an ESLT 110 member may include receiving a death notification, starting an estate account based on the death notification, and beginning to gather any governing documents. Death notification can come from a variety of sources, including the estate executor or another representative.) Watt’s death notification is an example of a “detected event” associated with the user, in view of [0019] of the present scope which includes “death of a user 106.”
- the detected event comprises a death of the user, the death satisfying at least one of the plurality of trigger event conditions (Watt [Col. 5 Lines 53-65] In some examples an “estate account” may be called a “relationship.” An estate account, or “relationship,” will generally represent one death (and a relationship team will be assigned to work on that individual's death-related accounts). In the example of FIG. 1, ERS 100 functions on an estate account or relationship level. Each death creates a new decedent “relationship”. Eventually there are always some accounts (either new or existing) within each decedent's estate account, i.e. revocable trust, terminating irrevocable trust and similar accounts. Upon receipt of a death notification form (DNF), ESLT 110 may assign the estate account to an ESLT team member, which in some examples may also be called an ESLT administrator.)
- automatically generate, based on the detected event, the interactive checklist including a plurality of checklist action items to be performed to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event; (Watt [Col. 6 Lines 63- Col. 7 Line 3] Checklist manager unit 104 may be configured to generate the task checklists for the plurality of estate settlement services teams 110-118 based on the estate asset information for a given decedent. An estate account for the given decedent may differ greatly from an estate account for another decedent. As such, the tasks required to settle the estate account for the given decedent may be different than that of another estate account. [Col. 16 Lines 61-67] An estate settlement services team member may update the estate account for the decedent within ERS 100B to include contact information for parties outside the bank, documents sent to or received from government services or other institutions, results of communications with estate representatives or other organizations and similar information related to the estate account. [Col. 19 Lines 28-43] Other icons may include a checklist complete icon 526, which may indicate that the central will filing team checklist (WILLS) has been completed [Col. 14 Lines 40-50] One example notification may include an automated message to TPP team 112 that certain checklist items from ESLT 110 are complete, which may allow TPP team 112 to continue with other items on their checklist. For example, ESLT 110 may have received approval to proceed with the decedent's estate settlement.) The broadest reasonable interpretation of “automatically change” information includes any automation steps within the process of changing information. Therefore, sending an automated message to a team to perform other items on the checklist such as changing information, satisfies “automatically change information.”
- automatically generate at least one prompt for at least one checklist action item of the plurality of checklist action items on a display for another user to accept or reject the at least one checklist action item; (Watt [Col. 7 Lines 19-25] In some examples, checklists within ERS 100 are in sequential order. Checklist manager unit 104 within ERS 100 may prompt a user to seek approval for the situation where a user needs an exception to skip a step. Checklist manager unit 104 may prompt the user to get exception approval prior to that user being able to proceed with skipping the step and completing the checklist. [Col. 8 Lines 4-19] ERS 100 may generate an at least partially customizable checklist to track the status of ESLT 110 tasks for the estate account. A partially customizable checklist may include items that the team member may add or delete, depending on the situation of the particular estate account. For example, a team member may customize a checklist based upon if the decedent is a new or existing client, because there may be different regulatory or other compliance requirements for vetting each type of client. In other examples, ERS 100 may auto customize the checklist in that ERS 100 pulls over all existing accounts related to the decedent's social security number. Existing accounts may have specific requirements in the checklist for the ESLT administrator to address. If there are no existing accounts for a decedent, then ERS 100 would not pull over and auto customize the checklist.)Since the “user” in Watt is either a team member or a new client, they are “another user,” because the original “user” is the decedent (who can’t possibly approve or deny).
- automatically modify the interactive checklist with an accept modification responsive to receiving user input for the at least one prompt via the display to accept the at least one checklist action item, (Watt [Col. 13 Lines 35-53] In some examples checklist manger unit 104 may add the task to the first team's list, remove the caution symbol, or change the font color from a grey to another color to indicate that ERS 100A has released the lock on the conditional task and the task is now available. In some examples, processors 224 may use alert and messaging unit 206, discussed below, notify other teams that a conditional task is available. (47) Report generation unit 202 may be configured to generate progress reports for the plurality of estate settlement services teams, with each of the progress reports indicating progress towards completion of a respective task checklists. The progress reports may be viewable by the at least one team member of each of the plurality of estate settlement services teams having authorized access to the estate account.)
