CTNF 18/960,721 CTNF 101720 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-01-aia AIA 07-03-01-r-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 13, 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1) . Regarding claim 1, 13, 20, Kim teaches: An electronic device comprising: a housing; a flexible display in which a size of a display area visible from outside of the electronic device is variable from a first size to a second size based on moving of at least part of the housing; (Kim Abstract “An electronic device includes a housing , a flexible display , a camera, and a processor. The housing includes a first housing and a second housing coupled to and movable with respect to the first housing. The flexible display including an exposed area that is a first size when the electronic device is in a first state and a second size when the second housing moves and the electronic device is switched into a second state.”) and at least one processor including processing circuitry; and memory storing instructions that, (Kim Col. 22 Line 15 “The electronic device 100 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include a memory 250 disposed in the housing 110 and electrically connected to the at least one processor 220.”) when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display an execution screen of a first application in a first area of the flexible display in a state that the size of the display area is the first size, (Kim Fig. 4, cited below, shows the device in a first size displaying content in an execution screen.) while the display area is changed from the first size to the second size, display at least a portion of the execution screen of the first application or a simplified screen of the execution screen of the first application, in a second area including at least a portion of the first area, (Kim Col. 7 Line 48 “According to an embodiment, in operation 307, when the second housing 112 has moved from the first housing 111 (e.g., when the electronic device 100 is in the second state 100 b ), the processor 220 may display a second area , which corresponds to the second size in an image acquired through the camera 210, on the exposed area (e.g., 121 and 122 in FIG. 1B) of the second size of the flexible display 230. According to an embodiment, the second area displayed by the processor 220 on the exposed area of the flexible display 230 may include the first area . FIG. 4 illustrates an example of displaying an image before and after expansion of the flexible display 230 according to an embodiment.” PNG media_image1.png 746 716 media_image1.png Greyscale Note: Kim teaches that when the display area’s size is changed the second area introduced can contain the content displayed. As shown in the figure an application displaying a photo takes up the initial first display area 121, the window/view displaying the image content is the execution screen. When the display area is changed to include the second area 121 the content fills both the first and second area.) and while the size of the display area is changed from the first size to the second size, display an execution screen of a second application, corresponding to the size of the display area, in a third area including at least a portion of a display area newly visible from the outside of the electronic device, (Kim Col. 12 Line 44 “According to the expansion of the flexible display 230 , an image other than the first area is newly displayed on the second portion 122 drawn out to the outside of the electronic device 100 , and the image of the first area (or an image corresponding to the image of the first area) is continuously displayed in the first portion 121 . Thus, the user may naturally accept the expansion of the flexible display 230 .” Note: Using the example of images for content being displayed in an execution window, Kim teaches that as the display area is extended the first image of the first area can be continuously displayed. The newly visible area that is not being filled by the first image can be filled with another image, teaching that the newly visible area can display a second application.) wherein a velocity at which the execution screen of the second application is displayed, corresponding to the size of the display area, (Kim Col. 12 Line 44, cited above, teaches that the second image displayed, analogous to a second application, is drawn to the outside as the device expands. This teaches that the second application has some velocity or speed at which it expands, although it is not detailed exactly.) While Kim teaches that a second application can grow to fill the expanding display area as it is expanded, implying they have a similar velocity, there are no direct teachings on the speed/velocity at which the UI expands. Detailing that an application or content corresponding to an expanding display area will display at a different velocity than the velocity at which the display expands is taught in La, which teaches wherein a velocity at which the execution screen of the application is displayed, corresponding to the size of the display is different from a velocity at which the size of the display area is changed. ( PNG media_image2.png 876 684 media_image2.png Greyscale La ¶144 “FIG. 7 the controller 180 may expand a range of the floating display area a 2 that starts from a boundary between the edge display area a 1 and the main display area a 3 . [0145] Referring to view (d) of FIG. 7, if it is determined that an angle at which the foldable device 100 is unfolded is greater than a predetermined third angle (for example, 70°<θ), the controller 180 may activate the entirety of the main display area a 3 that includes the floating display area a 2 .” Note: La teaches that an application will expand to fit the expanding display area. As seen in Fig. 6 the application will quickly jump to fill the new area using the angle of the device to determine how much new area is being displayed. As the unfolding action that changes the angle happens at a user-controlled velocity, and the application display area jumps quickly to fill the new area La teaches that an application can expand to fill a new display area at a different velocity than the velocity at which the display area is opened.