DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweizer (US-7201439-B2).
Schweizer discloses a deployable tabletop for an aircraft passenger seat.
Claim 1 – Schweizer teaches a meal table assembly (figure 1), comprising:
a frame assembly defining an interior space (figure 5);
a meal table (elements 9 and 13 in figure 2) movably mounted to the frame assembly (figures 2 and 7), the meal table comprising a first portion (element 9 in figure 2) and a second portion angled relative to the first portion (element 13 in figure 2); and
a lift mechanism coupled to the frame assembly and the meal table (figures 3, 6, and 8), the lift mechanism configured to move the meal table between a stowed position in which the first portion of the meal table is positioned in the interior space (figures 2 and 3), and a deployed position in which the meal table is positioned outside of the interior space (figures 7 and 8);
wherein, when the meal table is in the stowed position, the second portion remains exposed and forms part of a console in which the meal table assembly is mounted (figure 2), the second portion closing an opening to the interior space and forming at least a portion of a top surface of the console (figure 2).
Claims 2, 9, and 17 – Schweizer teaches the meal table and the frame assembly are coupled via a cam assembly configured to coordinate vertical motion (figures 3 and 6) and rotation of the meal table relative to the frame assembly (figure 7).
Claim 8 – Schweizer teaches a console assembly, comprising:
a console (figure 1) having a top (elements 13 and 16 in figure 1), an inboard side (the inner side of the frame sides, elements 3 and 5 in figure 1), and an interior space (“the console has an interior compartment”, abstract);
a frame assembly positioned in the interior space (figure 5);
a meal table (elements 9 and 13 in figure 2) movably mounted to the frame assembly, the meal table comprising a first portion (element 9 in figure 2) and a second portion angled relative to the first portion (element 13 in figure 2); and
a lift mechanism coupled to the frame assembly and the meal table (figures 3, 6, and 8), the lift mechanism configured to move the meal table between a stowed position in which the first portion of the meal table is positioned in the interior space (figures 2 and 3), and a deployed position in which the meal table is positioned outside of the interior space (figures 7 and 8);
wherein, when the meal table is in the stowed position, the second portion closes an opening to the interior space and forms part of the console such that the second portion forms at least a portion of the top of the console (figure 1).
Claim 16 – Schweizer teaches a seating configuration, comprising:
a passenger seat (“a passenger seat”, abstract);
a console positioned to one side of the passenger seat (“at least on console component delimiting the seat component on the side”, abstract), the console including a top (elements 13 and 15 in figure 1), an inboard side (the inner side of the frame sides, elements 3 and 5 in figure 1), and an interior space (“the console has an interior compartment”, abstract); and
a meal table assembly (figure 1) associated with the console, the meal table assembly comprising:
a frame assembly positioned in the interior space (figure 5);
a meal table (elements 9 and 13 in figure 2) movably mounted to the frame assembly, the meal table comprising a first portion (element 9 in figure 2) and a second portion angled relative to the first portion (element 13 in figure 2); and
a lift mechanism coupled to the frame assembly and the meal table (figures 3, 6, and 8), the lift mechanism configured to move the meal table between a stowed position in which the first portion of the meal table is positioned in the interior space (figures 2 and 3), and a deployed position in which the meal table is positioned outside of the interior space and over the passenger seat (figures 7 and 8);
wherein, when the meal table is in the stowed position, the second portion remains exposed and forms part of the console (figure 1), closes an opening to the interior space (figure 1), and forms at least a portion of the top of the console (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 10-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweizer (US-7201439-B2) in view of Hoggarth (US-20190232844-A1).
Hoggarth discloses a stowable table assembly for a vehicle.
Image 1
Claims 3, 10, and 18 – Schweizer teaches the frame assembly comprises:
upright frame members forming lateral sides of the frame assembly (elements 3 and 5 in figure 1).
