Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-6, 8, 11-15, 17, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Privacy-preserving record linkage in large databases using secure multiparty computation by Laud et al. hereafter Laud.
2. Laud discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, from a client device and by a computing system, a digital component request comprising data identifying one or more user groups that include a user of the client device as a member (page 36, algorithm 1, picks the necessary attributes from each record, applies H to them, and uploads the hashes to Sharemind servers in secretshared manner. The Sharemind API readily supports that. At this point, no server learns the exact values of the hashes, since they are all secret-shared. In the end, when the servers have finished the computation, the client queries them for its personal result; send hi to the servers [the computing system receives the value, the value is a request to ensure no duplicates for that value]; see further page 37, upload; [digital component being defined by applicant’s specification paragraph 28 as a discrete unit of digital content or digital information (e.g., a video clip, audio clip, multimedia clip, image, text, or another unit of content]);
for each candidate digital component of a plurality of candidate digital components,
obtaining first vector data representing a contextual-based vector of values for the candidate digital component (page 37, Upload, hashes of clients are stored into an private array [[v]], and the corresponding client identities into a public array s under the same indices.), and
obtaining second vector data representing a user group-based vector of values for the candidate digital component (page 37, Upload, hashes of clients are stored into an private array [[v]], and the corresponding client identities into a public array s under the same indices.; alternatively, algorithm 4, computing encryptions of hashes can also be considered the second vector);
generating, by the computing system, a selection result that identifies, from the plurality of candidate digital components, a given digital component selected from the plurality of candidate digital components based at least on the first vector data and the second vector data for each candidate digital component of the plurality of candidate digital components (pages 37-38, computation of results, the servers could already mark the duplicates with boolean values 1 and the remaining values with 0. After the obtained vector is privately shuffled back, the servers can return the secret shared bits to the clients, so that the i-th clients learns the bits indicating the duplicity of its own records [Boolean values are selection results indicating matches]); and
transmitting, by the computing system and to the client device, the selection result identifying the given digital component (pages 37-38, computation of results, the servers can return the secret shared bits to the clients).
3. Laud discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the contextual-based vector of values for each candidate digital component comprises respective values for a plurality of contextual features (page 36, the first solution: output all results at once in the end, uploaded the hashes of their records).
4. Laud discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the user group-based vector of values for each candidate digital component comprises values selected based at least in part on a respective user group corresponding to the candidate digital component (page 37, Upload, client identities into a public array s).
5. Laud discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein generating, by the computing system, the selection result that identifies, from the plurality of candidate digital components, the given digital component selected from the plurality of candidate digital components based at least on the first vector data and the second vector data for each candidate digital component of the plurality of candidate digital components comprises executing a secure multi-party computation (MPC) protocol with one or more additional computing systems (page 35, see figure 1 and corresponding text).
6. Laud discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein: the first vector data for each candidate digital component comprises a first secret share of data representing the contextual-based vector of values for the candidate digital component (page 36, first column, hashes of the records); and the second vector data for each candidate digital component comprises a first secret share of data representing the contextual-based vector of values for the candidate digital component (page 37, algorithm 4).
8. Laud discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein generating, by the computing system, the selection result that identifies, from the plurality of candidate digital components, the given digital component selected from the plurality of candidate digital components based at least on the first vector data and the second vector data for each candidate digital component of the plurality of candidate digital components comprises: determining, by the computing system, a selection value for each candidate digital component based on the first vector data and the second vector data for the candidate digital component; and selecting the given digital component based on the selection value for each candidate digital component (algorithms 3-5).
Claims 11-15, 17, 20-21 are similar in scope to claims 2-6, 8 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,340. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,340.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439