DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In communications filed on 07/27/2026. Claims 1, and 7-8 are amended. Claims 1-8 are pending in this examination.
Examiner Note
Applicants’ replacement to application title obviates previously raised specification objection.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 below obviates previously raised claims 1-6, 35 U.S.C .122(b) , second paragraph, rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant respectfully submits on pages 6-7 of remarks filed on 07/27/2026 regarding claim 1 None of the cited references disclose or suggest these features” wherein the password is required to reregister the owner key on the mobile information terminal”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant argument for claim 1 filed on 07/27/2026 on pages 6-7 of remarks. Examiner maintains the rejection.
Kawamura discloses: [ see FIG. 4 , [0040] Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic key 2a( equated to mobile terminal) is initially registered to the vehicle (verification ECU 4) using the registration tool 16( equated to management device), which is provided in, for example, a vehicle factory 35. Prior to the factory registration (initial registration), an electronic key ID "ID-1", a SEED code "SEED-1f", and an encryption code "K-1" are written beforehand to the memory 12a of the electronic key 2a.
[0052-0053] In step S201, the operator inputs a command to the registration tool 16 to start additional registration. In this case, the operator inputs an operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1"( equated to issued password by the registration tool ( management device) , and the vehicle ID ".alpha.", which is marked on the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16. In step S202, the registration tool 16 transmits the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" to the management center 17 through network communication. The operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator when the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" acquired from the registration tool 16 are associated with each other in the operator database 27. Then, when the operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator, the operator verification unit 32 transmits an operator verification accomplishment notification to the registration tool 16 by performing network communication.
[0088] In step S601, the operator inputs a command to the registration tool 16 to start key reregistration (equated to issue a new key). In this case, the operator inputs an operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1", and a vehicle ID ".alpha.", which is marked on the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16.
[0004-0005] When the controller malfunctions, there is a need to replace the controller with a new one. In this case, it would be convenient if the electronic keys that were registered to the old controller can be continuously used with the new controller. Thus, to use the same electronic keys with the new controller, the electronic keys need to be registered again to the controller. It is desirable that the level of security be improved when reregistering such electronic keys.
Examiner Note: as indicated in Kawamura application, the invention is regarding registering and reregistering an electronic key ID, and the registration tool receives operator inputted information such as operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1", and a vehicle ID.
Regarding issuing a password on a condition
While Kawamura discloses [0004-0005] When the controller malfunctions, there is a need to replace the controller with a new one. In this case, it would be convenient if the electronic keys that were registered to the old controller can be continuously used with the new controller. Thus, to use the same electronic keys with the new controller, the electronic keys need to be registered again to the controller. It is desirable that the level of security be improved when reregistering such electronic keys.
Furthermore, IKEDA discloses : [0037-0039] FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a functional configuration of the management server 20. The management server 20 includes, as a functional configuration, a digital key generating section 211, a transmission/reception control section 212, and an information management section 213. These are implemented by the CPU 21A reading and executing a program stored in the ROM 21B.The digital key generating section 211 generates a digital key used by a user when using a vehicle of the system 10. The digital key generating section 211 is capable of setting an expiration date for the generated digital key. The transmission/reception control section 212 controls the wireless communication I/F 21E. The wireless communication I/F 21E, which is controlled by the transmission/reception control section 212, is capable of recording data, received from an outside, in the ROM 21B and the storage 21D. Moreover, the wireless communication I/F 21E, which is controlled by the transmission/reception control section 212, is capable of wirelessly transmitting a digital key generated by the digital key generating section 211 to a vehicle of the system 10 and a portable device of a user, and of wirelessly transmitting data recorded in the ROM 21B and the storage 21D to an outside.
Regarding second set of rejections:
MATSUSHITA discloses: [0029] The DKS 3 is a server disposed outside the vehicle Hv. The DKS 3 is configured to be connectable to the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 can communicate with the mobile terminal 1 via the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 issues a service key for using the vehicle Hv to a predetermined user based on a request from the mobile terminal 1.
[0063] The DKS3 is a server located outside the vehicle Hv. The DKS 3 is configured to be connectable to the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 can communicate with the mobile terminal 1 via the wide area communication network 9. Based on the request from the mobile terminal 1, the DKS 3 issues a service key for using the vehicle Hv to a predetermined user.
