DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a fluid transfer device” in claim 1;
“a control unit” in claim 1;
After reviewing the specification, the fluid transfer device appears to be drawn to a heater/PTC heater, or known equivalents, per paragraph [0074], and the control unit appears to be drawn to a controller, or known equivalents, per paragraphs [0049] and [0057].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FOR1 (KR1020230146382).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, FOR1 teaches a vehicle thermal management system (see Title, claim 1) comprising:
a fluid transfer device configured to perform a cooling or heating function for interior air conditioning of a vehicle with electric power (see the air conditioning system noted in the Description, “The vehicle's air conditioning control system includes components such as a compressor, condenser, expansion valve, and evaporator. Additionally, a cooling fan that moves air around the condenser, a blower that moves air around the evaporator, and an inside and outside device that introduces outside air. A airway door, a heater (for example, a PTC heater) that warms the air passing through the evaporator, and a temp door that controls the air flow rate toward the electric heater may be further included”); and
a control unit configured to control the fluid transfer device based on an optimal control value obtained by reflecting air conditioning target tracking performance and energy consumption for air conditioning target tracking (see Abstract, “a controller which receives target temperature and sensor values and determines optimal control variables based on a cost function that reflects tracking performance and energy consumption for tracking the input target temperature using a control model; and a plant which receives control variables determined by the controller and operates to cool or heat the interior of a vehicle based on the received control variables”),
wherein proportions of the air conditioning target tracking performance and the energy consumption for the air conditioning target tracking reflected in the optimal control value vary based on an input optimal control setting value (“The controller 100 according to the present invention is a model-based predictive optimal control (MPC), which is a current control that minimizes the cost function reflecting energy consumption and followability in a time window consisting of a distant future from the present time. Output the variable (u0) and repeat the calculation in a new time window at the next time point to set the optimal control variable”).
Regarding claim 16, FOR1 teaches the vehicle thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to determine a control value that minimizes a cost function for a preset prediction range as the optimal control value (see Abstract, MPC noted in the Description), and the cost function reflects a state cost having a first weight for the air conditioning target tracking performance and a control input cost having a second weight for the energy consumption for the air conditioning target tracking (see Description, “The plant 200 is a compressor that compresses and discharges the introduced refrigerant, and in the step (S20) of determining the optimal control variable, constraints on the flow rate of the refrigerant according to the highest or lowest rotational speed of the compressor are satisfied. It can be determined by the control variable. The plant 200 is a cooling fan that flows air around a compressor or condenser that compresses and discharges the introduced refrigerant, and in the step of determining the optimal control variable (S20), the cost function is the power consumption of the compressor or cooling. It can reflect the power consumption of the fan”).
Regarding claim 17, FOR1 teaches the vehicle thermal management system of claim 16, wherein the first weight and the second weight vary based on the optimal control setting value, and as the first weight increases, the proportion of the air conditioning target tracking performance reflected in the optimal control value increases, and as the second weight increases, the proportion of the air conditioning target tracking reflected in the optimal control value increases (see Description, “The plant 200 is a compressor that compresses and discharges the introduced refrigerant, and in the step (S20) of determining the optimal control variable, constraints on the flow rate of the refrigerant according to the highest or lowest rotational speed of the compressor are satisfied. It can be determined by the control variable. The plant 200 is a cooling fan that flows air around a compressor or condenser that compresses and discharges the introduced refrigerant, and in the step of determining the optimal control variable (S20), the cost function is the power consumption of the compressor or cooling. It can reflect the power consumption of the fan”).
Regarding claim 18, FOR1 teaches the vehicle thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to derive the optimal control value using a control model for a predictive state value according to a current state value (see Description, “The controller 100 according to the present invention is a model-based predictive optimal control (MPC), which is a current control that minimizes the cost function reflecting energy consumption and followability in a time window consisting of a distant future from the present time. Output the variable (u0) and repeat the calculation in a new time window at the next time point to set the optimal control variable”).
Regarding claim 19, FOR1 teaches the vehicle thermal management system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to store the optimal control setting value and derive the optimal control value based on the stored optimal control setting value (see Description, “Controller 100 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention includes a non-volatile memory (not shown) configured to store data regarding algorithms configured to control the operation of various components of the vehicle or software instructions that reproduce the algorithms, and It may be implemented through a processor (not shown) configured to perform the operations described below using data stored in the corresponding memory”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 in view of Hadano (US 2022/0234421).
Regarding claim 20, FOR1 teaches the vehicle thermal management system of claim 1, but does not teach an interface unit configured to receive the optimal control setting value from a user, and to transmit the received optimal control setting value to the control unit.
Hadano teaches a vehicle air conditioning system which features a user interface for setting temperature (Hadano, paragraph [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 with an interface unit for setting values from a user, as taught by Hadano, in order to provide greater user interactivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763