While Schweizer teaches a transverse frame member (element 7 in figure 1) connected between the corners of each upright frame member (elements 3 and 5 in figure 1), Schweizer does not teach at least one transverse frame member connected to each of the upright frame members.
Hoggarth teaches at least one transverse frame member (element A in Image 1 above) connected to each of the upright frame members (element 36 in figures 2a-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Schweizer with the transverse frame member of Hoggarth to provide the disclosure of Schweizer with greater structural rigidity.
Claims 4, 11, and 19 – Schweizer teaches the cam assembly comprises:
a pair of guide tracks formed on an inboard side of each of the upright frame members (elements 25 and 27 in figures 6 and 8); and
cam followers attached to the bottom end of the meal table (elements 19 and 21 in figures 3, 6, and 8), each cam follower engaged to travel along the pair of guide tracks formed on the inboard side of one of the upright frame members (figures 3 and 6);
wherein the pair of guide tracks are configured to impart meal table rotation as the meal table approaches the deployed position (figures 5 and 7).
Claims 5 and 12 – Schweizer teaches the pair of guide tracks comprises:
a first guide track that is linear and elongated (element 27 in figure 6); and Schweizer teaches a second guide track (element 25 in figure 6) that curves toward an upper end of the first guide track such that the cam follower raises and reaches the upper end of the first guide track, which causes the cam follower to rotate the attached meal table toward horizontal (figures 7 and 8).
Schweizer does not teach the second guide track has a first portion that is linear, elongated, and parallel to the first guide track.
Hoggarth teaches the pair of guide tracks comprises:
a first guide track that is linear and elongated (element 38a in figures 2a-3); and
a second guide track having a first portion that is linear, elongated, and parallel to the first guide track (element 38b in figures 2a-3), and a second portion that curves toward an upper end of the first guide track such that as the cam follower raises and reaches the upper end of the first guide track, the second portion of the second guide track causes the cam follower to rotate the attached meal table toward horizontal (figures 2a-3).
While Schweizer teaches a straight first guide track and a curved second guide track to provide vertical, then horizontal, movement of the tray table, Hoggarth’s first and second guide tracks provide more stability than the guide tracks of Schweizer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Schweizer with the guide tracks of Hoggarth.
Claims 6, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweizer (US-7201439-B2) in view of Lee (US-20170369173-A1).
Lee discloses a table deployed from the armrest of a vehicle.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 – Schweizer teaches a lift mechanism (figures 3, 6, and 8) but does not teach the lift mechanism structure as claimed.
Lee teaches the lift mechanism comprises:
a thread screw coupled to the frame assembly (element 52 in figures 5, 6, 8, and 11);
a motor configured to rotate the thread screw (element 51 in figures 5, 6, and 8);
a driven nut threadably mounted on the thread screw (element 53 in figure 12, described in paragraph [0058] as being “mounted around and screwed with the threaded rod 52”); and
a carriage (figure 12) attached to the driven nut and to a bottom end of the meal table (attached to a bottom end of element 40 in figure 6);
wherein, in use, rotating the thread screw in a first direction causes the driven nut and the carriage to raise relative to the frame assembly thereby moving the meal table toward the deployed position, and rotating the thread screw in a second direction opposite the first direction causes the driven nut and the carriage to lower relative to the frame assembly thereby moving the meal table toward the stowed position (figures 2 and 3).
A motorized lead screw with a nut traveling along the threads to linearly actuate is old and well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to automate the lift mechanism of Schweizer with the linear actuator of Lee.
Claim 15 – Schweizer does not teach a switch positioned in one of the top and the inboard side of the console operable for activating the motor.
Lee teaches a switch positioned in one of the top and the inboard side of the console operable for activating the motor (element 70 in figure 1 is a control panel on the top of the console with a switch).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, when modifying the disclosure of Schweizer with a linear actuator to facilitate the movement of the table, to provide a switch to control the actuation in a similar manner that Lee discloses, on top of the console to be accessible to the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636