[0036-0040 As the material of the service key, a password set by the user or the like can also be adopted. For example, the service key may be a value obtained by putting a password of a predetermined number of characters registered by the user into a predetermined hash function.. There are a plurality of types of service keys. As the type of the service key, there are a large owner key and a guest key. The owner key is a service key issued to the owner of the vehicle Hv, and has all authority regarding the use of the vehicle Hv. The owner key has all authority to use the vehicle Hv, such as ON/OFF of the traveling power supply, locking/unlocking of the door, remote operation, and the like, and has authority to issue a service key for another user… the mobile terminal 1 in which the owner key is stored is referred to as an owner terminal. The mobile terminal 1 possessed by the guest, in other words, the mobile terminal 1 in which the guest key is stored is referred to as a guest terminal.
[0099] The display 51 is a device that displays an image. For example, the display 51 May display an owner registration start screen, a service key deletion screen, or the like based on an input from the authentication ECU 4. The owner registration start screen may be an operation screen for starting registration of the owner key, and may include, for example, a form into which a password of the owner is input.
[0200-0212] Owner key deletion processing > THE TRADING OF VEHICLE Hv/ The owner of the vehicle Hv may change by the transfer. When the owner has changed, the service key of the old owner or the like is preferably deleted. From such circumstances, the vehicle digital key system Sys needs to be configured to be able to delete not only the guest key but also the owner key information. The DKS 3 of the present embodiment is configured to be able to receive a request to delete the owner key from both the owner terminal and the in-vehicle HMI. When the owner key is deleted based on the operation performed on the owner terminal…]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
First set of rejections:
Claims 1-3 , 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 2014/0232520 issued to Kawamura, and in view of US Patent Application No. (2023/0288924) issued to IKEDA ( filed in IDS 11/29/2024) .
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura discloses a management device configured to manage and store information on a digital key that is registered in a mobile information terminal to operate a vehicle, the management device comprising a processor configured to execute a process for
[0004-0005] When the controller malfunctions, there is a need to replace the controller with a new one. In this case, it would be convenient if the electronic keys that were registered to the old controller can be continuously used with the new controller. Thus, to use the same electronic keys with the new controller, the electronic keys need to be registered again to the controller. It is desirable that the level of security be improved when reregistering such electronic keys.
[ see FIG. 4 , [0040] Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic key 2a( equated to mobile terminal) is initially registered to the vehicle (verification ECU 4) using the registration tool 16( equated to management device), which is provided in, for example, a vehicle factory 35. Prior to the factory registration (initial registration), an electronic key ID "ID-1", a SEED code "SEED-1f", and an encryption code "K-1" are written beforehand to the memory 12a of the electronic key 2a.
[0034-0037] The management center 17 includes a vehicle database 24, an ECU database 25, a key database 26, and an operator database 27. Although not illustrated, the management center 17 includes a computer or processor, for example, a server, that controls the processing performed in the management center 17. The vehicle ID, the ECU ID, the electronic key ID, and the operator ID are stored in the vehicle database 24 associated with one another. The ECU ID and the ECU code are stored in the ECU database 25 associated with each other. The electronic key ID and the encryption code are stored in the key database 26 associated with each other. An operator ID, which is unique to the operator, and a password are stored in the operator database 27 associated with each other. The management center 17 also stores an encryption algorithm 28, which is the same as that stored in the verification ECU 4… The management center 17 further includes an operator verification unit 32 that verifies the operator during key registration, a registration control unit 33 that controls key registration, and a data update unit 34 that reflects a key registration result to the databases 24 to 27 after key registration is completed. The operator verification unit 32 refers to the operator database 27 to verify the operator using the operator ID input during key registration.
[0039-0048] (I) Factory Registration (Initial Registration) , Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic key 2a is initially registered to the vehicle (verification ECU 4) using the registration tool 16, which is provided in, for example, a vehicle factory 35. Prior to the factory registration (initial registration), an electronic key ID "ID-1", a SEED code "SEED-1f", and an encryption code "K-1" are written beforehand to the memory 12a of the electronic key 2a…. In step S105, the ECU registration unit 29 transmits a SEED code delete request to the electronic key 2a through LF band bidirectional near-field wireless communication. When the key registration unit 31a receives the SEED code delete request from the verification ECU 4, the key registration unit 31a deletes the SEED code "SEED-1f" from the SEED code storage region of the memory 12a… Optionally, in step S106, when the ECU registration unit 29 receives a request for deleting a factory registering function from the registration tool 16…The data update unit 34 writes the vehicle ID ".alpha.", the ECU ID "ID-A", the electronic key ID "ID-1", and the operator ID "factory" (factory registration) to the vehicle database 24 in association with the registration information acquired from the registration tool 16].
