DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: imaging unit, communication unit, notification unit, detection unit and control unit in claims 1 and 3-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saez et al (11,120,279)
Regarding claim 1 Saez discloses,
An imaging unit (note fig. 1 block 112);
A communication unit (note fig. 1, block 144);
A notification unit (note fig. 1, block 106) ; and
A control unit (note fig. 1, block 108), wherein the control unit is configured to
when a pedestrian near a road is detected from a video from the imaging unit (note col. 5 lines 23-24 pedestrian detected and col. 6 lines 6-11 information acquiring unit),
receive vehicle information from an information processing device via the communication unit (note col. 5 lines 25-26, establish communication link with pedestrian portable device)
the vehicle information including relative position information between a first vehicle that is an autonomous vehicle approaching the roadside device and a second vehicle located around the first vehicle (note col. 10 lines 27-47, estimates distances to environmental features while scanning through a scene) and cause the notification unit to notify the pedestrian of notification information including the relative position information (note col. 5 lines 45-50, visual notification operation unit and col. 8 lines 64- col. 9 lines 2).
Regarding claim 4 Saez discloses,
Wherein the control unit is further configured to send pedestrian information on the pedestrian detected from the video from the imaging unit to a mobile terminal carried by a driver or an assistant driver of the first vehicle through the information processing device via the communication unit (note col. 5 lines 57- col. 6 lines 6, wireless communication, the wireless-communication establishing unit 110 detects the approaching portable device 140, and performs a pairing process using the communicating unit).
Regarding claim 5 Saez discloses,
Wherein the vehicle information is corrected by the information processing device based on information on the first vehicle and the second vehicle detected from the video from the imaging unit (note col. 10 lines 48-53, information acquiring unit, analyzes images).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saez et al (11,120,279) in view of Zheng et al (11,346,959).
Regarding claim 2 Saez discloses, relative position information. Saez does not clearly disclose
relative position information includes information indicating the number of the first vehicles and the second vehicles, information identifying that the first vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and information indicating a position of the first vehicle with respect to the second vehicle as viewed from the roadside device. Zheng discloses relative position information includes information indicating the number of the first vehicles and the second vehicles, information identifying that the first vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and information indicating a position of the first vehicle with respect to the second vehicle as viewed from the roadside device (note col. 20 lines 8-24, roadside device, operate traffic control unit which may be configured to process data received from vehicles). Saez and Zheng are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, relative position information includes information indicating the number of the first vehicles and the second vehicles, information identifying that the first vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and information indicating a position of the first vehicle with respect to the second vehicle as viewed from the roadside device, in the system of Saez as evidenced by Zheng. The suggestion/motivation for doing so provides relative distance enabling vehicles to optimize times and distances for safe inter-vehicle spacing and maneuvers (note col. 1 lines 47-49). It would have been obvious to combine Zheng with Saez to obtain the invention as specified by claim 2.
Regarding claim 3 Saez and Zheng discloses,
wherein: the second vehicle is detected by a detection unit of the first vehicle; and the relative position information is calculated by a control unit of the information processing device based on information on the first vehicle and the second vehicle received by the information processing device from the first vehicle (note Zhneg, col. 20 lines 8-24)
Related Prior Art
Yoshikawa et al (11,783,709) the vehicle information including relative position information between a first vehicle that is an autonomous vehicle approaching the roadside device and a second vehicle located around the first vehicle (note col. 4 lines 10-15 managing traffic information).
Conclusion
G.D.
June 23, 2026
/GREGORY M DESIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676