DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 12, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 12, and 16 contains the trademark/trade name Carpay. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe payment details and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1. A computing device comprising:
a processor; and
a memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform calculating a time required to reach a destination set by a user;
determining whether the time exceeds a threshold time, wherein the threshold time is an average of longest daily driving times from driving records of a plurality of users stored in an external server;
proposing a road trip mode based on the time required to reach the destination, a vehicle information indicating a state of a vehicle, a traffic information and a weather information when the time exceeds the threshold time;
setting a route based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information when the user decides to switch to the road trip mode;
recommending a stopover on the set route based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information;
displaying a detailed information on the set route and the stopover; and
determining a route including the stopover as a final route in response to an approval of the user on the stopover.
2. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the vehicle information includes a vehicle position (GPS) information, an information on whether a child lock is activated, an information on whether a seat belt is fastened, a media information in play, a Carpay payment details, a distance to empty (DTE) information indicating a fuel charge amount, an information on whether a wiper is operated, a load weight, or past destination setting details.
3. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the traffic information includes an information on an accident and control sections, an assembly and event information, and wherein the traffic information and the weather information are acquired from the external server.
4. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
determining whether a child lock is turned on;
determining that a child rides in the vehicle when the child lock is turned on; and
setting the route so that a daily driving distance is less than a threshold distance, wherein the threshold distance is a maximum driving distance allowed with the child present in the vehicle.
5. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
acquiring an average daily driving time and a maximum driving time without a stop from the driving records; and
setting the set route so that a total driving time does not exceed the average daily driving time and the stopover is located within the maximum driving time.
6. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
determining a section, which is not to be driven, based on the traffic information or the weather information; and
setting the set route by excluding the section.
7. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
acquiring driving routes of other users with a same driving pattern or a same type of passenger as the user; and
setting the set route to one of the driving routes of the other users.
8. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether seatbelts in seats other than a driver’s seat of the vehicle are fastened;
identifying a number of passengers through a number of the seatbelts fastened when the seatbelts in the seats other than the driver’s seat are fastened; and
recommending a place, which is to be used by the number of passengers on the set route, as the stopover.
9. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
identifying an age group of a passenger through a media information in play in the vehicle; and
recommending a place corresponding to a category preferred by the age group of the passenger as the stopover on the set route.
10. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a child lock is turned on;
determining that a child rides in the vehicle when the child lock is turned on; and
recommending a place related to a child or a place where child access is possible on the set route as the stopover.
11. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
identifying a category preferred by the user through past destination setting details; and
recommending a place corresponding to the category on the set route as the stopover.
12. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
identifying a product preferred by the user through a Carpay payment details; and
recommending a place related to the product on the set route as the stopover.
13. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a wiper is operating for more than a threshold time; and
recommending an indoor stopover on the set route by determining that it is raining when the wiper is operating for more than the predetermined threshold time.
14. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether there is a camping site in past destination setting details of the user;
determining whether a weight of luggage loaded in the vehicle is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value when there is a camping site in the past destination setting details; and
recommending the camping site on the set route as the stopover when the weight of the luggage is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold value.
15. The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a distance to empty (DTE) is less than a predetermined threshold value, wherein the threshold value is determined based on an amount of fuel required to drive a daily driving distance; and
recommending a gas station or a charging station on the set route as the stopover when the DTE is less than the predetermined threshold value.
16. A road trip stopover recommendation method, which is performed by a computing device, the road trip stopover recommendation method comprising:
calculating a time required to reach a destination set by a user;
determining whether the time exceeds a threshold time, wherein the threshold time is an average of longest daily driving times among driving records of a plurality of users stored in an external server;
proposing a road trip mode based on the time required to reach the destination, a vehicle information indicating a state of a vehicle, a traffic information and a weather information when the time exceeds the threshold time;
setting a route based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information when the user decides to switch to the road trip mode;
recommending a stopover on the set route based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information;
displaying a detailed information on the set route and the stopover; and
determining a route including the stopover as a final route in response to an approval of the user on the stopover.
