DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 9, 12-15, 18, and 20-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,179,091 (hereinafter ‘091). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 teaches all of the limitations of Claims 1, and 21-22 of the present application as well as additional limitations as described in the mapping below. Claim 1 is considered representative of Claims 1, 21-22.
Present Application (Claim 1)
US 12,179,091 (Claim 1)
A computer-based system for creating a digital content set comprising: at least one computer readable non-transitory memory storing software instructions and storing a digital encounter block set in a first computer-readable non-transitory memory, wherein each encounter block in the digital encounter block set comprises multiple edges that define attribute characteristics of a corresponding encounter block;
A digital content creation system, comprising: a first memory storing an encounter block set, a content block set,
form an aggregated set of encounter blocks that are neighboring one another, wherein each encounter block in the encounter block set comprises multiple edges that define attribute characteristics of the corresponding encounter block;
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and that executes the
following operations upon execution of the software instructions;
obtaining at least a subset of the digital encounter block set representing a
selection of encounter blocks;
a processor; and a second memory storing instructions for execution by the processor that, when executed, cause the processor to: receive real-world location data via the sensor data receiver, the real-world location data corresponding to a physical location; select one or more encounter blocks from the encounter block set
forming, in the at least one memory, an aggregated set of encounter blocks from
the at least the subset of the digital encounter block set and each encounter
block of the aggregated set placed next to one or more neighboring blocks;
form an aggregated set of encounter blocks that are neighboring one another, wherein each encounter block in the encounter block set comprises multiple edges that define attribute characteristics of the corresponding encounter block;
validating the aggregated set of encounter blocks thereby ensuring neighboring
blocks in the aggregated set of encounter blocks comprise complimentary
edges that mate together based on the attribute characteristics of the
neighboring blocks; and
validate the aggregated set of encounter blocks to ensure that neighboring tiles in the aggregated set of encounter blocks comprise complimentary edges that mate together based on the attribute characteristics of the neighboring tiles;
enabling a mobile device to render the aggregated set of encounter blocks based at
least on a real-world location of the mobile device.
display, on the display screen and in response to the validation, the one or more encounter blocks from the encounter block set and the aggregated set of encounter blocks;
select one or more encounter blocks from the encounter block set based on a combination of the real-world location data and the user data
Dependent claim 2 of the present application is taught by Claim 1 of ‘091 which teaches selecting blocks based on “real-world location data and user data.”
Dependent Claims 3 of the present application is taught by Claims 2-3 of ‘091.
Dependent Claims 9, 18, and 20 of the present application is taught by Claim 1 of ‘091 which teaches selecting the encounter blocks based on the real-world location data.
Dependent Claims 12-15 of the present application are taught by Claim 6 of ‘091.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12,179,091 (hereinafter ‘091) in view of Pokemongohub.net webpage “S2 cells and Pokemon GO” (hereinafter Gohub) describing functionality of the Pokemon Go game software. Claim 1 of ‘091 teaches determining a real-world location of a mobile device, Gohub teaches the missing limitations of determining a game location via a S2 cell identifier as described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify ‘091 with Gohub for similar reasons as described below.
Claims 5-7, 16-17 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12,179,091 (hereinafter ‘091) in view of Davis et al. US 2016/0016083. Davis et al. teaches the missing limitations for Claims 5-7 (Par. 66, 142, 145), 16-17 (Par. 157-159), and 19 (Par. 10 and 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify ‘091 with Davis et al. for similar reasons as described below.
Claims 8, 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12,179,091 (hereinafter ‘091) in view of Jornow, US 2015/0290543.
Jornow teaches the missing limitations for Claim 8 and 11 as described below (Par. 230 and 237). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify ‘091 with the teachings of Jornow in order to increase the verisimilitude of the location based game environment by having it better visually match the real world location, such as having a real world forest or park be represented in game.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jornow, US 2015/0290543.
