DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2024 and 10/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/26/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 11/26/2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim 14 is objected to because it is an improper dependent claim because it does not refer to a preceding claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qualcomm ("Moderator Summary #1 for [109-e-R18-Pos-04] Email discussion on potential solutions for SL positioning", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205202, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES, F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG1, no. e-Meeting; 20220509 -2022052017 May 2022 (2022-05-17))
Regarding claim 1, Qualcomm discloses receiving measurement request information sent by a second terminal device (Section "4.2.5 SL-PRS Configuration/Triggering/Activation", p. 58, row "LGE", "We're ok in general with FL proposal. It seems that all the possibilities are on the table for study. One point is that the latency is a very important factor in SL positioning. Considering that, initiating SL positioning can also be done in a lower layer for short latency. For example, UE can initiate SL positioning by requesting other UEs to participate in SL positioning as an anchor/ server node. We propose to add the following. High layer signaling can be used for SL-PRS configuration and lower layer signaling can be used for initiating SL positioning and triggering/activating transmission of SL-PRS") and sending a positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the measurement request information; where the positioning reference signal is used to determine a position of the second terminal device (Section "4.2.4 SL-PRS Time domain Bevavior", p. 47, row "Qualcomm","[..] With regards to the time-domain behavior of the SL-PRS, [..] Option 2: On-demand SL-PRS Request/PC5-RRC/configuration/activation/triggering message(s), or a combination of such messages, is needed for one or more instances of a SL-PRS to be transmitted[..]", in conjunction with: Section "4.2.1 General proposals on a new SL-PRS reference signal" on p. 27, par. 1, "Based on the submitted contributions, there appears to be a lot of companies that suggested to study (or directly support) designing a new reference signal for SL Positioning, as shown in the statements below:", row "Samsung", "Study and evaluate performance of SL positioning reference signals considering the following Reusing SL synchronization signal in Rel-16 Reusing DL PRS positioning SRS design in Rel-16", row "China Telecom", "Consider the angle estimation based on the waveform measurement. Consider the possibility of introducing SRS-Pos or PRS as the reference signal for the angle estimation based on the RSRP measurement, consider the possibility of the CSI-RS or PRS as the reference signal used here for positioning, and some modifications of physical procedures especially beam management related are required Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for time of flight measurement. Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for TDOA measurement")
Regarding claim 16, Qualcomm discloses sending measurement request information to a first terminal device (Section "4.2.5 SL-PRS Configuration/Triggering/Activation", p. 58, row "LGE", "We're ok in general with FL proposal. It seems that all the possibilities are on the table for study. One point is that the latency is a very important factor in SL positioning. Considering that, initiating SL positioning can also be done in a lower layer for short latency. For example, UE can initiate SL positioning by requesting other UEs to participate in SL positioning as an anchor/ server node. We propose to add the following. High layer signaling can be used for SL-PRS configuration and lower layer signaling can be used for initiating SL positioning and triggering/activating transmission of SL-PRS") and receiving a positioning reference signal sent by the first terminal device, measuring the positioning reference signal to obtain a measurement result and determining a position of the second terminal device based on the measurement result (Section "4.2.4 SL-PRS Time domain Behavior", p. 47, row "Qualcomm","[..] With regards to the time-domain behavior of the SL-PRS, [..] Option 2: On-demand SL-PRS Request/PC5-RRC/configuration/activation/triggering message(s), or a combination of such messages, is needed for one or more instances of a SL-PRS to be transmitted[..]", in conjunction with: Section "4.2.1 General proposals on a new SL-PRS reference signal" on p. 27, par. 1, "Based on the submitted contributions, there appears to be a lot of companies that suggested to study (or directly support) designing a new reference signal for SL Positioning, as shown in the statements below:", row "Samsung", "Study and evaluate performance of SL positioning reference signals considering the following Reusing SL synchronization signal in Rel-16 Reusing DL PRS positioning SRS design in Rel-16", row "China Telecom", "Consider the angle estimation based on the waveform measurement. Consider the possibility of introducing SRS-Pos or PRS as the reference signal For the angle estimation based on the RSRP measurement, consider the possibility of the CSI-RS or PRS as the reference signal used here for positioning, and some modifications of physical procedures especially beam management related are required Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for time of flight measurement. Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for TDOA measurement")
