DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 8, 20 line 2 recites “second isolates” should be changed to “second isolators”.
Claim 10 recites “interface to ground” it should be “interface are connected to ground”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (U.S. Publication 20110198103).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a battery pack configured to supply power to a common load (Fig. 5; [0058], battery packs supplying power to a power tool) comprising:
at least one battery comprising a high side battery interface and a low side battery interface, the high side and low side battery interfaces electrically coupled to the common load (Fig. 5, battery packs 10 connected in series through battery interfaces 24a and 24b to the power tool: [0056]-[0061]); and
a voltage detection circuit assembly configured to perform a plurality of operations (Fig. 5, battery controller 18, main controller 152, autostop signal input/output circuit 144, voltage level shifters, and associated control circuitry; [0060]-[0065]),
the plurality of operations comprising: determining whether to implement a hardware trigger on only the high side battery interface by referencing ground of the low side battery interface ([0060]-[0061], wherein the high side battery pack and low side battery pack operate at different reference potentials and the battery controller and tool controller communicate through voltage level shifting referenced to the different ground potentials);
sending a notification to the high side battery interface and the low side battery interface as to whether the high side battery interface is triggered ([0065], wherein the battery controller communicates an autostop signal with the tool controller through the battery interface to indicate the detected operating condition); and
in response to sending the notification, determining whether to allow operation of the common load ([0065], wherein the detected operating condition causes the controller to selectively turn the switching FET ON or OFF, thereby permitting or preventing operation of the power tool).
Suzuki does not expressly describe determining the load type based on whether the high side battery interface is triggered or expressly characterize the controller decision as determining whether firmware is allowed to operate the common load.
However, Suzuki teaches operating the same control architecture with different battery pack configurations and different tool operating voltages, including operation using two 18 volt battery packs to operate a 36 volt power tool ([0084]), while continuously monitoring battery operating conditions, communicating those operating conditions between the battery controller and the tool controller, and selectively enabling or inhibiting operation of the power tool in response to the detected conditions ([0060]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the detected hardware condition of Suzuki's high side battery interface as an indication of the connected tool configuration and to base the controller's authorization of tool operation on that detected condition because Suzuki already teaches distinguishing between supported battery/tool operating configurations, communicating the detected operating condition between the battery pack and the tool controller, and selectively enabling or disabling operation of the tool based upon that information. Expressing the controller's authorization as permitting firmware execution to operate the load merely represents an obvious implementation of Suzuki's disclosed controller functionality, since firmware is the conventional mechanism by which the disclosed battery controller and tool controller execute their control algorithms. Such a modification merely applies known control logic to Suzuki's existing battery management architecture to ensure operation only under an appropriate detected operating configuration, yielding the predictable result of reliable and safe operation without changing the underlying circuit architecture.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki further teaches wherein the at least one battery comprises a first battery and a second battery, the first and second batteries together electrically coupled to the common load via the high side battery interface and the low side battery interface (Fig. 5, battery packs 10 connected in series to supply the power tool; [0056]-[0061]);
the first battery being connected to a positive side of the high side battery interface (Fig. 5, the upper battery pack connected through positive output terminal 24a to the high side battery interface; [0056], [0061]); and the second battery being connected to a positive side of the low side battery interface (Fig. 5, the lower battery pack connected through positive output terminal 24a to the low side battery interface; [0056]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki further teaches wherein the plurality of operations further comprises: connecting the positive side of the low side battery interface to a negative side of the high side battery interface (Fig. 5, the negative electrode output terminal 24b of the upper battery pack is electrically connected to the positive electrode output terminal 24a of the lower battery pack through battery interface terminals 134a and 134b, thereby connecting the two battery packs in series; [0056]); and
connecting a negative side of the low side battery interface to ground (Fig. 5, the negative electrode output terminal 24b of the lower battery pack defines the reference potential (ground) for the battery system and the main controller; [0061], "the reference voltage of the low-voltage battery pack positioned at the low-voltage side ... will be referred to as a zero volt ground," and "the reference voltage of the main body ... is thus also zero volts").
