DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyoshi (US 20170120444 A1) in view of Asada (US 20160151914 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Motoyoshi teaches A robot system comprising: ([0043] FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram showing a robot system)
a robot including a robot arm ([0058] The robot 1 includes a base 11 and a robot arm 10) that includes a plurality of arms and a plurality of joints ([0004] In the robot arm, a plurality of arms (arm members) are coupled via joint parts), the plurality of joints including a proximal end side joint and a distal end side joint positioned on a distal end side of the proximal end side joint ([0055] Further, the base side in FIG. 1 is referred to as “proximal end” or “upstream” and the opposite side (the hand side) is referred to as “distal end” or “downstream”), and
an inertial sensor disposed on an arm that connects the distal end side joint and a joint positioned at a position distal to the distal end side joint, ([0058] the robot 1 includes an inertial sensor 51 (first inertial sensor) and an inertial sensor 52 (second inertial sensor).)
and an acceleration in a direction orthogonal to a central axis of the arm on which the inertial sensor is disposed ([0025] acceleration sensor is used as the first inertial sensor [0077] the fifth arm 16 is rotatable around a fifth rotation axis O5 orthogonal to the center axis direction of the fourth arm 15 (about the fifth rotation axis O5) with respect to the fourth arm 15. The fifth rotation axis O5 is orthogonal to the fourth rotation axis O4. )
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose but Asada discloses the proximal end side joint being configured to allow rotation around a first rotation axis, and the distal end side joint being configured to allow rotation around a second rotation axis, the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis being parallel to each other; ([0010] a first arm which is connected to the base rotatably around a first rotating axis as a rotation center, a second arm which is connected to the first arm rotatably around a second rotating axis, which is an axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis or an axis parallel to the axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis, as a rotation center, )
wherein the inertial sensor detects an angular velocity around an axis parallel to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis (Claim 16 the first inertia sensor is an angular velocity sensor [0012] the angular velocity of the first arm can be detected by the first angular velocity sensor. Since the third rotating axis is parallel to the second rotating axis, the angular velocity of the third arm including the rotation amount of the second arm can be detected by the second angular velocity sensor. Then, it is possible to suppress vibration on the basis of these detection results), and orthogonal to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis. ([0017] Since the third rotating axis and the second rotating axis are orthogonal to the first rotating axis or are parallel to the axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis, even if the posture of the robot changes for example, even if the first arm rotates or the second arm rotates, the detection axis of the angular velocity of the second angular velocity sensor is constant)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Asada with a reasonable expectation of success by suppressing vibration easily and reliably as taught by Asada ([0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Motoyoshi teaches A robot system comprising: ([0043] FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram showing a robot system)
a robot including a robot arm ([0058] The robot 1 includes a base 11 and a robot arm 10)that includes a plurality of arms and a plurality of joints([0004] In the robot arm, a plurality of arms (arm members) are coupled via joint parts), the plurality of joints including a proximal end side joint and a distal end side joint positioned on a distal end side of the proximal end side joint([0055] Further, the base side in FIG. 1 is referred to as “proximal end” or “upstream” and the opposite side (the hand side) is referred to as “distal end” or “downstream”), and
an inertial sensor disposed on an arm that connects a joint positioned at a position distal to the distal end side joint and a joint positioned at a position further distal to the distal end side joint, ([0058] the robot 1 includes an inertial sensor 51 (first inertial sensor) and an inertial sensor 52 (second inertial sensor). [0139] the inertial sensor 53B is provided in the third arm 14 on the more distal end side than the first arm 12 and the second arm 13)
and an acceleration in a direction orthogonal to a central axis of the arm on which the inertial sensor is disposed([0025] acceleration sensor is used as the first inertial sensor [0077] the fifth arm 16 is rotatable around a fifth rotation axis O5 orthogonal to the center axis direction of the fourth arm 15 (about the fifth rotation axis O5) with respect to the fourth arm 15. The fifth rotation axis O5 is orthogonal to the fourth rotation axis O4. )
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose but Asada discloses the proximal end side joint being configured to allow rotation around a first rotation axis, and the distal end side joint being configured to allow rotation around a second rotation axis, the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis being parallel to each other; ([0010] a first arm which is connected to the base rotatably around a first rotating axis as a rotation center, a second arm which is connected to the first arm rotatably around a second rotating axis, which is an axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis or an axis parallel to the axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis, as a rotation center, )