17. The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 16, wherein the vehicle information includes a vehicle position (GPS) information, an information on whether a child lock is activated, an information on whether a seat belt is fastened, a media information in play, a Carpay payment details, a distance to empty (DTE) information indicating a fuel charge amount, an information on whether a wiper is operated, a load weight, or past destination setting details.
18. The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 17, wherein the setting the set route includes:
acquiring an average daily driving time and a maximum driving time without a stop from the driving records; and
setting the set route so that a total driving time does not exceed the average daily driving time and the stopover is located within the maximum driving time.
19. The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 17, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether seatbelts in seats other than a driver’s seat of the vehicle are fastened;
identifying a number of passengers through a number of the seatbelts fastened when the seatbelts in the seats other than the driver’s seat are fastened; and
recommending a place, which is to be used by the number of passengers on the set route, as the stopover.
20. The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 17, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a child lock is turned on;
determining that a child rides in the vehicle when the child lock is turned on; and
recommending a place related to a child or a place where child access is possible on the set route as the stopover.
Step 1 - Statutory category – Yes
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite calculating, determining, proposing, setting, recommending, and displaying. The claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One – Judicial Exception – Yes
claim(s) 1-20 are to be analyzed to determine whether it recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Office submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitutes judicial exception in terms of “mental processes” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance using mental processes.
The limitation of calculating, determining, proposing, setting, recommending, and displaying covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (i.e. computing device, processor, and memory). That is, other than reciting generic computer components such as computing device, processor, and memory nothing in the claim element precludes the step from being performed in the mind. For example, a person looking at data and forming a decision on the destination and route. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "2106.04(a)(2) Abstract Idea Groupings III. Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two – Practical Application – No
claim(s) 1-20 are evaluated whether as a whole it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim only recites additional element - using a computing device, processor, and memory to perform calculating, determining, proposing, setting, recommending, and displaying. The processor, memory, and storage in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of calculating, determining, proposing, setting, recommending, and displaying) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Inventive Concept - No
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. Hence the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230175853 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20210080263 A1) in further view of Penilla (US 20250157472 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches A computing device comprising: (Fig. 3 Information processing device 230)
a processor; and (processor 334)
a memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, ([0069] The processors 314 and 334 may be configured to process the instructions of the computer program by performing basic arithmetic, logic, and input and output operations. The instructions may be provided to the processors 314 and 334 from the memories 312 and 332 or the communication modules 316 and 336. For example, the processors 314 and 334 may be configured to execute the received instructions according to a program code stored in a recording device such as the memories 312 and 332) cause the processor to perform calculating a time required to reach a destination set by a user; ([0010] the outputting the information associated with the selected user navigation route includes: outputting a departure point, one or more stopovers, and a destination associated with the selected user navigation route, metadata associated with the selected user navigation route, and a required time.)
proposing a road trip mode based on the time required to reach the destination ([0093] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a user driving route associated with metadata is searched and selected, and the selected user driving route information is output [0056] The user driving route 136 may include a departure point, a destination, the number of stopovers, a required time, and a recommendation index. ),
recommending a stopover on the set route ([0058] the user terminal 120 may output the user driving route information selected by the user 110, such as “departure point: Seoul”, “first stopover: Mt. Cheonma”, “second stopover: Gapyeong”, “Destination: Chuncheon”, for example)
displaying a detailed information on the set route and the stopover; and ([0106] FIG. 6 illustrates that two stopovers are included in the user driving route information, but aspects are not limited thereto, and the user driving route information may include two or more stopovers. For example, the processor may additionally output an input window for inputting a stopover in response to a user input of touching a stopover add icon 615.)
determining a route including the stopover as a final route in response to an approval of the user on the stopover. ([0123] In operation S1120, in response to a user input of selecting a user driving route from among the one or more user driving routes, the processor may output information associated with the selected user driving route. In this case, the information associated with the selected user driving route may include a departure point, one or more stopovers and a destination associated with the selected user driving route, metadata associated with the driving route, and a required time.)
Kim does not expressly disclose but Zhu discloses determining whether the time exceeds a threshold time, wherein the threshold time is an average of longest daily driving times from driving records of a plurality of users stored in an external server; ([0021] An average total drive time to complete the route is determined based on the plurality of drives. When the ADV drives on the route at a later time, then the ADV can estimate an amount of time left to complete the route, based on difference between a) the average total drive time, and b) the time interval corresponding to the one of the one or more average positions that the ADV is located at)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success by determining an accurate estimated time of arrival as taught by Zhu ([0004]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Penilla discloses a vehicle information indicating a state of a vehicle, a traffic information and a weather information when the time exceeds the threshold time; ([0209] In one embodiment, the information that is provided on the displays can be dynamically set based on the context of the vehicle's state, the user's calendars, the weather, and other factors.)
setting a route based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information when the user decides to switch to the road trip mode; ([0235] In FIG. 16B, the displays are shown to be populated with information obtained by cloud services (or obtained by the vehicle, or obtained by a device of the user in the vehicle, or combinations of two or more thereof). The system may alert the user that an accident is up ahead. The user, based on account information (e.g., history of user, propensity, or likelihood), may usually select to re-route, so the system automatically provides a re-route in the map on the display. [0237] FIG. 16C illustrates example where the user's EV is running low on charge. The system may surface this information the main dash display)
based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information; ([0209] In one embodiment, the information that is provided on the displays can be dynamically set based on the context of the vehicle's state, the user's calendars, the weather, and other factors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Penilla with a reasonable expectation of success by customizing vehicle response to user/driver voice input as taught by Penilla ([0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim does not expressly disclose but Penilla discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the traffic information includes an information on an accident and control sections, an assembly and event information, ( [0235] In FIG. 16B, the displays are shown to be populated with information obtained by cloud services (or obtained by the vehicle, or obtained by a device of the user in the vehicle, or combinations of two or more thereof). The system may alert the user that an accident is up ahead. The user, based on account information (e.g., history of user, propensity, or likelihood), may usually select to re-route, so the system automatically provides a re-route in the map on the display. ) and wherein the traffic information and the weather information are acquired from the external server. ([0215] contextual information that may be viewed may include them on a fuel that remains in the vehicle at the particular time (which is a state of the vehicle, among many different types of states of the vehicle), the day of the week, whether the day of the week of the holiday, information from the personal calendar, historical travel times during the time of day, the time of day, loyalty cards that the user may hold or like, traffic information associated to the current geo-location of the vehicle, the current weather, learned past behavior (when the user likes to stop for coffee), nearby coffee shops (coffee shops being a learned type of good liked by the user), discounts located nearby, discounts located nearby other services that are needed at a particular point in time, and other factors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Penilla with a reasonable expectation of success by customizing vehicle response to user/driver voice input as taught by Penilla ([0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim does not expressly disclose but Penilla discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
determining a section, which is not to be driven, based on the traffic information or the weather information; and ([0235] In FIG. 16B, the displays are shown to be populated with information obtained by cloud services (or obtained by the vehicle, or obtained by a device of the user in the vehicle, or combinations of two or more thereof). The system may alert the user that an accident is up ahead.)
setting the set route by excluding the section. ([0235] The user, based on account information (e.g., history of user, propensity, or likelihood), may usually select to re-route, so the system automatically provides a re-route in the map on the display.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Penilla with a reasonable expectation of success by customizing vehicle response to user/driver voice input as taught by Penilla ([0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
acquiring driving routes of other users with a same driving pattern or a same type of passenger as the user; and ([0119] the subscribing driving route 1014 may refer to one or more driving routes received from another user account subscribed to by the user account. For example, the processor may sort and output one or more driving routes registered by other user accounts (e.g., Cony, Moon) subscribed to by the user account (e.g., Brown) in the latest order. In this case, the subscribing driving routes 1014 may each include information such as a nickname of user account, a departure point, a destination, the number of stopovers, a required time, and a recommendation index. Additionally, in response to a user input of touching a detail view icon of each driving route, the processor may output a user driving route information screen (e.g., 142 of FIG. 1 ) associated with each driving route.)
setting the set route to one of the driving routes of the other users. (Fig. 5 520 [0097] For example, the user driving route 514_1 registered by the user account associated with “Brown” may include information such as “Departure point: Seoul”, “Destination: Chuncheon”, “Number of stopovers: 2”, “Required time: 2 hours 37 minutes”, “Recommended index: ★★★★”, and the like. In response to an input of the metadata search term 512 associated with the user driving route, the processor may sort the one or more user driving routes 514_1, 514_2, 514_3, and 514_4 in the order of the highest recommendation index and output the result. [0103] For example, if the processor receives a user input of touching a driving start icon 528, the processor may provide a driving guidance service for the selected/changed user driving route.)