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Qualcomm discloses claims 1 and 16, Qualcomm also discloses a memory, and a processor; the memory is configured to store computer-executable instructions; and the processor executes the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory, to cause the processor to execute the communication (The UE inherently includes these elements)
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Qualcomm discloses claims 1 and 16, Qualcomm also discloses storage medium stores computer-executed instructions therein, in response to executing the computer-executed instructions by a processor, the communication (The UE inherently includes these elements)
Regarding claim 2, Qualcomm discloses claim 1, Qualcomm also discloses at least one of the following: a number of transmission times of the positioning reference signal; a measurement time domain resource of the positioning reference signal; a measurement frequency domain resource of the positioning reference signal; a starting time of a measurement occasion of the positioning reference signal; a period of a measurement occasion of the positioning reference signal; and a length of a measurement occasion of the positioning reference signal (4.2.1 “Study a new SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for sidelink positioning/ranging. The study could at least include: Sequence design, frequency domain pattern, time domain pattern (e.g. number of symbols, repetitions, etc), time domain behavior, configuration/triggering/activation of the SL-PRS, AGC time, Tx-Rx Turnaround time, supportable bandwidth(s), multiplexing options with other SL channels, randomization/orthogonalization options” 4.2.4 SL-PRS Time domain Behavior. 4.2.1, p. 28, row "Lenovo", "RAN1 to consider at least the following design criteria for SL PRS: [..]" including all subpoints, see also Section 4.2.5, p. 53, row "CATT/GOHIGH", "For all types of S-PRS (periodic, semi-persistent and aperiodic S-PRS), the required measurements are configured through SLPP [..] )
Regarding claim 3, Qualcomm discloses claim 2, Qualcomm also discloses receiving first indication information sent by the second terminal device and determining whether to continue sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the first indication information (Section "4.2.4 SL-PRS Time domain Behavior", p. 47, row "Qualcomm","[..] With regards to the time-domain behavior of the SL-PRS, [..] Option 2: On-demand SL-PRS Request/PC5-RRC/configuration/activation/triggering message(s), or a combination of such messages, is needed for one or more instances of a SL-PRS to be transmitted[..]", in conjunction with: Section "4.2.1 General proposals on a new SL-PRS reference signal" on p. 27, par. 1, "Based on the submitted contributions, there appears to be a lot of companies that suggested to study (or directly support) designing a new reference signal for SL Positioning, as shown in the statements below:", row "Samsung", "Study and evaluate performance of SL positioning reference signals considering the following Reusing SL synchronization signal in Rel-16 Reusing DL PRS positioning SRS design in Rel-16", row "China Telecom", "Consider the angle estimation based on the waveform measurement. Consider the possibility of introducing SRS-Pos or PRS as the reference signal For the angle estimation based on the RSRP measurement, consider the possibility of the CSI-RS or PRS as the reference signal used here for positioning, and some modifications of physical procedures especially beam management related are required Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for time of flight measurement. Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for TDOA measurement")