[0052-0053] In step S201, the operator inputs a command to the registration tool 16 to start additional registration. In this case, the operator inputs an operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1"( equated to issued password by the registration tool ( management device) , and the vehicle ID ".alpha.", which is marked on the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16. In step S202, the registration tool 16 transmits the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" to the management center 17 through network communication. The operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator when the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" acquired from the registration tool 16 are associated with each other in the operator database 27. Then, when the operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator, the operator verification unit 32 transmits an operator verification accomplishment notification to the registration tool 16 by performing network communication.
[0086-0092] (IV-2) Online Key Reregistration, Referring to FIG. 9, when network communication is available, electronic keys may be reregistered online to the verification ECU 4s, which has replaced the old verification ECU 4, in the vehicle 1 using the registration tool 16, which is provided in, for example, the vehicle dealer 37. The reregistration of the electronic key 2a will now be described. In step S601, the operator inputs a command to the registration tool 16 to start key reregistration (equated to issue a new key). In this case, the operator inputs an operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1", and a vehicle ID ".alpha.", which is marked on the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16. In step S602, the registration tool 16 transmits the operator ID "ID-U1", the password "PW-1", and the vehicle ID ".alpha.", which are marked to the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16 through network communication. The operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator when the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" acquired from the registration tool 16 are associated with each other in the operator database 27. Then, when the operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator, the operator verification unit 32 transmits an operator verification accomplishment notification to the registration tool 16 through network communication. In step S603, the registration tool 16 transmits a key reregistration command to the verification ECU 4 through wire-connected communication in response to the operator verification accomplishment notification. In step S604, the ECU registration unit 29s reads the electronic key ID from the electronic key 2a through LF band bidirectional near-field wireless communication. More specifically, the ECU registration unit 29s transmits a key information acquisition request to the electronic key 2a. When the key registration unit 31a receives the key information acquisition request from the verification ECU 4s, the key registration unit 31a reads the electronic key ID "ID-1" from the memory 12a. Then, the key registration unit 31a sends the electronic key ID "ID-1" to the vehicle 1. The ECU registration unit 29s writes the electronic key ID "ID-1" acquired from the electronic key 2a to a storage region of the memory 9s. In this case, the electronic key ID "ID-1" may be written to any one of a factory registration storage region and an additional registration storage region. In step S605, the ECU registration unit 29s transmits the electronic key ID "ID-1" from the registration tool 16 to the management center 17 through network communication together with the ECU ID "ID-C", which has already been stored in the memory 9s, and the vehicle ID ".alpha.", which has been input to the registration tool 16 in step S601.
Examiner Note: as indicated in Kawamura application, the invention is regarding registering and reregistering an electronic key ID, and the registration tool receives operator input information such as operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1", and a vehicle ID.
While Kawamura discloses the limitation” issuing a password on a condition”
as: [0004-0005] When the controller malfunctions, there is a need to replace the controller with a new one. In this case, it would be convenient if the electronic keys that were registered to the old controller can be continuously used with the new controller. Thus, to use the same electronic keys with the new controller, the electronic keys need to be registered again to the controller. It is desirable that the level of security be improved when reregistering such electronic keys.
[0039-0048] (I) Factory Registration (Initial Registration) , Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic key 2a is initially registered to the vehicle (verification ECU 4) using the registration tool 16, which is provided in, for example, a vehicle factory 35. Prior to the factory registration (initial registration), an electronic key ID "ID-1", a SEED code "SEED-1f", and an encryption code "K-1" are written beforehand to the memory 12a of the electronic key 2a…. In step S105, the ECU registration unit 29 transmits a SEED code delete request to the electronic key 2a through LF band bidirectional near-field wireless communication. When the key registration unit 31a receives the SEED code delete request from the verification ECU 4, the key registration unit 31a deletes the SEED code "SEED-1f" from the SEED code storage region of the memory 12a… Optionally, in step S106, when the ECU registration unit 29 receives a request for deleting a factory registering function from the registration tool 16…The data update unit 34 writes the vehicle ID ".alpha.", the ECU ID "ID-A", the electronic key ID "ID-1", and the operator ID "factory" (factory registration) to the vehicle database 24 in association with the registration information acquired from the registration tool 16].