Regarding claim 9, Kim does not expressly disclose but Penilla discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
identifying an age group of a passenger through a media information in play in the vehicle; and ([0158] In further embodiments, vehicle personality can be refined. For example, the vehicle can have personality attributes. For example, what can change a vehicle personality automatically may vary from user to user and vehicle to vehicle, over time and based on learned behaviors. In one embodiment, user's login or profile information may be used. For instance or in addition, users age, users accent, etc.)
recommending a place corresponding to a category preferred by the age group of the passenger as the stopover on the set route. ([0158] For instance or in addition, users age, users accent, etc. In some embodiments, the vehicle can determine or predict what the user's native language is based on the type of accent, users language, users use of slang, user's level of confusion, user's ability to hear, etc. In some embodiments, the vehicle can conduct a hearing test for automatic calibration of interaction voice. The hearing test can include sound outputs from various speakers, various tones, graphic displays, or combinations thereof. In other embodiments, a user's current region, e.g., part of a country or world can be detected and used to make determinations and/or learn behavior or match behaviors from third parties. [0295] the user data 2410, in one embodiment, may include user settings 2412 made by the user or recommended to users)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Penilla with a reasonable expectation of success by customizing vehicle response to user/driver voice input as taught by Penilla ([0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
identifying a category preferred by the user through past destination setting details; and ([0098] Although not illustrated, in addition to the number of stopovers in each user driving route, the type of the stopover (e.g., cafe, gas station, restaurant), or additional information on the stopover (e.g., sights, food), or the like may be displayed in the form of text, images, or the like)
recommending a place corresponding to the category on the set route as the stopover. ([0097] In response to an input of the metadata search term 512 associated with the user driving route, the processor may sort the one or more user driving routes 514_1, 514_2, 514_3, and 514_4 in the order of the highest recommendation index and output the result.)
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches A road trip stopover recommendation method, which is performed by a computing device, the road trip stopover recommendation method comprising: ([0009] the method further includes transmitting navigation route information to an external device for storage in a database, in response to the user inputting data associated with the navigation route information, the navigation route information including a navigation route and metadata associated with the navigation route, the navigation route including a departure point, one or more stopovers and a destination.)
calculating a time required to reach a destination set by a user; ([0010] the outputting the information associated with the selected user navigation route includes: outputting a departure point, one or more stopovers, and a destination associated with the selected user navigation route, metadata associated with the selected user navigation route, and a required time.)
proposing a road trip mode based on the time required to reach the destination ([0093] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a user driving route associated with metadata is searched and selected, and the selected user driving route information is output [0056] The user driving route 136 may include a departure point, a destination, the number of stopovers, a required time, and a recommendation index. ),
recommending a stopover on the set route([0058] the user terminal 120 may output the user driving route information selected by the user 110, such as “departure point: Seoul”, “first stopover: Mt. Cheonma”, “second stopover: Gapyeong”, “Destination: Chuncheon”, for example)
displaying a detailed information on the set route and the stopover; and ([0106] FIG. 6 illustrates that two stopovers are included in the user driving route information, but aspects are not limited thereto, and the user driving route information may include two or more stopovers. For example, the processor may additionally output an input window for inputting a stopover in response to a user input of touching a stopover add icon 615.)
determining a route including the stopover as a final route in response to an approval of the user on the stopover. ([0123] In operation S1120, in response to a user input of selecting a user driving route from among the one or more user driving routes, the processor may output information associated with the selected user driving route. In this case, the information associated with the selected user driving route may include a departure point, one or more stopovers and a destination associated with the selected user driving route, metadata associated with the driving route, and a required time.)
