DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai (CN- 103716497-A).
Regarding claim 1: Cai discloses a medium support section (Fig. 2, paper bearing disk 34) configured to support a medium (paper); a feeding section (Fig. 2, automatic document feeder 30) configured to feed a medium (paper) from the medium support section (Fig. 2, paper bearing disk 34); a driving power source (Fig. 3, power source 53) for the feeding section (Fig. 2, automatic document feeder 30); a switching section (Fig. 3, power switching mechanism 50) configured to perform switching between a state in which a driving force is transmitted from the driving power source to the feeding section and a state in which a driving force is not transmitted (as shown in FIG. 5, an elastic limiting structure 595 of the third inclined surface 59 pushes the clutch 54 of the first inclined surface 542, so that the clutch 54 of the first interference 544 continuously weighing the third 551 of the first gear 55. Therefore, the clutch 54 drives the first gear 55 rotates in a first direction A, so as to drive the feeding gear 37 rotates. As shown in FIG. 3, rotation of the feed gear 37 for driving the paper fetching arm 31 rotates in a first direction A to be reduced so that the automatic document feeder 30 starts to feed the document to a sheet-fed scanner. Please continue to refer to FIG. 3 and FIG. 5. when sheet-fed scanning device 20 platform-type scanner 40 needs to perform scanning, the power source 53 drives the first shaft 51 in a second direction B to rotate the first shaft 51 drives the clutch 54 to the second direction B to rotate. As shown in FIG. 5, the first inclined plane elastic limiting structure 595 of the third inclined surface 59 continuously pushes the clutch 54 of 542 so that the first clutch 544 third interference 54 55 coupled to the first gear 551. Therefore, the clutch 54 drives the first gear 55 in a first direction B to rotate so as to drive the feeding gear 37 to rotate. Referring to FIG. 6, FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a first action of the sheet-fed scanning device of the invention. As shown in FIG. 6, rotation of the feed gear 37 for driving the paper fetching arm 31 rotating in a first direction B, so that the automatic paper feeder 30 is not fed into the file., pars. 91-92); and a feeding unit (Fig. 3, sheet-fed scanning device 20) being a unit configured to accommodate the feeding section (Fig. 3, automatic document feeder 30) and the switching section (Fig. 3, power switching mechanism 50) and being removably mounted (mechanically detachable) on a unit mounting section (Fig. 2, platform-type scanner 40), wherein the switching section (Fig. 3, power switching mechanism 50) is removably mounted (mechanically detachable) on the feeding unit (Fig. 3, sheet-fed scanning device 20).
Regarding claim 2: Cai satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Cai further discloses wherein the feeding unit (Fig. 3, sheet-fed scanning device 20) includes an accommodation member (Fig. 2, paper fetching arm 31) configured to accommodate the feeding section (Fig. 3, automatic document feeder 30) and the switching section (Fig. 3, power switching mechanism 50), and the switching section (Fig. 3, power switching mechanism 50) is removably mounted (mechanically detachable) on the accommodation member (Fig. 2, paper fetching arm 31).
Regarding claim 3: Cai satisfies all the elements of claim 2. Cai further discloses wherein the feeding section (Fig. 3, automatic document feeder 30) includes: a pick roller (Fig. 2, paper fetching wheel 32) configured to send out a medium from the medium support section (Fig. 2, paper bearing disk 34); and a feeding roller (Fig. 2, dividing wheel 33) being positioned downstream (See Fig. 2 relation between 32 and 33) in a medium feeding direction with respect to the pick roller (Fig. 2, paper fetching wheel 32) and being configured to further feed a medium further downstream (avoid double paper feeding, par. 73), and a roller unit (Fig. 2, automatic document feeder 30) including the pick roller (Fig. 2, paper fetching wheel 32) and the feeding roller (Fig. 2, dividing wheel 33) is removably mounted (mechanically detachable) on the feeding unit (Fig. 3, sheet-fed scanning device 20).
Regarding claim 4: Cai satisfies all the elements of claim 3. Cai further discloses wherein each of the pick roller (Fig. 2, paper fetching wheel 32) and the feeding roller (Fig. 2, dividing wheel 33) is removably mounted (mechanically detachable) on the roller unit (Fig. 2, automatic document feeder 30).
Regarding claim 5: Cai satisfies all the elements of claim 3. Cai further discloses wherein at least one of the switching section (Fig. 3, power switching mechanism 50) or the roller unit is provided with a detected section (action mode, pars. 88-89), and the unit mounting section (Fig. 2, platform-type scanner 40) includes a detecting section configured to detect the detected section (action mode, pars. 88-89) when the feeding unit is mounted (Fig. 3, sheet-fed scanning device 20).