- the modifying including displaying the at least one prompt on the display of a user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and (Watt [Col. 12 Lines 51-65] Interfaces 226 may include one or more interfaces for communicating via a network. Interface 226 may represent, for example, one or more of a network interface card (MC), a radio for communicating over a radio access network (RAN), a wireless network card (which may conform to one or more IEEE 802.11 standards), or the like, alone or in any combination. Interfaces 226 may also represent connections to send and receive information to other components within computing device 220, such as interfaces to storage units 228, or user input devices such as a keyboard and display devices. Processors 224 may be configured to present a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display unit operatively coupled to computing device 220. The GUI appearance may be different for different team members depending, for example, on the team member's level of access and which team the team member is assigned. An example GUI will be discussed in more detail in FIG. 5. [Col. 18 Lines 59-64] FIG. 5 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example ERS estate account summary display. Estate account summary display 500, as depicted by FIG. 5, is an example graphical user interface (GUI) on a display unit that may be operatively coupled to computing device 220, as described in FIG. 2.) Since each team member in Watt has their own Gui that displays the tasks and features of Fig. 5, then the limitation has been satisfied because the prompt is displayed on a user device remotely and communicatively coupled to the computing device (server).
- automatically perform the at least one checklist action item to automatically change information for at least one of the one or more digital accounts of the user based on the detected event and based on the accept modification. (Watt [Col. 14 Lines 40-50] One example notification may include an automated message to TPP team 112 that certain checklist items from ESLT 110 are complete, which may allow TPP team 112 to continue with other items on their checklist. For example, ESLT 110 may have received approval to proceed with the decedent's estate settlement. Once ERS 100A has this approval, alert and messaging unit 206 may send an automated message to TPP team 112 to contact appraisers in the one or more states where the decedent has property so the appraiser can begin cataloging and valuation.)
However, Watt fails to teach:
- scan a digital footprint of one or more digital accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms;
-the determining is performed using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model
-trigger event conditions comprising being verified as a legally reported death through a death reporting authority;
Alternatively, Goenka teaches:
- scanning a digital footprint of one or more digital accounts of a user associated with one or more digital platforms;(Goenka [Col. 14 Line 55-Col. 15 Line 3] In a first embodiment, in step 510, the method may scrape one or more public records databases. A public records database may comprise a governmental or quasi-governmental data sources that records, for example, deaths or individuals. Alternatively, the method may scrape known websites that post details regarding individuals. For example, the method may scrape a site that publishes obituaries. (107) In a second embodiment, the method may perform an Internet search using details of the user. For example, the method may search the Internet (using a search engine) for the user's name to identify any recent web pages addressing the user. Next, the method may classify the sentiment of those documents (in the same manner described previously) to determine if the recent web pages match the predicted sentiment. )
- determining, using an artificial intelligence neural network trained model, a detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions; (Goenka [Col. 6 Lines 5-23] Post extraction component (110A) forwards the social media data to NLP processors (110B). In one embodiment, the social graph monitor (110) may include multiple NLP processors (110B) to perform natural language processing (NLP) in parallel. In one embodiment, NLP processors (110B) utilize sentiment analysis routines to classify a group of posts into one or more sentiments. In some embodiments, NLP processors (110B) may utilize one or more neural networks (or deep neural networks) to classify text within social media posts into one or more sentiments (e.g., expressing remorse, indicating a death, etc.). In one embodiment, the NLP processors (110B) may utilize a machine learning framework (e.g., TensorFlow) to train a plurality of machine learning models (e.g., using a deep learning architecture with long short-term memory units). In one embodiment, the NLP processors (110B) convert each post into a word vector for input into the machine learning modules and the output of NLP processors (110B) are sentiment scores for each post. [Col. 6 Lines 41-46] Upon receiving confirmation (e.g., via a lack of response from the user), the alert generator (110D) forwards a signal to crawler (110E) indicating that a sentiment has occurred (e.g., a user has passed away). In response, crawler (110E) may crawl public data sources as a final check to confirm that the sentiment is accurate. [Col. 6 Lines 53-59] Condition processor (116) includes a rule processor (112). In one embodiment, the rule processor (112) acts as a gateway device for analyzing a transfer condition (e.g., the death of a user) and selecting the conditions to execute from condition storage (114B). For example, condition storage (114B) may store a list of conditions and associated actions to take based on that condition on a per-account basis. ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Watt with the teachings of Goenka, particularly, by using Goenka’s trigger condition techniques utilizing an AI, neural-network trained model to predict a sentiment of social media posts to indicate a death, which would trigger the “death notification” in Watt. This is a simple substitution that would result in the predictable outcome of the claimed limitations taught by the combination of Watt and Goenka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination through the benefit of Goenka’s improved accuracy of determining the death of a user and reducing false positive. (Goenka [Col. 2 Lines 31-41] The system then determines if this sentiment triggers a transfer condition. The proposed solution of using NLP sentiment analysis combined with social media remedies the problems in existing solutions where inactivity (which may be unintentional) prematurely or inaccurately triggers account deactivation routines. (9) In addition to improving systems for detecting transfer conditions, such as the death of a user, the disclosed embodiments describe a fine-grained condition engine that can perform a variety of account transfer operations based on user-defined rules.)