Kim does not expressly disclose but Zhu discloses determining whether the time exceeds a threshold time, wherein the threshold time is an average of longest daily driving times among driving records of a plurality of users stored in an external server; ([0021] An average total drive time to complete the route is determined based on the plurality of drives. When the ADV drives on the route at a later time, then the ADV can estimate an amount of time left to complete the route, based on difference between a) the average total drive time, and b) the time interval corresponding to the one of the one or more average positions that the ADV is located at)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success by determining an accurate estimated time of arrival as taught by Zhu ([0004]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Penilla discloses a vehicle information indicating a state of a vehicle, a traffic information and a weather information when the time exceeds the threshold time; ([0209] In one embodiment, the information that is provided on the displays can be dynamically set based on the context of the vehicle's state, the user's calendars, the weather, and other factors.)
setting a route based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information when the user decides to switch to the road trip mode; ([0235] In FIG. 16B, the displays are shown to be populated with information obtained by cloud services (or obtained by the vehicle, or obtained by a device of the user in the vehicle, or combinations of two or more thereof). The system may alert the user that an accident is up ahead. The user, based on account information (e.g., history of user, propensity, or likelihood), may usually select to re-route, so the system automatically provides a re-route in the map on the display. [0237] FIG. 16C illustrates example where the user's EV is running low on charge. The system may surface this information the main dash display)
based on the vehicle information, the traffic information and the weather information; ([0209] In one embodiment, the information that is provided on the displays can be dynamically set based on the context of the vehicle's state, the user's calendars, the weather, and other factors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Penilla with a reasonable expectation of success by customizing vehicle response to user/driver voice input as taught by Penilla ([0007]).
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230175853 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20210080263 A1) in further view of Penilla (US 20250157472 A1) in further view of Ren (WO 2023051322 A1) in further view of Divringi (US 20140263677 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches The computing device of claim 1, wherein the vehicle information includes a vehicle position (GPS) information ([0073] the user terminal 210 may further include other components such as a transceiver, a Global Positioning System (GPS) module,), a media information in play ([0064] a Portable Multimedia Player (PMP)), or past destination setting details.([0079] In this case, the one or more user driving routes associated with the metadata search term may refer to driving routes previously stored in a driving route DB 412.)
Kim does not expressly disclose but Penilla discloses a Carpay payment details ([0205] payment services),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Penilla with a reasonable expectation of success by customizing vehicle response to user/driver voice input as taught by Penilla ([0007]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses an information on whether a child lock is activated ([0164] the vehicle activating the child lock on the side of the child safety seat or refusing to open the window on the side of the child safety seat.), an information on whether a seat belt is fastened ([0312] Driver operation data reflects the driver's control of the vehicle. This includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the…seatbelt), a distance to empty (DTE) information indicating a fuel charge amount ([0146] if the vehicle information indicates that the vehicle's fuel level is lower than a third value, the first device outputs a prompt message to remind the user to refuel at a first merchant, or navigates to the first merchant, which is the merchant offering discounts on refueling services as indicated in the coupon information;), an information on whether a wiper is operated ([0312] This includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the…windshield wipers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Divringi discloses a load weight ([0025] a template may include logic causing the server 110 to provide reminders or other information to a requester based on information in a record associated with the tag—for example, a reminder that charges may be incurred if a luggage tag is scanned where the luggage weight is greater than a threshold, e.g. 50 pounds.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Divringi with a reasonable expectation of success by provide reminders to users as taught by Divringi ([0025]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 16, wherein the vehicle information includes a vehicle position (GPS) information ([0073] the user terminal 210 may further include other components such as a transceiver, a Global Positioning System (GPS) module,), a media information in play([0064] a Portable Multimedia Player (PMP)) or past destination setting details. .([0079] In this case, the one or more user driving routes associated with the metadata search term may refer to driving routes previously stored in a driving route DB 412.)