Regarding claim 4, Qualcomm discloses claim 3, Qualcomm also discloses in case of the first indication information indicates to continue sending, determining to continue sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device and in case of the first indication information indicates to stop sending, determining to stop sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device (Section "4.2.4 SL-PRS Time domain Behavior", p. 47, row "Qualcomm","[..] With regards to the time-domain behavior of the SL-PRS, [..] Option 2: On-demand SL-PRS Request/PC5-RRC/configuration/activation/triggering message(s), or a combination of such messages, is needed for one or more instances of a SL-PRS to be transmitted[..]", in conjunction with: Section "4.2.1 General proposals on a new SL-PRS reference signal" on p. 27, par. 1, "Based on the submitted contributions, there appears to be a lot of companies that suggested to study (or directly support) designing a new reference signal for SL Positioning, as shown in the statements below:", row "Samsung", "Study and evaluate performance of SL positioning reference signals considering the following Reusing SL synchronization signal in Rel-16 Reusing DL PRS positioning SRS design in Rel-16", row "China Telecom", "Consider the angle estimation based on the waveform measurement. Consider the possibility of introducing SRS-Pos or PRS as the reference signal For the angle estimation based on the RSRP measurement, consider the possibility of the CSI-RS or PRS as the reference signal used here for positioning, and some modifications of physical procedures especially beam management related are required Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for time of flight measurement. Introduce PRS or SRS-Pos into sidelink as the reference signal for TDOA measurement")
Regarding claim 5, Qualcomm discloses claim 3, Qualcomm also discloses the first indication information is transmitted through a physical side-link feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated by a preset bit in the PSFCH (Section 5.1, p. 68, row "Apple", "Decide on whether or not the time resources for the SL positioning signal transmission are within the time resources of the slots for the resource pool Decide on the frequency resources for SL-positioning signals SL positioning reference signal can be configured in same slot as SL PSSCH/PSCCH/PSFCH (uses same resource allocation method as PSSCH/PSCCH/PSFCH) [..]": using a bit of PSFCH is inherent in using a same resource allocation method as disclosed)
Regarding claim 6, Qualcomm discloses claim 2, Qualcomm also discloses receiving second indication information sent by the second terminal device and continuing to send the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the second indication information (Section "4.2.4 SL-PRS Time domain Behavior", p. 47, row "Qualcomm","[..] With regards to the time-domain behavior of the SL-PRS, [..] Option 2: On-demand SL-PRS Request/PC5-RRC/configuration/activation/triggering message(s), or a combination of such messages, is needed for one or more instances of a SL-PRS to be transmitted[..]")
Regarding claim 11, Qualcomm discloses claim 2, Qualcomm also discloses receiving third indication information sent by the second terminal device; and stopping sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the third indication information (Section "4.2.4 SL-PRS Time domain Behavior", p. 47, row "Qualcomm","[..] With regards to the time-domain behavior of the SL-PRS, [..] Option 2: On-demand SL-PRS Request/PC5-RRC/configuration/activation/triggering message(s), or a combination of such messages, is needed for one or more instances of a SL-PRS to be transmitted[..]")
Claims 1-6, 11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20250038922 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses receiving measurement request information sent by a second terminal device and sending a positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the measurement request information; where the positioning reference signal is used to determine a position of the second terminal device (figure 20 blocks 202 and 204 paragraphs [0199]-[0214] “In process 202, a second terminal sends indication information. The second terminal sends the indication information in a broadcast, multicast, or unicast mode. The indication information is physical layer information, media access control (MAC) layer information, or PC5-radio resource control (RRC) information “... “In process 204, the first terminal sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal. In some embodiments, the second terminal sends the indication information. The first terminal receives the indication information and sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal.”)
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses sending measurement request information to a first terminal device and receiving a positioning reference signal sent by the first terminal device, measuring the positioning reference signal to obtain a measurement result and determining a position of the second terminal device based on the measurement result (figure 20 blocks 202 and 204 paragraphs [0199]-[0214] “In process 202, a second terminal sends indication information. The second terminal sends the indication information in a broadcast, multicast, or unicast mode. The indication information is physical layer information, media access control (MAC) layer information, or PC5-radio resource control (RRC) information “... “In process 204, the first terminal sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal. In some embodiments, the second terminal sends the indication information. The first terminal receives the indication information and sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal.”)
