DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because all the figures are grainy and difficult to read. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because quite a few numbers in the figures are not defined in the Specification, such as “5500” and “1:20” in Fig. 1 and “1.3” in Fig. 2A (by way of example only, and not an exhaustive list). The numbers should be properly defined in the Specification or removed from the Figures. Further, the drawings would be clearer if they were amended to show the soil in relation to the claimed system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over van den Berg (NL 1006037 C2) and in view of Haran (US 10,736,281 B2).
Referring to claim 1: Van den Berg teaches a cone penetrometer test (CPT) tube 3 (in the translation NPL document - page 3, third full paragraph) comprising:
a forward pointing cone 18 equipped to be pushed into a soil at a controlled rate (Abstract); and
a measurement probe disposed adjacent to the tube and equipped for measuring thermal properties of the soil in which the tube is pushed (page 2, sixth full paragraph; claim 17), wherein the measurement probe is fixed to the tube so as to ensure that the measurement probe can be pushed into the soil together with the tube while the tube and the probe maintain their relative position with reference to each other, and wherein the measurement probe comprises a heat supply portion 11, 11a, 11b and/or a cooling portion.
Van den Berg does not specifically teach a CPT tube comprising a longitudinally extending measurement probe disposed at a fixed distance outside and adjacent to the tube. Haran teaches a test tube comprising:
a forward pointing cone 112 equipped to be pushed into a soil at a controlled rate; and
a longitudinally extending measurement probe 120 disposed at a fixed distance outside and adjacent to the tube (Figs. 5A and 5B) and equipped for measuring thermal properties of the soil in which the tube is pushed (column 5, lines 14-26; column 9, lines 9-22), wherein the longitudinally extending measurement probe is fixed to the tube so as to ensure that the measurement probe can be pushed into the soil together with the tube while the tube and the probe maintain their relative position with reference to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CPT tube taught by van den Berg to include a longitudinally extending measurement probe disposed at a fixed distance outside and adjacent to the tube as taught by Haran with a reasonable expectation of success in order to obtain measurements from the probe when it is directly in contact with the soil, thereby collecting unobstructed data, as opposed to taking measurements from behind a tube housing or outer wall.
While van den Berg teaches tubes 11a, 11b connected to the outside of the CPT tube 3 (Fig. 2) and that outriggers are known (page 3, second full paragraph), and Haran teaches the longitudinally extending measurement probe is fixed to the tube (Figs. 5A and 5B), van den Berg and Haran do not specifically teach the longitudinally extending measurement probe is fixed to the tube with two or more outriggers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tube taught by van den Berg and Haran to include the longitudinally extending measurement probe fixed to the tube with two or more outriggers with a reasonable expectation of success since such a modification would only require a simple substitution of one known element for another (namely, the type of connection) to obtain predictable results.
Referring to claim 2: Van den Berg teaches tubes 11a, 11b extend along at least about 1 meter of the tube (Fig. 1). However, van den Berg and Haran do not specifically teach the longitudinally extending measurement probe extends along at least about 1 meter of the tube. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the longitudinally extending measurement probe taught by van den Berg and Haran to extend along at least about 1 meter of the tube with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Referring to claim 3: Van den Berg teaches the tube and probe are mounted in a driving frame 1. Van den Berg does not specifically teach the driving frame comprising at least one centralizer and guide block for the tube and probe. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving frame taught by van den Berg to include at least one centralizer and guide block for the tube and probe with a reasonable expectation of success since it is well known in the art to use such components to help prevent costly damage to the system.
Referring to claim 4: Van den Berg teaches the driving frame comprises a set of driving rolls (unlabeled circles in Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sidey (US 4,408,481) teaches a CPT tube comprising a cone 16, 18 to be pushed into soil, and a longitudinally extending measurement probe 18 disposed at a fixed distance outside and adjacent the tube (Fig. 3).
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
07 October 2026