DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits of application 18960930.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “centre” should be spelled “center”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12187391. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and fully encompassed by the above patent claims.
Claim 1 is substantially similar in scope and fully encompassed by claim 1 of US 12187391.
Claim 2 is substantially similar in scope and fully encompassed by claim 2 of US 12187391.
Claim 3 is substantially similar in scope and fully encompassed by claim 3 of US 12187391.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Dagher US 20190263477.
Method Claims 9, Dagher discloses a method for assembling a floating wind turbine metal platform [fig. 2] for supporting a wind turbine [16], wherein the method comprises: providing an elongated element by connecting at least one buoyancy element [28] to a first elongated member [30] and a second elongated member [22] parallel to the first elongated member; providing a center hub [32a] connectable to at least three elongated elements [32].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dagher et al, and further in view of Jahnig US 201300197 92.
Claim 10, Dagher discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 9, he does not disclose connecting at least three elongated elements to the center hub and pre-tensioning one first elongated member and a second elongated member using stiffening means connected to said first elongated member and the second elongated member. Jahnig disclose a wind turbine truss system with a center hub and pre-tensioning one first elongated member and a second elongated member using stiffening means connected to said first elongated member and the second elongated member [0017] and fig. 1 and 3. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Dagher with Jahnig in order to increase the stiffness of the truss elements to withstand adverse weather conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Independent claim 11 is novel because prior art does not disclose the limitations of the stiffening plates.
Conclusion
/JOVON E HAYES/Examiner, Art Unit 3615