In Reference to Claim 1 and 21-22
Jornow teaches anon-transitory computer readable medium, method and computer-based system for creating a digital content set comprising at least one computer readable non-transitory memory storing software instructions (Fig. 3, 9 and Par. 60, 69, 85, 124-126, see also Par. 251 “The tile data store may be stored on local disk and/or a content delivery network.”), and storing a digital encounter block set in a first computer-readable non-transitory memory (Par. 152 and 156-160 which teaches storage of map tiles for use with a game. Fig. 5 and 17 which teaches where players move to designations in the game based on the map tiles, thus the map tiles constitute “encounter blocks”. See also Par. 157-160 “memory” and “disk” and Par. 251 “local disk”), wherein each encounter block in the digital encounter block set comprises multiple edges that define attribute characteristics of a corresponding encounter block (Fig. 14, Par. 42-43, and 248-249 which teach edge nodes describing features on the edge of tiles and how adjacent tiles are matched on the basis of edge node features. See Par. 237 and 240 which teach where the tiles have multiple “edges” that are traversed in a direction to be analyzed) ; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and that executes the following operations upon execution of the software instructions (Par. 60, 69, 85, 124-126); obtaining at least a subset of the digital encounter block set representing a selection of encounter blocks (Fig. 1-3 and 11-12 see also Par. 128-132, 145-147 which teaches a game obtaining map tiles based on user position data. See also Par. 60 and 235 which teach obtaining adjacent or neighboring tiles); forming, in the at least one memory, an aggregated set of encounter blocks from the at least the subset of the digital encounter block set and each encounter block of the aggregated set placed next to one or more neighboring blocks (Fig. 2 and Par. 134-139 which teach when a use approaches the edge of a map tile determining the adjacent map tile near the user location and placing the adjacent tile for display to the user. See also Fig. 14 and Par. 60, 130, 235-237 which teach determination of adjacent tiles); validating the aggregated set of encounter blocks thereby ensuring neighboring blocks in the aggregated set of encounter blocks comprise complimentary selection edges that mate together based on the attribute characteristics of the neighboring blocks (Fig. 11, 14 and 230-240 which teach processing of the map tiles to identify filter them to game features on the map tiles and to identify and match “gateway node” features to allow game functionality by the user across the adjacent edges of neighboring map tiles. Examiner considers this analysis and “logically matching” of map features to ensure game functionality to constitute “validating the aggregate set of encounter blocks” to ensure the blocks have “complimentary edges that mate together based on the attribute characteristics of the neighboring blocks.”); and enabling a mobile device to render the aggregated set of encounter blocks based at least on a real-world location of the mobile device (Fig. 2 and Par. 134-143 which teaches displaying game map information on a user device on the basis of the determined location of the user device. See Par. 127-128 which teaches that this is based on a real world location of a user’s mobile device determined via, for example, GPS. See also Par. 87-88).
In Reference to Claim 2
Jornow teaches where the selection of encounter blocks represents a creator selected selection (Fig. 2 and Par. 134-144, and Par. 155-160 which teach a normal mode for automatically providing map tiles to the user on the basis of user device location).
In Reference to Claim 3
Jornow teaches wherein the creator select selection comprises a game player selected selection (Fig. 2 and Par. 134-144 which teaches where the provision of new map data is based on the user’s movement of their game device which constitutes a game player selected selection since their physical movement to a new map tile with dictate selection of that map tile. See also Fig. 7 and Par. 191-193 where alternatively the user can play in a “non-proximity” where they select a map location from available maps such as previously visited maps).
In Reference to Claim 5
Jornow teaches wherein the real-world location comprises at least one of the following: a real-world coordinate, a longitude, a latitude, a zip code, a street crossing, a relative position, an orientation, and vSLAM data (Par. 128 which teaches determining coordinate information from satellite based position which examiner considers at least a relative position).
In Reference to Claim 6
Jornow teaches wherein the real-world location comprises a boundary comprising a vector storing coordinates (Par. 128 and 131 “The determination may comprise determining if the coordinates of the user device fall in the range of any of the tiles.” See also Par. 243 “vector format”).
