DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power et al (US# 2004/0251586) in view of Izumi et al (US# 4667943).
Power et al disclose a method including; press-fitting a rubber bushing 30’ into an outer pipe 100/102 ([0048] the isolator is inserted with frictional force, indicating a degree of press-fit); and press-fitting an inner pipe 44/44’ having a radius greater than a radius of an expansion pipe 42a/42b/42a’/42b’ into the expansion pipe to expand the expansion pipe. Power et al further disclose molding the rubber bushing on the pipes [0042]. Power et al lack the disclosure of disposing a middle pipe coaxially with and outside of the expansion pipe 42a/42b/42a’/42b’; and molding the rubber bushing 30/30’ on the middle pipe to surround the middle pipe 42a/42b/42a’/42b’. Specifically, Power et al lack a middle pipe as claimed. Izumi et al disclose a similar bushing and further teach the addition of an intermediate sleeve 12 to provide a harder spring characteristic in the radial direction (col. 2, lines 26-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a middle pipe/intermediate sleeve, such as taught by Izumi et al, in the device of Power et al to provide greater radial rigidity, thereby improving performance in applications receiving high radial load.
Regarding claim 3, the expansion pipe 42a/42b/42a’42b’ comprises a plurality of first pipe portions 66a/66b and a plurality of second pipe portions 68a/68b alternately disposed in a circumferential direction thereof, wherein a first distance from a circumferential center of each of the plurality of first pipe portions 66a/66b to a radial center of the outer pipe is smaller than a second distance from a circumferential center of each of the plurality of second pipe portions 68a/68b to the radial center of the outer pipe. Figure 2.
Regarding claim 4, Power et al shows the radius of the inner pipe 44 is greater than the first distance. Figures 4-5 or 11-14.
Regarding claim 5, the radius of the inner pipe 44 is smaller than the second distance. Figure 2.
Regarding claim 6, the rubber bushing has a plurality of voids 90/92 configured to extend in an axial direction thereof, and the plurality of voids is located on the same line as the plurality of second pipe portions 68a/68b in a radial direction of the outer pipe. Figure 2.
Regarding claim 9, Power et al disclose a bushing mount, comprising: an expansion pipe 42a/42b/42a’/42b’; an inner pipe 44/44’ configured to have a radius greater than a radius of the expansion pipe and press-fitted into the expansion pipe; and a molded rubber bushing 22/30/22’/30’ press-fitted into an outer pipe [0048]. Power et al lack a middle pipe arranged coaxially with the expansion pipe and disposed outside the expansion pipe. Specifically, Power et al lack a middle pipe as claimed. Izumi et al disclose a similar bushing and further teach the addition of an intermediate sleeve 12 to provide a harder spring characteristic in the radial direction (col. 2, lines 26-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a middle pipe/intermediate sleeve, such as taught by Izumi et al, in the device of Power et al to provide greater radial rigidity, thereby improving performance in applications receiving high radial load.
Regarding claim 10, the inner pipe 44 has a hollow cylindrical structure 76.
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power et al (US# 2004/0251586) and Izumi et al (US# 4667943), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Buhl et al (US# 2005/0153781).
Power et al and Izumi et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the further comprising swaging the outer pipe configured such that the rubber bushing is press-fitted thereinto. Power et al disclose an outer pipe 22 having a rubber bushing 30 therein, but lack the disclosure of swaging the outer pipe on the bushing. Buhl et al disclose a similar device and further teach swaging and outer pipe 7 (compressing the outer sleeve 7 with pressing jaws [0050]) to calibrate the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swage the outer pipe 22 of Power et al, as taught by Buhl et al, to calibrate the device and ensure the proper preload or press-in force for the desired spring characteristics.
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power et al (US# 2004/0251586) and Izumi et al (US# 4667943), as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Kato et al (US# 2017/0152907) or Kuroi et al (US# 2017/0138429).
Power et al and Izumi et al disclose all the limitation of the instant claims with exception to the specific disclosure of a wedge portion being provided at one end of the inner pipe, and the wedge portion is formed to be tapered based on an axial center of the inner pipe. Kato et al disclose a spring connection using a wedge portion 21a to guide the elements during assembly [0044]. Kuroi et al disclose a bushing and further teach a wedge portion (beveled surface of 90 interacting with guide surface 54, adjacent #80 in figure 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a wedge portion, such as taught by Kato et al or Kuroi et al, on the inner pipe 44 of Power et al to guide and assist the insertion of the pipe 44 into the expansion pipe 42a/42b, thereby facilitating assembly.
Regarding claim 8, both Kato et al and Kuroi et al teach a minimum radius of the wedge portion is smaller than the radius of the opening the element is inserted in.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK