DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: image acquisition unit, information acquisition unit, extraction unit, determination unit, control unit and classification unit in claims 1 and 6-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aragaki (10,860,835).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 14 Aragaki discloses,
A cell image processing system, method and non-transitory computer readable storage medium
comprising:
An image acquisition unit configured to acquire a cell image of a sample including a plurality of cells as a subject (note col. 4 lines 36-41, image acquisition device (image acquisition unit) that acquires a cell image by capturing an image of a cell cluster composed of a plurality of cells);
A cell region extraction unit configured to extract a plurality of cell regions respectively corresponding to cells from the cell image (note col. 15 lines 41-49, region of each of the plurality of cells C constituting the cell cluster can be extracted);
cell information acquisition unit configured to acquire characteristic information including morphological information about each of the cell regions and pixel information about each of the cell regions (note col. 15 lines 55- col. 16 lines 4, the morphology of the cell region, and the center position of the cell region);
A representative cell determination unit configured to determine a representative cell region from among the plurality of extracted cell regions based on at least one type of information constituting the characteristic information (note col. 9 lines 40-50, region formation unit 39 forms a cell region); and
A display control unit configured to cause a display unit to display image information about a cell region corresponding to the representative cell, positional information corresponding to the representative cell, and characteristic information about a cell region corresponding to the representative cell (note col. 11 lines 55-67, displayed).
Regarding claim 2 Aragaki discloses,
Wherein the positional information includes at least one of a group of contour coordinates indicating a boundary between cell regions in the cell image, and coordinates indicating a position of center of gravity of a cell region in the cell image (note col. 5 lines 50-55, information about a group of coordinates of potential cell positions).
Regarding claim 3 Aragaki discloses,
Wherein the morphological information about each of the cell regions includes at least one of an area of the cell region, a diameter of the cell region, a circularity of the cell region, and a perimeter of the cell region (note col. 15 lines 55- col. 16 lines 4, the morphology of the cell region, and the center position of the cell region).
Regarding claim 4 Aragaki discloses,
Wherein the pixel information about each of the cell regions includes at least one of an average value of pixel values in the cell region, an integrated value of pixel values in the cell region, and a standard deviation of pixel values in the cell region (note col. 5 lines 22-33 pixel values in the cell region cited).
Regarding claim 5 Aragaki discloses,
Wherein the cell image includes at least one of a fluorescence image, a bright-field image, and a phase contrast image (note col. 4 lines 42-48, includes fluorescence image)
Regarding claims 10 Aragaki discloses,
A classification unit configured to classify a cell data group constituting the cell image into a plurality of clusters, wherein the representative cell determination unit determines the representative cell region in each of the plurality of clusters (note col. 12 lines 27-35, clusters).
Regarding claims 12 Aragaki discloses,
Wherein the display control unit controls the display unit to display image information about a cell region corresponding to the representative cell and a position of the representative cell region in the cell image in an associated manner (note col. 11 lines 55-67, displayed).
Related Prior Art
Ikuyama (10,591,402) An image acquisition unit (note fig. 3, block 211) configured to acquire a cell image of a sample including a plurality of cells as a subject (note col. 8 lines 24-32, acquire image occupied by cells).
Zhang et al (12,561,993) cell information acquisition unit configured to acquire characteristic information including morphological information about each of the cell regions and pixel information about each of the cell regions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for dependent claim 6. Prior art could not be found for the features wherein the representative cell determination unit extracts a plurality of subsets from a data group formed of the characteristic information about the plurality of cell regions and determines the representative cell region from each of the plurality of subsets. These features in combination with other features could not be found in the prior art. Claims 7-9 depend on claim 6. Therefore are also objected.
Regarding claim 11, prior art could not be found for the features wherein, in a case where any one of image information about a cell region corresponding to the representative cell, positional information corresponding to the representative cell region, and characteristic information about a cell region corresponding to the representative cell is selected, the display control unit controls the display unit to display information other than the selected information together with the selected information in synchronization and in a highlighted manner. These features in combination with other features could not be found in the prior art.
Conclusion
G.D.
June 26, 2026
/GREGORY M DESIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676