DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151, cited in IDS dated 06/08/2026) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Mkrtchyan discloses an input device (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 12-20, e.g., game board 120) attachable to an electronic apparatus (Figs 1A and 1C; col. 5, lines 12-25, e.g., the game board can be attachable to an electronic device 100) including a touch screen provided with a display part (Fig. 108, e.g., touch screen 108 is provided with a display) and an electrostatic capacitive type of touch panel arranged on the display part (col. 1, lines 14-15, col. 2, lines 53-54, e.g., the touch screen 108 is a capacitive touch screen arranged on the display), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 22-28, e.g., a plurality of touch input interfaces 128a-128g operable by a user); and
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel (Fig. 1D; col. 4, lines 65-67, col. 5, lines 1-11; e.g., a plurality of touch screen contacts (electrodes) 136 arranged at different regions on the touch screen 108),
wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part (Fig. 1B; col. 4, lines 52-64) and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1C and 1D; e.g., the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108), a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a touch input of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel (Fig. 1B; col. 2, lines 53-54, col. 4, lines 13-25, 52-64, e.g., the touch input interface 128 receives touch input and routes the touch input to the touch screen 108 between a corresponding region of the touch screen 108 and the electrode 136, wherein the electrode 136 provides the touch input to the touch screen 108 so that a change in an electrostatic capacitance is detected by the touch screen 108),
the plurality of operating parts are arranged so as to surround at least three sides of the electronic apparatus when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B-1D; e.g., the plurality of touch input interfaces 128 are arranged to surround four sides of the touch screen 108 when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen 108 in the state where the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108),
the display screen of the touch screen is a rectangle shape (Fig. 1C; e.g., the touch screen 108 is a rectangle shape), and
the operating parts include:
a first set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a first side of the display screen and a second side facing the first side when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a first plurality of touch input interfaces 128 arranged so as to straddle a left side and a right side of the touch screen 108); and
a second set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a third side of the display screen different from the first side and the second side and a fourth side facing the third side (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a second plurality of touch input interface 128 arranged so as to straddle a top side and a bottom side of the touch screen 108).
Mkrtchyan does not specifically disclose wherein a potential of each electrode changes in accordance with the operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and wherein the change in the electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between the corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel.
However, Nobuyuki discloses an input device attachable to an electronic apparatus including a touch screen provided with a display part and an electrostatic capacitive type of touch panel arranged on the display part (Figs 5-6; [0009], [0027], e.g., a controller 130 attachable to an electronic device including a capacitive touch screen arranged on a display panel), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user ([0027], e.g., a plurality of operation switches 132 and 133); and
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel ([0029], [0032], e.g., a plurality of electrodes of input units 139 and 139b are arranged at different regions on the capacitive touch screen),
wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part so that its potential changes in accordance with an operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus, a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel ([0028]-[0032], e.g., each of the electrodes is connected to a corresponding operation switch 132 or 133 via a lead wire so that an electrode is electrically connected to a capacitor and receives electrical charges from the capacitor when the switch 132 or 133 is operated and each electrode is detected as an input by a capacitor effect generated between the electrode and the touch panel due to increase in capacitance. Examiner notes that such generated capacitor effect and increase in capacitance due to change in potential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Nobuyuki in the invention of Mkrtchyan for supplying electrical charges to an electrode in accordance with an operating state of an operating part corresponding to the electrode so that electrostatic capacity increases and sufficient electrostatic coupling is performed between the electrode and a touch panel for the purpose of improving touch sensitivity of user operation part input detection (see [0039] of Nobuyuki).
Regarding claim 2, Mkrtchyan further discloses the input device according to claim 1, further comprising a fastener configured to detachably fasten the input device to the electronic apparatus (col. 5, lines 11-27, e.g., game board 120 can include any combination of latches, screws, magnets, grooves, slots, snaps, recesses, adhesives, and suction cups to secure touch screen 108 to overlapping region 126 of game board 120), wherein the fastener is arranged so that at least three of its sides are surrounded by the operating parts when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (col. 5, lines 11-27, e.g., the fastener is arranged to secure touch screen 108 to overlapping region 126 of game board 120 thus at least three of its sides are surrounded by the operating parts).