Regarding claims 4, 16, Suzuki further teaches wherein battery operating conditions are monitored by the battery controller, the measured battery voltages are evaluated with respect to predetermined operating conditions, and control signals are generated to selectively enable or disable operation of the power tool (Fig. 5; [0057]-[0065]).
Suzuki does not expressly disclose determining whether to implement the hardware trigger on only the high side battery interface by: comparing a voltage at the high side battery interface and a voltage at the low side battery interface to a voltage threshold; and implementing the hardware trigger on only the high side battery interface when the voltage at the high side battery interface exceeds the voltage threshold.
However, Suzuki teaches monitoring the voltages of the battery packs, evaluating those voltages with respect to predetermined operating conditions, communicating the detected operating condition between the battery controller and the tool controller, and selectively enabling or inhibiting operation of the power tool based on the detected battery condition ([0057]-[0065]; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compare the respective voltages of the high side battery interface and the low side battery interface to predetermined threshold values and implement the hardware trigger only when the high side battery interface satisfies the threshold because Suzuki already evaluates battery operating conditions based on measured battery voltages and uses those evaluations to control operation of the power tool. Applying separate threshold comparisons to the respective battery interfaces merely represents the predictable use of Suzuki's disclosed battery monitoring architecture to distinguish the operating condition of each battery pack and selectively generate the desired control signal, thereby improving reliable operation of the series-connected battery system while yielding no unexpected result.
Regarding claims 5, 17, Suzuki further teaches wherein the voltage detection circuit assembly comprises a first circuit and a second circuit (Fig. 5, corresponding detection circuits associated with the respective battery packs); the first circuit comprising a first diode and one or more first isolators (Fig. 5, diode and isolator 156a associated with one battery pack; [0063]); and the second circuit comprising a second diode and one or more second isolators (Fig. 5, diode and isolator 156b associated with the other battery pack; [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki further teaches wherein the at least one battery comprises a single battery electrically coupled to the common load via the high side battery interface and the low side battery interface (Figs. 17-19, low-voltage electric tool 50 powered by a single low-voltage battery pack 10; [0043]-[0045]), further teaches that the negative side of the battery interface is connected to ground (Fig. 5; [0061], wherein the reference voltage of the low-voltage battery pack positioned at the low-voltage side is zero volts (ground), and the reference voltage of the main controller is likewise zero volts, thereby establishing the negative side of the battery interface as the system ground).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki does not expressly disclose determining whether to allow firmware to operate the common load by allowing the firmware to operate the common load when the high side battery interface is triggered or preventing the firmware from operating the common load when the high side battery interface is not triggered.
However, Suzuki teaches detecting battery operating conditions, communicating those conditions between the battery controller and the tool controller, and selectively enabling or inhibiting operation of the power tool based upon the detected operating conditions ([0060]-[0065]), further teaches that the battery controller and the main controller execute control operations to determine whether the switching circuitry permits operation of the power tool (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Suzuki's controller decision as allowing firmware to operate the common load when the detected high side battery interface satisfies the required operating condition and preventing firmware operation when the required condition is not satisfied because firmware is the conventional mechanism by which the disclosed battery controller and tool controller execute their control algorithms. Expressing Suzuki's controller authorization as permitting or preventing firmware execution merely represents an obvious implementation choice that achieves the same disclosed function of selectively enabling or inhibiting operation of the power tool based upon detected battery operating conditions, yielding the predictable result of reliable and protected operation without changing the underlying control architecture.
