Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/26/2024, 5/12/2025, 12/1/2025 and 6/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 12-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0100004 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a method for wireless communication (See Abstract), comprising:
transmitting, by a terminal device, a repetition-based first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) to a network device before a dedicated PUCCH resource for the terminal device is configured (See Par. [30]-[31], [93]-[94] and Fig. 6; 605-615 of Yang for a reference to a UE that determines a PUCCH resource for a PUCCH transmission scheduled prior to [Without] receiving a dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, and that transmits that PUCCH transmission with repetition according to a determined repetition level).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses wherein repetition of the first PUCCH comprises one or more of: a first repetition in a random access procedure of the terminal device; or a second repetition after the random access procedure is completed and before the dedicated PUCCH resource is configured (See Par. [61], [75], [82]-[84] of Yang for a reference to PUCCH repetition applied to the HARQ-ACK transmitted in response to the Msg4/MsgB contention-resolution message. A repetition performed during the random access procedure and, because dedicated PUCCH resources are not yet configured, necessarily before dedicated-resource configuration).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses wherein a number of repetitions for the second repetition is determined based on one or more of: a number of repetitions for the first repetition; indication information in a second DCI; or a number of PUCCH repetitions indicated by a system message (See Par. [84], [93], [98] and fig. 6; 610 & Fig. 7; 715 of Yang for a reference to that (i) the repetition level may equal the level previously used for the Msg3 PUSCH or MsgA PUSCH transmission; (ii) the repetition level may be dynamically signaled in the DAI field of the DCI scheduling Msg4/MsgB; and (iii) the repetition level may be broadcast via system information (SIB1/SIB2) or RRC signaling [All Three alternatives are cited]).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1, including a terminal device (See Yang; Fig. 9; UE 900), comprising: a transceiver (See Yang; Fig. 9; Wireless Radios 801); a processor (See Yang; Fig. 9; Controller/Processor 880); and a memory for storing one or more computer programs (See Yang; Fig. 9; Memory 882).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive second information from the network device through the transceiver, wherein the second information is used for indicating a number of repetitions of the first PUCCH (See Par. [93], [98] and fig. 6; 610 & Fig. 7; 715 of Yang for a reference to the UE receiving, from the base station, an indication of the repetition level (i.e., the number of repetitions) to apply to the PUCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses wherein the second information is carried in a system message (See Par. [84], [98] of Yang for a reference to transmitting the repetition-level indication via system information signaling SIB1 or SIB2).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses wherein the number of repetitions indicated by the second information is selected from a repetition number set preconfigured or configured by the network device (See Par. [84] of Yang for a reference to that the repetition level corresponds to one of a defined set of possible repetition values (1, 2, 4, and 8), from which the network-signaled value is selected/encoded (via 2 DAI bits)).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses wherein the repetition number set is carried in a system message; and/or the second information is carried in first downlink control information (DCI) (See Par. [84], [98] of Yang for a reference to the repetition-level set/value may be conveyed via system information (SIB1/SIB2/RRC), and, alternatively or in combination, the specific repetition level ("second information") may be dynamically signaled in the DAI field of a DCI message).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses a network device (See Yang; Fig. 10; gNB 1000), comprising: a transceiver (See Yang; Fig. 10; Wireless Radios 801); a processor (See Yang; Fig. 10; Controller/Processor 840); and a memory for storing one or more computer programs (See Yang; Fig. 10; Memory 842) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to receive, through the transceiver, a repetition-based first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from a terminal device before a dedicated PUCCH resource for the terminal device is configured (See Par. [30]-[31], [93]-[94] and Fig. 6; 605-615 of Yang for a reference to a UE that determines a PUCCH resource for a PUCCH transmission scheduled prior to [Without] receiving a dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, and that gNB receives that PUCCH transmission with repetition according to a determined repetition level).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 12.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 9-11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Lei et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0195654 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: before transmitting, by the terminal device, the repetition-based first PUCCH to the network device (See Par. [80], [83] and Fig. 6 of Yang for a reference to the base station determines the appropriate repetition level based on prior UE transmissions),
Yang does not explicitly disclose sending, by the terminal device, first information to the network device, wherein the first information is used for requesting repetition of the first PUCCH and/or indicating a PUCCH repetition capability of the terminal device.
However, Lei discloses sending, by the terminal device, first information to the network device, wherein the first information is used for requesting repetition of the first PUCCH and/or indicating a PUCCH repetition capability of the terminal device (See Par. [59], [65], [78], [81] and Fig. 5; 544 of Lei for a reference to a UE transmitting, to the base station, an indication of a (reduced) UE capability, gated on an RSRP threshold, before/during the RACH procedure, before the corresponding uplink behavior (including PUCCH repetition) is applied. Capability items expressly include PUCCH repetitions on a symbol or slot level).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei to Yang. The motivation for combination would be to improving power savings and/or radio resource utilization efficiency through enabling UEs, to temporary switch to reduced capabilities. (Lei; Par. [71])
Regarding Claim 3, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein sending, by the terminal device, the first information to the network device comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a message (Msg3) to the network device, wherein the Msg3 comprises the first information.