Regarding claim 3, Nobuyuki further discloses the input device further comprising a fastener configured to detachably fasten the input device to the electronic apparatus (Figs 5-7; e.g., the housings 131a and 131b are fasteners configured to detachably fasten the input device to the electronic device), wherein the plurality of electrodes are arranged at the fastener (see [0029], [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki for arranging a plurality of electrodes at a fastener so that fastening an input device to a touch screen makes it possible for the electrodes of the input device to be in contact with the touch screen.
Regarding claim 5, Mkrtchyan further discloses the input device according to claim 1, further comprising a nontransparent cover configured to cover the display screen of the touch screen where the plurality of electrodes are arranged (Figs 1B-1D; col. 3, lines 40-60, e.g., the game board comprising a nontransparent overlapping region 126 configured to cover at least a portion of touch screen 108 where the plurality of electrodes 136 are arranged).
Regarding claim 6, Mkrtchyan further discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the display screen of the touch screen has long sides and short sides, and the plurality of electrodes are arranged on the touch panel aligned along the short sides of the display screen (Figs 1B-1C; e.g., the plurality of electrodes 136 are arranged on the touch panel aligned along the short sides of the display screen).
Regarding claim 8, Mkrtchyan further discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the display screen of the touch screen has a rectangular shape having long sides and short sides (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., the display screen of the touch screen 108 has long sides and short sides), when the display screen is used as a reference, the numbers of operating parts arranged at the outsides of the short sides are the same (e.g., the number of operating parts 128 arranged at the outsides of the short sides are the same).
Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki does not specifically disclose wherein when the display screen is used as the reference, the numbers of operating parts arranged at the outsides of the long sides are the same.
However, it would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the same number of operating parts at the outsides of the long sides based on a preferred layout designed for a game board or an input device.
Regarding claim 9, Mkrtchyan further discloses the input device according to claim 1, further comprising a board on one surface of which the electronic apparatus is to be placed (Figs 1B-1D; col. 5, lines 12-27, e.g., the touch screen 108 is placed on base section 140 of game board 120 so that the touch screen 108 overlaps with the region 126 of the game board 120), wherein the plurality of operating parts are provided on the surface of the board on which the electronic apparatus is to be placed (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., the plurality of touch interfaces 128 are provided on the base section 140 of the game board 120).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151, cited in IDS dated 06/08/2026) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024), and further in view of Kreutzer et al. (US 2014/0198062).
Regarding claim 4, Mkrtchyan discloses an input device (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 12-20, e.g., game board 120) attachable to an electronic apparatus (Figs 1A and 1C; col. 5, lines 12-25, e.g., the game board can be attachable to an electronic device 100) including a touch screen provided with a display part (Fig. 108, e.g., touch screen 108 is provided with a display) and an electrostatic capacitive type of touch panel arranged on the display part (col. 1, lines 14-15, col. 2, lines 53-54, e.g., the touch screen 108 is a capacitive touch screen arranged on the display), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 22-28, e.g., a plurality of touch input interfaces 128a-128g operable by a user);
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel ([0029], [0032], e.g., a plurality of electrodes of input units 139 and 139b are arranged at different regions on the capacitive touch screen);
a fastener configured to detachably fasten the input device to the electronic apparatus (col. 5, lines 11-27, e.g., game board 120 can include any combination of latches, screws, magnets, grooves, slots, snaps, recesses, adhesives, and suction cups to secure touch screen 108 to overlapping region 126 of game board 120); and
a board on one surface of which the electronic apparatus is to be placed (Figs 1B-1D; col. 5, lines 12-27, e.g., the touch screen 108 is placed on a base section 140 of game board 120 so that the touch screen 108 overlaps with the region 126 of the game board 120),
wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part (Fig. 1B; col. 4, lines 52-64) and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1C and 1D; e.g., the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108), a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a touch input of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel (Fig. 1B; col. 2, lines 53-54, col. 4, lines 13-25, 52-64, e.g., the touch input interface 128 receives touch input and routes the touch input to the touch screen 108 between a corresponding region of the touch screen 108 and the electrode 136, wherein the electrode 136 provides the touch input to the touch screen 108 so that a change in an electrostatic capacitance is detected by the touch screen 108), and
the plurality of operating parts are arranged so as to surround at least three sides of the electronic apparatus when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B-1D; e.g., the plurality of touch input interfaces 128 are arranged to surround four sides of the touch screen 108 when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen 108 in the state where the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108),
the fastener is arranged so that at least three of its sides are surrounded by the operating parts when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (col. 5, lines 11-27, e.g., the fastener is arranged to secure touch screen 108 to overlapping region 126 of game board 120 thus at least three of its sides are surrounded by the operating parts).
