DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues at the beginning of page 8 of Remarks that the RRC layer of the UE in Futaki is responsible for determining which procedures are performed, and thus the behavior of the UE is not controlled by the core network. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is noted that claim partially recites “receiving, by a firs layer of the user”, in accordance with the user device supporting a network slice access stratum group (NSAG) function, a configuration message from a network, the configuration message including NSAG information comprises NSAG IDs, and a priority value,” In fact, Futaki teaches or suggests a non-access stratum (NAS) layer 202, and access stratum (AS) layer 208 as shown in Fig. 2. This teaching reads on a “first layer of the user device”, and a “second layer of the user device” of claim language, respectively. Furthermore, Futaki also discloses in paragraph 0014 that the intended network slice group is indicated to the AS layer of the UE by the NAS layer of the UE. In other words, the intended network slice group that is indicated to the AS layer of the UE must be in accordance with the UE supporting the network slice group because it follows the request to exchange messages with the AS layer of the UE in order to allow the AS layer of the UE to select or reselect cells that supports the intended network slice group.
The Applicant further argues that Starsinic and Da Silva fails to cure the deficiencies of the Futaki. Since the Examiner did not rely on Starsinic and Da Silva for the argued features; thus, this point of arguments is moot.
Base on the above discussion, it should be clear to the Applicant that the Futaki still reads on the amended claim language. Thus, previous rejections are maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 09, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on September 11, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Futaki et al. (hereinafter “Futaki”, US 2024/0292467).
Regarding claim 1, Futaki discloses a method for controlling a user device (i.e., UE 1 as shown in Fig 1 & control plane protocol stack 200 of the UE 1 as shown in Fig. 2), comprising:
receiving, by a first layer of the user device (i.e., NAS layer 202 as shown in Fig. 2 and as described in paragraphs 0066-0068), in accordance with the user device supporting a network slice access stratum group (NSAG) function (i.e., the intended network slice group is indicated to the AS layer of the UE by the NAS layer of the UE as described in paragraphs 0014, 0083, and 0101-0102), a configuration message from a network node (i.e., the first feature configured in the UE 1 by the core network (e.g., AMF) via NAS signaling as described in paragraphs 0085-0086, and 0093-0094), the configuration message including NSAG information (i.e., receiving by the NAS layer 202 the intended network slice groups is specified by a slice group identifier (ID) as described in paragraph 0094), wherein the NSAG information comprises one or more NSAG IDs (i.e., a slice group identifier (ID) as described in paragraphs 0094-0095) and a priority value (i.e., the network slice priority levels as described in paragraphs 0094-0095);
performing, by a second layer of the user device (i.e., AS layer 208 as shown in Fig. 2 and as described in paragraphs 0066 and 0068-0069), a random access procedure in accordance with the NSAG information and a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (i.e., the AS layer 28 performs random access procedure associated with determined feature combination as described in paragraphs 0085-0086, and 0096-0098), wherein the S-NSSAI is associated with a protocol data unit session for which an uplink user data packet is to be sent (i.e., the NAS layer is triggered for an access attempt based on an uplink user data packet to be sent for a PDU session using the suspended user plane resource. The access attempt relates to a particular network slice as described in paragraphs 0085-0086 and 0101).
providing, by the first layer to the second layer (i.e., the NAS layer 202 passes information about a first feature to the AS layer 208 as described in paragraphs 0085-0086 and 0092), information to selectively enable or disable performing the random-access procedure based on priority of one or more network slice groups (i.e., the NAS layer 202 indicates an intended network slice group or a particular network slice priority level to the RRC layer 203 as described in paragraphs 0101-0102, 0108-0109, and 0152).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 15, Futaki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, Futaki also discloses wherein the user device is in 5G Mobility Management (5GMM) connected mode with Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive indication (i.e., the UE is in 5GMM_Connected mode with RRC inactive indication as described in paragraph 0100).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 16, Futaki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, Futakiv also discloses wherein the network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (i.e., AMF as described in paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 7, Futaki discloses a method for a network node, comprising:
sending, by a network node (i.e., AMF), a configuration message to a user device, in accordance with the user device supporting a network slice access stratum group (NSAG) function (i.e., the intended network slice group is indicated to the AS layer of the UE by the NAS layer of the UE as described in paragraphs 0014, 0083, and 0101-0102), the configuration message including NSAG information (i.e., the first feature configured in the UE 1 by the core network (e.g., AMF) via NAS signaling as described in paragraphs 0085-0086, and 0093-0094), wherein the configuration message comprises an indication of whether the user device should enable or disable a random-access procedure (i.e., the NAS layer 202 indicates an intended network slice group or a particular network slice priority level to the RRC layer 203 as described in paragraphs 0101-0102, 0108-0109, and 0152), wherein the NSAG information comprises one or more NSAG IDs (i.e., a slice group identifier (ID) as described in paragraphs 0094-0095) and a priority value (i.e., the network slice priority levels as described in paragraphs 0094-0095), and wherein the NSAG information is used for:
performing, by the network node, the random-access procedure taking into account the NSAG information and a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) in accordance with the configuration message with the user device (i.e., the AS layer 28 performs random access procedure associated with determined feature combination as described in paragraphs 0085-0086, and 0096-0098).
wherein the S-NSSAI is associated with a protocol data unit session for which an uplink user data packet is to be sent (i.e., the NAS layer is triggered for an access attempt based on an uplink user data packet to be sent for a PDU session using the suspended user plane resource. The access attempt relates to a particular network slice as described in paragraphs 0085-0086 and 0101).