In Reference to Claim 8
Jornow teaches where the real-world location comprises a biome (Par. 230 “streets and rivers, and areas such as forests, parks and lakes” see also Par. 237 “Examples of typical gateway features would be roads, lakes roads etc.”).
In Reference to Claim 9
Jornow teaches wherein the aggregated set of encounter blocks comprises an arrangement of encounter blocks (Fig. 14 and 235-239 where map tiles are arranged along adjacent edges).
In Reference to Claim 10
Jornow teaches wherein the arrangement is based on a template (Fig. 14 and 235-239 where map tiles are arranged along adjacent edges, and where shared features are matched. See also Par. 130 which teaches that map tiles can optionally include a region of overlap between adjacent tiles over the geographic area).
In Reference to Claim 11
Jornow teaches wherein the aggregated set of encounter blocks is based, at least in part, on real-world features obtained through a computer-based mapping service (Par. 230 – 237 which teaches obtaining map data and game features derive from the map data from a source such as “Open Street map data.” See also Par. 242 “Google”).
In Reference to Claim 18
Jornow teaches where the aggregated set of encounter blocks comprises game content anchored at the real-world location (Fig. 2 and Par. 134-144. See also Par. 229-242 which teaches obtaining map tiles and game features such as roads for the game by processing real-world map data).
In Reference to Claim 20
Jornow teaches wherein at least one encounter block of the aggregate set is bound to a physical real-world object (Fig. 2 and Par. 134-144. See also Par. 229-242 which teaches obtaining map tiles and game features such as roads for the game by processing real-world map data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jornow, US 2015/0290543, in view of Pokemongohub.net webpage “S2 cells and Pokemon GO” (hereinafter Gohub) describing functionality of the Pokemon Go game software.
In Reference to Claim 4
Jornow teaches where the real-world location comprises identifying a map tail where a user device is located based on an identifier (Par. 131) and teaches obtaining map data from various suitable sources (Par. 230). However, Jornow does not teach where the real-world location identifier comprises an S2 cell identifier.
Gohub teaches a game system where real-world location used for the game comprises an S2 cell identifier (Page 1 “S2 cells are a fundamental part of Pokémon GO’s game design and interaction. Pokemon Go, like Ingress, uses S2 cells to divide the surface area of the Earth into regions of flexible size.” And Page 2 “The ability to approximate regions as collections of discrete “S2 cells”. This feature makes it easy to build game features that depend on the concept of region, such as EX Raid events, Pokémon caught location, etc.,” “Algorithms for measuring distances and finding nearby objects,” and “Geometric shapes over the unit sphere, such as spherical caps (“discs”), latitude-longitude rectangles, polylines, and polygons.” See also Page 4 “Level 20 cells are used to generate Pokémon spawns. A Pokémon can only spawn in the center of a Level 20 S2 cell, as visualized on the picture below.”).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Jornow to utilize S2 Cell identifiers for defining real-world location in relation to map data as taught by Gohub in order to easily build game features that depend on various defined sizes regions on a map as taught by Gohub.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to use S2 Cell identifiers for defining real-world location in relation to map data.
Claims 7, 12-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jornow, US 2015/0290543, in view of Davis et al., US 2016/0016083.
In Reference to Claim 7
Jornow teaches a system as described above in reference to Claim 6. However, Jornow does not explicitly teach where the coordinates are at least one of a longitude and a latitude coordinate.
Davis et al. teaches a location based gaming system which teaches determining a players location within a game zone based on longitude and latitude coordinates (Par. 66, 142, 145).
It would be desirable to modify the system to use latitude and longitude coordinates as taught by Davis et al. in order to use a standardized mapping coordinate system which is readily understandable by players for determining locations, so that players better understand the relationship of game world locations to real world locations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system to use latitude and longitude coordinates as taught by Davis et al.
In Reference to Claim 12
Jornow teaches where at least one encounter block has location based game activities (See for example Fig. 17). However, Jornow does not explicitly teach where at least one encounter block comprises at least one challenge criterion.