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with La where a device that changes its display area from a first size to a second size changes the display area size at a different velocity than a second application changing size to fit the display. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, if the velocities are linked a fast change to a display area may appear visually jarring from the application rapidly sizing up or down, this could be avoided by having different velocities for the changing application size and the changing display area . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-4, 14-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1) and further in view of Ben-Yoseph (US 20080052637 A1) . Regarding claim 2, 14, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third area is disposed below the second area, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: While Kim implies that the sliding/rolling action of the device is controlled by the user it does not directly state this. This is taught in La which teaches a velocity at which the size of the display area of the flexible display is changed. (La ¶144, cited in claim 1, teaches that its action which alters the size of the display area is user controlled. Thus, the velocity at which the display is expanded is determined by the how fast the user performs the action teaching a variable non fixed velocity.) La does not however detail how GUI elements like the applications execution windows, analogous to windows in a standard mobile or desktop UI, can have their size changed. Specifically, changing the vertical size of a window on a device is taught by Ben-Yoseph which teaches that when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: increase a size of the third area based on moving a top of the third area from a bottom of the display area upward, (Ben-Yoseph ¶28 “The display content of a window is distinct from the border or header of the window and is instead the content found within the border of the window that is referenced or described by the header. The user manually resizes the horizontal and vertical dimensions of the window. When the resizing decreases the dimensions of the window, the GUI is adjusted in response to the manual resizing by removing white space and/or adding/updating scrollbars to the window as necessary to accommodate the displayed content in the newly resized window.”¶31 “For example, the window may have more than two states, and the window may be resized progressively and simultaneously with other windows in response to a user manually dragging or repositioning a user interface element from one location in a GUI display to another location in the display.” Note: It is taught that a window displaying content in a GUI, analogous to third area where an execution screen is present, can be increased in height or by width according to the user. Thus, increasing the size of an area of the GUI by moving it from the bottom of the display upwards, or any other vertical/horizontal adjustment, is taught.) and wherein the velocity, at which the execution screen of the second application is displayed in the third area, corresponding to the size of the display area, (Ben-Yoseph ¶31, cited above, teaches that the content being displayed in a window, analogous to the execution screen contained in the third area, can be resized by the user. Specifically, the user’s dragging operation can cause the window to progressively resize meaning that the velocity is variable and determined by the user.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Ben-Yoseph where the velocity at which an execution screen in a third area is resized can occur at a faster velocity than the velocity of a flexible display changing. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, if the rate at which a device display expands is somewhat slow there would be no reason to arbitrarily enforce that UI element speed, which is not bound by hardware other than refresh rate in sense, should be bound to the speed a device expands at. A more responsive, less constrained UI could be provided to a user by allowing the velocity an execution window expands at to be faster than the velocity the device expands at. Regarding claim 3, 15, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third area is disposed below the second area, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: a flexible display (Kim Abstract, cited in claim 1, teaches that the device’s display is flexible.) Kim does not however directly teach how content being displayed on the device can have its horizontal size changed. This is detailed in Ben-Yoseph which teaches to increase a size of the third area based on moving at least a portion of the third area from at least one of a left end or a right end of the third area, (Ben-Yoseph ¶28, ¶84, and ¶42 teach not only that a display area, in this case a GUI window displaying content, can have its horizontal size adjusted but also that it can be moved to the right or to the left from both sides.) and wherein a direction, in which the execution screen of the second application is displayed in the third area, corresponding to the size of the display area, is different from a direction in which the size of the display area of the display changes. (Ben-Yoseph ¶28 “The display content of a window is distinct from the border or header of the window and is instead the content found within the border of the window that is referenced or described by the header. The user manually resizes the horizontal and vertical dimensions of the window. When the resizing decreases the dimensions of the window, the GUI is adjusted in response to the manual resizing by removing white space and/or adding/updating scrollbars to the window as necessary to accommodate the displayed content in the newly resized window.”¶84 “In particular, movement of the icon 2550 towards the right (when facing the user interface) increases the horizontal dimension of windowpanes 2510A and 2530A while decreasing the horizontal dimension of windowpanes 2520A and 2540A. Movement of the icon towards left (when facing the user interface) decreases the horizontal dimension of windowpanes 2510A and 2530A” ¶42 “for example, using a mouse or other input device to manually select a border of the window and dragging or otherwise moving the border.” Note: Ben-Yoseph teaches that a window can be resized horizontally by moving to the left or right, and that the resizing action is done when the user drags on the border of a content’s window. As the border wraps around the whole window a user could change the horizontal size by pulling the left or right side in either direction.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Ben-Yoseph where a device with a flexible display allows for the size of an execution screen to be increased by increasing the right or left sides. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, allowing for horizontal adjustments to display areas like a window is a common feature among many mobile and desktop UIs that provides users with more freedom and customization in determining how they will view content that could be taken advantage of in the present device. Regarding claim 4, 16, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: Kim does not however teach that the changing of an applications size can result in the size of another application being reduced which can potentially be reduced further into a simplified screen. This is found in Ben-Yoseph which teaches while a size of the third area where the execution screen of the second application is displayed is increased, reduce a size of the second area where the execution screen of the first application is displayed, (Ben-Yoseph ¶84 “In particular, movement of the icon 2550 towards the right (when facing the user interface) increases the horizontal dimension of windowpanes 2510 A and 2530 A while decreasing the horizontal dimension of windowpanes 2520 A and 2540 A.” PNG media_image3.png 1071 753 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 1128 787 media_image4.png Greyscale Note: As seen in the figures above and their accompanying description in ¶84 the window 2530, analogous to an execution screen, is expanded from Fig. 25A to Fig. 25B causing the window above it 2510 to shrink in response. ) while the size of the second area is reduced, make a part of the execution screen of the first application gradually disappear, (¶31 “For example, the window may have more than two states, and the window may be resized progressively and simultaneously with other windows in response to a user manually dragging or repositioning a user interface element from one location in a GUI display to another location in the display.” Note: Fig. 25A-B cited above show how an execution screen 2510 is reduced in size, ¶31 teaches that the resizing can happen progressively as the user drags the window. Thus, it is taught that an application can gradually disappear and another can gradually expand.) and based on reducing the size of the second area being completed, display a remaining part, excluding the part, of the execution screen of the first application, or the simplified screen, and wherein the simplified screen comprises a screen in which an image included in the execution screen of the first application is changed based on the second area, or a screen in which a preview screen is changed based on the second area. (Ben-Yoseph Fig. 25B, cited above, shows the display area after the second area (2510B) has been reduced. As seen, it is reduced into a UI element analogous to the simplified screen which offers a preview of the execution screen. In this case the mail application viewer seen in Fig. 25A as 2510A is now a small tab bar with a mail UI icon and “Mail” title offering the user a preview of what content/application the expanded window will have.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Ben-Yoseph where in response to an application being resized into an area that another application is in gradually reducing the size of the second application to display a remaining part or a simplified version of the screen. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, a user may wish to increase the size of one application being viewed without obscuring or overlapping the application whose space the first application is being expanded into, as they may still wish to view both contents. By automatically reducing the size of the other application allowing both to be viewed, or by showing a simplified screen, the user can easily re access the smaller application if needed . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 6, 10, 17, 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1) and further in view of Dong (US 20230205400 A1) . Regarding claim 5, 17, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: While Kim teaches adjusting the sizes of applications that share a similar space it does not directly teach that they overlap. This can be found in Dong which teaches while a size of the third area, where the execution screen of the second application is displayed, increases, (Dong ¶135 cited below teaches that application windows, analogous to execution screens, may be increased in size and moved freely.) display a part of the execution screen of the second application by overlapping with a part of the execution screen of the first application. (Dong ¶135 “The following describes the FreeForm mode with reference to FIG. 4. The FreeForm mode is similar to a desktop operating system of a computer, and a window of an application interface may be freely dragged and resized. Refer to FIG. 4 . It is assumed that a window 1 and a window 2 are currently displayed on a screen of a terminal device. The window 1 and the window 2 display pages of different applications. That is, in the FreeForm mode, different operation pages of a same application cannot be displayed at a same moment.” PNG media_image5.png 1203 1394 media_image5.png Greyscale ) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Dong where expanding an applications size to fill the area taken up by another results in one application overlapping the other. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, one is to allow users more freedom by allowing them to preserve a workspace layout of applications with overlapping. If overlapping is not allowed a user may lose their organized layout of applications when expanding one briefly or opening a new one, causing the others to be resized or minimized without the user’s intent. Regarding claim 6, 18, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on increasing the size of the third area, While Kim teaches increasing the size of applications it does not teach displaying applications separated by a boundary, this is taught in Dong which teaches where the execution screen of the second application is displayed, being completed, display a boundary between the second area and the third area. (Dong ¶133 “The split-screen mode is then described with reference to FIG. 3 . Refer to FIG. 3 . In the split-screen mode, two windows may be displayed on a screen of a terminal device. It is assumed that the two windows are a first split-screen window and a second split-screen window. However, in the conventional technology, applications displayed in the two split-screen windows in the split-screen mode are different applications. For example, refer to FIG. 3 . In the first split-screen window, a page of a chat application A is displayed, and in the second split-screen window, a page of a weather application B is displayed.” PNG media_image6.png 993 717 media_image6.png Greyscale Note: Dong teaches that two applications can be shown at once and that rather than overlapping they can be displayed in a split-screen configuration where each application has its own screen, analogous to the execution screen. As seen in Fig. 3, a boundary line is displayed between the two screens to separate them.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Dong where when expanding an application display a boundary between it and another application. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, multitasking can be made easier for the user by showing applications with a distinct boundary where each has its own area, watching a video while texting or browsing the web and similar multitasking abilities can be offered to the user with such a configuration. Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the execution screen of the second application While Kim teaches multiple execution screens containing a first and second application it does not teach a home screen, this is taught by Dong which teaches execution screen of the application is a home screen. (Dong ¶141 “the picture-in-picture window and the home screen may be displayed on the screen of the terminal device.”) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Dong where the second application on the execution screen is a home screen. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, Kim teaches a second application viewable with a first on the device, including the home screen as an available app to view in the second application location provides the user more ways to access the important content contained on the home screen . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7, 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1), in view of Dong (US 20230205400 A1), and further in view of Lynch (iPhone Navigation Basics: How to Go Back, Get to the Home Screen, and More) . Regarding claim 7, 19, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: While Kim teaches a UI in which applications like a photo viewer can be viewed, little is said on the UI itself or that when multiple applications are displayed at once a border can separate them. This is found in Dong which teaches display at least one user interface (UI) for controlling at least one of the execution screen of the first application or the execution screen of the second application in a partial area of the boundary, (Dong Fig.3 and its accompanying description ¶133, cited in claim 6, have been shown to teach execution screens of two applications separated by a boundary; from the figure and description is clearly a user interface for a mobile device.) and wherein the at least one UI comprises at least one of: a UI for changing positions of the execution screen of the first application and the execution screen of the second application, (Dong ¶135, cited in claim 5, teaches resizing and moving execution screens freely in a UI, meaning their locations and sizes could be swapped if the user desires, along with any other variation of altering their size and position.) While a home screen is explicitly mentioned in Dong it does not detail a specific operation for accessing the home screen. It is implied via the home screen button on the bottom of the device as seen in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, however for sake of clarity the teaching for this and for changing to an execution screen of a previously used application is provided by Lynch a UI for changing the execution screen of the second application to a home screen, (Lynch “ Getting to the Home Screen: The home button on the iPhone is always within reach and is the easiest way to get to the home screen. The Home button is located at the bottom center of the iPhone and is represented by a small square at the bottom of the screen. Simply push down on the home button, and you will be taken to your home screen.”) or a UI for changing the execution screen to the execution screen to an execution screen of a recently used application. (Lynch “ Going Back: One of the most essential iPhone navigation functions is going back. To go back, you can simply swipe right to left with your finger from the edge of the screen. This will take you to the previous screen. This function is available in almost all iPhone apps, including Safari, Messages, and many others” Note: By swiping right to left on the device recently used screens, analogous to the claims execution screens which contain application content, can be accessed.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Lynch where a UI for the device that allows execution screens to be viewed with a border also allows for the home screen to be navigated to and recently used execution screens to be accessed with the UI. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, as the home screen of a mobile device is frequently accessed and used a dedicated UI function to return to it would provide ease of use and efficiency to the user, similarly being able to quickly access recently used execution screens quickly via the UI offers the user ease of use and efficiency in using the device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1), in view of De Moraes (US 10956024 B2) . Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 1, in a state that increasing a size of the third area, where the execution screen of the second application is displayed, is completed. While Kim teaches that the size of a third area increases, referring to new unveiled display area as described in claim 1, it does not specify that the ratio of horizontal to vertical length of the second area is reciprocal, or inverse, to that of the third area. Having two application windows displayed with reciprocal aspect ratios is taught in Da Moraes wherein a ratio of a horizontal length and a vertical length of the second area is a reciprocal of a ratio of a horizontal length and a vertical length of the third area, (De Moraes “Looking now at FIG. 9, this figure depicts an example computing device 100 with a display 102 presenting a first application window 202 and second application window 204 within a mufti-application viewing area 206 with inverted aspect ratios in accordance with an example implementation of the present disclosure. More specifically, in some examples, the first application window 202 is displayed with a first aspect ratio (e.g., 3:4) and the second application window 204 is displayed with second aspect ratio which is the first aspect ratio inverted (e.g., 4:3).” PNG media_image7.png 878 688 media_image7.png Greyscale Note: As seen in the viewing area of Fig. 9, a first and second applications in windows, analogous to execution screens, have reciprocal/inverse ratios of 4:3 and 3:4.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with De Moraes where a first and second application contained in execution screens that are in a device that has completed expanding its display area have a reciprocal aspect ratio. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, some applications work better in landscape while others work better in portrait, by having a reciprocal aspect ratio a landscape application like a video player and a portrait application like a web browser or messenger can be displayed together and efficiently take up all of the display area . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1), in view of Phones and stuff (Record front and back camera on iPhone at the same time) . Regarding claim 9, The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a front camera; and a rear camera, (Kim Col. 5 Line 22 “According to an embodiment, a front camera 131 may be included on the front surface of the electronic device 100 . According to an embodiment, a rear camera 132 may be included on the rear surface of the electronic device 100 .”) wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the execution screen of the first application displayed in the first area being a screen obtained by the front camera or a screen obtained by the rear camera, (Col. 6 Line 11 “Referring to FIG. 2, in an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may include a camera 210 , a processor 220 , a flexible display 230 , a sensor 240 , and a memory 250 . The camera 210 may be understood as a front camera 131 placed on the front surface of the electronic device 100 or a rear camera 132 placed on the rear surface of the electronic device 100 . The flexible display 230 may be understood as the display 120 illustrated in FIGS. 1A and 1B” Col. 6 Line 54 “According to an embodiment, an execution screen of the application executed by the processor 220 or an image stored in the memory 250 may be displayed on the flexible display 230 . In addition, the processor 220 may display an image acquired through the camera 210 as a preview on the flexible display 230 in real time.” Note: Referring to both front and back cameras as the camera 210, as displaying them is the same, Kim teaches both the front or rear camera can be displayed on the flexible display. As 230 the flexible display similarly refers to the device in any configuration, it is taught that the device’s first area, the area before expansion, can display both camera views.) While Kim teaches that both front and rear cameras can be displayed, it does not directly state that both camera feeds can be viewed at the same time in the second and third areas of the expanded device. While Kim teaches that the device can expand, it does not teach displaying both camera views at once. This is described in Phones and stuff which teaches to display a preview screen of one of the screen obtained by the front camera or the screen obtained by the rear camera in the second area, and display a remaining one of the screen obtained by the front camera or the screen obtained by the rear camera as the execution screen of the second application in the third area. ( PNG media_image8.png 1067 1428 media_image8.png Greyscale PNG media_image9.png 951 1338 media_image9.png Greyscale Phones and stuff transcript “I am filming from the front facing camera AND the back camera on the iPhone 11* right now you can do this with the iPhone XR and the iPhone XS and of course the iPhone 11s both the Pro and the regular Check this out while you're filming you can flip to which is the main camera Which is awesome I'm gonna show you guys how to do this right now So again I'm filming on the regular 11 and you can see you can change to the dual zoom camera you can also change kind of your layout here and this is a really sick app it's called DualGram” Note: As seen in the before/after screen shots two camera views present one showing the rear camera and the other the front which are able to be swapped between, teaching the claims language that two display areas can show both rear/front cameras simultaneously.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Phones and stuff where a device that allows for multiple applications to be displayed in different display areas and contains a front/rear camera that allows for either to be displayed on the device allows for both the front/rear cameras to be displayed in either second or third display areas at the same time. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, many users may wish to make content where both they and the subject they are viewing is being recorded as to capture their reaction to the rear filmed content, narration on captured content, etc… , allowing for both the front and back cameras to be viewed simultaneously makes such a task easier . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1), in view of WorldOfTech (Galaxy Z Fold 3/4/5: How Use Split Screen (Use 2 Apps Side by Side) . Regarding claim 11, The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on receiving a user input for adjusting a size of the display area change the display area from the first size to the second size. ( Kim Col. 7 Line 48, cited in claim 1, teaches adjusting the size of the display area from the first size to the second size) While Kim teaches that a user can expand the device from a first size to a second size, before the device expands it does not directly state that the multi-window view function is present in the first size, this is shown by WorldOfTech which teaches based on receiving a user input for adjusting a size of the display area (In the WorldOfTech video screen shot below we can see that a folding phone is being used, teaching that the user can fold the phone open/close to adjust the size of the display area) and executing a multi-window function in the state that the display area is the first size, (WorldOfTech PNG media_image10.png 1060 1427 media_image10.png Greyscale Note: Here, despite the phone being in its “first size”, referring to the smaller size before the display area is expanded into the second size, multiple windows are able to be viewed at once.) change the display area from the first size to the second size.( PNG media_image11.png 744 1027 media_image11.png Greyscale Note: As standard with the Galaxy Z fold we see that the result of the users unfolding operation that expands the display area to the second size.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with WorldOfTech where a device in a first, smaller size that is to be expanded can have a multi-window function in its smaller size state. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, users can already view multiple applications at once when the device is in a larger format, a user may wish to have these benefits without changing the phone’s orientation from their hand, changing how the phone is resting, etc… and may want a quick side by side application view on the device as is without changing the size. Allowing multiple windows to be viewed in any size configuration solves these issues and gives users more options in how they wish to use the device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11410583 B2) in view of La (US 20160187994 A1), in view of WorldOfTech (Galaxy Z Fold 3/4/5: How Use Split Screen (Use 2 Apps Side by Side)) and further in view of Samsung (How to Use the Galaxy Z Flip4 5G Cover Screen) Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches: The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: and display the execution screen of the second application related to the notification message in the third area. While Kim teaches, as shown in claim 1 and many others, that a second application can be opened to the third area it is not taught that the determination of what second application should be shown can be based on a notification. This is detailed by Samsung which teaches to display a notification message in a state that the execution screen of the first application is displayed in the first area, (The Samsung screen shot provided below teaches that notifications will be displayed on the cover screen, the smaller display area viewable before expanding the display area by unfolding, analogous to the first area.) based on receiving the user input in a state that the notification message is displayed, change the display area from the first size to the second size, and display the execution screen of the second application related to the notification message in the expended area. ( PNG media_image12.png 422 1186 media_image12.png Greyscale Note: Samsung teaches that if a notification is interacted with on the smaller, first size display area, and then the device is expanded, in this case via unfolding, the notification’s application will display in the larger expanded display area.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Samsung where a device that expands into a larger display area with two display areas can determine which application will be newly shown in the larger “third” area based on a user interacting with a notification they received in the smaller state. There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, many mobile OSs allow for users to tap a notification to go to the app that provided it to quickly see the information they were notified, depending on the type of app a user may wish to view it in a larger display area, allowing for a notification to open an app to the larger, expanded display area allows for this efficient information viewing in a user’s desired format. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALAN GREGORY HAKALA whose telephone number is (571)272-7863. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, King Poon can be reached at (571) 270-0728. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALAN GREGORY HAKALA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 2 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 3 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 4 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 5 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 6 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 7 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 8 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 9 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 10 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 11 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 12 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 13 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 14 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 15 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 16 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 17 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 18 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 19 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 20 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/960,721 Page 21 Art Unit: 2617