Mkrtchyan does not specifically disclose wherein a potential of each electrode changes in accordance with the operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and wherein the change in the electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between the corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel. Mkrtchyan further does not disclose wherein the fastener is detachably attached to the board.
However, Nobuyuki discloses an input device attachable to an electronic apparatus including a touch screen provided with a display part and an electrostatic capacitive type of touch panel arranged on the display part (Figs 5-6; [0009], [0027], e.g., a controller 130 attachable to an electronic device including a capacitive touch screen arranged on a display panel), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user ([0027], e.g., a plurality of operation switches 132 and 133); and
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel ([0029], [0032], e.g., a plurality of electrodes of input units 139 and 139b are arranged at different regions on the capacitive touch screen),
wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part so that its potential changes in accordance with an operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus, a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel ([0028]-[0032], e.g., each of the electrodes is connected to a corresponding operation switch 132 or 133 via a lead wire so that an electrode is electrically connected to a capacitor and receives charges from the capacitor when the switch 132 or 133 is operated and each electrode is detected as an input by a capacitor effect generated between the electrode and the touch panel due to increase in capacitance. Examiner notes that such generated capacitor effect and increase in capacitance due to change in potential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Nobuyuki in the invention of Mkrtchyan for supplying electrical charges to an electrode in accordance with an operating state of an operating part corresponding to the electrode so that electrostatic capacity increases and sufficient electrostatic coupling is performed between the electrode and a touch panel for the purpose of improving touch sensitivity of user operation part input detection (see [0039] of Nobuyuki).
Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki does not disclose wherein the fastener is detachably attached to the board.
However, Kreutzer an input device (Fig. 12A) comprising a fastener ([0083], e.g., a fastening means 7) configured to detachably fasten the input device (2) to an electronic apparatus (1), wherein the fastener is detachably attached to the input device (e.g., the connection is preferably reversible and can be removed after use quickly and easily without backing material remaining or damage to the input element 2 or the touchscreen 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kreutzer in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki for providing a fastener detachably attached to a game board so that the fastener can be removed after use quickly and easily without damage to the game board.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024) and Kreutzer et al. (US 2014/0198062), and further in view of Morobishi et al. (US 2017/0010691).
Regarding claim 7, Mkrtchyan further discloses the input device according to claim 4, wherein the display screen of the touch screen is a rectangle shape (Fig. 1C), and the operating parts include: a first set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a first side of the display screen and a second side facing the first side when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a first plurality of touch input interfaces 128 arranged so as to straddle a left side and a right side of the touch screen 108); and a second set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a third side of the display screen different from the first side and the second side and a fourth side facing the third side (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a second plurality of touch input interface 128 arranged so as to straddle a top side and a bottom side of the touch screen 108).
Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki and Kreutzer does not specifically disclose the input device according to claim 1, wherein the display screen of the touch screen is a square shape.
