DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the communication filed on 02/23/2026. Claims 1—10 are currently pending.
Priority
The Applicant’s claim for benefit of German Patent Application DE 10202023133519.7 filed on 11/30/2024 in the Federal Republic of Germany, has been received and acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 11/26/2024 has been reviewed and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 02/23/2026 with respect to the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The provided amendments overcome the previously recited rejection and the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 02/23/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3—10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The independent claims including claims 1, 9, and 10 have been amended to recite the limitation of, or substantially similar to: “providing the projection surface on request by displacing a motor vehicle component of the motor vehicle,” which was previously included in claim 4.
With regards to the prior art disclosure of Baur the Response states “[t]he alleged user input of Baur only affects the position of the drone. Baur does not provide any teaching of displacement of a motor vehicle component such that a projection surface is provided by way of the movement of the motor vehicle component,” to which the Examiner does not agree. To start, the drone of Baur may be controlled by a user in the vehicle using a joystick (e.g., see Baur para. [0019]). The drone is configured to gather at least image data and project the image data to a vehicle-based vision system (e.g., see para. [0013] of Baur). In some situations this operation may be performed in real time (e.g., see para. [0021] of Baur). As such, the image displayed on the vehicle-based vision system is directly controlled by the operation of the joystick where the vehicle-based vision system provides the visual display for projecting the image data gathered by the drone.
In addition to the foregoing, the current drafting of the limitation as amended into at least claim 1 does not require any special interpretation such as the features pointed to in the Response at page 6. For example, the claim does not recite “motor vehicle components may be, for example, a hood a trunk lid, a door, a tank cap or a tank cover or the like and these components may be moved to provide the projection surface.” While the instant Specification may recite features which are not taught by Sychov as modified by Baur, the claims do not currently include these features. Moreover, under the broadest reasonable interpretation as set forth in the both the previous and current rejection, the combination of Sychov as modified by Baur (e.g., and Baur in particular) renders the amended limitations obvious. For the foregoing reasons the rejection of claims 1 and 3—10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained as modified below in view of the claims amendments.
Claims 3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends from claim 1 where claim 1 recites “providing the projection surface on request by displacing a motor vehicle component of the motor vehicle.” Claim 3 recites multiple potential projection surfaces including “a wall surface of the motor vehicle charging station, a floor service of the surrounding motor vehicle.” It is unclear how the aforementioned surfaces can be provided by displacing a component of the motor vehicle given that they are not part of the motor vehicle and are provided by the motor vehicle.
Claims 9 and 10 recite the limitation “wherein the projector is configured to project onto a projection surface provided on request…” where both claims already have antecedent basis for a projection surface. As such the limitation related to the second recitation of a projection surface is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3—10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Sychov (US 20180186247 A1) in view of Published US Patent Application to Baur (US 20180141658 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sychov discloses [a] method for operating [a device] (projector unit 504, control unit 505, detector module 506, speaker unit 510, and media server 513; para. [0016], “[t]he projector unit is integrated into the housing. Further elements such as the charging unit, the control unit, and/or the detecting module or parts of these elements may be partly or completely integrated into the housing.”) of a motor vehicle charging station having at least one charging point for a motor vehicle (see FIG. 1 and 2 including parking space 501 and charging unit 500), comprising: projecting by a projector (projector unit 504, see para. [0005], [0007], [0009])… at least temporarily, an image aimed at supporting a user of the motor vehicle onto a projection surface (para. [0013], “[i]n comparison with conventional charging systems the inventive system has several advantages in terms of user friendliness, user-safety and economic operation. In particular, by detecting status data of the system and controlling the projector unit as a function of the status data, it is possible to display images or moving images and, thus, to provide useful information for the user of the charging system, wherein different information may be provided in different conditions or states of the system.”).