wherein the inertial sensor detects an angular velocity around an axis parallel to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis (Claim 16 the first inertia sensor is an angular velocity sensor [0012] the angular velocity of the first arm can be detected by the first angular velocity sensor. Since the third rotating axis is parallel to the second rotating axis, the angular velocity of the third arm including the rotation amount of the second arm can be detected by the second angular velocity sensor. Then, it is possible to suppress vibration on the basis of these detection results), and orthogonal to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis. ([0017] Since the third rotating axis and the second rotating axis are orthogonal to the first rotating axis or are parallel to the axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis, even if the posture of the robot changes for example, even if the first arm rotates or the second arm rotates, the detection axis of the angular velocity of the second angular velocity sensor is constant)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Asada with a reasonable expectation of success by suppressing vibration easily and reliably as taught by Asada ([0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Motoyoshi teaches A robot system comprising: ([0043] FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram showing a robot system)
a robot including a robot arm([0058] The robot 1 includes a base 11 and a robot arm 10) that includes a plurality of arms and a plurality of joints([0004] In the robot arm, a plurality of arms (arm members) are coupled via joint parts), the plurality of joints including a proximal end side joint and a distal end side joint positioned on a distal end side of the proximal end side joint([0055] Further, the base side in FIG. 1 is referred to as “proximal end” or “upstream” and the opposite side (the hand side) is referred to as “distal end” or “downstream”), and
an inertial sensor disposed on an arm that is positioned between the distal end side joint and a joint positioned on a most distal end side, ([0058] the robot 1 includes an inertial sensor 51 (first inertial sensor) and an inertial sensor 52 (second inertial sensor). [0139] the inertial sensor 53B is provided in the third arm 14 on the more distal end side than the first arm 12 and the second arm 13)
and an acceleration in a direction orthogonal to a central axis of the arm on which the inertial sensor is disposed ([0025] acceleration sensor is used as the first inertial sensor [0077] the fifth arm 16 is rotatable around a fifth rotation axis O5 orthogonal to the center axis direction of the fourth arm 15 (about the fifth rotation axis O5) with respect to the fourth arm 15. The fifth rotation axis O5 is orthogonal to the fourth rotation axis O4. )
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose but Asada discloses the proximal end side joint being configured to allow rotation around a first rotation axis, and the distal end side joint being configured to allow rotation around a second rotation axis, the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis being parallel to each other; ([0010] a first arm which is connected to the base rotatably around a first rotating axis as a rotation center, a second arm which is connected to the first arm rotatably around a second rotating axis, which is an axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis or an axis parallel to the axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis, as a rotation center)
wherein the inertial sensor detects an angular velocity around an axis parallel to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis (Claim 16 the first inertia sensor is an angular velocity sensor [0012] the angular velocity of the first arm can be detected by the first angular velocity sensor. Since the third rotating axis is parallel to the second rotating axis, the angular velocity of the third arm including the rotation amount of the second arm can be detected by the second angular velocity sensor. Then, it is possible to suppress vibration on the basis of these detection results), and orthogonal to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis. ([0017] Since the third rotating axis and the second rotating axis are orthogonal to the first rotating axis or are parallel to the axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis, even if the posture of the robot changes for example, even if the first arm rotates or the second arm rotates, the detection axis of the angular velocity of the second angular velocity sensor is constant)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Asada with a reasonable expectation of success by suppressing vibration easily and reliably as taught by Asada ([0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 1, wherein
the robot includes a base, ([0085] robot 1, the proximal end side of the first arm 12 is attached to the base 11)