However, Morobishi discloses an electronic device wherein a display screen of a touch screen is a square shape (Fig. 1; [0030], e.g., although both the display 2A and the touch screen 2B have a nearly rectangular shape in the example in FIG. 1, the shape of the display 2A and the touch screen 2B is not limited thereto; the display 2A and the touch screen 2B each can have any shape such as a square or a circle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morobishi in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki and Kreutzer for providing a square shaped display screen or touch screen so that the display screen or the touch screen can have any shape.
Claim(s) 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024), and further in view of Reeskamp et al. (US 2014/0038720).
Regarding claim 10, Mkrtchyan discloses an input device (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 12-20, e.g., game board 120) attachable to an electronic apparatus (Figs 1A and 1C; col. 5, lines 12-25, e.g., the game board can be attachable to an electronic device 100) including a touch screen provided with a display part (Fig. 108, e.g., touch screen 108 is provided with a display) and an electrostatic capacitive type of touch panel arranged on the display part (col. 1, lines 14-15, col. 2, lines 53-54, e.g., the touch screen 108 is a capacitive touch screen arranged on the display), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 22-28, e.g., a plurality of touch input interfaces 128a-128g operable by a user);
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel ([0029], [0032], e.g., a plurality of electrodes of input units 139 and 139b are arranged at different regions on the capacitive touch screen); and
a board on one surface of which the electronic apparatus is to be placed (Figs 1B-1D; col. 5, lines 12-27, e.g., the touch screen 108 is placed on a base section 140 of game board 120 so that the touch screen 108 overlaps with the region 126 of the game board 120), wherein
wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part (Fig. 1B; col. 4, lines 52-64) and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1C and 1D; e.g., the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108), a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a touch input of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel (Fig. 1B; col. 2, lines 53-54, col. 4, lines 13-25, 52-64, e.g., the touch input interface 128 receives touch input and routes the touch input to the touch screen 108 between a corresponding region of the touch screen 108 and the electrode 136, wherein the electrode 136 provides the touch input to the touch screen 108 so that a change in an electrostatic capacitance is detected by the touch screen 108), and
the plurality of operating parts are arranged so as to surround at least three sides of the electronic apparatus when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B-1D; e.g., the plurality of touch input interfaces 128 are arranged to surround four sides of the touch screen 108 when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen 108 in the state where the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108), and
the plurality of operating parts are provided on the surface of the board on which the electronic apparatus is to be placed (Figs 1B-1D; col. 5, lines 12-27, e.g., the plurality of touch interfaces 128 are provided on the base section 140 of the game board).
Mkrtchyan does not specifically disclose wherein a potential of each electrode changes in accordance with the operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and wherein the change in the electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between the corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel. Furthermore, Mkrtchyan does not specifically disclose wherein the board is foldable.
However, Nobuyuki discloses an input device attachable to an electronic apparatus including a touch screen provided with a display part and an electrostatic capacitive type of touch panel arranged on the display part (Figs 5-6; [0009], [0027], e.g., a controller 130 attachable to an electronic device including a capacitive touch screen arranged on a display panel), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user ([0027], e.g., a plurality of operation switches 132 and 133); and
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel ([0029], [0032], e.g., a plurality of electrodes of input units 139 and 139b are arranged at different regions on the capacitive touch screen),
wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part so that its potential changes in accordance with an operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus, a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel ([0028]-[0032], e.g., each of the electrodes is connected to a corresponding operation switch 132 or 133 via a lead wire so that an electrode is electrically connected to a capacitor and receives charges from the capacitor when the switch 132 or 133 is operated and each electrode is detected as an input by a capacitor effect generated between the electrode and the touch panel due to increase in capacitance. Examiner notes that such generated capacitor effect and increase in capacitance due to change in potential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Nobuyuki in the invention of Mkrtchyan for supplying electrical charges to an electrode in accordance with an operating state of an operating part corresponding to the electrode so that electrostatic capacity increases and sufficient electrostatic coupling is performed between the electrode and a touch panel for the purpose of improving touch sensitivity of user operation part input detection (see [0039] of Nobuyuki).
Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki does not specifically disclose wherein the board is foldable.
However, Reeskamp discloses a game board attachable to an electronic apparatus (Figs 1 and 2A-2B; [0064]-[0066], e.g., a tablet computer can be slide in through opening 52 of a game board 1), wherein the game board is foldable ([0067], e.g., the game board 1 is folded around the tablet computer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Reeskamp in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki for providing a foldable game board so as to allows a device to be smaller and thus to be conveniently carried.
Regarding claim 17, Mkrtchyan further discloses the input device according to claim 10, wherein the display screen of the touch screen is a rectangle shape (Fig. 1C; e.g., the touch screen 108 is a rectangle shape), and the operating parts include:
a first set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a first side of the display screen and a second side facing the first side when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a first plurality of touch input interfaces 128 arranged so as to straddle a left side and a right side of the touch screen 108); and a second set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a third side of the display screen different from the first side and the second side and a fourth side facing the third side (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a second plurality of touch input interface 128 arranged so as to straddle a top side and a bottom side of the touch screen 108).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024) and Reeskamp et al. (US 2014/0038720), and further in view of Christen et al. (US 2016/0101359, cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024).
Regarding claim 11, Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki and Reeskamp further discloses the input device according to claim 10, wherein the board is provided with a metal sheet connectable with the plurality of electrodes in accordance with operation of the user on the operating parts, and the metal sheet is provided at a position superposed with the electronic apparatus when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the one surface in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus.
However, Christen discloses an input device attachable to an electronic apparatus (Figs 2A-2B; [0044]-[0050], e.g., the interactive board 202 can be attachable to an electronic device 210) including a touch screen provided with a display part ([0030], e.g., touch screen is provided with a display 222), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user ([0043], e.g., pad 206A, pad 206D, and 206F);
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel ([0036], [0050], e.g., pad 206B, pad 206C, and pad 206E); and
a board on one surface of which the electronic apparatus is to be placed ([0050], e.g., the user device 210 is placed onto interactive board 202 within user device region 250),
wherein the board is provided with a metal sheet connectable with the plurality of electrodes in accordance with operation of the user on the operating parts (Fig. 2D; [0026], [0046], [0054]-[0056], e.g., ground flap 204 is connected with the plurality of pads 206B, pad 206C, and pad 206E when touch inputs are applied the board pad 206A, board pad 206D, and board pad 206F), and the metal sheet is provided at a position superposed with the electronic apparatus when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the one surface in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 2B and 2D; [0057], e.g., the ground flap 204 is superposed with the user device 210 when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the one surface in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Christen in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki and Reeskamp for providing a ground flap that is at least partially connected to a game board and at least partially covers a back area of a user device so that the ground flap can serve as the ground on the back of user device to allow the user device to recognize a user input to the game board (see [0026] of Christen).
Claim(s) 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151, cited in IDS dated 06/08/2026) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024), and further in view of Morobishi et al. (US 2017/0010691).