However, Kawamura does not explicitly disclose, and IKEDA discloses issuing a password on a condition as :
[0037-0039] FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a functional configuration of the management server 20. The management server 20 includes, as a functional configuration, a digital key generating section 211, a transmission/reception control section 212, and an information management section 213. These are implemented by the CPU 21A reading and executing a program stored in the ROM 21B.The digital key generating section 211 generates a digital key used by a user when using a vehicle of the system 10. The digital key generating section 211 is capable of setting an expiration date for the generated digital key. The transmission/reception control section 212 controls the wireless communication I/F 21E. The wireless communication I/F 21E, which is controlled by the transmission/reception control section 212, is capable of recording data, received from an outside, in the ROM 21B and the storage 21D. Moreover, the wireless communication I/F 21E, which is controlled by the transmission/reception control section 212, is capable of wirelessly transmitting a digital key generated by the digital key generating section 211 to a vehicle of the system 10 and a portable device of a user, and of wirelessly transmitting data recorded in the ROM 21B and the storage 21D to an outside.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kawamura by incorporating “management server which includes a digital key generating section capable of setting expiration date ”, as taught by IKEDA. One could have been motivated to do so in order to generates a digital key used by a user when using a vehicle of the system , where the CPU of ECU processes the confirmation of whether the digital key recorded every time a predetermined period of time elapses. [ IKEDA, 0094-0101].
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura discloses, wherein the processor is configured to execute a process for transmitting the issued password to a digital key application that the mobile information terminal of the vehicle owner has.
While Kawamura discloses this limitation as: [0034] The management center 17 includes a vehicle database 24, an ECU database 25, a key database 26, and an operator database 27. Although not illustrated, the management center 17 includes a computer or processor, for example, a server, that controls the processing performed in the management center 17. The vehicle ID, the ECU ID, the electronic key ID, and the operator ID are stored in the vehicle database 24 associated with one another. The ECU ID and the ECU code are stored in the ECU database 25 associated with each other. The electronic key ID and the encryption code are stored in the key database 26 associated with each other. An operator ID, which is unique to the operator, and a password are stored in the operator database 27 associated with each other. The management center 17 also stores an encryption algorithm 28, which is the same as that stored in the verification ECU 4.
[0052] In step S201, the operator inputs a command to the registration tool 16 to start additional registration. In this case, the operator inputs an operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1", and the vehicle ID ".alpha.", which is marked on the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16.
[0053] In step S202, the registration tool 16 transmits the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" to the management center 17 through network communication. The operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator when the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" acquired from the registration tool 16 are associated with each other in the operator database 27. Then, when the operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator, the operator verification unit 32 transmits an operator verification accomplishment notification to the registration tool 16 by performing network communication.
Furthermore, IKEDA discloses this limitation as:[ 0039] The transmission/reception control section 212 controls the wireless communication I/F 21E. The wireless communication I/F 21E, which is controlled by the transmission/reception control section 212, is capable of recording data, received from an outside, in the ROM 21B and the storage 21D. Moreover, the wireless communication I/F 21E, which is controlled by the transmission/reception control section 212, is capable of wirelessly transmitting a digital key generated by the digital key generating section 211 to a vehicle of the system 10 and a portable device of a user, and of wirelessly transmitting data recorded in the ROM 21B and the storage 21D to an outside.
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura discloses, wherein the digital key application includes a first application and a second application, the processor is configured to transmit the issued password to the first application, and the issued password is automatically input from the first application into the second application.