Sychov discloses an autonomous charging station which utilizes a stationary device to gather and project information for use by an automobile user. As such, Sychov may not explicitly disclose that a drone is used to gather and project the information. However, the prior art is replete with examples of drones which interact with automobiles, and specifically drones that gather information, perform some level of an analysis on the information, and display/transmit/project data to an automobile user (e.g., see additional cited art). One such reference includes Baur, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to drones which gather data and provide information/guidance (e.g., by way of projecting the data to an automobile) to an automobile user. Baur teaches each and every positively recited limitation of claim 1:
projecting by a projector of the aircraft (Baur, para. [0021], “[t]he drone may communicate (in real time) captured image data to the vision system of the vehicle (such as for display of captured video images or for processing of captured image data)… Optionally, the drone may include an image processor that processes captured image data, whereby the drone may communicate a signal to the vehicle vision system that is indicative of a detected object or the like.”; para. [0011], “[t]he aerial platform or drone includes one or more cameras 16a for transmission of captured images for viewing by an operator of the drone. By incorporating such a drone in or at a vehicle, numerous advantages can be achieved. The drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle… for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” Examiner notes that signals and communications projected by the drone to the vehicle constitute a projection), at least temporarily, an image aimed at supporting a user (para. [0011], “whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle… for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.”) of the motor vehicle onto a projection surface (vehicle-based vision system, see citations below); and
providing the projection surface (para. [0023], “[t]he vehicle-based vision system receives image data captured by… the drone…”; The vehicle-based vision system provides for a projection surface for the data projected by the drone) on request by displacing a motor vehicle component (para. [0019], “the control may control the drone responsive to a user input, such as a voice command from the driver or such as a joystick control or such as a touch screen or the like in the vehicle.”) of the motor vehicle (para. [0013], “[t]he drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle, such as for image processing for object detection or the like, or for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” Examiner notes that controlling the drone using the joystick may cause the drone to gather image data which is projected on the vehicle-based vision system).
Baur provides motivation to utilize a drone to collect data for the car rather than using a stationary sensor. For example Baur teaches “cameras disposed at a vehicle are limited by the physics and the physical location where the camera is mounted at the vehicle.” (Baur, para. [0011]). Baur further teaches “[t]he aerial platform or drone includes one or more cameras 16a for transmission of captured images for viewing by an operator of the drone. By incorporating such a drone in or at a vehicle, numerous advantages can be achieved. The drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle, such as for image processing for object detection or the like, or for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” (Baur, para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the data gathering and projection features of the stationary object of Sychov into a drone capable of gathering data and communicating with a vehicle such as that of Baur. The components and functions of both the stationary device of Sychov and the drone of Baur are known and the combination provides the predictable result of a high-mobility device capable of gathering data and presenting the data to a user of an automobile. Moreover, Baur provides motivation for incorporating the data gathering and data projecting features into a drone where Baur teaches that drones are capable of gathering data in locations that a stationary sensor cannot access.
Regarding claim 3, Sychov modified by Baur teaches wherein any of a wall surface of the motor vehicle charging station, a floor surface of the surroundings of the motor vehicle, a body surface of the motor vehicle, and an interior surface of the motor vehicle is used as the projection surface (Baur teaches projecting a signal to the vehicle such that the vehicle displays the relevant information gathered by the drone on a surface of the vehicle, see para. [0010], [0017], [0021], and [0023] of Baur).
Regarding claim 4, Sychov modified by Baur teaches wherein the motor vehicle is connected to the motor vehicle charging station and/or the aircraft via a data link (Baur, para. [0019], “[a] vehicle-based control may control the drone (via wired or wireless communication) to follow the vehicle or to stray from the vehicle to view other areas remote of the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 5, Sychov modified by Baur teaches wherein the aircraft projects the image to implement any of guiding the motor vehicle to the charging station (Baur, para. [0021], “the drone may include an image processor that processes captured image data, whereby the drone may communicate a signal to the vehicle vision system that is indicative of a detected object or the like.”; para. [0023], “[r]esponsive to such image processing, and when an object or other vehicle is detected, the system may generate an alert to the driver of the vehicle and/or may generate an overlay at the displayed image to highlight or enhance display of the detected object or vehicle, in order to enhance the driver's awareness of the detected object or vehicle or hazardous condition during a driving maneuver of the equipped vehicle.”), providing the user with an instruction for a usage action of the motor vehicle, and providing the user with an instruction for charging an energy storage device of the motor vehicle by way of the motor vehicle charging station.
