DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“movement mechanism” in claims 1 and 11;
“holder” in claims 1 and 11;
“biasing unit” in claims 1 and 11;
“pressing body” in claims 5 and 12;
“biasing member” in claims 5 and 12; and
“supporting portion” in claims 5 and 12.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 of the claim, “to image forming unit” should be “to the image forming unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doyo (JP 2011-126626 A).
Regarding claim 1, Doyo discloses an image forming device, comprising: a housing 2; an image forming unit 16 in the housing and configured to form an image on a sheet; a conveyance path 8 configured to convey the sheet to the image forming unit for an image to be formed thereon; and a manual feed device 4 mounted to the housing and configured to provide the sheet to the conveyance path for conveyance of the sheet to the image forming unit, the manual feed device including: a tray 41 on which sheets can be stacked; a pickup roller 62 configured to convey sheets from the tray to the conveyance path; a movement mechanism 42 configured to move the tray between a raised position at which sheets on the tray come into contact with the pickup roller and a lowered position that is lower than the raised position; a holder 84 configured to hold the pickup roller such that the pickup roller displaces upward when pushed up by sheets on the tray; a biasing unit 85 configured to apply a biasing force to the holder in a direction pushing the pickup roller downward towards the tray; and a detecting mechanism configured to detect when the pickup roller is displaced upward by the sheets on the tray and including: a detection unit (see Fig. 3, below) that moves between a reference position and a detection position according to displacement of the holder upwards or downwards; and a sensor 86 configured to detect the detection unit at the detection position.
Regarding claim 2, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 1, wherein the biasing unit 85 applies the biasing force to the holder at a position of overlapping the pickup roller 62 when viewed from the direction in which the biasing force is applied. See Figs. 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 3, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 1, wherein the detection unit comprises: an actuator that switches by displacement of the holder between the reference position and the detection position. See Fig. 3, above.
Regarding claim 8, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 1, wherein the movement mechanism 42 comprises a driving motor 29.
Regarding claim 10, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 1, wherein the tray 41 rotates to face against the housing 2.
Regarding claim 11, Doyo discloses an image forming device, comprising: an image forming unit 16 configured to form an image on a sheet; a conveyance path 8 configured to convey the sheet to image forming unit; and a manual feed device 4 configured to provide the sheet to the conveyance path for conveyance of the sheet to the image forming unit, the manual feed device including: a tray 41 on which sheets can be stacked; a pickup roller 62 configured to convey sheets from the tray to the conveyance path; a movement mechanism 42 configured to move the tray between a raised position at which sheets on the tray come into contact with the pickup roller and a lowered position that is lower than the raised position; a holder 84 configured to hold the pickup roller such that the pickup roller displaces upward when pushed up by sheets on the tray; a biasing unit 85 configured to apply a biasing force to the holder in a direction pushing the pickup roller downward towards the tray; and a detecting mechanism configured to detect when the pickup roller is displaced upward by the sheets on the tray and including: a detection unit (see Fig. 3, above) that moves between a reference position and a detection position according to displacement of the holder upwards or downwards; and a sensor 86 configured to detect the detection unit at the detection position.
Regarding claim 15, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 11, wherein the movement mechanism 42 comprises a driving motor 29.
Regarding claim 16, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 11, wherein the biasing unit 85 applies the biasing force to the holder at a position of overlapping the pickup roller 62 when viewed from the direction in which the biasing force is applied. See Figs. 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 17, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 11, wherein the detection unit comprises: an actuator that switches by displacement of the holder between the reference position and the detection position. See Fig. 3, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doyo in view of Tsai (US 8,809,825).
Regarding claim 7, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 1. Doyo lacks the explicit disclosure of the sensor being a light sensor. Tsai teaches the use of a light sensor, in order to sense the movement of a switch. Tsai, col. 4, lines 19-29. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a light sensor as the sensor of Doyo, as taught by Tsai, in order to sense the movement of the switch.
Regarding claim 14, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 11. Doyo lacks the explicit disclosure of the sensor being a light sensor. Tsai teaches the use of a light sensor, in order to sense the movement of a switch. Tsai, col. 4, lines 19-29. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a light sensor as the sensor of Doyo, as taught by Tsai, in order to sense the movement of the switch.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doyo in view of Ono (JP 2020-172379 A).
Regarding claim 9, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 1. Doyo lacks the disclosure of the biasing unit being detachably attached to an outer surface of the housing. Ono teaches the use of a spring detachably attached to an outer surface of a housing, in order to make the roller unit replaceable. See Ono, par. 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the biasing unit detachably attached to the outer surface of the housing, in the device of Doyo, as taught by Ono, in order to make the roller unit replaceable.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doyo in view of Okamoto (JP 2021-104881 A).
Regarding claim 19, Doyo discloses the image forming device according to claim 11. Doyo lacks the disclosure of the detection mechanism including an operation unit protruding from the holder. Okamoto teaches the use of an operation unit (right end of holder 16) protruding from a holder 16, in order to displace actuator 54 of sensor 53. See Okamoto, par. 37-38. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use an operation unit protruding from the holder, in the device of Doyo, as taught by Okamoto, in order to activate a sensor.
Regarding claim 20, the device of Doyo as modified by Okamoto comprises the image forming device according to claim 19, wherein movement of the operation accompanying the displacement of the holder (Okamoto, 16) causes an actuator (Okamoto, 54) of the detection unit (Okamoto, 53) to switch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Doyo lacks the disclosure of a device “wherein the actuator comprises a shaft portion that is pivotable around an axis, and the detection unit protrudes from an outer peripheral surface of the shaft portion”, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kushida (US 9,592,973) discloses a sheet feeding device having a stacking portion and a feeding portion.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759