However, Lei discloses wherein sending, by the terminal device, the first information to the network device comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a message (Msg3) to the network device, wherein the Msg3 comprises the first information (See Par. [62], [69], [72], [79] of Lei for a reference to a the capability indication / switch request can be transmitted via Msg3 of a 4-step RACH procedure, carried within the Msg3 PUSCH transmission itself, before completion of random access).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei to Yang. The motivation for combination would be to improving power savings and/or radio resource utilization efficiency through enabling UEs, to temporary switch to reduced capabilities. (Lei; Par. [71])
Regarding Claim 4, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is carried in one of the following for the Msg3: a medium access control control element (MAC CE), a common control channel (CCCH), or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, Lei discloses wherein the first information is carried in one of the following for the Msg3: a medium access control control element (MAC CE), a common control channel (CCCH), or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (See Par. [62], [80] of Lei for a reference to multiple alternative carriers for the capability/request information within the Msg3 payload, including a dedicated MAC-CE, a MAC header/sub-header, and a MAC sub-PDU format [MAC-layer, control-element-style carriage in Msg3]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei to Yang. The motivation for combination would be to improving power savings and/or radio resource utilization efficiency through enabling UEs, to temporary switch to reduced capabilities. (Lei; Par. [71])
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses wherein whether the first information is sent is determined based on a first condition (See Par. [85] of Yang for a reference to a comparable condition-gated concept in the PUCCH-repetition context itself (OFDM-symbol-count threshold; configured repetition-level set)),
Yang does not explicitly disclose the first condition is determined based on one or more of: the PUCCH repetition capability of the terminal device; a signal quality measured by the terminal device; a first threshold for the signal quality configured by the network device; a first random access resource set configured by the network device; or a number of PUCCH repetitions or a repetition number set configured by the network device.
However, Lei discloses the first condition is determined based on one or more of: the PUCCH repetition capability of the terminal device; a signal quality measured by the terminal device; a first threshold for the signal quality configured by the network device; a first random access resource set configured by the network device; or a number of PUCCH repetitions or a repetition number set configured by the network device (See Par. [59], [65], [78], [81] and Fig. 5; 544 of Lei for a reference to that whether the UE transmits its capability indication (implicitly, during RACH) versus later (after RRC connection) is gated on comparing a measured RSRP against a network-configured threshold [a direct match to the signal quality... less than threshold condition]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei to Yang. The motivation for combination would be to improving power savings and/or radio resource utilization efficiency through enabling UEs, to temporary switch to reduced capabilities. (Lei; Par. [71])
Regarding Claim 11, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first condition comprises one or more of: the signal quality measured by the terminal device is less than the first threshold; a random access resource set for a PUCCH repetition and a random access resource set not for the PUCCH repetition are configured by the network device; the terminal device has the PUCCH repetition capability; or the number of PUCCH repetitions or the repetition number set are configured by the network device.
However, Lei discloses wherein the first condition comprises one or more of: the signal quality measured by the terminal device is less than the first threshold; a random access resource set for a PUCCH repetition and a random access resource set not for the PUCCH repetition are configured by the network device; the terminal device has the PUCCH repetition capability; or the number of PUCCH repetitions or the repetition number set are configured by the network device (See Par. [59], [65], [78], [81] and Fig. 5; 544 of Lei for a reference to network-configured "shared" versus "dedicated" random-access occasions (RO) [the RSRP-below-threshold]. PUCCH repetitions as a reportable UE capability item).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei to Yang. The motivation for combination would be to improving power savings and/or radio resource utilization efficiency through enabling UEs, to temporary switch to reduced capabilities. (Lei; Par. [71])
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 10.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Lei et al. and further in view of Turtinen et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0312530 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yang and Lei does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is carried in a common control channel (CCCH) for the Msg3, wherein a CCCH service data unit (SDU) transmitted by the terminal device in the Msg3 is an SDU corresponding to a first CCCH and/or a second CCCH, the first information corresponds to the first CCCH and/or the second CCCH, and the first CCCH and the second CCCH correspond to different bit sizes.
However, Turtinen disclose wherein the first information is carried in a common control channel (CCCH) for the Msg3 (See Par. [162], [166] of Turtinen for a reference to the Msg3 may include a common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) with RRCSetupRequest, LCID in MAC subheader), wherein a CCCH service data unit (SDU) transmitted by the terminal device in the Msg3 is an SDU corresponding to a first CCCH and/or a second CCCH, the first information corresponds to the first CCCH and/or the second CCCH, and the first CCCH and the second CCCH correspond to different bit sizes (See Par. [177]-[179], [188] of Turtinen for a reference to the network differentiates between two defined CCCH sizes via distinct LCID codepoints; a 64-bit CCCH and a 48-bit CCCH— so the specific CCCH/LCID used in Msg3 itself conveys information (UE type) to the network. Table 3 defines dedicated LCID codepoints 43/44 for the same 64-bit/48-bit CCCH distinction specifically for RedCap identification).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turtinen to the combination of Yang and Lei. The motivation for combination would be power savings through providing RedCap UEs identifications. (Turtinen; Par. [113])
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shim et al. (US. Pub. No. 2025/0088332 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for performing PUCCH transmission in a wireless communication system.
Cozzo et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0114522 A1) discloses repetitions of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in a wireless communication system.
Seok et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0179348 A1) discloses a method for transmitting an uplink channel and a device therefor.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413