DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph to Claims 1-20 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment filed on 04/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The proposed amendment to independent claims 1, 11 and 21 does not overcome a 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. Even with the added weighting, ratios, overlapping metrics, and mental-state determination, the claims are still directed to an abstract idea of collecting data, analyzing data using mathematical relationships, classifying, recommending content and does not add a technological improvement sufficient to satisfy Step 2A Prong Two or Step 2B.
The amendments add more math, more data analysis, and more classification logic, but no technological improvement to sensors, signal processing, device operation, or computer functionality.
Step 2A, Prong One still recites an abstract idea. The core steps remain: capturing biometric data, accessing a table of parameters, comparing data using weights and ratios, computing overlapping metrics, classifying the user into a mental state and recommending media. These fall into two recognized abstract idea categories: Mental processes where humans can conceptually compare biometric indicators to known mental-state parameters and classify mood. Mathematical concepts of using ratios, weights, overlapping metrics and Methods of organizing human activity by tailoring content recommendations. Adding weights and ratios does not change the nature of the idea; it just adds more math, which the USPTO explicitly treats as an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two still recites no practical application. The claim still uses generic components: control circuitry associated with a user device, capturing, accessing, comparing, computing, determining and generating for display. There is no improvement to: sensor technology, biometric signal processing, device architecture, data structure, recommendation algorithms, computer performance. The claim uses a computer as a tool to execute the abstract idea, not to improve the computer itself.
Step 2B still recites no inventive concept. The added limitations (weights, ratios, overlapping metrics) are mathematical operations, routine data analysis, conventional classification logic. Courts repeatedly hold that: “Applying weights, scoring, ranking, or classification metrics does not supply an inventive concept.” Nothing in the claim is unconventional, non-routine, or tied to a specific technological improvement.
The amendment tries to add complexity, but not technology. To overcome the 101 rejection, Applicant needs one of the following supported by the specification: a specific improvement to biometric sensing, a specific improvement to mental-state detection technology, a specific improvement to recommendation-system architecture, a non-generic data structure, a non-generic algorithm tied to hardware constraints etc.
Claim 2-5, 7-10, 12-15, 17-20 do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because they are merely additional insignificant extra-solution activities/steps for processing information and are essentially part of the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0314645) in view of Newell et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0264182).
Regarding claim 1, Everett et al. discloses a method comprising:
capturing a set of biometric and physiological characteristics of a user while a media asset is being generated for display (see paragraph 0021, 0026, 0034; viewers wearing monitoring devices transmitting pulse rate, temperature, blood pressure, and camera 185 capturing facial expressions during presentation of a TV program);
comparing the set of biometric and physiological characteristics of the user to the stored biometric and physiological parameters associated with the plurality of mental states (see paragraph 0027; comparing emotional data (heart rate, facial expression) with expected emotional responses).
However, Everett et al. is silent as to accessing a data table storing biometric and physiological parameters respectively associated with a plurality of mental states; based at least in part on the comparing, computing a respective overlapping metric for each mental state of the plurality of mental states; determining a first mental state of the plurality of mental states corresponding to a highest overlapping metric; designating the first mental state as the mental state of the user; and generating for display a media asset recommendation based at least in part on the mental state of the user.
Newell et al. discloses accessing a data table storing biometric and physiological parameters respectively associated with a plurality of mental states (see paragraphs 0018-0021, 0031-0032 and fig. 4 (410 – user emotional database); an Emotional State Monitor (ESM) with EEG (Electroencephalography) sensors and a user emotional database (410 in fig. 4) that stores emotional states and associated biometric parameters);
based at least in part on the comparing, computing a respective overlapping metric for each mental state of the plurality of mental states (see paragraphs 0021-0024 and fig. 4; spectral analysis of EEG signals to identify neural oscillations (brain waves) correlated with emotional states. This is effectively computing metrics for each candidate mental state);
determining a first mental state of the plurality of mental states corresponding to a highest overlapping metric (see paragraphs 0021, 0029-0032, fig. 4; analyzing emotional information to determine emotional preferences/dislikes/disinterest, i.e., selecting the dominant emotional state from competing signals);
designating the first mental state as the mental state of the user (see paragraphs 0031-0032, fig. 4; the system identifies emotional-based preferences/dislikes/disinterests based on anticipated emotional responses, thereby designating the user’s emotional state); and
generating for display a media asset recommendation based at least in part on the mental state of the user (see paragraphs 0017-0020, 0032-0034, fig. 4(424,426); recommending media content events to the user based on identified emotional states, and presenting those recommendations on a display).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Everett et al. with the teachings of Newell et al., the motivation being to improve user engagement and satisfaction.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Everett et al. and Newell et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Everett et al. discloses associating the set of biometric and physiological characteristics of the user with an event occurring in the media asset, wherein the event comprises a first participant (see paragraphs 0026, 0034, 0037, fig. 5).
Newell et al. discloses associating the set of biometric and physiological characteristics of the user with an event occurring in the media asset, wherein the event comprises a first participant (see paragraph 0024; synchronizing EEG data with image capture to identify objects/events in the user’s field of view that elicit emotional responses);
determining a user preference corresponding to the first participant based on the set of biometric and physiological characteristics of the user (see paragraphs 0018-0021, 0031-0032, fig. 4; determining emotional-based preferences/dislikes/disinterests based on biometric/emotional data associated with participants/events);
determining whether a conflict exists between the user preference corresponding to the first participant and one or more user interest indicators associated with a user profile of the user (see paragraphs 0018-0021, 0029-0032, fig. 4; analyzing emotional information against stored user preferences/dislikes/disinterests);
in response to determining that the conflict exists: logging the conflict with an error log corresponding to the user profile (see paragraph 0031, fig. 4 (428-1, 428-2; 410 emotional database); storing emotional experiences/preferences/dislikes in a database associated with the user profile. This inherently includes conflicts between detected preferences and stored indicators); and
refraining from recommending the media asset recommendation to the user based on the user preference corresponding to the first participant (see paragraphs 0020-0033, fig. 4; refraining from recommending media content events that correspond to emotional dislikes/disinterests); and
generating a different media asset recommendation to the user based on the user preference corresponding to the first participant (see paragraphs 0020, 0032-0034).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Everett et al. and Newell et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Everett et al. discloses wherein the media asset is transmitted from a linear data source (see paragraphs 0003, 0016-0020, 0037 and fig. 9).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Everett et al. and Newell et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Everett et al. discloses wherein capturing the set of biometric and physiological characteristics of the user while the media asset is being generated for display comprises detecting at least one of: a pulse rate, a blood pressure, a body temperature, an electroencephalogram pattern, a pupil dilation pattern, a body part movement orientation, a body part movement velocity, a pose or a gesture of a body part and a facial expression (see paragraph 0021; pulse rate, blood pressure, body temperature).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett et al. and Newell et al. as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Sahu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0338180).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Everett et al. and Newell et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 2 and 12). Newell et al. discloses in response to determining that the conflict exists:
updating the one or more user interest indicators associated with the user profile (see paragraph 0031 and fig. 4(410)); and
generating a media asset recommendation based on the updated one or more user interest indicators associated with the user profile (see paragraphs 0032-0034, fig. 4).
However, Everett et al. and Newell et al. are silent as to generating sporting event media asset recommendation.
Sahu et al. discloses generating sporting event media asset recommendation (see abstract and paragraphs 0003, 006).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Everett et al. and Newell et al. with the teachings of Sahu et al., the motivation being to improve provide sports recommendation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-8 and 14-15, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 April 16, 2026.