[see FIGS 2A-2C and corresponding text for more details,[ 0030] FIGS. 2A to 2C illustrate the electronic key registration system 15 that registers the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1. In the present example, the electronic key registration system 15 includes the vehicle 1 (verification ECU 4), the electronic key 2, a registration tool 16, and a management center 17. The registration process of the electronic key 2 (hereafter also referred to as key registration) is classified into factory registration serving as area-limited registration (refer to FIG. 2A), online registration (refer to FIG. 2B), and offline registration (refer to FIG. 2C). Factory registration is performed when initially registering the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1 in a factory. Online registration is performed when registering the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1 by accessing a network. Offline registration is performed when registering the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1 without accessing a network.
Regarding claim 5, Kawamura discloses, wherein the digital key application includes a first application and a second application, the processor is configured to transmit the issued password to the first application, in response to receipt of data from the mobile information terminal to which the address has been transmitted, and the issued password is automatically input from the first application into the second application.
[see FIGS 2A-2C and corresponding text for more details,[ 0030] FIGS. 2A to 2C illustrate the electronic key registration system 15 that registers the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1. In the present example, the electronic key registration system 15 includes the vehicle 1 (verification ECU 4), the electronic key 2, a registration tool 16, and a management center 17. The registration process of the electronic key 2 (hereafter also referred to as key registration) is classified into factory registration serving as area-limited registration (refer to FIG. 2A), online registration (refer to FIG. 2B), and offline registration (refer to FIG. 2C). Factory registration is performed when initially registering the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1 in a factory. Online registration is performed when registering the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1 by accessing a network. Offline registration is performed when registering the electronic key 2 to the vehicle 1 without accessing a network.
Regarding claims 7, and 8, these claims are interpreted and rejected for the same rational set forth in claim 1.
Claims 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 2014/0232520 issued to Kawamura, ( US) in view of US Patent Application No. (2023/0288924) issued to IKEDA ( filed in IDS filed on 11/26/2024) , and further in view of Krishnan ( US2018/0065598).
Regarding claim 4, IKEDA does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to execute a process for transmitting an address of a home page to a mail account of the vehicle owner, and the home page is for automatically inputting the issued password into a digital key application that the mobile information terminal of the vehicle owner has.
While Kawamura discloses: [0034-0037]… An operator ID, which is unique to the operator, and a password are stored in the operator database 27 associated with each other. …[, and [0086-0092]… In this case, the operator inputs an operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1", and a vehicle ID ".alpha.", which is marked on the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16. In step S602, the registration tool 16 transmits the operator ID "ID-U1", the password "PW-1", and the vehicle ID ".alpha.", which are marked to the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16 through network communication. The operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator when the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" acquired from the registration tool 16 are associated with each other in the operator database 27…
Furthermore, Krishnan discloses: [0021-0022] As shown at step 24, if the customer accepts the form provided by the rental company, the rental company verifies the acceptance and transmits a digital key for the selected keyless vehicle to the user by sending an email to the user's smartphone 15 as shown at step 26. The digital key may be attached to the email. Alternatively, as shown at step 28, the email may configure to download and install the program or app on user's smartphone 15 whereby the user's smartphone 15 is configured to accept a digital key corresponding to the keyless rental vehicle selected by the user 5 at step 18. As shown at step 30, the customer 5 accepts the email and downloads the digital key for the selected keyless vehicle 2 onto the user's smartphone 15…, the rental car company may provide a website that permits entry of credit card information, driver's license information, information concerning available vehicles, etc., and the website, may permit user selection of a vehicle whereby a website causes and email including the digital key for a selected keyless vehicle to be emailed to the user's smartphone 15.
[Abstract, A method of operating/renting keyless motor vehicles includes configuring a user's smartphone to wirelessly communicate with the security systems of at least a selected keyless vehicle, whereby the user's smartphone can transmit a digital key to the security system of a keyless vehicle to permit operation thereof. A digital key for a selected keyless vehicle is transmitted to the user's smartphone, and the user is provided with an authorization code that can be used to gain entry into the selected vehicle. The user enters the authorization code using the user input device of the selected keyless vehicle, and the user's smartphone then transmits the digital key to the security system of the selected keyless vehicle. The user can enter and operate the selected vehicle without receiving a conventional key and/or key fob.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kawamura, and IKEDA by incorporating “company’s website and digital key attached to email”, as taught by Krishnan. One could have been motivated to do so in order to whereby a website causes and email including the digital key for a selected keyless vehicle to be emailed to the user's smartphone . Where the email may be configured to download and install the program or app on user's smartphone whereby the user's smartphone is configured to accept a digital key corresponding to the keyless rental vehicle selected by the user [ Krishnan, [0021-22]].