Regarding claim 6, Sychov modified by Baur teaches wherein the aircraft includes at least one of a screen, a loudspeaker, a microphone, and a camera (cameras 16a), wherein the screen is configured to display an additional image, at least temporarily, wherein the loudspeaker is configured to output an output sound signal, at least temporarily, wherein the microphone is configured to record an input sound signal, at least temporarily, and wherein the camera is configured take a recording (Baur, para. [0013], “[t]he aerial platform or drone includes one or more cameras 16a for transmission of captured images for viewing by an operator of the drone.”; para. [0017], “the communication may comprise display of images derived from the image data captured by the drone camera.”), at least temporarily.
Regarding claim 7, Sychov modified by Baur teaches wherein the aircraft is configured to communicate via a communication link with a central location (Baur, para. [0014], “the drone may be battery operated and may communicate with the vehicle vision system via a wireless communication link or the like.” Examiner notes that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a central location, without any additional limitations, could include the vehicle vision system), wherein the central location provides the image, an additional image, and/or an output sound signal, and/or evaluates an input sound signal and/or the recording (para. [0013], “[t]he drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle, such as for image processing for object detection or the like, or for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.”; para. [0023], “[r]esponsive to such image processing, and when an object or other vehicle is detected, the system may generate an alert to the driver of the vehicle and/or may generate an overlay at the displayed image to highlight or enhance display of the detected object or vehicle, in order to enhance the driver's awareness of the detected object or vehicle or hazardous condition during a driving maneuver of the equipped vehicle.” See also para. [0017]).
Sychov modified by Baur may not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 8; however, the inclusion and utilization of a redundant or duplicative element (e.g., an additional camera included in the drone) would be obvious in view of Sychov modified by Baur. For example, Sychov modified by Baur discloses the claimed invention except for the express utilization of a secondary drone camera to generate additional image data of the vehicle or the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included and utilized a secondary camera since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 9, Sychov discloses [a device] (projector unit 504, control unit 505, detector module 506, speaker unit 510, and media server 513; para. [0016], “[t]he projector unit is integrated into the housing. Further elements such as the charging unit, the control unit, and/or the detecting module or parts of these elements may be partly or completely integrated into the housing.”) for a motor vehicle charging station (see FIG. 1 and 2 including parking space 501 and charging unit 500), comprising: a projector (projector unit 504, see para. [0005], [0007], [0009]) configured to project, at least temporarily, an image aimed at supporting a user of the motor vehicle onto a projection surface (para. [0013], “[i]n comparison with conventional charging systems the inventive system has several advantages in terms of user friendliness, user-safety and economic operation. In particular, by detecting status data of the system and controlling the projector unit as a function of the status data, it is possible to display images or moving images and, thus, to provide useful information for the user of the charging system, wherein different information may be provided in different conditions or states of the system.”), wherein the motor vehicle charging station has at least one charging point for a motor vehicle (see FIG. 1 and 2 including parking space 501 and charging unit 500).
Sychov discloses an autonomous charging station which utilizes a stationary device to gather and project information for use by an automobile user. As such, Sychov may not explicitly disclose that a drone is used to gather and project the information. However, the prior art is replete with examples of drones which interact with automobiles, and specifically drones that gather information, perform some level of an analysis on the information, and display/transmit/project data to an automobile user (e.g., see additional cited art). One such reference includes Baur, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to drones which gather data and provide information/guidance (e.g., by way of projecting the data to an automobile) to an automobile user.
