DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 11, 13, 14, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, US 20020008530
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a probe card comprising: a probe comprising: a probe tip extending in a first direction (Fig. 1; end portion 3); a probe beam extending in a second direction different than the first direction (Fig. 1; portion extending horizontally); and a probe stand extending in the first direction (Fig.1; base of probe 2 being a stand); and a substrate comprising a conductive feature disposed in a material layer (Fig. 1; substrate 1 having wiring 4), wherein the probe stand is directly bonded to the conductive feature of the substrate via direct metal bonds (Fig. 1; probe 2 is directly bonded to substrate without adhesive; see also claim 9; direct bonding is interpreted as wherein two or more elements are directly bonded to one another without an intervening adhesive as disclosed by Applicant’s specification ).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein: the probe card comprises a plurality of probes; and a length of each probe beam of the plurality of probes is greater than a pitch of the plurality of probes in the probe card (See fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches wherein the probe tip includes a probe tip spacer extending a distance of the probe tip to the probe beam (Fig. 1; part extending from tip to the body portion).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches wherein: the probe card comprises a plurality of probes comprising first probes and second probes; probe tips of the first probes and the probe tips of the second probes are substantially co-planar in a first plane; probe beams of the first probes are substantially co-planar in a second plane different than the first plane; and probe beams of the second probes are substantially co-planar in a third plane different than the first plane and the second plane (Fig. 1; multiple probes disclosed and are substantially co-planer with each other).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches wherein: the probe card comprises a plurality of probes; and the probe tips of the plurality of probes are substantially co-planar (See fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Kim teaches wherein the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction (Fig. 1; tip portion is angular and therefore extends in multiple angles including 90 degree).
Regarding claim 26, Kim teaches wherein the first direction is not orthogonal to the second direction (Fig. 1; tip portion is angular and therefore extends in multiple angles including 90 degree).
Regarding claim 27, Kim teaches a method of fabricating a probe card comprising: providing one or more probes, each probe comprising a probe stand extending in a first direction (Fig.1; base of probe 2 being a stand), a probe beam extending in a second direction different than the first direction (Fig. 1; portion extending horizontally), and a probe tip extending in the first direction (Fig. 1; end portion 3); providing a probe card substrate comprising one or more conductive features disposed in a material layer (Fig. 1; substrate 1 having wiring 4); and directly bonding each probe stand to a respective conductive feature (Fig. 1; probe 2 is directly bonded to the wiring 4; see also claim 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 20020008530 in view of Kim et al., KR 20090024559 A
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the probe tip and the probe beam comprise a first metal fill layer. Kim is silent in the probe stand comprises a second metal fill layer; and the probe beam is directly bonded to the probe stand via direct metal bonds. Kim ‘559 teaches a probe stand comprises a second metal fill layer; and the probe beam is bonded to the probe stand (Fig. 3j; layer 200 and layer 100 bonded together). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘559 into Kim for the benefit of reducing manufacturing defects to the probe.
Regarding claim 3, Kim is silent in wherein the probe stand is disposed in a silicon structure. Kim ‘559 teaches wherein a probe stand is disposed in a silicon structure (Fig. 3j; 200). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘559 into Kim for the benefit of reducing manufacturing defects to the probe.
Regarding claim 7, Kim is silent wherein the probe stand is disposed in an oxide structure. Kim ‘559 teaches wherein the probe stand is disposed in an oxide structure (Fig. 3j). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘559 into Kim for the benefit of reducing manufacturing defects to the probe.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 20020008530 in view of Mathieu et al., JP 2002531915
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches wherein: the probe tip comprises a first metal fill layer. Kim is silent in the probe beam and the probe stand comprises a second metal fill layer; and the probe tip is directly bonded to the probe beam via direct metal bonds. Mathieu teaches a probe beam and the probe stand comprises a second metal fill layer (Fig. 18b; beam 4550, post 4650); and the probe tip is bonded to the probe beam (Fig. 18b; tip 440 bonded to beam4550 and post 4650). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Mathieu into Kim since providing a different order of manufacturing would still produce the predictable result of forming similar probe shape.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 20020008530 in view of Lin et al., US 20240110948 A1
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches wherein: the probe card comprises a plurality of probes(Fig. 1). Kim is silent in each probe beam is in a spiral shape from a top down view. Lin teaches a probe beam is in a spiral shape from a top down view (Fig. 8; probe 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lin into Kim since the substitution of a different shaped probe beam would still produce the predictable result of transferring signals for testing a device.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 20020008530 in view of Kim, KR 100840765
Regarding claim 8, Kim is silent in wherein: the probe stand is disposed in a patterned oxide layer; and an opening in the patterned oxide layer defines a cavity that the probe beam can enter when deflected. Kim ‘765 teaches a probe stand is disposed in a patterned oxide layer; and an opening in the patterned oxide layer defines a cavity that the probe beam can enter when deflected (Fig. 3-5; wafer W1 with cavity; cavity formed in W1 capable of providing space for a beam to deflect ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘765 into Kim for the benefit of providing space for deformation of a more flexible probe.
Regarding claim 9, Kim is silent in wherein: the probe beam is disposed in a same plane as a first patterned oxide layer; the probe stand is disposed in a second patterned oxide layer; and an opening in the first patterned oxide layer and the second patterned oxide layer defines a cavity that the probe beam can enter when deflected. Kim ‘765 teaches the probe beam is disposed in a same plane as a first patterned oxide layer; the probe stand is disposed in a second patterned oxide layer; and an opening in the first patterned oxide layer and the second patterned oxide layer defines a cavity that the probe beam can enter when deflected (Fig 3-5; – conductive material M3 with cavity in wafer W3; probe stand H1 in wager W1 having a cavity; cavity formed in W3 and W1 capable of providing space for a beam to deflect). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘765 into Kim for the benefit of providing space for deformation of a more flexible probe.
Regarding claim 10, Kim is silent in the substrate comprises a cavity that the probe beam can enter when deflected. Kim ‘765 teaches a substrate comprises a cavity that the probe beam can enter when deflected. (Fig 3-5; –wafer W1, W2 having a cavity; cavity formed in W2 and W1 capable of providing space for a beam to deflect). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘765 into Kim for the benefit of providing space for deformation of a more flexible probe.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 20020008530
Regarding claim 12, Kim is silent in wherein the probe tip spacer is less than about 10 microns in height. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a desired height, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide a compact probe.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 20020008530 in view of Park et al., US 20100032407
Regarding claim 19, Kim is silent in wherein the probe tip comprises a metal fill material and a metal plating material covering the metal fill material. Park teaches a probe card having a portion comprising a metal fill material and a metal plating material covering the metal fill material (Fig. 2C; metal fill 12a with metal plating 21a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Park into Kim for the benefit of providing a more resilient probe.
Regarding claim 20, Kim is silent in wherein the probe tip and the probe beam comprise a metal fill material and a metal plating material covering the metal fill material. Park teaches a probe card having a portion comprising a metal fill material and a metal plating material covering the metal fill material (Fig. 2C; metal fill 12a with metal plating 21a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Park into Kim for the benefit of providing a more resilient probe.
Regarding claim 21, Kim is silent in wherein the probe beam comprises a metal fill material and a metal plating material covering the metal fill material. Park teaches a probe card having a portion comprising a metal fill material and a metal plating material covering the metal fill material (Fig. 2C; metal fill 12a with metal plating 21a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Park into Kim for the benefit of providing a more resilient probe.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858