- trigger event conditions comprising being verified as a legally reported death through a death reporting authority.(Goenka [Col. 6 Lines 41-52] Upon receiving confirmation (e.g., via a lack of response from the user), the alert generator (110D) forwards a signal to crawler (110E) indicating that a sentiment has occurred (e.g., a user has passed away). In response, crawler (110E) may crawl public data sources as a final check to confirm that the sentiment is accurate. For example, crawler (110E) may query one or more third-party public data records sources to confirm the sentiment (e.g., by verifying a death record or similar record). Once the crawler (110E) confirms the sentiment, the social graph monitor (110) transmits a notification to condition processor indicating a transfer condition has occurred. [Col. 14 Lines 55-62] In a first embodiment, in step 510, the method may scrape one or more public records databases. A public records database may comprise a governmental or quasi-governmental data sources that records, for example, deaths or individuals. Alternatively, the method may scrape known websites that post details regarding individuals. For example, the method may scrape a site that publishes obituaries.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Watt with the teachings of Goenka, particularly, by verifying that the death is a legally reported death through an authority. This is a simple substitution that would result in the predictable outcome of the claimed limitations taught by the combination of Watt and Goenka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination through the benefit of Goenka’s additional verification to protect against false positives. (Goenka [Col. 9 Lines 4-13] As described above, a transfer condition may correspond to the death of the user. Thus, the method implements an additional verification check to further protect against false positives. Specific embodiments of verifying a transfer condition are described more fully in the description of FIG. 5, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety. In general, the method may attempt to contact the user using various contact mechanisms and may also query public records to confirm whether the transfer condition has occurred.)
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest The intelligent system of claim 10,
Furthermore, Watt teaches:
- wherein the machine readable instructions causing the intelligent system to automatically modify the interactive checklist when executed by the one or more processors includes: displaying the at least one prompt on the display of the user-device that is remote from and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors. (Watt [Col. 12 Lines 51-65] Interfaces 226 may include one or more interfaces for communicating via a network. Interface 226 may represent, for example, one or more of a network interface card (MC), a radio for communicating over a radio access network (RAN), a wireless network card (which may conform to one or more IEEE 802.11 standards), or the like, alone or in any combination. Interfaces 226 may also represent connections to send and receive information to other components within computing device 220, such as interfaces to storage units 228, or user input devices such as a keyboard and display devices. Processors 224 may be configured to present a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display unit operatively coupled to computing device 220. The GUI appearance may be different for different team members depending, for example, on the team member's level of access and which team the team member is assigned. An example GUI will be discussed in more detail in FIG. 5. [Col. 18 Lines 59-64] FIG. 5 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example ERS estate account summary display. Estate account summary display 500, as depicted by FIG. 5, is an example graphical user interface (GUI) on a display unit that may be operatively coupled to computing device 220, as described in FIG. 2.) Since each team member in Watt has their own Gui that displays the tasks and features of Fig. 5, then the limitation has been satisfied because the prompt is displayed on a user device remotely and communicatively coupled to the computing device (server).
Claims 5-6, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watt Lagnese et al. (US 10949937 B1), in view of Goenka et al. (US 11706308 B2), further in view of Rajagopalan et al. (US 10382528 B2) hereinafter Rajagopalan.
Regarding Claims 5 and 14:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 1, and The intelligent system of claim 10,
However, neither Watt nor Goenka teach:
- wherein the detected event comprises a name change of the user, the name change satisfying at least one of the plurality of trigger event conditions comprising being verified as a legal name change.