Kim does not expressly disclose but Penilla discloses a Carpay payment details ([0205] payment services),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Penilla with a reasonable expectation of success by customizing vehicle response to user/driver voice input as taught by Penilla ([0007]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses an information on whether a child lock is activated([0164] the vehicle activating the child lock on the side of the child safety seat or refusing to open the window on the side of the child safety seat.), an information on whether a seat belt is fastened, ([0312] Driver operation data reflects the driver's control of the vehicle. This includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the…seatbelt) a distance to empty (DTE) information indicating a fuel charge amount ([0146] if the vehicle information indicates that the vehicle's fuel level is lower than a third value, the first device outputs a prompt message to remind the user to refuel at a first merchant, or navigates to the first merchant, which is the merchant offering discounts on refueling services as indicated in the coupon information;), an information on whether a wiper is operated ([0312] This includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the…windshield wipers),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Divringi discloses a load weight ([0025] a template may include logic causing the server 110 to provide reminders or other information to a requester based on information in a record associated with the tag—for example, a reminder that charges may be incurred if a luggage tag is scanned where the luggage weight is greater than a threshold, e.g. 50 pounds.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Divringi with a reasonable expectation of success by provide reminders to users as taught by Divringi ([0025]).
Claims 4-5, 8, 13, 15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230175853 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20210080263 A1) in further view of Penilla (US 20250157472 A1) in further view of Ren (WO 2023051322 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
determining whether a child lock is turned on; ([0164] the vehicle activating the child lock on the side of the child safety seat)
determining that a child rides in the vehicle when the child lock is turned on; and ([1259] After a child safety seat is installed in vehicle 200, or after vehicle 200 detects that a child is sitting in a child safety seat, vehicle 200 can also perform a series of protective operations, such as automatically unlocking the child lock on the side of the child safety seat and preventing the window on the side of the child safety seat from being opened. This ensures the safety of the 200 children in the vehicle.)
setting the route so that a daily driving distance is less than a threshold distance, wherein the threshold distance is a maximum driving distance allowed with the child present in the vehicle. (Ren [1026] The currently selected maximum travel distance can be filled in by default by the electronic device or selected by the user.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches The computing device of claim 1, wherein the setting the set route includes:
setting the set route so that a total driving time does not exceed the average daily driving time and the stopover is located within the maximum driving time. ([0101] In response to receiving the user input of changing the driving route information, the processor may output the changed user driving route information. Specifically, if the processor receives a user input of touching edit icons 526_1, 526_2, 526_3, and 526_4 for changing a departure point, one or more stopovers, or a destination, the processor may output user driving route information including at least one of the changed departure point, one or more stopovers, or destination. In this case, in order to compare the required times before and after the change, the processor may output a required time of the user driving route before the change and a required time 522 of the user driving route after the change together)
Kim does not expressly disclose but Zhu discloses acquiring an average daily driving time ([0021] An average total drive time to complete the route is determined based on the plurality of drives. When the ADV drives on the route at a later time, then the ADV can estimate an amount of time left to complete the route, based on difference between a) the average total drive time, and b) the time interval corresponding to the one of the one or more average positions that the ADV is located at)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success by determining an accurate estimated time of arrival as taught by Zhu ([0004]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses and a maximum driving time without a stop from the driving records; and ([1026] The currently selected maximum travel distance can be filled in by default by the electronic device or selected by the user.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether seatbelts in seats other than a driver’s seat of the vehicle are fastened; ([1149] Driver operation data reflects the driver's control of the vehicle. For example, it includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the turn signal, windshield wipers, steering wheel, seat belt,)
identifying a number of passengers through a number of the seatbelts fastened when the seatbelts in the seats other than the driver’s seat are fastened; and ([1150] vehicle status can include the number of passengers in the vehicle [1149] Driver operation data reflects the driver's control of the vehicle. For example, it includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the turn signal, windshield wipers, steering wheel, seat belt,)
recommending a place ([0921] For example, electronic device 100 can combine current weather information to recommend indoor parking lots if there is expected to be hail, blizzard, or typhoon, and recommend parking lots at higher altitudes if there is expected to be heavy rain), which is to be used by the number of passengers on the set route, as the stopover. ([1150] vehicle status can include the number of passengers in the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim does not expressly discloses but Ren discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a wiper is operating for more than a threshold time; and ([0312] This includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the turn signal, windshield wipers)
recommending an indoor stopover on the set route by determining that it is raining when the wiper is operating for more than the predetermined threshold time. ([0921] For example, electronic device 100 can combine current weather information to recommend indoor parking lots if there is expected to be hail, blizzard, or typhoon, and recommend parking lots at higher altitudes if there is expected to be heavy rain)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a distance to empty (DTE) is less than a predetermined threshold value, wherein the threshold value is determined based on an amount of fuel required to drive a daily driving distance; and ([0146] if the vehicle information indicates that the vehicle's fuel level is lower than a third value, the first device outputs a prompt message to remind the user to refuel at a first merchant, or navigates to the first merchant, which is the merchant offering discounts on refueling services as indicated in the coupon information;)
recommending a gas station or a charging station on the set route as the stopover when the DTE is less than the predetermined threshold value. ([0236] the vehicle can also be directly navigated to a gas station or charging station for refueling or charging when the vehicle's fuel level or battery level is lower than the fourth value)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 17, wherein the setting the set route includes:
setting the set route so that a total driving time does not exceed the average daily driving time and the stopover is located within the maximum driving time. ([0101] In response to receiving the user input of changing the driving route information, the processor may output the changed user driving route information. Specifically, if the processor receives a user input of touching edit icons 526_1, 526_2, 526_3, and 526_4 for changing a departure point, one or more stopovers, or a destination, the processor may output user driving route information including at least one of the changed departure point, one or more stopovers, or destination. In this case, in order to compare the required times before and after the change, the processor may output a required time of the user driving route before the change and a required time 522 of the user driving route after the change together)
Kim does not expressly disclose but Zhu discloses acquiring an average daily driving time([0021] An average total drive time to complete the route is determined based on the plurality of drives. When the ADV drives on the route at a later time, then the ADV can estimate an amount of time left to complete the route, based on difference between a) the average total drive time, and b) the time interval corresponding to the one of the one or more average positions that the ADV is located at)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success by determining an accurate estimated time of arrival as taught by Zhu ([0004]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses and a maximum driving time without a stop from the driving records; and ([1026] The currently selected maximum travel distance can be filled in by default by the electronic device or selected by the user.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim does not expressly disclose but Ren discloses The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 17, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether seatbelts in seats other than a driver’s seat of the vehicle are fastened; ([1149] Driver operation data reflects the driver's control of the vehicle. For example, it includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the turn signal, windshield wipers, steering wheel, seat belt,)
identifying a number of passengers through a number of the seatbelts fastened when the seatbelts in the seats other than the driver’s seat are fastened; and ([1150] vehicle status can include the number of passengers in the vehicle [1149] Driver operation data reflects the driver's control of the vehicle. For example, it includes data on whether the driver manually turns on the turn signal, windshield wipers, steering wheel, seat belt,)
recommending a place([0921] For example, electronic device 100 can combine current weather information to recommend indoor parking lots if there is expected to be hail, blizzard, or typhoon, and recommend parking lots at higher altitudes if there is expected to be heavy rain), which is to be used by the number of passengers on the set route, as the stopover. ([1150] vehicle status can include the number of passengers in the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Claim 10 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230175853 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20210080263 A1) in further view of Penilla (US 20250157472 A1) in further view of Ren (WO 2023051322 A1) in further view of Watanabe (WO 2018185809 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Kim does not expressly discloses but Ren discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a child lock is turned on; ([0164] the vehicle activating the child lock on the side of the child safety seat)
determining that a child rides in the vehicle when the child lock is turned on; and ([1259] After a child safety seat is installed in vehicle 200, or after vehicle 200 detects that a child is sitting in a child safety seat, vehicle 200 can also perform a series of protective operations, such as automatically unlocking the child lock on the side of the child safety seat and preventing the window on the side of the child safety seat from being opened. This ensures the safety of the 200 children in the vehicle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Kim does not expressly discloses but Watanabe discloses recommending a place related to a child or a place where child access is possible on the set route as the stopover. ( [0019] For example, if the attribute acquired by the acquisition unit 11 is "child," the control unit 12 acquires toilets (Western style), children's play areas, and children's restaurants associated with "child" from the recommendation information as recommended waypoints. The control unit 12 then searches for a route from the departure point to the destination that passes through at least one of the acquired toilets (Western style), children's play areas, and children's restaurants.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Watanabe with a reasonable expectation of success by recommending places associated with children as taught by Watanabe ([0019]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim does not expressly discloses but Ren discloses The road trip stopover recommendation method of claim 17, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether a child lock is turned on; ([0164] the vehicle activating the child lock on the side of the child safety seat)
determining that a child rides in the vehicle when the child lock is turned on; and ([1259] After a child safety seat is installed in vehicle 200, or after vehicle 200 detects that a child is sitting in a child safety seat, vehicle 200 can also perform a series of protective operations, such as automatically unlocking the child lock on the side of the child safety seat and preventing the window on the side of the child safety seat from being opened. This ensures the safety of the 200 children in the vehicle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success by making users travel smarter and more convenient as taught by Ren ([0003]).
