DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
[AltContent: textbox (bend)]Claims 1,3,8,9,10,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hegde et al 20100049227.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Retaining portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flexible tip end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (shank)][AltContent: arrow]
With regard to claims 1 and 3, Hegde et al discloses a method of manufacturing a dental instrument, the method comprising: providing a flexible tip end 144 having a flat body with opposing planar main surfaces, the flexible tip end 144 including an integral (the term “integral” in its breadth, includes “attached” or “connected” and clearly the flexible tip end 144 is connected to the retaining portion 140 in a proximal end thereof); and forming a shank 166 by at least one of 3D printing or injection molding (injection molding, see paragraph 42) around the retaining portion 140 of the flexible tip end 144, such that a distal portion of the shank is fixedly secured to the retaining portion 140 of the flexible tip end 144, the shank 166 configured to be coupled to a handle 168.
With regard to claim 8, note that the shank 166 is in a bent configuration. See above annotated figure.
With regard to claim 9, note that forming the shank 166 further comprises forming a handle 168 with the shank 166 at one end of the handle 168.
With regard to claim 10, note that providing the flexible tip end 144 comprises providing a foil tip end. Hegde et al refer to tip end 144 as a “flexible” “blade” (see paragraph 47). This can be considered to be a “foil”.
With regard to claim 11, note that the foil tip end 144 comprises providing a Nickel Titanium foil tip end. See paragraph 42 which discloses that the tip end 144 may be formed of Nitinol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde et al 20100049227 in view of Castanon et al 20160249947.
With regard to claim 2, although Hegde et al discloses forming the shank around the retaining portion, Hegde et al do not disclose doing such via 3D printing.
Castanon et al disclose an instrument in which the handle may be formed via 3D printing. See paragraph 179.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the shank around the retaining portion of Hegde et al via 3D printing, in view of the teaching of Castanon et al that it is known to form a handheld instrument via 3D printing.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde et al 20100049227 in view of Castanon et al 20160249947, and Rahman 20030022130.
With regard to claim 4, although Hegde et al discloses forming the shank around the retaining portion, Hegde et al do not disclose doing such via 3D printing.
Castanon et al disclose an instrument in which the handle may be formed via 3D printing. See paragraph 179.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the shank around the retaining portion of Hegde et al via 3D printing, in view of the teaching of Castanon et al that it is known to form a handheld instrument via 3D printing.
Hegde et al/Castanon et al do not disclose forming the 3D printing through one or more apertures extending through the retaining portion, or around one or more protrusions extending outwardly from the retaining portion.
Rahman discloses a handheld instrument in which apertures/protrusions are utilized to secure the handle via a flow of material therethrough. See paragraphs 69 and 82, as well as fig. 10 and 12 as annotated below.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (apertures)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (protrusions)]
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include apertures or protrusions on the retaining portion of the instrument of Hegde et al/Castanon et al, in view of the teaching of Rahman that apertures/protrusions provide an anti-rotation feature with an assembled shank/handle in a hand-held instrument.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde et al 20100049227 in view of Rahman 20030022130.
With regard to claims 5 and 7, although Hegde et al discloses forming the shank around the retaining portion via injection molding, Hegde et al do not disclose forming the injection molding through one or more apertures extending through the retaining portion, or around one or more protrusions extending outwardly from the retaining portion.
Rahman discloses a handheld instrument in which apertures/protrusions are utilized to secure the handle via a flow of material therethrough. See paragraphs 69 and 82, as well as fig. 10 and 12 as annotated above.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include apertures or protrusions on the retaining portion of Hegde et al during the injection molding process, in view of the teaching of Rahman that apertures/protrusions provide an anti-rotation feature with an assembled shank/handle in a hand-held instrument.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are drawn to the newly presented claim limitations, which have been addressed with modified grounds of rejection based on a new interpretation of the Hegde et al reference above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the modified ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772