DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weissman et al. (US 20140003300, hereinafter “Weissman”).
Regarding claim 20, Weissman discloses,
A frequency multiplexing device configured for carrier aggregated wireless communication (FIG. 5A shows an exemplary design of an RF front-end unit 510 comprising antenna interface circuits 550 and 556 supporting carrier aggregation on two bands A and B via two antennas with partial multiplexing and diversity reception for both bands [0050]), the frequency multiplexing device comprising:
a first multiplexer having at least first, second, and third filters (Fig. 5a; triplexer 560; Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a, an RX filter 564 for band A coupled to an LNA 540a, and an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b [0051]-[0052]), the first filter having a passband of an uplink channel of a first band (antenna interface circuit 550 includes a triplexer 560 for bands A and B. Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a [0051]; FIG. 3. Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data transmission on the uplink on band A [0050]), the second filter having a passband of a downlink channel of the first band (Triplexer 560 includes an RX filter 564 for band A [0051]; Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590 [0050]), and the third filter having a passband of a downlink channel of a second band (Triplexer 560 includes an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b [0051]; Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590 [0050]), the first multiplexer further including a first multiplexed port having a connection between an output of the first filter, an input to the second filter, and an input to the third filter (antenna interface circuit 550 includes a triplexer 560 for bands A and B. Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a, an RX filter 564 for band A coupled to an LNA 540a, and an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b. The output of TX filter 562 and the inputs of RX filters 564 and 566 are coupled to an output of triplexer 560, which is coupled to antenna 590 [0051]); and
a second multiplexer (Fig. 5a; triplexer 570) having at least fourth, fifth, and sixth filters (Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b, an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c, and an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d [0053]), the fourth filter having a passband of an uplink channel of the second band (Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b [0053]), the fifth filter having a passband of the downlink channel of the second band (Triplexer 570 includes an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c [0053]), and the sixth filter having a passband of the downlink channel of the first band (Triplexer 570 includes an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d [0053]), the second multiplexer further including a second multiplexed port having a connection between an output of the fourth filter, an input to the fifth filter, and an input to the sixth filter (antenna interface circuit 556 includes a triplexer 570 for bands A and B. Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b, an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c, and an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d. The output of TX filter 572 and the inputs of RX filters 574 and 576 are coupled to an output of triplexer 570, which is coupled to antenna 592, [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 11-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman et al. (US 20140003300, hereinafter “Weissman”), and further in view of King et al. (US 20180019768, hereinafter “King”).
Regarding claim 1, Weissman discloses,
A radio frequency front-end configured for carrier aggregated wireless communication (FIG. 5A shows an exemplary design of an RF front-end unit 510 comprising antenna interface circuits 550 and 556 supporting carrier aggregation on two bands A and B via two antennas with partial multiplexing and diversity reception for both bands [0050]), the radio frequency front-end comprising:
a first multiplexer having at least first, second, and third filters (Fig. 5a; triplexer 560; Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a, an RX filter 564 for band A coupled to an LNA 540a, and an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b [0051]-[0052]), the first filter having a passband of an uplink channel of a first band (antenna interface circuit 550 includes a triplexer 560 for bands A and B. Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a [0051]; FIG. 3. Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data transmission on the uplink on band A [0050]), the second filter having a passband of a downlink channel of the first band (Triplexer 560 includes an RX filter 564 for band A [0051]; Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590 [0050]), and the third filter having a passband of a downlink channel of a second band (Triplexer 560 includes an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b [0051]; Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590 [0050]); and
a second multiplexer (Fig. 5a; triplexer 570) having at least fourth, fifth, and sixth filters (Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b, an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c, and an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d [0053]), the fourth filter having a passband of an uplink channel of the second band (Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b [0053]), the fifth filter having a passband of the downlink channel of the second band (Triplexer 570 includes an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c [0053]), and the sixth filter having a passband of the downlink channel of the first band (Triplexer 570 includes an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d [0053]).
However, Weissman does not discloses, an antenna switch connected to a first multiplexed port of the first multiplexer and a second multiplexed port of the second multiplexer to selectively connect the first multiplexed port to at least a first antenna and selectively connect the second multiplexed port to at least a second antenna.