Regarding claim 12, Mkrtchyan discloses an electronic apparatus set comprising an electronic apparatus including a touch screen provided with a display part and an electrostatic capacitance type of touch panel arranged on the display part (Figs 1A and 1C; col. 1, lines 14-15, col. 2, lines 4-27, 53-54, e.g., the touch screen 108 is a capacitive touch screen arranged on the display), and an input device (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 12-20, e.g., game board 120) attachable to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1A and 1C; col. 5, lines 12-25, e.g., the game board can be attachable to the electronic device 100), wherein
the input device includes a plurality of operating parts operable by a user (Fig. 1B; col. 3, lines 22-28, e.g., a plurality of touch input interfaces 128a-128g operable by a user) and a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel (Fig. 1D; col. 4, lines 65-67, col. 5, lines 1-11; e.g., a plurality of touch screen contacts (electrodes) 136 arranged at different regions on the touch screen 108),
each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part (Fig. 1B; col. 4, lines 52-64) and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1C and 1D; e.g., the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108), a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a touch input of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel (Fig. 1B; col. 2, lines 53-54, col. 4, lines 13-25, 52-64, e.g., the touch input interface 128 receives touch input and routes the touch input to the touch screen 108 between a corresponding region of the touch screen 108 and the electrode 136, wherein the electrode 136 provides the touch input to the touch screen 108 so that a change in an electrostatic capacitance is detected by the touch screen 108),
the plurality of operating parts are arranged so as to surround at least three sides of the electronic apparatus when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B-1D; e.g., the plurality of touch input interfaces 128 are arranged to surround four sides of the touch screen 108 when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a display screen of the touch screen 108 in the state where the game board 120 is attached to the touch screen 108),
the display screen of the touch screen is a rectangle shape (Fig. 1C; e.g., the touch screen 108 is a rectangle shape), and
the operating parts include:
a first set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a first side of the display screen and a second side facing the first side when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the display screen of the touch screen in the state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a first plurality of touch input interfaces 128 arranged so as to straddle a left side and a right side of the touch screen 108); and
a second set of operating parts arranged so as to straddle a third side of the display screen different from the first side and the second side and a fourth side facing the third side (Figs 1B and 1D; e.g., a second plurality of touch input interface 128 arranged so as to straddle a top side and a bottom side of the touch screen 108).
Mkrtchyan does not specifically disclose wherein a potential of each electrode changes in accordance with the operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and wherein the change in the electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between the corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel. Furthermore, Mkrtchyan does not specifically disclose wherein the display screen of the touch screen is a square shape
However, Nobuyuki discloses an input device attachable to an electronic apparatus including a touch screen provided with a display part and an electrostatic capacitive type of touch panel arranged on the display part (Figs 5-6; [0009], [0027], e.g., a controller 130 attachable to an electronic device including a capacitive touch screen arranged on a display panel), the input device comprising:
a plurality of operating parts operable by a user ([0027], e.g., a plurality of operation switches 132 and 133); and
a plurality of electrodes arranged at different regions on the touch panel ([0029], [0032], e.g., a plurality of electrodes of input units 139 and 139b are arranged at different regions on the capacitive touch screen),
wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a corresponding operating part so that its potential changes in accordance with an operating state of the operating part corresponding to the electrode and is arranged on the touch panel so that in a state where the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus, a change in an electrostatic capacitance occurring due to a change in the potential of the electrode between a corresponding region on the touch panel and the electrode is detected by the touch panel ([0028]-[0032], e.g., each of the electrodes is connected to a corresponding operation switch 132 or 133 via a lead wire so that an electrode is electrically connected to a capacitor and receives electrical charges from the capacitor when the switch 132 or 133 is operated and each electrode is detected as an input by a capacitor effect generated between the electrode and the touch panel due to increase in capacitance. Examiner notes that such generated capacitor effect and increase in capacitance due to change in potential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Nobuyuki in the invention of Mkrtchyan for supplying electrical charges to an electrode in accordance with an operating state of an operating part corresponding to the electrode so that electrostatic capacity increases and sufficient electrostatic coupling is performed between the electrode and a touch panel for the purpose of improving touch sensitivity of user operation part input detection (see [0039] of Nobuyuki).
Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki does not specifically disclose wherein the display screen of the touch screen is a square shape.
However, Morobishi discloses an electronic device wherein a display screen of a touch screen is a square shape (Fig. 1; [0030], e.g., although both the display 2A and the touch screen 2B have a nearly rectangular shape in the example in FIG. 1, the shape of the display 2A and the touch screen 2B is not limited thereto; the display 2A and the touch screen 2B each can have any shape such as a square or a circle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morobishi in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki for providing a square shaped display screen or touch screen so that the display screen or the touch screen can have any shape.
Regarding claim 16, Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki does not specifically disclose the input device according to claim 1, wherein the display screen of the touch screen is a square shape.