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki further teaches wherein the common load is a power tool (Abstract; [0002]-[0003], [0010]-[0014], describing an electric power tool powered by one or more battery packs; Fig. 1, electric power tools 50, 70, and 100; Fig. 5, battery packs supplying power to the electric power tool).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki further teaches wherein the load type comprises one of an 18 volt power tool or a 36 volt power tool ([0013]-[0015], describing battery packs having nominal voltages of 18 volts and operation of a 36 volt electric power tool using two 18 volt battery packs; [0038]-[0042], describing low-voltage (18 volt) electric power tool 50 and high-voltage (36 volt) electric power tools 70 and 100; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Suzuki (U.S. Publication 20110198103) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki further teaches wherein the at least one battery comprises a first battery and a second battery, the first and second batteries together electrically coupled to the common load via the high side battery interface and the low side battery interface (Fig. 5, battery packs 10 connected in series to supply the power tool; [0056]-[0061]);
the first battery being connected to a positive side of the high side battery interface (Fig. 5, the upper battery pack connected through positive output terminal 24a to the high side battery interface; [0056], [0061]); and the second battery being connected to a positive side of the low side battery interface (Fig. 5, the lower battery pack connected through positive output terminal 24a to the low side battery interface; [0056]-[0061]), further connecting the positive side of the low side battery interface to a negative side of the high side battery interface (Fig. 5, the negative electrode output terminal 24b of the upper battery pack is electrically connected to the positive electrode output terminal 24a of the lower battery pack through battery interface terminals 134a and 134b, thereby connecting the two battery packs in series; [0056]); and connecting a negative side of the low side battery interface to ground (Fig. 5, the negative electrode output terminal 24b of the lower battery pack defines the reference potential (ground) for the battery system and the main controller; [0061], "the reference voltage of the low-voltage battery pack positioned at the low-voltage side ... will be referred to as a zero volt ground," and "the reference voltage of the main body ... is thus also zero volts").
Claims 6-9, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (U.S. Publication 20110198103) in view of Pouyadou (U.S. Publication 20230336008).
Regarding claims 6, 18, Suzuki does not expressly teach triggering the one or more first isolators when the voltage of the high side battery interface exceeds the voltage threshold and the voltage at the low side battery interface is below the voltage threshold.
However, Pouyadou in a relevant art teaches triggering an isolation circuit based upon a voltage threshold, wherein the voltage detection circuit controls switching circuitry when a predetermined voltage threshold is satisfied (Fig. 4; [0061]-[0068]), further teaches that the second MOSFET is controlled through an optocoupler, wherein the optocoupler receives a command responsive to a detected voltage or temperature threshold exceedance ([0067]), thereby activating the isolation and switching circuitry when the detected operating condition satisfies the predetermined threshold ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the threshold-triggered isolator control of Pouyadou into the battery monitoring architecture of Suzuki to trigger the first isolators when the detected voltage of the high side battery interface exceeds a predetermined threshold while the low side battery interface does not satisfy the threshold, because Suzuki already independently monitors the operating conditions of the respective battery packs and communicates those operating conditions through isolated interface circuitry. Applying Pouyadou's threshold based isolator activation to Suzuki's system would have predictably improved selective activation of the appropriate battery interface circuitry based on detected battery operating conditions, thereby improving reliability and protection of the series-connected battery pack while yielding no unexpected result.
Regarding claims 7, 19, Suzuki further teaches wherein the voltage detection circuit assembly comprises first and second detection circuits associated with the respective battery packs, each including a diode and an isolator for communicating battery operating conditions between the battery controller and the tool controller (Fig. 5, isolators 156a and 156b; [0060]-[0065]).
Suzuki does not expressly teach using the first diode of the first circuit to trigger the one or more first isolators by allowing current through the one or more first isolators; and using the second diode of the second circuit to prevent current from flowing through one or more second isolators.