Baur teaches a projector (drone of Baur) configured to project (Baur, para. [0021], “[t]he drone may communicate (in real time) captured image data to the vision system of the vehicle (such as for display of captured video images or for processing of captured image data)… Optionally, the drone may include an image processor that processes captured image data, whereby the drone may communicate a signal to the vehicle vision system that is indicative of a detected object or the like.”; para. [0011], “[t]he aerial platform or drone includes one or more cameras 16a for transmission of captured images for viewing by an operator of the drone. By incorporating such a drone in or at a vehicle, numerous advantages can be achieved. The drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle… for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” Examiner notes that signals and communications projected by the drone to the vehicle constitute a projection), at least temporarily, an image aimed at supporting a user (para. [0011], “whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle… for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.”) of the motor vehicle onto a projection surface (vehicle-based vision system, see citations below); and wherein the projector is configured to project onto the projection surface (para. [0023], “[t]he vehicle-based vision system receives image data captured by… the drone…”; The vehicle-based vision system provides for a projection surface for the data projected by the drone) provided on request by displacing a motor vehicle component (para. [0019], “the control may control the drone responsive to a user input, such as a voice command from the driver or such as a joystick control or such as a touch screen or the like in the vehicle.”) of the motor vehicle (para. [0013], “[t]he drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle, such as for image processing for object detection or the like, or for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” Examiner notes that controlling the drone using the joystick may cause the drone to gather image data which is projected on the vehicle-based vision system).
Baur provides motivation to utilize a drone to collect data for the car rather than using a stationary sensor. For example Baur teaches “cameras disposed at a vehicle are limited by the physics and the physical location where the camera is mounted at the vehicle.” (Baur, para. [0011]). Baur further teaches “[t]he aerial platform or drone includes one or more cameras 16a for transmission of captured images for viewing by an operator of the drone. By incorporating such a drone in or at a vehicle, numerous advantages can be achieved. The drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle, such as for image processing for object detection or the like, or for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” (Baur, para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the data gathering and projection features of the stationary object of Sychov into a drone capable of gathering data and communicating with a vehicle such as that of Baur. The components and functions of both the stationary device of Sychov and the drone of Baur are known and the combination provides the predictable result of a high-mobility device capable of gathering data and presenting the data to a user of an automobile. Moreover, Baur provides motivation for incorporating the data gathering and data projecting features into a drone where Baur teaches that drones are capable of gathering data in locations that a stationary sensor cannot access.
Regarding claim 10, Sychov discloses [a] motor vehicle charging station (see FIG. 1 and 2 including parking space 501 and charging unit 500) comprising: at least one charging point (charging unit 500) for a motor vehicle; and [a device] (projector unit 504, control unit 505, detector module 506, speaker unit 510, and media server 513; para. [0016], “[t]he projector unit is integrated into the housing. Further elements such as the charging unit, the control unit, and/or the detecting module or parts of these elements may be partly or completely integrated into the housing.”) including a projector configured to project, at least temporarily, an image aimed at supporting a user of the motor vehicle onto a projection surface (para. [0013], “[i]n comparison with conventional charging systems the inventive system has several advantages in terms of user friendliness, user-safety and economic operation. In particular, by detecting status data of the system and controlling the projector unit as a function of the status data, it is possible to display images or moving images and, thus, to provide useful information for the user of the charging system, wherein different information may be provided in different conditions or states of the system.”).
Sychov discloses an autonomous charging station which utilizes a stationary device to gather and project information for use by an automobile user. As such, Sychov may not explicitly disclose that a drone is used to gather and project the information. However, the prior art is replete with examples of drones which interact with automobiles, and specifically drones that gather information, perform some level of an analysis on the information, and display/transmit/project data to an automobile user (e.g., see additional cited art). One such reference includes Baur, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to drones which gather data and provide information/guidance (e.g., by way of projecting the data to an automobile) to an automobile user. Baur teaches an unmanned aircraft including a projector (the drone of Baur) configured to project (Baur, para. [0021], “[t]he drone may communicate (in real time) captured image data to the vision system of the vehicle (such as for display of captured video images or for processing of captured image data)… Optionally, the drone may include an image processor that processes captured image data, whereby the drone may communicate a signal to the vehicle vision system that is indicative of a detected object or the like.”; para. [0011], “[t]he aerial platform or drone includes one or more cameras 16a for transmission of captured images for viewing by an operator of the drone. By incorporating such a drone in or at a vehicle, numerous advantages can be achieved. The drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle… for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” Examiner notes that signals and communications projected by the drone to the vehicle constitute a projection), at least temporarily, an image aimed at supporting a user (para. [0011], “whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle… for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.”) of the motor vehicle onto a projection surface (vehicle-based vision system, see citations below); and wherein the projector is configured to project onto the projection surface (para. [0023], “[t]he vehicle-based vision system receives image data captured by… the drone…”; The vehicle-based vision system provides for a projection surface for the data projected by the drone) provided on request by displacing a motor vehicle component (para. [0019], “the control may control the drone responsive to a user input, such as a voice command from the driver or such as a joystick control or such as a touch screen or the like in the vehicle.”) of the motor vehicle (para. [0013], “[t]he drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle, such as for image processing for object detection or the like, or for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” Examiner notes that controlling the drone using the joystick may cause the drone to gather image data which is projected on the vehicle-based vision system).