Regarding claim 6, IKEDA does not explicitly disclose, wherein the processor is configured to execute a process for transmitting the issued password to a mail account of the vehicle owner.
While Kawamura discloses: [0034-0037]… An operator ID, which is unique to the operator, and a password are stored in the operator database 27 associated with each other. …[, and [0086-0092]… In this case, the operator inputs an operator ID "ID-U1", a password "PW-1", and a vehicle ID ".alpha.", which is marked on the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16. In step S602, the registration tool 16 transmits the operator ID "ID-U1", the password "PW-1", and the vehicle ID ".alpha.", which are marked to the vehicle body, to the registration tool 16 through network communication. The operator verification unit 32 verifies the operator when the operator ID "ID-U1" and the password "PW-1" acquired from the registration tool 16 are associated with each other in the operator database 27…
Furthermore, Krishnan discloses: [0021-0022] As shown at step 24, if the customer accepts the form provided by the rental company, the rental company verifies the acceptance and transmits a digital key for the selected keyless vehicle to the user by sending an email to the user's smartphone 15 as shown at step 26. The digital key may be attached to the email. Alternatively, as shown at step 28, the email may configure to download and install the program or app on user's smartphone 15 whereby the user's smartphone 15 is configured to accept a digital key corresponding to the keyless rental vehicle selected by the user 5 at step 18. As shown at step 30, the customer 5 accepts the email and downloads the digital key for the selected keyless vehicle 2 onto the user's smartphone 15…, the rental car company may provide a website that permits entry of credit card information, driver's license information, information concerning available vehicles, etc., and the website, may permit user selection of a vehicle whereby a website causes and email including the digital key for a selected keyless vehicle to be emailed to the user's smartphone 15.
[Abstract, A method of operating/renting keyless motor vehicles includes configuring a user's smartphone to wirelessly communicate with the security systems of at least a selected keyless vehicle, whereby the user's smartphone can transmit a digital key to the security system of a keyless vehicle to permit operation thereof. A digital key for a selected keyless vehicle is transmitted to the user's smartphone, and the user is provided with an authorization code that can be used to gain entry into the selected vehicle. The user enters the authorization code using the user input device of the selected keyless vehicle, and the user's smartphone then transmits the digital key to the security system of the selected keyless vehicle. The user can enter and operate the selected vehicle without receiving a conventional key and/or key fob.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kawamura, and IKEDA by incorporating “company’s website and digital key attached to email”, as taught by Krishnan. One could have been motivated to do so in order to whereby a website causes and email including the digital key for a selected keyless vehicle to be emailed to the user's smartphone . Where the email may be configured to download and install the program or app on user's smartphone whereby the user's smartphone is configured to accept a digital key corresponding to the keyless rental vehicle selected by the user [ Krishnan, [0021-22]].
Second set of rejections:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by MATSUSHITA Suguru (WO2023054298) which corresponds. US 20240227733 A1. The claim is mapped with WO2023054298 application.
Regarding claim 1, MATSUSHITA discloses a management device configured to manage and store information on a digital key that is registered in a mobile information terminal to operate a vehicle, the management device comprising a processor configured to execute a process for
[0029] The DKS 3 is a server disposed outside the vehicle Hv. The DKS 3 is configured to be connectable to the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 can communicate with the mobile terminal 1 via the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 issues a service key for using the vehicle Hv to a predetermined user based on a request from the mobile terminal 1.
[0063] The DKS3 is a server located outside the vehicle Hv. The DKS 3 is configured to be connectable to the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 can communicate with the mobile terminal 1 via the wide area communication network 9. Based on the request from the mobile terminal 1, the DKS 3 issues a service key for using the vehicle Hv to a predetermined user.
[0036-0040 As the material of the service key, a password set by the user or the like can also be adopted. For example, the service key may be a value obtained by putting a password of a predetermined number of characters registered by the user into a predetermined hash function. … the mobile terminal 1 in which the owner key is stored is referred to as an owner terminal. The mobile terminal 1 possessed by the guest, in other words, the mobile terminal 1 in which the guest key is stored is referred to as a guest terminal.