In the same field of endeavor, King discloses, an antenna switch connected to a first multiplexed port of the first multiplexer and a second multiplexed port of the second multiplexer to selectively connect the first multiplexed port to at least a first antenna and selectively connect the second multiplexed port to at least a second antenna (Some designs can include a multi-throw high isolation/high linearity switch for antenna selection [0055]; An amplified high-band signal can be output and coupled to a first antenna 101 or a second antenna 102 through a switching network 170, such as an antenna switch module [0065]; The first antenna 101 can be configured to support mid, high and ultra-high band operations. The first antenna 101 is capable of being coupled to each of the HB PAiD module 110, the MB PAiD module 140, the UL CA module 120, and the DRX module 130 through the switch 170 and multiplexers 160 for mid- and high-band operations. The second antenna 102 can be configured to support low, mid-low, mid, high and ultra-high band operations. Accordingly, the LB PAiD module 150 as described herein is shown to be coupled to the second antenna 102 through multiplexers 160 configured to direct low band signals to the second antenna 102 [0070]-[0071] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman by specifically providing an antenna switch connected to a first multiplexed port of the first multiplexer and a second multiplexed port of the second multiplexer to selectively connect the first multiplexed port to at least a first antenna and selectively connect the second multiplexed port to at least a second antenna, as taught by King for the purpose of decreasing costs and size as well as improving performance through the re-use of integrated filters and duplexers of radio frequency communication device [0072].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Weissman discloses, wherein the first band is LTE band 20 and the second band is LTE band 8 (B8) (see, [0087]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Weissman discloses, wherein the first multiplexed port includes a connection between an output of the first filter, an input to the second, and an input to the third filter (antenna interface circuit 550 includes a triplexer 560 for bands A and B. Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a, an RX filter 564 for band A coupled to an LNA 540a, and an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b. The output of TX filter 562 and the inputs of RX filters 564 and 566 are coupled to an output of triplexer 560, which is coupled to antenna 590 [0051]), and the second multiplexed port includes a connection between an output of the fourth filter, an input to the fifth filter, and an input to the sixth filter (antenna interface circuit 556 includes a triplexer 570 for bands A and B. Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b, an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c, and an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d. The output of TX filter 572 and the inputs of RX filters 574 and 576 are coupled to an output of triplexer 570, which is coupled to antenna 592, [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Weissman discloses, first, second, third and fourth receive amplifiers, inputs of the first, second, third, and fourth receive amplifiers respectively connected to outputs of the second, third, fifth, and sixth filters (FIG. 5A shows an exemplary design of an RF front-end unit 510 comprising antenna interface circuits 550 and 556 supporting carrier aggregation on two bands A and B via two antennas with partial multiplexing and diversity reception for both bands. Antenna interface circuits 550 and 556 may be used for antenna interface circuits 350 and 356, respectively, in FIG. 3. Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data transmission on the uplink on band A and data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590. Antenna interface circuit 556 supports data transmission on the uplink on band B and data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a secondary antenna 592 [0050]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Weissman discloses, wherein the front-end is configured to implement downlink carrier aggregation using four downlink signals output by the second, third, fifth, and sixth filters (FIG. 5A shows an exemplary design of an RF front-end unit 510 comprising antenna interface circuits 550 and 556 supporting carrier aggregation on two bands A and B via two antennas with partial multiplexing and diversity reception for both bands. Antenna interface circuits 550 and 556 may be used for antenna interface circuits 350 and 356, respectively, in FIG. 3. Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data transmission on the uplink on band A and data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590. Antenna interface circuit 556 supports data transmission on the uplink on band B and data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a secondary antenna 592 [0050]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Weissman discloses,
A mobile device communication (wireless device 110) comprising:
at least first and second antennas (primary antenna 590 and secondary antenna 592; Fig. 5A);
a first multiplexer having at least first, second, and third filters (Fig. 5a; triplexer 560; Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a, an RX filter 564 for band A coupled to an LNA 540a, and an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b [0051]-[0052]), the first filter having a passband of an uplink channel of a first band (antenna interface circuit 550 includes a triplexer 560 for bands A and B. Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a [0051]; FIG. 3. Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data transmission on the uplink on band A [0050]), the second filter having a passband of a downlink channel of the first band (Triplexer 560 includes an RX filter 564 for band A [0051]; Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590 [0050]), and the third filter having a passband of a downlink channel of a second band (Triplexer 560 includes an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b [0051]; Antenna interface circuit 550 supports data reception on the downlink on bands A and B via a primary antenna 590 [0050]); and
a second multiplexer (Fig. 5a; triplexer 570) having at least fourth, fifth, and sixth filters (Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b, an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c, and an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d [0053]), the fourth filter having a passband of an uplink channel of the second band (Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b [0053]), the fifth filter having a passband of the downlink channel of the second band (Triplexer 570 includes an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c [0053]), and the sixth filter having a passband of the downlink channel of the first band (Triplexer 570 includes an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d [0053]).