Alternatively, Rajagopalan discloses trigger events in digital asset management to validate the incapacitation of an asset owner and perform actions to dispose of digital assets. Rajagopalan suggests:
- wherein the detected event comprises a name change of the user, the name change satisfying at least one of the plurality of trigger event conditions comprising being verified as a legal name change. (Rajagopalan [Col. 4 Line 53 – Col. 5 Line 2] The management service 108 may monitor a content the digital asset 110 to identify a trigger event to execute actions to dispose of the digital asset 110. The trigger event may include, among others, an inactivity by the asset owner 102 during a period of time, a death of the asset owner 102, ... a name change of the asset owner 102,... In response to a detection of the trigger event, the management service 108 may execute the actions to dispose of the digital asset 110. The above-described modules of the management service 108 may be implemented as software, hardware, or combinations thereof. [Col. 5 Lines 53-55] The policy engine 210 may also transmit the digital asset 224 or the trigger event associated with the digital asset 224 to the asset manager to confirm a validity of the digital asset 224 or the trigger event. [Col. 5 Lines 32-48] The monitoring service 208 may further detect the trigger events through online searches of the external resource 206. Online searches may discover legal declarations and news associated with the asset owner hosted by the external resource 206. The legal declarations and news may be analyzed to detect the trigger event. The trigger event may include, among others, an inactivity by the asset owner during a period of time, a death of the asset owner, a disablement of the asset owner, an expatriation of the asset owner, the asset owner entering into a witness protection program, an indication of a stolen identity of the asset owner, a name change of the asset owner, a permanent relocation of the asset owner, an imprisonment of the asset owner, and a legal incapacitation declaration associated with the asset owner, among others. In some examples, legal jurisdictions may be taken into consideration.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present disclosure to further modify the combination of Watt and Goenka by adding the teachings of Rajagopalan in which a trigger event includes the name change of an individual. It would have been obvious to perform this simple substitution as it would provide the benefit of expanding the types of triggering events that would necessitate account changes (Rajagopalan [Col. 1 Lines 22-29] Various social data stores from simple tables to complicated databases are maintained and synchronized as new entries or modifications are made by different sources. In addition, variety of services are offered to enable internal and external parties' interactivity with the social data hosted by the data stores. Incapacitation events associated with an owner of the social data present significant challenges in management and disposition of the social data.)
Regarding Claims 6 and 15:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach or suggest: The method of claim 1, and The intelligent system of claim 10,
However, neither Watt nor Goenka teach:
- wherein the detected event comprises an address change of the user, the address change satisfying at least one of the plurality of trigger event conditions comprising a notification of the address change via a postal service subscription.
Rajagopalan suggests:
- wherein the detected event comprises an address change of the user, the address change satisfying at least one of the plurality of trigger event conditions comprising a notification of the address change via a postal service subscription.(Rajagopalan [Col. 4 Lines 53-67] The management service 108 may monitor a content the digital asset 110 to identify a trigger event to execute actions to dispose of the digital asset 110. The trigger event may include, among others... permanent relocation of the asset owner 102,. In response to a detection of the trigger event, the management service 108 may execute the actions to dispose of the digital asset 110. [Col. 5 Lines 32-48] The monitoring service 208 may further detect the trigger events through online searches of the external resource 206. Online searches may discover legal declarations and news associated with the asset owner hosted by the external resource 206. The legal declarations and news may be analyzed to detect the trigger event. The trigger event may include, among others, an inactivity by the asset owner during a period of time, a death of the asset owner, a disablement of the asset owner, an expatriation of the asset owner, the asset owner entering into a witness protection program, an indication of a stolen identity of the asset owner, a name change of the asset owner, a permanent relocation of the asset owner, an imprisonment of the asset owner, and a legal incapacitation declaration associated with the asset owner, among others. In some examples, legal jurisdictions may be taken into consideration.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present disclosure to further modify the combination of Watt and Goenka by adding the teachings of Rajagopalan in which a trigger event includes the address change of an individual. It would have been obvious to perform this simple substitution as it would provide the benefit of expanding the types of triggering events that would necessitate account changes (Rajagopalan [Col. 1 Lines 22-29] Various social data stores from simple tables to complicated databases are maintained and synchronized as new entries or modifications are made by different sources. In addition, variety of services are offered to enable internal and external parties' interactivity with the social data hosted by the data stores. Incapacitation events associated with an owner of the social data present significant challenges in management and disposition of the social data.)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watt Lagnese et al. (US 10949937 B1) hereinafter Watt, in view of Goenka et al. (US 11706308 B2) hereinafter Goenka, further in view of Sharma et al. (US 12645988 B2) hereinafter Sharma.
Regarding Claim 21:
The combination of Watt and Goenka teach The method of claim 1,
However, Watt fails to teach further comprising:
- providing training dataset input labels associated with a training dataset to an artificial intelligence neural network algorithm, the plurality of training dataset input labels being associated with a plurality of user interactions of the user with the one or more digital accounts of the user; and
- updating the artificial intelligence neural network trained model via the artificial intelligence neural network algorithm and based on the training dataset input labels to associate the plurality of training dataset input labels with a certain accuracy percentage exceeding a confidence threshold value;
- wherein determining that the detected event associated with the user has occurred comprises determining that the detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions to surpass the certain accuracy percentage exceeding the confidence threshold value.