However, Morobishi discloses an electronic device wherein a display screen of a touch screen is a square shape (Fig. 1; [0030], e.g., although both the display 2A and the touch screen 2B have a nearly rectangular shape in the example in FIG. 1, the shape of the display 2A and the touch screen 2B is not limited thereto; the display 2A and the touch screen 2B each can have any shape such as a square or a circle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morobishi in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki for providing a square shaped display screen or touch screen so that the display screen or the touch screen can have any shape.
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024) and Morobishi et al. (US 2017/0010691), and further in view of Alten et al. (US 2010/0081505).
Regarding claim 13, Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki and Morobishi does not specifically disclose the electronic apparatus set according to claim 12, further comprising an operating device configured to wirelessly communicate with the electronic apparatus, wherein the operating device is configured to communicate with the electronic apparatus wirelessly even when the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus.
However, Alten discloses an electronic apparatus set (Figs 1 and 7-9; [0032], [0068]-[0074]) comprising an electronic apparatus (e.g., a portable electronic device 110), a game accessory attachable to the electronic apparatus (e.g., game accessory 120 is configured to receive the portable electronic device 110)) , and a second game accessory configured to wirelessly communicate with the electronic apparatus (e.g., a second game accessory 830/930 includes a wireless link for communicating with the portable electronic device 810/910), wherein the second game accessory is configured to communicate with the electronic apparatus wirelessly even when the game accessory is attached to the electronic apparatus (e.g., the second game accessory 830/930 is able to communicate with the portable electronic device 810/910 when the first game accessory 820/920 is attached to the portable electronic device 810/910).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Alten in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki and Morobishi for providing an operating device configured to wirelessly communicate with an electronic apparatus so that an input device used by a first user can communicate with the operating device used by a second user (see [0069] of Alten).
Regarding claim 14, Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki, Morobishi and Alten further discloses the electronic apparatus set according to claim 13, wherein the operating device is formed so as to be attachable to the electronic apparatus, and the input device is attached to an attachment position of the operating device when the operating device is detached from the electronic apparatus (Alten, Figs 1, 6A and 6B; [0009], [0042], e.g., the second game accessory 830/930 is configured to fit the portable electronic device and the game accessory 820/920 is attached to a connector when the second game accessory 830/930 is detached from the portable electronic device).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mkrtchyan (US 8,512,151) in view of Nobuyuki (see JP 2015075796 and the corresponding English Translation), Morobishi et al. (US 2017/0010691) and Alten et al. (US 2010/0081505), and further in view of Cerrato et al. (US 2024/0024762).
Regarding claim 15, Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki, Morobishi and Alten further discloses the electronic apparatus set according to claim 13, wherein when the operating device is detached from the electronic apparatus, the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus (Alten, Figs 1, 6A and 6B; [0009], [0042], e.g., the second game accessory 830/930 is configured to fit the portable electronic device and the game accessory 820/920 is attached to a connector when the second game accessory 830/930 is detached from the portable electronic device).
Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki, Morobishi and Alten does not specifically disclose wherein when the operating device is detached from the electronic apparatus and the input device is attached to the electronic apparatus, the operating parts and the operating device can input operations to the electronic apparatus in parallel or simultaneously for running processing in a same application program.
However, Cerrato discloses an electronic apparatus set comprising an electronic apparatus, a first input device, and a second input device (Fig 1; [0016]-[0018], e.g., a computer 10, a first controller 200, a second controller 300), wherein the first input device and the second input device can input operations to the electronic apparatus in parallel or simultaneously for running processing in the same application program ([0032]-[0033], [0035], e.g., the first input device and the second input device can be used cooperatively to control any game or application at the same time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Cerrato in the invention of Mkrtchyan in view of Nobuyuki, Morobishi and Alten for providing input operations from operating parts of an input device and an operating device to control a same application simultaneously in order to allow multiple users to cooperatively control a game.
Conclusion
/HONG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629