Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilad (US 20100326703).
Regarding claim 1, Gilad discloses a camera module comprising:
a flexible printed circuit board (full-flex PCB 100, Fig. 1) having at least a first arm (the flexible connection unit 111 and flexible installation unit 11) and a second arm (the flexible connection unit 112 and flexible installation unit 12);
an image sensor (imager or camera component installed on 11; paragraph 32) mounted on the first arm;
a light source (illumination source installed on 12; paragraph 34) mounted on the second arm; and
a housing (the housing 101 including the windows 102 and 102’; Fig. 16) encompassing the flexible printed circuit board, image sensor and light source, wherein both the first arm and second arm are manipulated, independent of each other, to align the image sensor with the light source (the arms are folded to align the camera on 11 and illumination source on 12 together, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Gilad further suggests an orientation of the aligning of the image sensor with the light source is perpendicular to the length of the flexible printed circuit board (the direction of the stacking of 11 and 12 is perpendicular to the length of flexible arm 111’; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Gilad further suggests the aligning of the image sensor with the light source comprises bending each of the arms holding the image sensor and light source by approximately ninety degrees (bending 12 and 15 about ninety degree to assemble them together; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Gilad further discloses the image sensor is a camera (paragraph 32) or a CMOS sensor.
Regarding claim 5, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Gilad further discloses the aligning of the image sensor with the light source results in a top surface of the image sensor and a top surface of the light source being parallel with each other (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Gilad further discloses a third arm (flexible connection unit 111’ and support 15’, Fig. 7) configured for manipulation to align with the image sensor and the light source.
Regarding claim 7, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6. Gilad further suggests a second light source (illumination source 12’, Fig. 5) is mounted to the third arm. (this provides more even illumination-potentially could reduce the amount of power provided to each light source; this would also reduce the amount of heat generated).
Regarding claim 9, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Gilad further discloses the image sensor (11, Fig. 1) and the light source (12) are mounted on the same side of the flexible printed circuit board (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Gilad further discloses the first arm or second arm may be folded multiple times (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 7. Gilad further suggests the third arm (111’, 15’) is angled towards the center of the camera module (Figures 15 & 16).
Regarding claim 13, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6. Gilad further suggests the third arm may be folded multiple times (the third arm including 111’, 15’, 13’, 12’ are folded multiple times into a structure, Figs. 4 and 15).
Regarding claim 16, Gilad discloses a printed circuit board having an active portion (the flexible installation unit 11, Fig. 1), a flexible portion (flexible connection unit 111, 112, 113, 111’) and a connection portion, wherein the flexible portion is located between the active portion and the connection portion:
wherein the active portion has electrically attached thereto at least one image sensor (the camera module on 11), the flexible portion comprises a flexible PCB material having printed thereon conductors electrically connecting the image sensor in the active portion and the connection portion, and the connection portion comprises means for electrical connection to a power (battery installed on the installation unit 13) and/or control source;
wherein no attachment means or soldering is present in the flexible portion (no solder).
Regarding claim 17, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Gilad further suggests a camera module comprising: the printed circuit board of claim 16, wherein the active portion comprises: at least a first arm and a second arm; the image sensor (imager on unit 11; paragraph 32) mounted on the first arm; a light source (illumination source on unit 12) mounted on the second arm; and wherein the flexible portion is configured to extend a distance lengthwise through an endoscope for a distance that is at least five times the diameter of the endoscope (the flexible portion may be folded several times).
Regarding claim 18, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Gilad further suggests a cover (15, 25, Fig. 4) surrounding the active portion.
Regarding claim 19, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Gilad further suggests the flexible portion comprises a serpentine path that can be unbent to extend to full length (due to the flexibility of the flexible portion, bending into a serpentine path is possible).
Regarding claim 20, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Gilad further discloses the flexible portion is comprises a straight length of material (a straight length connection of 111, Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad (US 20100326703), in view of Gilad2 (US 20060004257).
Regarding claim 8, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Gilad does not explicitly disclose the second arm is angled (Fig. 8) towards the center of the camera module (image sensor has conical view; LED is offset slightly, this aims the center of the light emission towards the center of the image sensor field of view).
Gilad suggests the illumination source 12 may be angled with respect to the camera 25, Fig. 8.
Gilad2 teaches the second arm (42, Fig. 2) is angled towards the center of the camera module (15).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to bend the flexible circuit board as needed to suitable angles in order to provide light to the camera to enable the camera to operate as intended.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad (US 20100326703), in view of Ono (US 7365768).
Regarding claim 14, Gilad discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Gilad does not explicitly disclose the flexible PCB is extended to provide a ribbon cable having electrical connections at the proximal end.
Ono teaches the flexible PCB is extended to provide a ribbon cable (cable 13, Fig. 8) having electrical connections (connector 14) at the proximal end.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention include a connector to the flexible circuit board in order to connect the flexible circuit board to another electronic component.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad (US 20100326703), in view of Tien (US 20060189844).
Regarding claim 15, Gilad discloses a method for imaging anatomy of a patient, comprising:
capturing one or more images or videos (capture images using the camera device 200, Fig. 16) of the point of interest using the camera module:
wherein the camera module comprises:
a flexible printed circuit board (the flexible circuit board 100, Fig. 1) having at least a first arm (the flexible connection unit 111 and flexible installation unit 11) and a second arm (the flexible connection unit 112 and flexible installation unit 12);
an image sensor (imager or camera component installed on 11; paragraph 32) mounted on the first arm;
a light-source (illumination source installed on 12; paragraph 34) mounted on the second arm; and
a housing (the housing 101 including the windows 102 and 102’; Fig. 16) encompassing the flexible printed circuit board, image sensor and light source, wherein both the first arm and second arm are manipulated, independent of each other, to align the image sensor with the light source (the arms are folded to align the camera on 11 and illumination source on 12 together, Fig. 9).
Gilad does not explicitly disclose inserting a camera module into a catheter; inserting the catheter into the anatomy to reach a point of interest.
Tien teaches inserting a camera module (insert an imaging unit 113 into the head portion 110 of the catheter 120) into a catheter (the catheter 120); inserting the catheter into the anatomy to reach a point of interest (the cavities of the human body; abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the camera module in the endoscopic device in a catheter in order to capture images in the human cavities for medical diagnostic purpose.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that a conductor of a coaxial cable soldered to the flexible PCB at the proximal end of the flexible PCB. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watanabe (US 20100053312) discloses a flexible circuit board with a camera, Fig. 1.
Otawara (US 20080167529) discloses a flexible circuit board with a camera, Fig. 1.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847