Regarding claim 14, Futaki discloses a user device (i.e., UE 1 as shown in Fig 1 & control plane protocol stack 200 of the UE 1 as shown in Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one processor (i.e., baseband processor 1103 & application processor 1104), and at least one memory including computer program code (i.e., memory 1106 including program as described in paragraph 0174-0177), wherein the computer program code is configured to cause the user device, when executed with the at least one processor, to:
receive, by a first layer of the user device (i.e., NAS layer 202 as shown in Fig. 2 and as described in paragraphs 0066-0068), in accordance with the user device supporting a network slice access stratum group (NSAG) function (i.e., the intended network slice group is indicated to the AS layer of the UE by the NAS layer of the UE as described in paragraphs 0014, 0083, and 0101-0102), a configuration message from a network node (i.e., the first feature configured in the UE 1 by the core network (e.g., AMF) via NAS signaling as described in paragraphs 0085-0086, and 0093-0094), the configuration message including NSAG information (i.e., receiving by the NAS layer 202 the intended network slice groups is specified by a slice group identifier (ID) as described in paragraph 0094), wherein the NSAG information comprises one or more NSAG IDs (i.e., a slice group identifier (ID) as described in paragraphs 0094-0095) and a priority value (i.e., the network slice priority levels as described in paragraphs 0094-0095); and
perform, by a second layer of the user device (i.e., AS layer 208 as shown in Fig. 2 and as described in paragraphs 0066 and 0068-0069), a random access procedure in accordance with the NSAG information and a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (i.e., the AS layer 28 performs random access procedure associated with determined feature combination as described in paragraphs 0085-0086, and 0096-0098), wherein the S-NSSAI is associated with a protocol data unit session for which an uplink user data packet is to be sent (i.e., the NAS layer is triggered for an access attempt based on an uplink user data packet to be sent for a PDU session using the suspended user plane resource. The access attempt relates to a particular network slice as described in paragraphs 0085-0086 and 0101); and
providing, by the first layer to the second layer (i.e., the NAS layer 202 passes information about a first feature to the AS layer 208 as described in paragraphs 0085-0086 and 0092), information to selectively enable or disable performing the random-access procedure based on priority of one or more network slice groups (i.e., the NAS layer 202 indicates an intended network slice group or a particular network slice priority level to the RRC layer 203 as described in paragraphs 0101-0102, 0108-0109, and 0152).
Regarding claim 20, Futaki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Futaki also discloses wherein the NSAG information further comprises an indication of whether the user device should enable or disable the random-access procedure (i.e., Note: Implicit indication to enable by presence of NSAG priority information for NSAGs provided in NASG information and implicit to disable by absence of NSAG priority information for NSAGs provided in NASG information. Since the first feature indicates one or more network slice priority levels as described in paragraph 0095, it means that the random access is enabled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 10-11, 13, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of Starsinic et al. (hereinafter “Starsinic”, US 2024/0381240).
Regarding claims 4, and 17, Futaki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Starsinic discloses methods, architectures, apparatuses and systems for supporting network slicing serving area. Starsinic also discloses setting, by the user device, a NSAG bit showing the ability of the user device to support a NSAG function (i.e., the WRTU 102 sends a Registration Request to an AMF 182 indicating that the WTRU is capable of receiving and understanding the contents of an Information Element that contains SSSA information as described in paragraph 0128).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to register with a network as desired.
Regarding claim 10, Futaki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Starsinic discloses methods, architectures, apparatuses and systems for supporting network slicing serving area. Starsinic also discloses receiving, from the user device, a NSAG bit showing the ability of the user device to support a NSAG function (i.e., the WRTU 102 sends a Registration Request to an AMF 182 indicating that the WTRU is capable of receiving and understanding the contents of an Information Element that contains SSSA information as described in paragraph 0128).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to register with a network as desired.
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 18, Futaki and Starsinic disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Starsinic also discloses wherein the NSAG bit is in the 5GMM capability information element (IE) of a registration request message (i.e., the SSSA information support indication is encoded in an Information Element such as a UE 5GMM Core Network Capability Information Element as described in paragraph 0128).
Regarding claim 13, Futaki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Starsinic discloses methods, architectures, apparatuses and systems for supporting network slicing serving area. Starsinic also discloses wherein the network node sends the NSAG information in a configuration update command message or in a registration accept message (i.e., the WTRU receives a Registration Accept message from the network entity as described in paragraph 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to register with a network as desired.
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of Da Silva et al. (hereinafter “Da Silva”, US 2020/0314700).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 19, Futaki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Da Silva discloses resume request followed by release and redirect. Da Silva also discloses wherein an uplink user data packet is to be sent with suspended user-plane resources (i.e., an uplink user data packet to be sent for a PDU session with suspended user-plane resource as described on page 14 of the Specification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to indicate that the UE has transitioned to inactive state.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644