Regarding claim 7: Cai satisfies all the elements of claim 3. Cai further discloses a device main body (Fig. 2, sheet-fed scanning device 20) including the driving power source (Fig. 3, power source 53); and an opening/closing unit being a unit configured to be opened and closed (Fig. 2, upper cover 35) with respect to the device main body (Fig. 2, sheet-fed scanning device 20), the opening/closing unit forming a part of a transport path for transporting a medium while by being closed, and releasing a part of the transport path by being opened (an automatic paper feeder 30 comprises a paper fetching arm 31, a paper fetching wheel 32, a wheel 33, a paper bearing disk 34, an upper cover 35, a second shaft 36 and a feeding gear 37. 35 is an automatic paper feeder 30 cover of the upper shell. the paper taking arm 31 is provided below the cover 35, and can move relative to cover 35 swings, for feeding a document into the automatic document feeder 30 in., par. 72), wherein the unit mounting section (Fig. 2, platform-type scanner 40) is provided to the opening/closing unit (Fig. 2, upper cover 35), and the device main body (Fig. 2, sheet-fed scanning device 20) includes a separation roller configured to nip a medium (taking wheel 32 provided on the front side of the paper taking arm 31 for feeding configuration file on the paper bearing disk 34. dividing wheel 33 set on the rear side of the paper taking arm 31 for separating the paper 32 fed into the file to avoid double paper feeding. paper bearing disk 34 for loading the file. paper feeding gear 37 is fixed to the second shaft 36 for power connection to the paper taking arm 31. the automatic paper feeder with the existing structure of the automatic paper feeder 30, this will not be described again., par. 73) with the feeding roller and separate the medium (Fig. 2, dividing wheel 33).
Regarding claim 8: Cai satisfies all the elements of claim 3. Cai further discloses and a reading unit (Fig. 2, scanner 40) configured to read a medium fed by the medium feeding device (Platform scanner 40 comprises a scanning window 41, a scanning platform 42, a scanning module 43, a transmission mechanism 44, a stop structure 47 and a scanning module gear 48. scanning window 41 on the automatic paper feeder 30 feeding path, when the document is fed into the automatic document feeder 30, document through scanning window 41 and the scanning module 43 for scanning. a side of the scanning platform 42 in the scanning window 41, for loading the file. scanning module 43 is provided on the scanning window 41 and the scanning platform 42 for capturing document image. In the preferred embodiment, the scanning module 43 can be a contact type image sensor (CIS, Contact sensor), a photosensitive coupled device (CCD, Charge-coupled Device) or other sensor current, but it is not limited to this., par. 74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai in view of Nomura et al. (hereinafter Nomura) (US 2002/0171681 A1).
Regarding claim 6: Cai satisfies all the elements of claim 3. Cai further discloses from the detecting section (action mode, pars. 88-89) while the detected section is not detected (action mode, pars. 88-89), from the detecting section (action mode, pars. 88-89).
Cai fails to specifically address a display section configured to display various types of information; and a control section configured to receive detection information; and control the display section, wherein the control section suspends feeding of a medium and displays an alert on the display section when a feeding instruction is received; based on detection information.
Nomura discloses a display section configured to display various types of information (Fig. 2, display screen (LCD) 12); and a control section configured to receive detection information (Fig. 2, control panel 11); and control the display section, wherein the control section suspends feeding of a medium and displays an alert on the display section when a feeding instruction is received; based on detection information (If a paper jam has occurred during this copy reserving operation, a trouble icon (warning icon) 33 appears on LCD 12, as shown in FIG. 3B. This trouble icon 33 relates to a trouble that has occurred in a job other than the copy reservation task, but will be displayed on copy reservation frame 32 so as to warn the user. As shown in this figure, controller 19 displays the trouble icon 33 at bottom left on LCD 12, at such a position that it does not affect the job information display including other windows, job information, keys and the like displayed on LCD 12, for example, it does not obstruct the display of job information, and nor is it laid over the display of job information (it is displayed at a non-overlaid position). When this trouble icon 33 is touched by a user, controller 19 displays a warning window 34 informing the content of the error, preferentially at the approximate center of LCD 12 (in the frontmost layer viewed from the user)., pars. 64-65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a display section configured to display various types of information; and a control section configured to receive detection information; and control the display section, wherein the control section suspends feeding of a medium and displays an alert on the display section when a feeding instruction is received; based on detection information in order to warn the user that there is a problem that has occurred as taught by Nomura (pars. 64-65).
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
11 August 2026