However, Weissman does not discloses, an antenna switch connected to a first multiplexed port of the first multiplexer and a second multiplexed port of the second multiplexer to selectively connect the first multiplexed port to at least a first antenna and selectively connect the second multiplexed port to at least a second antenna.
In the same field of endeavor, King discloses, an antenna switch connected to a first multiplexed port of the first multiplexer and a second multiplexed port of the second multiplexer to selectively connect the first multiplexed port to at least a first antenna and selectively connect the second multiplexed port to at least a second antenna (Some designs can include a multi-throw high isolation/high linearity switch for antenna selection [0055]; An amplified high-band signal can be output and coupled to a first antenna 101 or a second antenna 102 through a switching network 170, such as an antenna switch module [0065]; The first antenna 101 can be configured to support mid, high and ultra-high band operations. The first antenna 101 is capable of being coupled to each of the HB PAiD module 110, the MB PAiD module 140, the UL CA module 120, and the DRX module 130 through the switch 170 and multiplexers 160 for mid- and high-band operations. The second antenna 102 can be configured to support low, mid-low, mid, high and ultra-high band operations. Accordingly, the LB PAiD module 150 as described herein is shown to be coupled to the second antenna 102 through multiplexers 160 configured to direct low band signals to the second antenna 102 [0070]-[0071] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman by specifically providing an antenna switch connected to a first multiplexed port of the first multiplexer and a second multiplexed port of the second multiplexer to selectively connect the first multiplexed port to at least a first antenna and selectively connect the second multiplexed port to at least a second antenna, as taught by King for the purpose of decreasing costs and size as well as improving performance through the re-use of integrated filters and duplexers of radio frequency communication device [0072].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Weissman discloses, wherein the first multiplexed port includes a connection between an output of the first filter, an input to the second, and an input to the third filter (antenna interface circuit 550 includes a triplexer 560 for bands A and B. Triplexer 560 includes a TX filter 562 for band A coupled to a PA 530a, an RX filter 564 for band A coupled to an LNA 540a, and an RX filter 566 for band B coupled to an LNA 540b. The output of TX filter 562 and the inputs of RX filters 564 and 566 are coupled to an output of triplexer 560, which is coupled to antenna 590 [0051]), and the second multiplexed port includes a connection between an output of the fourth filter, an input to the fifth filter, and an input to the sixth filter (antenna interface circuit 556 includes a triplexer 570 for bands A and B. Triplexer 570 includes a TX filter 572 for band B coupled to a PA 530b, an RX filter 574 for band B coupled to an LNA 540c, and an RX filter 576 for band A coupled to an LNA 540d. The output of TX filter 572 and the inputs of RX filters 574 and 576 are coupled to an output of triplexer 570, which is coupled to antenna 592, [0053]).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman, in view of King and further in view of Tsai (US 20130120207, hereinafter “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, wherein a radio frequency isolation between the first and second antennas is larger than 15 dB for the first and second bands.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai discloses, wherein a radio frequency isolation between the first and second antennas is larger than 15 dB for the first and second bands (Under the MIMO system, when two dipole antennas 12 perform the transmission and receiving functions simultaneously, the isolation between the antennas 12 must be greater than 15 dB, so that the antenna module 1 can achieve the optimum performance in MIMO. Similarly, under the MIMO system, when three dipole antennas 12 are configured, they must be arranged with a specific distance so as to achieve the required isolation of 15 dB, [0006]; [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing wherein a radio frequency isolation between the first and second antennas is larger than 15 dB for the first and second bands, as taught by Tsai for the purpose of decreasing the entire volume so as to reduce the required installing space and thus achieving the optimum signal transmission performance in MIMO [0007].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, wherein a radio frequency isolation between the first and second antennas is larger than 15 dB for the first and second bands.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai discloses, wherein a radio frequency isolation between the first and second antennas is larger than 15 dB for the first and second bands (Under the MIMO system, when two dipole antennas 12 perform the transmission and receiving functions simultaneously, the isolation between the antennas 12 must be greater than 15 dB, so that the antenna module 1 can achieve the optimum performance in MIMO. Similarly, under the MIMO system, when three dipole antennas 12 are configured, they must be arranged with a specific distance so as to achieve the required isolation of 15 dB, [0006]; [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing wherein a radio frequency isolation between the first and second antennas is larger than 15 dB for the first and second bands, as taught by Tsai for the purpose of decreasing the entire volume so as to reduce the required installing space and thus achieving the optimum signal transmission performance in MIMO [0007].
Claims 3-6, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman, in view of King and further in view of Hey-Shipton (US 20170366166, hereinafter “Shipton”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, wherein the first, second, and third filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB.