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Zhang discloses claims 1 and 16, Zhang also discloses a memory, and a processor; the memory is configured to store computer-executable instructions; and the processor executes the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory, to cause the processor to execute the communication (Figure 25).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Zhang discloses claims 1 and 16, Zhang also discloses storage medium stores computer-executed instructions therein, in response to executing the computer-executed instructions by a processor, the communication (figure 25).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses claim 1, Zhang also discloses at least one of the following: a number of transmission times of the positioning reference signal; a measurement time domain resource of the positioning reference signal; a measurement frequency domain resource of the positioning reference signal; a starting time of a measurement occasion of the positioning reference signal; a period of a measurement occasion of the positioning reference signal; and a length of a measurement occasion of the positioning reference signal (figure 20 blocks 202 and 204 paragraphs [0199]-[0214] “In process 202, a second terminal sends indication information. The second terminal sends the indication information in a broadcast, multicast, or unicast mode. The indication information is physical layer information, media access control (MAC) layer information, or PC5-radio resource control (RRC) information “... “In process 204, the first terminal sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal. In some embodiments, the second terminal sends the indication information. The first terminal receives the indication information and sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal.”)
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses claim 2, Zhang also discloses receiving first indication information sent by the second terminal device and determining whether to continue sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the first indication information (figure 20 blocks 202 and 204 paragraphs [0199]-[0214] “In process 202, a second terminal sends indication information. The second terminal sends the indication information in a broadcast, multicast, or unicast mode. The indication information is physical layer information, media access control (MAC) layer information, or PC5-radio resource control (RRC) information “... “In process 204, the first terminal sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal. In some embodiments, the second terminal sends the indication information. The first terminal receives the indication information and sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal.”)
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses claim 3, Zhang also discloses in case of the first indication information indicates to continue sending, determining to continue sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device and in case of the first indication information indicates to stop sending, determining to stop sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device (figure 20 blocks 202 and 204 paragraphs [0199]-[0214] “In process 202, a second terminal sends indication information. The second terminal sends the indication information in a broadcast, multicast, or unicast mode. The indication information is physical layer information, media access control (MAC) layer information, or PC5-radio resource control (RRC) information “... “In process 204, the first terminal sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal. In some embodiments, the second terminal sends the indication information. The first terminal receives the indication information and sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal.”)
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses claim 3, Zhang also discloses the first indication information is transmitted through a physical side-link feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated by a preset bit in the PSFCH (paragraphs [0053]-[0056] “In addition to the PSCCH and the PSSCH, the PSFCH is also possible within one sidelink slot in the NR-V2X, as illustrated in FIG. 8.”)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses claim 2, Zhang also discloses receiving second indication information sent by the second terminal device and continuing to send the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the second indication information (figure 20 blocks 202 and 204 paragraphs [0199]-[0214] “In process 202, a second terminal sends indication information. The second terminal sends the indication information in a broadcast, multicast, or unicast mode. The indication information is physical layer information, media access control (MAC) layer information, or PC5-radio resource control (RRC) information “... “In process 204, the first terminal sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal. In some embodiments, the second terminal sends the indication information. The first terminal receives the indication information and sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal.”)
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses claim 2, Zhang also discloses receiving third indication information sent by the second terminal device; and stopping sending the positioning reference signal to the second terminal device based on the third indication information (figure 20 blocks 202 and 204 paragraphs [0199]-[0214] “In process 202, a second terminal sends indication information. The second terminal sends the indication information in a broadcast, multicast, or unicast mode. The indication information is physical layer information, media access control (MAC) layer information, or PC5-radio resource control (RRC) information “... “In process 204, the first terminal sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal. In some embodiments, the second terminal sends the indication information. The first terminal receives the indication information and sends the first-type SL-PRS or the second-type SL-PRS to the second terminal.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 12-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang (US 20240163832 A1) discloses positioning method, and terminal, and medium.
Wu (US 20240422806 A1) discloses sidelink management method, apparatus, and system.
Li (US 20250212157 A1) discloses positioning method, apparatus, terminal and network device.
/JUAN A TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634