the robot arm includes a first arm coupled to the base via a joint that is different from the proximal end side joint and the distal end side joint ([0073] The joint 171 has a mechanism that rotatably supports the first arm 12 coupled to the base 11 with respect to the base 11.), a second arm coupled to the first arm via the proximal end side joint ([0090] the length L1 of the first arm 12 may be regarded as a distance between the distal end surface of first arm 12 and the attachment surface 102 as seen from the axis direction of the second rotation axis O2 and the length L2 of the second arm 13 may be regarded as a distance between the distal end surface of the second arm 13 and the proximal end surface of the second arm 13 as seen from the axis direction of the second rotation axis O2.), and a third arm coupled to the second arm via the distal end side joint, and ([0139] the inertial sensor 53B is provided in the third arm 14 on the more distal end side than the first arm 12 and the second arm 13)
the inertial sensor is disposed on the third arm. ([0126] The inertial sensor 53 is a uniaxial angular velocity sensor provided in the third arm 14 and detecting an angular velocity ω3 about a detection axis α3. )
Regarding claim 5, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 4, wherein the inertial sensor is positioned on a central axis of the third arm in plan view when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the rotation axis and the central axis of the third arm. ([0134] The inertial sensor 53B is a triaxial angular velocity sensor provided in the third arm 14 and detecting angular velocities ω3 x, ω3 y, ω3 z about detection axes α3 x, α3 y, α3 z orthogonal to one another. The inertial sensor 53B is placed so that the detection axis α3 x may be parallel to the third rotation axis O3. )
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose but Asada discloses direction orthogonal to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis ([0017] Since the third rotating axis and the second rotating axis are orthogonal to the first rotating axis or are parallel to the axis orthogonal to the first rotating axis, even if the posture of the robot changes for example, even if the first arm rotates or the second arm rotates, the detection axis of the angular velocity of the second angular velocity sensor is constant)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Asada with a reasonable expectation of success by suppressing vibration easily and reliably as taught by Asada ([0011]).
Regarding claim 6, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 4, wherein the inertial sensor is disposed at an end portion of the third arm on a side opposite to the distal end side joint. (Fig. 9 53B inertial sensor [0139] the inertial sensor 53B is provided in the third arm 14 on the more distal end side than the first arm 12 and the second arm 13)
Regarding claim 11, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 2, wherein
the robot includes a base, ([0085] robot 1, the proximal end side of the first arm 12 is attached to the base 11)
the robot arm includes a first arm coupled to the base via a joint that is different from the proximal end side joint and the distal end side joint ([0073] The joint 171 has a mechanism that rotatably supports the first arm 12 coupled to the base 11 with respect to the base 11.), a second arm coupled to the first arm via the proximal end side joint([0090] the length L1 of the first arm 12 may be regarded as a distance between the distal end surface of first arm 12 and the attachment surface 102 as seen from the axis direction of the second rotation axis O2 and the length L2 of the second arm 13 may be regarded as a distance between the distal end surface of the second arm 13 and the proximal end surface of the second arm 13 as seen from the axis direction of the second rotation axis O2.), a third arm coupled to the second arm via the distal end side joint([0139] the inertial sensor 53B is provided in the third arm 14 on the more distal end side than the first arm 12 and the second arm 13), and a fourth arm coupled to the third arm via a joint that is different from the proximal end side joint and the distal end side joint, ([0067] The fourth arm 15 is connected to the opposite end of the third arm 14 to the end to which the second arm is connected. The fourth arm 15 has a pair of supporting portions 151, 152 opposed to each other. The supporting portions 151, 152 are used for connection to the fifth arm 16.)
the inertial sensor is disposed on the fourth arm, and ([0014] In the robot according to the aspect of the invention, it is preferable that the first inertial sensor is provided in the nth arm.)
the inertial sensor detects angular velocities around two axes that are orthogonal to a rotation axis of the fourth arm and are orthogonal to each other, and accelerations in two axial directions that are orthogonal to the rotation axis of the fourth arm and are orthogonal to each other. ([0025] acceleration sensor is used as the first inertial sensor [0055] Note that, in the specification, the case where two axes “in parallel” with each other includes the case where one axis of the two axes is inclined within a range of 5° or less with respect to the other axis. [0077] the fifth arm 16 is rotatable around a fifth rotation axis O5 orthogonal to the center axis direction of the fourth arm 15 (about the fifth rotation axis O5) with respect to the fourth arm 15. The fifth rotation axis O5 is orthogonal to the fourth rotation axis O4. )
Regarding claim 12, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 11, wherein the inertial sensor is positioned on the rotation axis of the fourth arm. ([0014] In the robot according to the aspect of the invention, it is preferable that the first inertial sensor is provided in the nth arm.)