In the same of endeavor, Shipton discloses, wherein the first, second, and third filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB (The filter circuit 300 may be, for example, a transmit filter or a receive filter for incorporation into a communications device [0024]; A typical design objective for a Band 41 filter is to have greater than 40 dB rejection over the Wi-Fi frequency channels 1 through 13 (2401-2483 MHz), which is on the low side of the filter's passband [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing wherein the first, second, and third filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB, as taught by Shipton for the purpose of improving the performance of duplexers for uses in communications systems [0049].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Weissman, King and Shipton discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3), in addition Shipton discloses, wherein at least one of the first, second, and third filters is configured to attenuate frequencies outside of its respective passband by less than 50 dB (The filter circuit 300 may be, for example, a transmit filter or a receive filter for incorporation into a communications device [0024]; A typical design objective for a Band 41 filter is to have greater than 40 dB rejection over the Wi-Fi frequency channels 1 through 13 (2401-2483 MHz), which is on the low side of the filter's passband [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, wherein the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB.
In the same of endeavor, Shipton discloses, wherein the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB (The filter circuit 300 may be, for example, a transmit filter or a receive filter for incorporation into a communications device [0024]; A typical design objective for a Band 41 filter is to have greater than 40 dB rejection over the Wi-Fi frequency channels 1 through 13 (2401-2483 MHz), which is on the low side of the filter's passband [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing wherein the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB, as taught by Shipton for the purpose of improving the performance of duplexers for uses in communications systems [0049].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Weissman, King and Shipton discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Shipton discloses, wherein at least one of the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters is configured to attenuate frequencies outside of its respective passband by less than 50 dB (The filter circuit 300 may be, for example, a transmit filter or a receive filter for incorporation into a communications device [0024]; A typical design objective for a Band 41 filter is to have greater than 40 dB rejection over the Wi-Fi frequency channels 1 through 13 (2401-2483 MHz), which is on the low side of the filter's passband [0044]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, wherein the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB.
In the same of endeavor, Shipton discloses, wherein the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB (The filter circuit 300 may be, for example, a transmit filter or a receive filter for incorporation into a communications device [0024]; A typical design objective for a Band 41 filter is to have greater than 40 dB rejection over the Wi-Fi frequency channels 1 through 13 (2401-2483 MHz), which is on the low side of the filter's passband [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing wherein the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are configured to attenuate frequencies outside of their respective passbands by at least 40 dB, as taught by Shipton for the purpose of improving the performance of duplexers for uses in communications systems [0049].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Weissman, King and Shipton discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), in addition Shipton discloses, wherein at least one of the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters is configured to attenuate frequencies outside of its respective passband by less than 50 dB (The filter circuit 300 may be, for example, a transmit filter or a receive filter for incorporation into a communications device [0024]; A typical design objective for a Band 41 filter is to have greater than 40 dB rejection over the Wi-Fi frequency channels 1 through 13 (2401-2483 MHz), which is on the low side of the filter's passband [0044]).
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman, in view of King and further in view of Urata (US 20220140816, hereinafter “Urata”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, wherein the first, second, and third filters are ganged together on a common substrate, and the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are ganged together on a common substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Urata discloses, wherein the first, second, and third filters are ganged together on a common substrate, and the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are ganged together on a common substrate (The multi-filter 100 includes an antenna terminal 120, input/output terminals 130A to 130D, and a first filter F1 to a fourth filter F4 having passbands different from each other. In each of four paths between the antenna terminal 120 and the individual input/output terminals 130, a corresponding one of the first filter F1 to the fourth filter F4 is connected [0029]; Among the first filter F1 to the fourth filter F4, the first filter F1 is formed on two substrates in a divided manner and share these separate substrates with any of the other filters F2 to F4. Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the ladder filter portion 3 of the first filter F1 is formed on a single substrate along with the second filter F2. That is, a group of resonators constituting the ladder filter portion 3 and the second filter F2 is formed on the first piezoelectric substrate 35 [0034]; ladder filters of the first to fourth filters F1 to F4 are collectively formed on the same substrate, and DMS filters of the first to fourth filters F1 to F4 are collectively formed on the same substrate [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing wherein the first, second, and third filters are ganged together on a common substrate, and the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are ganged together on a common substrate, as taught by Urata for the purpose of improving the insertion loss by increasing the electrode thickness within a range that is not below a reduction in the loss in the resonance characteristics resulting from the optimum thickness [0022].