Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,938. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because features of the parent patent claims anticipate the features of the present claims. Claim 7 includes the features of independent claim 1.
Present Claims
1. A method comprising: ranking, by a computing device and based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and based on the ranked entries, switching output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments.
10. A method comprising: causing, by a computing device, output of an option to select at least one of a plurality of content items based on a ranking of entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items; and based on a user input selection, causing output of a content segment of the at least one of the plurality of content items.
16. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: rank, based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and based on the ranked entries, switch output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments.
U.S. Patent No. 12,184,938
1. An apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: based on an indication of a first event in a first entry in a first manifest file associated with a first content item, switch output from the first content item to a second content item; and after switching output to the second content item: monitor a plurality of manifest files associated with a plurality of content items; and based on an indication of a second event in a second entry in a manifest file of the plurality of manifest files, switch output to a content item associated with the manifest file.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to:
determine, from the plurality of manifest files, a plurality of entries associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items; and rank, based on user preferences, the plurality of entries; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to switch output to the content item by: causing output of the content item based on the ranked plurality of entries.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,587. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because features of the parent patent claims anticipate the features of the present claims. Claim 4 includes the features of independent claim 1.
Present Claims
1. A method comprising: ranking, by a computing device and based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and based on the ranked entries, switching output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments.
10. A method comprising: causing, by a computing device, output of an option to select at least one of a plurality of content items based on a ranking of entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items; and based on a user input selection, causing output of a content segment of the at least one of the plurality of content items.
16. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: rank, based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and based on the ranked entries, switch output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments.
U.S. Patent No. 11,711,587
1. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: receive a first manifest file, of a plurality of manifest files, associated with a first content item of a plurality of content items; based on determining that a manifest file tag for an upcoming first entry in the first manifest file indicates an insertion opportunity, switch output from the first content item to a second content item; and after switching output to the second content item: monitor the first manifest file and a second manifest file associated with the second content item; and switch output back to the first content item based on determining that the first manifest file includes a second entry indicating an end of the insertion opportunity.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: determine, from the plurality of manifest files, entries associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items; and rank the entries based on manifest file tags corresponding to the entries; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to switch output to the second content item by: causing output of the second content item based on the ranked entries.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,277,665. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because features of the parent patent claims anticipate the features of the present claims. Claim 7 includes the features of independent claim 1.
Present Claims
1. A method comprising: ranking, by a computing device and based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and based on the ranked entries, switching output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments.
10. A method comprising: causing, by a computing device, output of an option to select at least one of a plurality of content items based on a ranking of entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items; and based on a user input selection, causing output of a content segment of the at least one of the plurality of content items.
16. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: rank, based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and based on the ranked entries, switch output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments.
U.S. Patent No. 11,277,665
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a computing device, first manifest file information associated with a first content item; based on determining that a manifest file tag for an upcoming first entry in the first manifest file information indicates an insertion opportunity, switching output from the first content item to a second content item; and after switching output to the second content item: monitoring the first manifest file information and second manifest file information associated with the second content item; and switching output back to the first content item based on determining that the first manifest file information includes a second entry indicating an end of the insertion opportunity.
7. A method comprising: receiving, by a user device, a plurality of manifest files associated with a plurality of content items; determining, from the plurality of manifest files, entries associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items; ranking, based on content preference information, the entries; and based on the ranking the entries, causing the user device to switch output to a first content segment of the upcoming content segments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Navarro (US 2016/0088358 A1) in view of Loheide et al. (US 2019/0132627 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Garcia Navarro discloses a method comprising:
ranking, by a computing device and based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of content, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items (See [0059] “Next” list are automatically recorded in the scheduled programming recommendation system. See [0075] candidate programs are ranked from highest to lowest and candidates having the highest ranked scores are then assigned to the Next list in rank order. See [0068] ranking programs [0080] candidate programs are ranked from highest to lowest and then assigned to the “Switch to” list in rank order.); and
based on the ranked entries, switching output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments (See [0059-0064] if the viewer decides to switch to the channel there is an option to start from the beginning, see also [0090-0094]).
Garcia does not explicitly disclose:
ranking, by a computing device and based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and
based on the ranked entries, switching output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments.
Loheide discloses that it was known to receive a manifest file for first content and based on determining upcoming portions of first content item (See [0043-0045] [0020] [0026] [0043]) switching to output to a second content item and monitoring the first manifest file information and second manifest file information associated with the second content item (See [0089-0091] [0107-0117]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of Garcia with the known methods of Loheide predictably resulting in ranking, by a computing device and based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items; and based on the ranked entries, switching output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of providing content via short duration segment streams as suggested by Loheide.
Regarding claim 2, Garcia and Loheide disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the switching output is based on a user input selection (See [0059-0064] if the viewer decides to switch to the channel there is an option to start from the beginning).
Regarding claim 3, Garcia and Loheide disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the switching output comprises: causing a second computing device to output the first content segment (See Loheide [0033] [0056] server or proxy server).
Regarding claim 4, Garcia and Loheide disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the ranking the entries comprises: comparing manifest file tags, associated with the entries, to the content preference information (Loheide further discloses [0051-0058] [0091] manifest file tags, see [0070] preferences).
Regarding claim 5, Garcia and Loheide disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on the content preference information, a plurality of recording tasks associated with the plurality of content items; and assigning, based on a ranking of a subset of next entries in the plurality of manifest files, the plurality of recording tasks (See Garcia Navarro [0035] [0039-0041] higher priority media programs recorded at the expense of lower priority).