Regarding claim 13, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 1, wherein
the robot includes a base, ([0085] robot 1, the proximal end side of the first arm 12 is attached to the base 11)
the robot arm includes a first arm coupled to the base via the proximal end side joint, a second arm coupled to the first arm via a joint that is different from the proximal end side joint and the distal end side joint, and a third arm coupled to the second arm via the distal end side joint([0139] the inertial sensor 53B is provided in the third arm 14 on the more distal end side than the first arm 12 and the second arm 13), and
the inertial sensor is disposed on the third arm. ([0126] The inertial sensor 53 is a uniaxial angular velocity sensor provided in the third arm 14 and detecting an angular velocity ω3 about a detection axis α3. )
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyoshi (US 20170120444 A1) in view of Asada (US 20160151914 A1) in further view of Imai (US 20200269419 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 4, wherein
the robot includes a drive source that is disposed inside the third arm and drives the robot arm, and (Fig. 1 [0075] The rotation about the third rotation axis O3 is performed by driving of the third drive source 403. Further, a motor 403M of the third drive source 403 is electrically connected to a motor driver 303 via a cable (not shown) and controlled by a control unit (not shown) via the motor driver 303. Note that the third drive source 403 may be adapted to transmit the drive power from the motor 403M by a reducer (not shown) provided with the motor 403M, or the reducer may be omitted.)
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose but Imai discloses the inertial sensor is disposed so as to be positioned away from the drive source. (Fig. 1 inertial sensor 20 is on the opposite side of the drive unit 26 of the second arm 24)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Imai with a reasonable expectation of success by suppressing the vibration of the arm as taught by Imai ([0061]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyoshi (US 20170120444 A1) in view of Asada (US 20160151914 A1) in further view of Wiegel (US 20230240790 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 4, wherein the inertial sensor is disposed in the third arm. (Fig. 9 53B inertial sensor 14 third arm [0126] The inertial sensor 53 is a uniaxial angular velocity sensor provided in the third arm 14)
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose inside but Wiegel discloses sensor is disposed inside the arm ([0070] The sensor 132 may be integrated internally into the robotic arm 116 or otherwise positioned inside of the robotic arm.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Wiegel with a reasonable expectation of success by determining a precise pose in space of the robotic arm as taught by Wiegel ([0069]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyoshi (US 20170120444 A1) in view of Asada (US 20160151914 A1) in further view of Siewert (US 20140209585 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 8, wherein the inertial sensor is on the third arm. (Fig. 9 53B inertial sensor 14 third arm [0126] The inertial sensor 53 is a uniaxial angular velocity sensor provided in the third arm 14)
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose but Siewert discloses sensor is disposed on a wall portion of the arm(Fig. 5 protective housing 8 [0018] A single-wall protective housing could contain a sensor, if applicable, preferably on the inside of the protective enclosure, for example mounted to the inner surface of the enclosure or the focusing optics.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Siewert with a reasonable expectation of success by facilitating sensor protection from the operating environment as taught by Siewert ([0018]).
Regarding claim 10, Motoyoshi teaches The robot system according to claim 9, wherein the inertial sensor (Fig. 9 53B inertial sensor 14 third arm [0126] The inertial sensor 53 is a uniaxial angular velocity sensor provided in the third arm 14)
Motoyoshi does not expressly disclose but Siewert discloses the wall portion has an inner wall, an outer wall, and a hollow portion positioned between the inner wall and the outer wall, and the sensor is disposed in the hollow portion. (Fig. 5 protective housing 8, hollow space 11 [0018] Provided the protective housing is already of the double-wall type to increase safety an additional sensor can be mounted in the hollow space between the outer and inner walls. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Motoyoshi with the teachings of Siewert with a reasonable expectation of success by facilitating sensor protection from the operating environment as taught by Siewert ([0018]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 6/1/2026 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 102 rejections to the claims should not be maintained in view of “Motoyoshi does not disclose the claimed configuration in which the inertial sensor is disposed on an arm located on the distal end side of two joints respectively configured to allow rotation around the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis, which are parallel to each other.”. However, in view of the amendments a new ground of rejection is above.
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 103 rejections to the claims should not be maintained in view of “None of the other cited references remedy the deficiencies of Motoyoshi discussed above in connection with 35 U.S.C.§102 rejections. For at least this reason, Claims 7, 8, and 9-10 are patentable over the cited references.” However, in view of the amendments a new ground of rejection is above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656