Davis et al. teaches a location based game where at least one encounter block comprises at least one challenge criterion (Fig. 3, Par. 61-68, and Par. 78-82 which teaches where region on the map can constitute “battle zone” where players fight for particular locations. See also Par. 148-140 which teaches “Sponsored Battlegrounds” at particular map locations such as stores).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Jornow to include challenge criterion in map zones as taught by Davis et al. to increase the enjoyment and excitement of players by allowing them to participate in competitive or combat style activities in game in order to demonstrate their achievement in game for players who enjoy more combative or adversarial gameplay common in video games (See Davis et al. Par. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Jornow to include challenge criterion in map zones as taught by Davis et al.
In Reference to Claim 13
Jornow as modified by Davis et al. teaches wherein the at least one challenge criterion represents an in-game challenge (Davis et al. Fig. 1, Par. 61-68, and Par. 78-82).
In Reference to Claim 14
Jornow as modified by Davis et al. teaches wherein the at least one challenge criterion represents a real-world challenge (Par. 26 “this invention allows players to make population centers (cities, towns, villages, and neighborhoods) the primary objective of a game, whereby players are fighting in the game to capture and maintain control of their hometown, the places they visit, and the nearby cities and town, with the restriction that battling for such places can only be done while the player is with physical proximity of the location, with a distance as determined by their GPS coordinates and the game play rules.” See also Par. 148 “Certain battlegrounds may be sponsored by retailers, conferences, concerts and other businesses. These sponsored battlegrounds are specific locations (e.g. a Best Buy store) where players can get special abilities or achievements for playing on site. These can be solely location-based, or they can be a weapons cache, where users must scan a specific item before receiving their reward. In some examples, a sponsor may have a semi-temporary point of interest on the game map, driving players to physical location in the real world, which in turn will give the player a game benefit while visiting that location.”).
In Reference to Claim 15
Jornow as modified by Davis et al. teaches where the real-world challenge is satisfied based on sensor data from the mobile device (Par. 26 “GPS” and 157 “GPS sensor” and Par. 26 and 148 which teaches where players can only engage in certain challenges by being in physical proximity).
In Reference to Claim 16 and 17
Jornow teaches a location based game with an aggregated set of encounter blocks (See above in reference to Claim 1) which includes building or structure construction based content (Fig. 8 and Par. 194-209 and 219 including where the building data is including in the “dynamic game data” for the map tiles managed by the game server). However, Jornow does not explicitly teach where the location based game content includes augmented reality content or where the location based game content includes mixed reality based content.
Davis et al. teaches a location based game with building or structure construction based content in game where the content is augmented reality content and mixed reality content (Par. 157-159 where examiner considers the augmented reality structure and rendering a “three-dimensional drawing of the structure overlaying the real world images on the phone” to constitute both augmented reality and mixed reality based content).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Jornow to include augmented reality and mixed reality based content as taught by Davis et al. to increase the enjoyment of the players by “further bring the game into the real world through augmented reality” as taught by Davis et al.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Jornow to include augmented reality and mixed reality based content as taught by Davis et al.
In Reference to Claim 19
Jornow teaches a system as described above in reference to claim 1 including where user device are mobile devices. However, Jornow does not explicitly teach where the mobile device is a smartphone.
Davis et al. teaches a location based game where the user device for playing the game is a smartphone (Par. 10 and 27).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Jornow to allow players to use smartphones as their mobile device as taught by Davis et al. in order to allow players to participate using the mobile device most commonly owned and carried by most people, that is a smartphone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Jornow to allow players to use smartphones as their mobile device as taught by Davis et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dugan, US 2012/0252580, teaches a location-aware game system which enables a user access a particular game level based on a real-world location of their mobile device (Par. 54). Brenner, US 2020/0298111, teaches a tiles based system for generation of a game world where certain characteristics are defined for the tiles which restrict which tiles can be placed adjected to them (Fig. 7). Doak et al. teaches a system which constructs a virtual environment from blocks and validates the construction of the environment (Par. 18 and Par. 146-147).
/CARL V LARSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3715