Alternatively, Goenka teaches:
- a plurality of user interactions of the user with the one or more digital accounts of the user; and (Goenka [Col. 5 Line 62- Col. 6 Line 4] Thus, social graph monitor (110) utilize a post extraction component (110A) to periodically issue requests to the social networks (108A-108D) (e.g., via a REST API or similar interface). Post extraction component (110A) may be configured to poll the social networks (108A-108D) periodically and aggregate social media posts in a social graph for further processing. In some embodiments, post extraction component (110A) may filter irrelevant data from the social graph (e.g., news postings, content not related to a user, etc.). [] )
- updating the artificial intelligence neural network trained model via the artificial intelligence neural network algorithm (Goenka [Col. 6 Lines 5-23] Post extraction component (110A) forwards the social media data to NLP processors (110B). In one embodiment, the social graph monitor (110) may include multiple NLP processors (110B) to perform natural language processing (NLP) in parallel. In one embodiment, NLP processors (110B) utilize sentiment analysis routines to classify a group of posts into one or more sentiments. In some embodiments, NLP processors (110B) may utilize one or more neural networks (or deep neural networks) to classify text within social media posts into one or more sentiments (e.g., expressing remorse, indicating a death, etc.). In one embodiment, the NLP processors (110B) may utilize a machine learning framework (e.g., TensorFlow) to train a plurality of machine learning models (e.g., using a deep learning architecture with long short-term memory units). In one embodiment, the NLP processors (110B) convert each post into a word vector for input into the machine learning modules and the output of NLP processors (110B) are sentiment scores for each post.)
- wherein determining that the detected event associated with the user has occurred comprises determining that the detected event associated with the user has occurred based on the detected event satisfying at least one of a plurality of trigger event conditions to surpass the certain accuracy percentage exceeding the confidence threshold value. (Goenka [Col. 6 Lines 34-40] If the sentiment array has a score above a predetermined threshold for a sentiment indicating a user has passed away, the alert generator (110D) generates one or more confirmatory alerts to confirm that the scorer component (110C) accurately predicted the sentiment (as described in more detail in the corresponding flow diagrams). [Col. 10 Lines 40-51] Alternatively, or in conjunction with the foregoing, the transfer condition may comprise a level of inactivity of the user with respect to a given email account. (65) In one embodiment, trigger parameters may include options presented in a drop-down menu specifying the type of trigger (e.g., death, inactivity, etc.) The trigger parameters may also include a sensitivity threshold (e.g., a confidence that death has occurred, a period of inactivity, etc.). [Col. 13 Lines 5-13] After step 406, the method obtains a listing of posts by a user's friends or acquaintances that comprise textual comments posted regarding a user. In step 408, the method analyzes each post to generate a sentiment and a confidence score for each post. In one embodiment, the method may utilize a machine learning framework (e.g., TensorFlow) to train a plurality of machine learning models (e.g., using a deep learning architecture with long short-term memory units). [Col. 13 Lines 27-41] After step 412, the method includes, for each social network, a list of sentiments and a score representing the confidence of the NLP routine in predicting the sentiment. In step 414, the method first combines these sentiments into a single array of sentiments and scores (e.g., an array of maps). [Col. 13 Lines 51-64] In step 416, the method determines if the sentiment score of the highest sentiment is above a pre-determined threshold.(94) In one embodiment, the sentiment score may be a decimal number between 0 and 1. In this case, a threshold may be set to 0.8 or higher depending on system needs. If the sentiment score is above the threshold, the method marks the sentiment as a valid predicted sentiment. In this case, the method generates a transfer condition occurred notification in step 418, and transmits this notification to, for example, a condition processor (such as condition processor 116 in FIG. 1). Alternatively, if the sentiment score is not above the pre-determined threshold, the method may end and re-execute at the appropriate time, based on the defined window. )
However, neither Watt nor Goenka teach or suggest:
- providing training dataset input labels associated with a training dataset to an artificial intelligence neural network algorithm,
- that the plurality of training dataset input labels being associated with a plurality of user interactions of the user with the one or more digital accounts of the user; and
- that the “updating the artificial intelligence neural network trained model via the artificial intelligence neural network algorithm” is based on the training dataset input labels to associate the plurality of training dataset input labels with a certain accuracy percentage exceeding a confidence threshold value;
Alternatively, Sharma teaches:
- providing training dataset input labels associated with a training dataset to an artificial intelligence neural network algorithm, (Sharma [Col. 8 Lines 36-53] In some arrangements, the models of the machine learning subsystem 114 are trained in order to operate. In some arrangements, model training makes use of training data sets and/or few-shot data sets. Training data typically includes a significant number of examples that a human could not feasibly read and/or review (e.g., over 10 thousand, over 100 thousand, over a million, etc.). Within artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning, two approaches to training exist: supervised learning and unsupervised learning. The main difference is one uses labeled data to help predict outcomes, while the other does not. However, there are some nuances between the two approaches, and the areas in which one outperforms the other. Supervised learning is a machine learning approach defined by the use of labeled datasets. These datasets are designed to train or “supervise” algorithms into classifying data or predicting outcomes accurately. Using labeled inputs and outputs, the model can measure its accuracy and learn over time. [Col. 12 Lines 38-56] In one use case, outputs 406 may be fed back to machine learning model 402 as input to train machine learning model 402 (e.g., alone or in conjunction with user indications of the accuracy of outputs 406, labels associated with the inputs, or with other reference feedback information). In another use case, machine learning model 402 may update its configurations (e.g., weights, biases, or other parameters) based on its assessment of its prediction (e.g., outputs 406) and reference feedback information (e.g., user indication of accuracy, reference labels, or other information). In another use case, where machine learning model 402 is a neural network as described below, connection weights may be adjusted to reconcile differences between the neural network's prediction and the reference feedback. In a further use case, one or more neurons (or nodes) of the neural network may require that their respective errors are sent backward through the neural network to them to facilitate the update process (e.g., backpropagation of error).)