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, wherein the first, second, and third filters are ganged together on a common substrate, and the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are ganged together on a common substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Urata discloses, wherein the first, second, and third filters are ganged together on a common substrate, and the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are ganged together on a common substrate (The multi-filter 100 includes an antenna terminal 120, input/output terminals 130A to 130D, and a first filter F1 to a fourth filter F4 having passbands different from each other. In each of four paths between the antenna terminal 120 and the individual input/output terminals 130, a corresponding one of the first filter F1 to the fourth filter F4 is connected [0029]; Among the first filter F1 to the fourth filter F4, the first filter F1 is formed on two substrates in a divided manner and share these separate substrates with any of the other filters F2 to F4. Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the ladder filter portion 3 of the first filter F1 is formed on a single substrate along with the second filter F2. That is, a group of resonators constituting the ladder filter portion 3 and the second filter F2 is formed on the first piezoelectric substrate 35 [0034]; ladder filters of the first to fourth filters F1 to F4 are collectively formed on the same substrate, and DMS filters of the first to fourth filters F1 to F4 are collectively formed on the same substrate [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing wherein the first, second, and third filters are ganged together on a common substrate, and the fourth, fifth, and sixth filters are ganged together on a common substrate, as taught by Urata for the purpose of improving the insertion loss by increasing the electrode thickness within a range that is not below a reduction in the loss in the resonance characteristics resulting from the optimum thickness [0022].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman, in view of King and further in view of Huang et al. (US 20230283261, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Weissman and King discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Weisman and King does not disclose, a transmit power amplifier and a band select switch configured to selectively connect an output of the transmit power amplifier to either of the first filter or the fourth filter.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses, a transmit power amplifier and a band select switch configured to selectively connect an output of the transmit power amplifier to either of the first filter or the fourth filter (The illustrated carrier aggregation system 40 includes power amplifiers 42A and 42B, switches 43A and 43B, duplexers 44A and 44B, switches 45A and 45B, diplexer 46, and antenna 47. The power amplifiers 42A and 42B can each transmit an amplified RF signal associated with a different carrier. The switch 43A can be a band select switch. The switch 43A can couple an output of the power amplifier 42A to a selected duplexer of the duplexers 44A, [0039]-[0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman and King by specifically providing a transmit power amplifier and a band select switch configured to selectively connect an output of the transmit power amplifier to either of the first filter or the fourth filter, as taught by Huang for the purpose of benefiting MIMO communications from higher signal to noise ratio, improved coding, and/or reduced signal interference due to spatial multiplexing differences of the radio environment [0033].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman, in view of King, in view of Tsai and further in view of Mimura et al. (US 20070013459, hereinafter “Mimura”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Weissman, King and Tsai discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however the combination of Weissman, King and Tsai does not disclose, wherein at least one of the first, second, and third filters is configured to attenuate frequencies outside of its respective passband by less than 50 dB. In the same field of endeavor, Mimura discloses, wherein at least one of the first, second, and third filters is configured to attenuate frequencies outside of its respective passband by less than 50 dB ( FIG. 8 is a graph showing the relationship between the anti-resonance Q factor of a surface acoustic wave resonator and the steepness at the high-frequency side of the passband of a ladder filter. The steepness described in the ordinate of FIG. 8 is represented by values determined by the frequency at which the attenuation is 3.0 dB and the frequency at which the attenuation is 40 dB [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Weissman, King and Tsai by specifically providing wherein at least one of the first, second, and third filters is configured to attenuate frequencies outside of its respective passband by less than 50 dB, as taught by Mimura for the purpose of obtaining a satisfactory frequency characteristic in a wireless communication device [0013].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20230318634: Systems and methods for reducing loading in antenna switch module multiplexing are disclosed. In one aspect, a radio frequency front end includes a plurality of filters configured to filter radio frequency signals, the filters including a first filter configured for single band wireless communication and two second filters configured for multiplexing wireless communication.
US 20220069850: Radio frequency front-end systems with filter reuse. In certain embodiments, a front-end system includes a filter, a low noise amplifier (LNA), and a switch interposed between the filter and an input to the LNA. In a first state of the switch, the filter serves to filter a radio frequency signal that is amplified by the LNA. The front-end system further includes a power amplifier that is coupled to the switch.
US 20210006272: A radio-frequency front-end circuit includes first and second radio-frequency switches and filters. The first radio-frequency switch includes a first antenna-side terminal and a plurality of first filter-side terminals selectively coupled to the first antenna-side terminal. The second radio-frequency switch includes a second antenna-side terminal and a plurality of second filter-side terminals selectively coupled to the second antenna-side terminal.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641