DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 13-21 in the reply filed on 7/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the surface of the substrate core" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13, from which claim 19 depends, does not comprising a surface of a substrate core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lindstrom et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0142956).
Regarding claim 13, Lindstrom et al. teach a porous insulation layer apparatus (page 2, lines [0012]-[0017]) comprising at least one metallic (magnetic) layer (page 3, paragraphs [0030], [0031], [0039], page 8, paragraph [0141]); and at least one ink gapped porous insulation layer embedded in the (magnetic) metallic layer (page 3, paragraph [0030], page 7, paragraphs [0108]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 14, Lindstrom et al. teach wherein the layers form a wire (page 5, paragraphs [0064]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Lindstrom et al. teach wherein the apparatus further comprising a carrier or film operably connected to a surface of the (magnetic) metallic layer (page 8, paragraphs [0131], [0132]).
Regarding claim 16, Lindstrom et al. teach wherein at least one (magnetic) metallic layer contains nickel, titanium, nickel alloys or titanium alloys (page 3, paragraph [0039], page 8, paragraph [0141]).
Regarding claim 17, Lindstrom et al. teach wherein the ink gapped porous insulation layer is composed of SiO-2 (page 3, paragraph [0030], page 12, paragraph [0187]).
Regarding claim 18, Lindstrom et al. teach wherein the embedded ink gapped porous insulation layer does not fully delineate the (magnetic) metallic layer (page 7, paragraphs [0108]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 19, Lindstrom et al. teach wherein the apparatus further comprises a second (magnetic) metallic layer with at least one ink gapped porous insulation layer embedded within, operably connected to the surface opposite the first (magnetic) metallic layer (page 7, paragraphs [0108]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 20, Lindstrom et al. teach wherein the apparatus is a double sided metal clad substrate core, wherein the core is composed of fiberglass (page 5, paragraph [0074], page 7, paragraph [0108]-[0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindstrom et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0142956) in view of Kou et al. (US Patent Application No. 2019/0035523).
Lindstrom et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 21, Lindstrom et al. fail to teach wherein the apparatus further comprises a non-porous form of insulation operably embedded in at least one magnetic layer. However, Kou et al. teach a multilayer structure comprising at least one magnetic metallic layer (page 1, paragraph [0010]) and a non-porous form of insulation operably embedded in at least one magnetic layer (page 1, paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the non-porous form of insulation of Kou et al. in the magnetic material layer of Lindstrom et al. in order to provide low core loss densities, high saturation magnetization, large permeability and integration compatibility (Kou et al., page 1, paragraph [0009]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 10/2/2026