- that the plurality of training dataset input labels being associated with a plurality of user interactions of the user with the one or more digital accounts of the user; and (Sharma [Col. 10 Lines 22-35] Another example of a machine learning model is a behavior block model. A behavior block model determines whether one or more network operations observed by a listener are allowable or denied. In one example arrangement, the input to the behavior block model may be historical data regarding system interactions between the subscriber device 104 and computing platform 110 (e.g., pings, handshakes, API calls, electronic data interchange (EDI) transactions, etc.). In another example arrangement, platform subscriber entities may be individuals. The input to the behavior block model may be a set of user interaction data, such as transaction data, and the model may identify what sort of transaction the data represents (e.g., whether the transaction is a single purchase or a recurring payment). [Col. 18 Lines 7-13] The subset of future interaction is determined by a second machine learning model that implements training data of suspicious interactions of platform subscriber entities connected to the user listener. The subset of future interaction refers to a set of requested network events that a platform subscriber entity is enabled to take with respect to an account.)In this excerpt, it is shown that the training data inputs are associated with the user interactions of the digital accounts.
- that the “updating the artificial intelligence neural network trained model via the artificial intelligence neural network algorithm” is based on the training dataset input labels to associate the plurality of training dataset input labels with a certain accuracy percentage exceeding a confidence threshold value;(Sharma [Col. 11 Lines 4-22] The messaging model may determine a most likely entity interaction or message to send to the entity to elicit a response, as shown with respect to example FIGS. 2 and 3. For example, in a certain use case, the listener subsystem 102 may be implemented to crawl publicly available data to determine whether account holders (e.g., subscribers) to the computing platform 110 are deceased. In such scenarios, the machine learning subsystem 114 may parse an individual's name from an obituary data set returned by the entity discovery agent. The machine learning subsystem 114 may determine that more than one account holder has a particular name. The machine learning subsystem 114 may calculate a confidence value indicative of the expected accuracy level of the prediction that the deceased individual is the account holder. If a match confidence that a given user has died is below a predetermined threshold (e.g., below 7/10, below 70%, is within a certain qualitative category, etc.), the computing platform 110 may seek to elicit some action from the account holder. [Col. 17 Lines 43-54] Other fields may be used to match as well. The existence of other fields may enable the model to improve confidence of matches by, for example, achieving an increased probability or degree of certainty that a match is true. Accordingly, in some embodiments, the platform may additionally train a machine learning model to identify a confidence score of the match to the entity identifier token and a given platform subscriber entity based on a token rarity index and/or based on similarity between other predetermined fields. The training process may implement a supervised training scheme and training data of varied combinations of the predetermined fields. [Col. 17 Lines 60-66] Based on the above-described comparing, at 625, the platform may determine the confidence score of a match to the entity identifier token of the given platform subscriber entity using the machine learning model. In response to the confidence score exceeding a threshold, at 630, the platform may modify the platform subscriber entity to indicate a listener condition.) It is clear that the dataset input labels are associated with the confidence threshold value, “If a match confidence that a given user has died is below a predetermined threshold (e.g., below 7/10, below 70%, is within a certain qualitative category, etc.)” and the “within a certain qualitative category” satisfies the “label” limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to further modify the combination of Watt and Goenka by adding the teachings of Sharma, particularly the use of labeled training data in a supervised learning model, as opposed to an unsupervised learning. By performing this simple substitution, one of ordinary skill would arrive at the claimed outcomes because the teachings of the confidence levels associated with the training data inputs are taught in both Goenka and Sharma, with the only modification being the labeled nature of the training data inputs. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the combination by the benefit of supervised learning which are discussed in (Sharma [Col. 8 Lines 46-53] However, there are some nuances between the two approaches, and the areas in which one outperforms the other. Supervised learning is a machine learning approach defined by the use of labeled datasets. These datasets are designed to train or “supervise” algorithms into classifying data or predicting outcomes accurately. Using labeled inputs and outputs, the model can measure its accuracy and learn over time. [Col. 12 Lines 43-61] In another use case, machine learning model 402 may update its configurations (e.g., weights, biases, or other parameters) based on its assessment of its prediction (e.g., outputs 406) and reference feedback information (e.g., user indication of accuracy, reference labels, or other information). In another use case, where machine learning model 402 is a neural network as described below, connection weights may be adjusted to reconcile differences between the neural network's prediction and the reference feedback. In a further use case, one or more neurons (or nodes) of the neural network may require that their respective errors are sent backward through the neural network to them to facilitate the update process (e.g., backpropagation of error). Updates to the connection weights may, for example, be reflective of the magnitude of error propagated backward after a forward pass has been completed. In this way, for example, the machine learning model 402 may be trained to generate results (e.g., response time predictions, sentiment identifiers, urgency levels, etc.) with better recall and/or precision.