Kim does not expressly discloses but Watanabe discloses recommending a place related to a child or a place where child access is possible on the set route as the stopover. ( [0019] For example, if the attribute acquired by the acquisition unit 11 is "child," the control unit 12 acquires toilets (Western style), children's play areas, and children's restaurants associated with "child" from the recommendation information as recommended waypoints. The control unit 12 then searches for a route from the departure point to the destination that passes through at least one of the acquired toilets (Western style), children's play areas, and children's restaurants.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Watanabe with a reasonable expectation of success by recommending places associated with children as taught by Watanabe ([0019]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230175853 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20210080263 A1) in further view of Penilla (US 20250157472 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20090018923 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Kim does not expressly discloses but Chen discloses The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
identifying a product preferred by the user through a Carpay payment details; and ([0082] The process receives transaction data from a user, a user interface, or a transaction site (step 415). Next, the process identifies a set of parameters (step 420). The set of parameters may be based on the transaction data.)
recommending a place related to the product on the set route as the stopover. ([0083] The process generates a recommendation (step 425). The recommendation data is based on the user profile, the incentive policy data, and the set of parameters. Next, the process provides the recommendation to the user (step 430))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success by providing a recommendation regarding a payment as taught by Chen ([0002]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230175853 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20210080263 A1) in further view of Penilla (US 20250157472 A1) in further view of Kudo (US 20090157291 A1 ) in further view of Divringi (US 20140263677 A1)
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches The computing device of claim 1, wherein the recommending the stopover on the set route includes:
determining whether there is a site in past destination setting details of the user; ([0079] the one or more user driving routes associated with the metadata search term may refer to driving routes previously stored in a driving route DB 412.)
when there is a site in the past destination setting details; and ([0079] the one or more user driving routes associated with the metadata search term may refer to driving routes previously stored in a driving route DB 412.)
recommending the site on the set route as the stopover ([0083] the user driving route management unit 410 may determine a recommendation index based on the evaluation score associated with the stopover and store the determined recommendation index in the driving route DB 412.)
Kim does not expressly disclose but Kudo discloses a camping site ([0089] For example, in “campsite A”, only the items illustrated in frame α of FIG. 4 are required when utilized, and therefore the route setting section 209 searches for a route to the “campsite A”. Thereafter, the route setting section 209 provides, by using the display section 207, the user with a guidance for guiding the user to the destination in accordance with the route having been found. Thus, the user is able to visit a destination in which only the currently loaded bags are required when utilized.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Kudo with a reasonable expectation of success by assisting in setting a destination which is necessary for searching for a route as taught by Kudo ([0001]).
Kim does not expressly disclose but Divringi discloses determining whether a weight of luggage loaded in the vehicle is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value ([0025] a template may include logic causing the server 110 to provide reminders or other information to a requester based on information in a record associated with the tag—for example, a reminder that charges may be incurred if a luggage tag is scanned where the luggage weight is greater than a threshold, e.g. 50 pounds.)
when the weight of the luggage is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold value. ([0025] a template may include logic causing the server 110 to provide reminders or other information to a requester based on information in a record associated with the tag—for example, a reminder that charges may be incurred if a luggage tag is scanned where the luggage weight is greater than a threshold, e.g. 50 pounds.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Divringi with a reasonable expectation of success by provide reminders to users as taught by Divringi ([0025]).
Conclusion
/S.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656