DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II (claims 82-90) in the reply filed on Feb. 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 73-81 and 91-96 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 82-90 are examined below.
Priority
The present application is a CON of application serial no. 17/601,194 (issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,186,594), which is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of the International Application No. PCT/US2020/027423, filed April 9, 2020. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional application 62/833,458 filed on April 12, 2019 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is April 12, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed Feb. 2, 2026, Feb. 6, 2026, March 27, 2026 and Aug. 27, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 82-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicants have not adequately shown that they had possession of the invention claimed with respect to each of the population of cells (beta cells, islets and stem cells); or a “administering a therapeutically effective amount” of pFUS to the cells in the claimed population of cells, as explained more fully below.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include "level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would leave one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient." MPEP 2163.
A claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient descriptions of a representative number of species or disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics such as functional characteristics coupled with known or disclosed correlation between function and structure. MPEP 2163(3)a(II). The number of species that describe the genus must be adequate to describe the entire genus; if there is substantial variability, a large number of species must be described.
The analysis for adequate written description considers (a) actual reduction to practice, (b) disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (c) sufficient relevant identifying characteristics in the way of complete/partial structure or physical and/or chemical properties or functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed correlation with structure, and (d) representative number of samples.
(a) actual reduction to practice
The applicants have demonstrated no actual reduction to practice of the broadly claimed “administering a therapeutically effective amount of pulsed focused ultrasound (pFUS) to a population of cells before transplanting the population of cells into an organ, wherein the population of cells comprises beta cells, islets, and/or stem cells.” The specification discloses the effect of pFUS on the native pancreas (Example 1, paras. [0158] – [0178]); in vitro analysis of islet survival and function (Example 2, paras. [0222] – [0224] analysis of islets transplanted into kidney, then treated with pFUS in vivo (Example 2, paras. [0225] – [0229]; analysis of islets undergoing in vitro treatment with pFUS at low (0.71 W/cm2), medium (1.43 W/cm2) and high (2.86 W/cm2) intensities, which were then transplanted (Example 2, paras. [0240] – [0241]); islets transplantation and treatment with pFUS (note, these appear to not be the same islets that were previously cultured and treated with pFUS; Example 2, paras. [0243]-[0244]. MSC stimulation with pFUS, low dose 0.45 W/cm2 and high dose 1.3 W/cm2, and the analysis of their secreted cytokines (Example 3, paras. [0306] – [0319]); and islet co-transplantation with mesenchymal stem cells (Example 4, paras. [0368] – [0402]).
(b) disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas
The drawings provided are extensive, however, they do not provide additional information beyond what is provided in the text associated with actual reduction to practice.
(c) sufficient relevant identifying characteristics in the way of complete/partial structure or physical and/or chemical properties or functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed correlation with structure
The disclosure does not provide enough for the person of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain which cells (beta, islets, stem cells, or mesenchymal stem cells (claims 83) and which combinations at what specific doses for pFUS will correlate with increased expression of immunomodulatory cytokines, anti-inflammatory cytokines or angiogenic cytokines (claim 84). Even though claims 85-87 list specific cytokines, it is still not clear that the claimed cells (beta, islets, and stem cells) will produce increased cytokines; rather, different mesenchymal stem cells appear to increase expression of the claimed cytokines, however, the variation between type of mesenchymal stem cell (BM-MSCs, AD-MSCs and UC-MSCs) and the variability noted in the data collected at low (0.45 W/cm2) and high (1.3 W/cm2) dose pFUS of increase in cytokine profile is not enough to support the scope of these claims. The specification acknowledges this unpredictability:
The effect of acoustic dose on cytokines is dependent on the source of MSCs with BM-MSCs showing increased secretion at lower doses, UC-MSCs showing increased secretion at higher doses and AD-MSCs demonstrating the least amount of sensitivity to sound waves at any dose. Finally, our results show MSCs respond to pFUS in a source-dependent manner, with each source producing a distinct cytokine profile (i.e. the highest level of a cytokine produced by BM-MSCs was IL-15, for AD-MSCs was TGF-α and for UC-MSCs was LIF).
Given that pFUS can produce a different profile of cytokines depending on the source of MSC, this will become important for choosing a specific MSC for a particular disease indication, especially if pFUS is used for pre-conditioning MSCs.
(paras. [0316] – [0317]). (emphasis added)
(d) representative number of samples.
Applicants have not provided a representative number of samples; rather they claim that any islet, beta or stem cell (or mesenchymal stem cell) treated with any level of pFUS, will, for example, result in increased immodulatory cytokines.
Rather, skilled artisans in this field and the specification itself recognize that differences occur based on specific cell type and the ultrasound application parameters. (See generally Liu et al. (Stem Cell Trans Med, 2019)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 82 and 90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tyler et al (U.S. Patent App. No. 2015/0025422 A1) in view of Thurmond et al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2015/0313961 A1).
The claims are directed to administering a therapeutically effective amount of pulsed forcused ultrasound (pFUS) to a population of beta cells, islets or stem cells before transplanting the cells into an organ.
With respect to independent claim 82, Tyler et al. generally teach that administration of low-intensity, low-frequency ultrasound can stimulate cellular molecular pathways in cells, including causing them to secrete signaling molecules. (paras. [0107]-[0108]). More specifically, Tyler et al. teach that low-intensity, low-frequency ultrasound can cause secretion of insulin from beta cells. (paras. [0107]-[0108]). Tyler et al. teach that the low-intensity, low-frequency ultrasound can be applied to cells in culture or living bodies. (para. [0069]). Tyler et al. teach the ultrasound waves can be focused or unfocused and pulsed or continuous, as determined by the application they are intended for, and that the cells can be treated in vivo or in cell culture. (paras. [0069], [0073]).
Tyler does not teach that treated beta cells are or can be transplanted into an organ.
Thurmond et al. teach methods of treating subjects for pancreatic disorders, including diabetes, which include transplanting beta or islet cells to a transplantation site. (paras. [0102], [0115]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have furthered the therapeutic treatment taught by Tyler et al. to incorporate transplanting the beta or islet cells (as taught by Thurmond et al.) because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Making this modification would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because Thurmond teach that beta and islet cell transplantation is routinely done and Tyler et al. specifically teach that ultrasonically treating the beta cells increases their secretion of insulin; as such, transplantation of these therapeutic cells would have been an obvious next step.
With respect to claim 90, Tyler et al. teach that the cells can be treated with ultrasound in vitro (cell culture). (para. [0069]).
Double Patenting
Claims 82-90 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,594 (the ‘594 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the ‘594 patent teaches treating type 1 diabetes by transplanting a therapeutically effective amount of a population of co-transplanting (1)beta cells or islets at a transplantation site and (2) stem cells, and administering pFUS to the beta cells or islets (claim 1) and administering pFUS therapy to the beta cells or islets before transplanting them. Claim 5 teaches the stem cells can be MSCs. Claim 14 teaches the transplantation site is kidney, liver, omentum, peritoneum, or subcutaneous tissue.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TERESA E KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634