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding objections to the specifications, the replacement paragraph [0044] submitted on 06/18/2026, addresses the typographical issue and thus the objection is withdrawn.
Regarding objections to the claims, the typographical error “A intelligent system,” has been corrected and the objection is withdrawn.
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefinite language “such as,” the claims have been amended to now recite “comprising,” thus the rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments over 35 U.S.C. 101, the applicant’s remarks have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the amendments for the following reasons. On page 11 of the remarks, the applicant sets forth the statutory basis for evaluating claims under 35 U.S.C. 101, which examiner affirms have been fully complied to. On page 12 of the applicant’s remarks, the applicant recites the features of the amended claim, and on page 13, the applicant alleges that the claims are directed to “specific recited algorithms that do not recite an abstract in a group of certain methods of organizing human activity.” The applicant argues that “automatic event detection to automatically generate an interactive checklist that is automatically adjustable across one or more digital user accounts is directed to an application for more efficient and streamlined processing and digital account real-time improvement and updating based on digitally detected events” does not fall within any of the enumerated sub-groupings. However, the examined respectfully disagrees. The claims, even when considering the “automatic,” and “digital” nature, at least recite abstract ideas within “managing personal behavior, interactions, or relationships between people,” particularly because generating an interactive checklist to manage accounts of a user is at least a rule or instruction to manage personal behavior. The fact that this is said to be “automatically” or “digitally” does not remove it from the sub-grouping, because step 2a Prong 1 considers whether the activity itself falls within the sub-grouping whether or not it is performed on a computer. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) states, “Finally, the sub-groupings encompass both activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions or a person signing a contract online) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial interaction), and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping. It is noted that the number of people involved in the activity is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping. Instead, the determination should be based on whether the activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings.” Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the alleged “improvement” is not yet evaluated in step 2a Prong 1 of the claims. The examiner notes that the claims do not merely “involve” the abstract idea, but at least recite the abstract because other than “automatically,” or “digitally” being performed, the functions themselves fall squarely within “managing personal behavior, interactions or relationships between people.” The applicant’s argument on page 14 that the features are not “practically performed in the human mind,” but rather are directed to automatic changes to the one or more digital accounts through interaction with the checklist implementing realizable benefits for the user that may be evident to others that may have access to or may have interaction with the one or more digital accounts of the user,” is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely upon an assertion that the claims are directed to mental processes. Furthermore, “implementing realizable benefits,” for a user, on its own, does not qualify as an improvement to technology or a technical field, especially when the alleged improvements are merely a results of implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer at an “apply it” level. Furthermore, the ability to change information “without having to physically visit a location of each individual account holder, or call service providers associated with each individual account holder or visit online locations of each individual account holder,” is not an improvement to technology or any technical field at the timing of the filing date of the present disclosure. This is further addresses in Prong Two of the guidance.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments under Prong Two, the applicant asserts that the realizable benefits mentioned earlier have “real-life” effects on the user and thus a “practical application” of automatically performing the at least one checklist item to automatically change information. However, the “integration into a practical application,” is based on specific considerations including, “
• An improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
• Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
• Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
• Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
• Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).”