However, Pouyadou teaches using a first diode of a first detection circuit to permit current flow through an optocoupler to activate the associated switching circuitry, wherein the light-emitting diode of the optocoupler receives a command responsive to a detected voltage threshold exceedance to actuate the corresponding phototransistor and switching device ([0067]), further teaches diode arrangements that selectively conduct or limit current through the respective detection and switching circuits to control operation of the associated switching devices ([0065]-[0068]; Fig. 4 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage detection circuit assembly of Suzuki to utilize the diode-controlled current paths taught by Pouyadou such that the first diode selectively allows current through the first isolator to activate the corresponding detection circuit while the second diode prevents current from flowing through the second isolator under the same operating condition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide selective activation of the appropriate battery interface circuitry based upon detected battery operating conditions, thereby improving the reliability of the battery monitoring and protection system while maintaining proper isolation between the respective battery interface circuits. The combination merely applies the known diode-controlled isolator activation technique of Pouyadou to the known multi-battery monitoring architecture of Suzuki and would have yielded the predictable result of selectively controlling the appropriate battery interface without altering the fundamental operation of Suzuki's battery pack system.
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki does not expressly teach the one or more first isolators and the one or more second isolators comprising one or more optocouplers.
However, Pouyadou teaches isolation circuitry comprising an optocoupler, wherein the second MOSFET is controlled by the phototransistor of an optocoupler, and the light-emitting diode of the optocoupler receives a control signal responsive to a detected voltage or temperature threshold exceedance to actuate the associated switching circuitry ([0067]; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optocoupler taught by Pouyadou as the isolator in the battery monitoring architecture of Suzuki because optocouplers were well-known isolation devices for electrically isolating control circuitry while reliably transmitting control signals between circuits operating at different electrical potentials. Incorporating Pouyadou's optocoupler into Suzuki's battery interface circuitry would have predictably provided galvanic isolation between the respective battery controllers and the tool controller while maintaining reliable communication of battery operating conditions, thereby improving electrical isolation and protection in the series-connected battery pack without changing the fundamental operation of Suzuki's system.
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki does not expressly teach at least one of the first diode and the second diode being a Zener diode.
However, Pouyadou teaches using Zener diodes in the voltage detection and isolation circuitry. Specifically, Pouyadou teaches a Zener diode (D3) connected between the gate and source of the first MOSFET to protect the gate from excessive voltage, a Zener diode (D1) associated with the first MOSFET switching circuit, and a Zener diode (D5) connected between the gate and source of the second MOSFET in conjunction with an optocoupler for controlling the switching circuitry ([0065]-[0067]; Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the Zener diodes taught by Pouyadou in the voltage detection circuits of Suzuki because Zener diodes were well known for establishing voltage thresholds, protecting switching devices from excessive voltage, and providing reliable threshold based control of isolation and switching circuitry. Incorporating the Zener diodes of Pouyadou into Suzuki's battery monitoring architecture would have predictably improved voltage threshold detection and protection of the battery interface circuitry while maintaining reliable communication between the battery controllers and the tool controller, thereby yielding no unexpected result.
Regarding claim 20, Suzuki does not expressly teach the one or more first isolators and the one or more second isolators comprising one or more optocouplers, nor does Suzuki expressly teach at least one of the first diode and the second diode comprising a Zener diode.
However, Pouyadou teaches isolation circuitry comprising an optocoupler, wherein the phototransistor of the optocoupler controls the switching circuitry in response to the light-emitting diode receiving a command generated from a detected operating condition ([0067]; Fig. 4), further teaches using Zener diodes (D1, D3, and D5) within the voltage detection and switching circuitry to establish voltage thresholds and protect the associated switching devices ([0065]-[0067); Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optocouplers and Zener diodes taught by Pouyadou into the battery monitoring method of Suzuki because optocouplers provide well-known galvanic isolation for communicating control signals between circuits operating at different electrical potentials, while Zener diodes provide well-known voltage threshold detection and overvoltage protection. Applying Pouyadou's optocoupler and Zener diode-based detection circuitry to Suzuki's battery monitoring architecture would have predictably improved electrical isolation, threshold based control, and protection of the series-connected battery pack while maintaining reliable communication between the battery controller and the tool controller, thereby yielding no unexpected result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (U.S. Publication 20230238817) discloses POWER TOOL AND METHOD OF CONTROLLING THE SAME.
/TAQI R NASIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 /LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858