Regarding claim 6, Garcia Navarro and Loheide further disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, from the entries, a plurality of event types, wherein the ranking the entries is based on comparing the plurality of event types to the content preference information (See Garcia Navarro [0056] content type or genre).
Regarding claim 7, Garcia Navarro and Loheide disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the ranking the entries comprises: determining, from the entries, an advertisement entry comprising a first manifest file tag indicating an advertising event; determining, from the entries, a content entry; and ranking the content entry above the advertisement entry (See advertisement break tag [0068] [0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Garcia Navarro and Loheide further disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the ranking the entries comprises: determining a first entry, of the entries, indicating a first user preferred event and a second entry, of the entries, indicating a second user preferred event; and ranking, based on the content preference information, the first user preferred event above the second user preferred event (See Garcia Navarro [0035] [0039-0041] higher priority media programs recorded at the expense of lower priority).
Regarding claim 9, Garcia Navarro and Loheide further disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: recording, based on the ranked entries, one or more content segments of a content item (See Garcia Navarro [0035] [0039-0041] [0075] [0080] higher priority media programs recorded at the expense of lower priority).
Regarding claim 10, Garcia Navarro discloses a method comprising:
causing, by a computing device, output of an option to select at least one of a plurality of content items based on a ranking of entries (See [0039] user selecting programs to be recorded from ranked choices, [0056], [0061-0064]); and
based on a user input selection, causing output of a content segment of the at least one of the plurality of content items (See [0059-0064] if the viewer decides to switch to the channel there is an option to start from the beginning, see also [0090-0094]).
Garcia Navarro from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items.
Loheide discloses that it was known to receive a manifest file for first content and based on determining upcoming portions of first content item (See [0043-0045] [0020] [0026] [0043]) switching to output to a second content item and monitoring the first manifest file information and second manifest file information associated with the second content item (See [0089-0091] [0107-0117]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of Garcia with the known methods of Loheide predictably resulting in a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in the plurality of content items by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of providing content via short duration segment streams as suggested by Loheide.
Regarding claim 11, Garcia Navarro and Loheide further disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the ranking of the entries is based on content preference information (See Garcia [0056] [0061]).
Regarding claim 12, Garcia Navarro and Loheide further disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the causing output of the content segment comprises: switching output from a first content item to the at least one of the plurality of content items (See Garcia [0059-0064] if the viewer decides to switch to the channel there is an option to start from the beginning, see also [0090-0094]).
Regarding claim 13, Garcia Navarro and Loheide disclose the method of claim 10, further comprising: determining, based on content preference information, a plurality of recording tasks associated with the plurality of content items (See Garcia Navarro [0035] [0039-0041] [0075] [0080] higher priority media programs recorded at the expense of lower priority); and assigning, based on a ranking of a subset of next entries in the plurality of manifest files, the plurality of recording tasks (See Loheide [0056] upcoming programs, content/media segments [0062-0063] and Garcia [0068] [0075] ranking highest to lowest).
Regarding claim 14, Garcia Navarro and Loheide The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining, from the entries, a plurality of event types, wherein the ranking of the entries is based on comparing the plurality of event types to content preference information (See Garcia Navarro [0056] content type or genre).
Regarding claim 15, Garcia Navarro and Loheide The method of claim 1, further comprising: recording, based on the ranking of the entries, one or more content segments of a content item of the plurality of content items (See Garcia Navarro [0035] [0039-0041] higher priority media programs recorded at the expense of lower priority).
Regarding claim 16, Garcia Navarro discloses an apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
rank, based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of content, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items (See [0059] “Next” list are automatically recorded in the scheduled programming recommendation system. See [0075] candidate programs are ranked from highest to lowest and candidates having the highest ranked scores are then assigned to the Next list in rank order. See [0068] ranking programs [0080] candidate programs are ranked from highest to lowest and then assigned to the “Switch to” list in rank order.); and based on the ranked entries, switch output to a first content segment among the upcoming content segments (See [0059-0064] if the viewer decides to switch to the channel there is an option to start from the beginning, see also [0090-0094]).
Garcia Navarro does not disclose rank, based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items.
Loheide discloses that it was known to receive a manifest file for first content and based on determining upcoming portions of first content item (See [0043-0045] [0020] [0026] [0043]) switching to output to a second content item and monitoring the first manifest file information and second manifest file information associated with the second content item (See [0089-0091] [0107-0117]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of Garcia with the known methods of Loheide predictably resulting in rank, based on content preference information, entries, from a plurality of manifest files, associated with upcoming content segments in a plurality of content items by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of providing content via short duration segment streams as suggested by Loheide.
Regarding claim 17, Garcia Navarro and Loheide disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to switch output based on a user input selection (See Garcia [0059-0064] if the viewer decides to switch to the channel there is an option to start from the beginning, see also [0090-0094]).
Regarding claim 18, Garcia Navarro and Loheide disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to switch output by: causing a computing device to output the first content segment (See Garcia [0059-0064] if the viewer decides to switch to the channel there is an option to start from the beginning, see also [0090-0094]).
Regarding claim 19, Garcia Navarro and Loheide disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to rank the entries by causing: comparing manifest file tags, associated with the entries, to the content preference information (Loheide further discloses [0051-0058] [0091] manifest file tags, see [0070] preferences).
Regarding claim 20, Garcia Navarro and Loheide disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine, from the entries, a plurality of event types, wherein the ranking the entries is based on comparing the plurality of event types to the content preference information (See Garcia Navarro [0035] [0039-0041] higher priority media programs recorded at the expense of lower priority).
Conclusion
FERNANDO . ALCON
Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/FERNANDO ALCON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425