Baur provides motivation to utilize a drone to collect data for the car rather than using a stationary sensor. For example Baur teaches “cameras disposed at a vehicle are limited by the physics and the physical location where the camera is mounted at the vehicle.” (Baur, para. [0011]). Baur further teaches “[t]he aerial platform or drone includes one or more cameras 16a for transmission of captured images for viewing by an operator of the drone. By incorporating such a drone in or at a vehicle, numerous advantages can be achieved. The drone, when deployed to fly over the vehicle (or around or near the vehicle), captures image data via its camera, whereby the captured image data may be communicated to the vision system of the vehicle, such as for image processing for object detection or the like, or for display of images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle.” (Baur, para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the data gathering and projection features of the stationary object of Sychov into a drone capable of gathering data and communicating with a vehicle such as that of Baur. The components and functions of both the stationary device of Sychov and the drone of Baur are known and the combination provides the predictable result of a high-mobility device capable of gathering data and presenting the data to a user of an automobile. Moreover, Baur provides motivation for incorporating the data gathering and data projecting features into a drone where Baur teaches that drones are capable of gathering data in locations that a stationary sensor cannot access.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Sychov (US 20180186247 A1) in view of Published US Patent Application to Baur (US 20180141658 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Published Germany Patent Application to Sass et al., hereinafter “Sass” (DE 102020211941 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Baur teaches a drone system which functions to assist a user of an automobile where the drone may be remote controlled (e.g., para. [0013], “maneuver or fly the aerial platform or drone via remote control or autonomous control or the like.”) as such Sychov modified by Baur teaches a drone which is responsive to a request for support. However, Sychov modified by Baur may not explicitly teach that the drone is housed in a hangar prior to interacting with the vehicle. Sass, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to a drone (28) which works an area dedicated to housing cars (12), where the drone is operational with multiple cars, and where the drone is housed and charged at a base (16) teaches the deficient limitations. For example, Sass teaches the deficient limitations of claim 2 where Sass states “[t]he drone (28) flies from its base (16) to motor vehicles (12) parked on a parking deck. The drone (28) recognizes motor vehicles (12) that are willing to share data.” (Sass, Abstract). Notably, the disclosure of Sass is intended to bridge the gap between drones which function as an extension of a single vehicle, and drones capable of servicing multiple vehicles, such as drones that work in shared spaces. For example, Sass states “[t]he patent application US 2016/0332748 A1 describes systems and procedures for docking an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to a vehicle… The UAV can be used to take pictures and stream the images live to a display inside the vehicle. The vehicle can control the UAV. The UAV can communicate with the support vehicle during the flight. The disadvantage here is that the UAV is an extension of a vehicle. The UAV is not trained to operate on different vehicles. Furthermore, only data exchange between the vehicle and the UAV takes place here; data transmission to a base station is not taught.” (Sass, para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the hangar (e.g., drone charging station and/or base station) and methodology of sharing drones among multiple vehicles as taught by Sass in order to provide for a charging and data transfer hub for the vehicle charging station of Sychov as modified by Baur. The combination achieves the predictable result of a drone system which allows for multiple cars to be serviced by the same drone. Moreover, Sass identified the need for such a system when using drones that are owned and operated by a facility rather than an individual vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/U.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676