[0077-0079, 0118-0125, FIGs. 12-14].
issuing a password on a condition that an owner key that is the digital key registered in the mobile information terminal of a vehicle owner is deleted from the mobile information terminal, wherein the password is required to reregister the owner key on the mobile information terminal.
[0029] The DKS 3 is a server disposed outside the vehicle Hv. The DKS 3 is configured to be connectable to the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 can communicate with the mobile terminal 1 via the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 issues a service key for using the vehicle Hv to a predetermined user based on a request from the mobile terminal 1.
[0063] The DKS3 is a server located outside the vehicle Hv. The DKS 3 is configured to be connectable to the wide area communication network 9. The DKS 3 can communicate with the mobile terminal 1 via the wide area communication network 9. Based on the request from the mobile terminal 1, the DKS 3 issues a service key for using the vehicle Hv to a predetermined user.
[0036-0040 As the material of the service key, a password set by the user or the like can also be adopted. For example, the service key may be a value obtained by putting a password of a predetermined number of characters registered by the user into a predetermined hash function.. There are a plurality of types of service keys. As the type of the service key, there are a large owner key and a guest key. The owner key is a service key issued to the owner of the vehicle Hv, and has all authority regarding the use of the vehicle Hv. The owner key has all authority to use the vehicle Hv, such as ON/OFF of the traveling power supply, locking/unlocking of the door, remote operation, and the like, and has authority to issue a service key for another user… the mobile terminal 1 in which the owner key is stored is referred to as an owner terminal. The mobile terminal 1 possessed by the guest, in other words, the mobile terminal 1 in which the guest key is stored is referred to as a guest terminal.
[0099] The display 51 is a device that displays an image. For example, the display 51 May display an owner registration start screen, a service key deletion screen, or the like based on an input from the authentication ECU 4. The owner registration start screen may be an operation screen for starting registration of the owner key, and may include, for example, a form into which a password of the owner is input.
[0200-0212] Owner key deletion processing > THE TRADING OF VEHICLE Hv/ The owner of the vehicle Hv may change by the transfer. When the owner has changed, the service key of the old owner or the like is preferably deleted. From such circumstances, the vehicle digital key system Sys needs to be configured to be able to delete not only the guest key but also the owner key information. The DKS 3 of the present embodiment is configured to be able to receive a request to delete the owner key from both the owner terminal and the in-vehicle HMI. When the owner key is deleted based on the operation performed on the owner terminal…], and [ see FIG. 29 steps T11–T18; Fig.30 steps T21–T24).
Matsushita further teaches that the DKS issues registration/unlock codes and registration packages used in owner-registration operations (terminal registration package, vehicle registration package, vehicle check codes, terminal check codes) (see ¶¶[0118]–[0126], FIG.13 S14–S17, FIG.14 S28). In particular, the DKS (or associated tools) issues a “security unlock signal/code” that switches the authentication ECU into an owner-registration enable mode on request (¶¶[0128]–[0132], Fig.14 S21–S22).
Under a broad reading of “issues a password on a condition that the owner key is deleted” and the later teachings of Matsushita’s disclosure of (a) DKS-generated/deletion-related packages and (b) DKS issuance of registration/unlock codes supports the mapping that the DKS (management device) issues a code/password in the context of a delete-then-reregister sequence (¶¶[0202]–[0212]; ¶¶[0156]–[0166]).
“The issued password is needed to reregister the owner key”
Matsushita discloses that the authentication ECU will not accept owner registration unless it has been placed in owner-registration enable mode (owner registration prohibition/enable modes; ECU shifts to owner registration mode based on security unlock signal/code) (¶¶[0122]–[0132]; FIG.14 S21–S22). The security unlock code is required to enable owner registration into the vehicle.
Matsushita also discloses that the DKS issues vehicle registration packages and/or vehicle registration data which are transferred via mobile terminal to the authentication ECU to complete registration (¶¶[0122]–[0126], FIG.13 S16–S17, FIG.14 S28). Thus, the reference teaches that certain codes/signals issued by the system are prerequisites for owner registration (i.e., required to allow owner-key registration to proceed), which maps to the claimed requirement that the issued password be needed to reregister the owner key.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, these claims are interpreted and rejected for the same rational set forth in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See 892 for more relevant references.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHRIAR ZARRINEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496