The present additional elements fail to satisfy any of these criteria, and is in line with limitations that the MPEP specifically states “did not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.” More specifically, the claims are equivalent to “apply it” or mere instructions to perform the abstract idea on a generic computer, because it is merely reciting that the abstract idea is performed “automatically,” or on a “digital environment,” along with a recitation of the generic computing components added after the fact to the abstract idea. Furthermore, the applicant’s argument that the claims are “meaningfully limited” to be “based on the detected event and based on the accept modification,” is not persuasive because merely performing the abstract idea in response to a trigger (which itself is also part of the abstract idea) is not a meaningful limitation under any of the considerations in MPEP 2106.05.
The applicant discusses the August 4th memorandum in page 15 without tying the teachings to the present claims, thus the examiner notes that the present rejection is in compliance with the August 4 memorandum, because the “apply it” consideration has been applied appropriately without an oversimplification of claim language.
On page 16, the applicant alleges that the streamlined analysis may be used, however, other than reciting the claim language verbatim, the applicant has not provided a clear nexus to the Core Wireless case that it is compared to. The present claims do not apply to Core Wireless being Core Wireless is directed to specific improvements to user interfaces and efficiency of mobile devices, however, the present claims are not directed to any improvements to user interface technology.
Furthermore, the applicant’s comparison to claim 2 of Example 48 (2024 Patentability Guidance) is not persuasive because Example 48 was found to recite “mathematical operations” as the abstract idea category, which was then found eligible in claim 2 for providing specific technical improvements to the field of speech separation within its highly technical algorithm. This is far from the present claims which merely recite an abstract idea, wherein the steps are performed on a generic computer. Excluding data by adding a step of prompting a user to accept or reject a checklist item is not a meaningful limitation because it is merely more of the same abstract idea, as it is no more than an interaction prompting a user to make a decision (rules or instructions to manage personal behavior).
On page 17, the applicant alleges that the claims recite significantly more for being directed to an improvement to the technical field of “fuel options generation,” however, it is not clear how the claims are applicable to this alleged field. Simplifying tasks over a person’s life is more of an improvement to “certain methods of organizing human activity,” at the abstract level, however, the improvement to technology or technical field consideration requires the improvement to be lent by the additional elements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s comparison to Ex Parte Desjardins, the applicant attempts to equate the automatically performing the tasks steps to “providing technical improvements by addressing challenges in continual learning and model efficiency by reducing storage requirements and preserving task performance across sequential training.” Ex Parte Desjardins differs from the present claims in that it was improvement to the technical field of “artificial intelligence,” for providing techniques that directly address a specific technical problem limited to the field of artificial intelligence. The present claims, on the other hand, fit every consideration under MPEP 2106.05(f) for being equivalent to “apply it” or mere instructions to perform the abstract idea on a general purpose computer. Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding the eligibility of new claim 21, the claim remains unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it is no more than “apply it” in which the inputs of user interactions are used as training data for a “artificial intelligence neural network algorithm/model,” however, there are no improvements to the field of artificial intelligence, or neural networks. In fact, the claims merely use artificial intelligence or neural networks by name, along with abstract instructions to satisfy the trigger event condition based on “a certain accuracy percentage exceeding a confidence threshold value.” There is no technical improvement to “artificial intelligence,” nor do the claims even provide a specific algorithm to arrive at the idea or solution. MPEP 2106.05(f) states, “The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".”
In regards to the applicant’s arguments over rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the applicant’s remarks have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s assertion regarding the “automation” being sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims, the examiner notes that there is no agreement or conclusion regarding this particular amendment on file, and any remarks regarding the patentability of the automation were not based on a full search and consideration of the actual claim language. Upon further consideration and discussion, the claims as amended remain obvious over Watt and Goenka, because the BRI of “automatically change,” is broad enough such that any performance of an automation step during the changing of the information would satisfy the limitation. Therefore, while there are some aspects of human implemented steps taught by Watt, the actual claim language is taught or suggested by the combination of Watt and Goenka. This is applicable to both claims and 10 and 19, as reflected in the updated rejection above. The dependent claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for these same reasons, particularly, newly added claim 21, which has been fully considered and is deemed obvious over the combination of Watt, Goenka and Sharma. Therefore, the claims 1-19 and 21 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
-Ramirez et al. (US 20190304012 A1) discloses an automated updating of account profile data upon the occurrence of a transfer event, such as updating of a billing address to that of a beneficiary. (Ramirez [0018] Asset management server system 130 can also associate one or more transfer events with each account and automatically perform the transfer events on receipt of data indicating that a transfer event should be performed.)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICO L PADUA/Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626