DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 2 Applicant argues that the references fail to disclose the following limitation:
“…receiving, from a third party network infrastructure, flow data about network traffic flow”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The current claim language fail to explicitly disclose “..network traffic that actually flows through the third-party network infrastructure is used to determine what policy is being applied…”
The current claim limitation only requires “receiving.., flow data about network traffic flow”, which can be any data that is related to network traffic flow, and that flow data is received from a third party network infrastructure.
Hence, based on the above interpretation, Lopez, teaches receiving, from a third-party network infrastructure, flow data about network traffic flow (receive network segments that includes active configuration, refer to par 0022);
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al hereinafter Lopez (US 20210120042) in view of Goldschlag et al hereinafter Goldschlag (US 20200162431).
Referring to Claim 2. Lopez discloses a method for managing a segmentation policy, the method comprising:
obtaining a segmentation policy comprising a first set of allow-only rules for controlling
network traffic between workloads (obtain the expected configuration, refer to par 0022);
receiving, from a third-party network infrastructure, flow data about network traffic flow (receive network segments that includes active configuration, refer to par 0022);
analyzing the flow data to determine network traffic flow permitted or blocked by the
third-party network infrastructure (obtain the active configuration that includes the network policies, refer to par 0022);
converting the network traffic flow into a second set of allow-only rules for controlling
network traffic between the workloads (refer to par 0022-0023,0024, 0043 process the active configuration to the format understood by the security maintenance manager);
comparing the first set of allow-only rules to the second set of allow-only rules to identify a discrepancy (compare the differences between configurations, refer to par 0024, 0035, 0043); and triggering a corrective action in response to identifying the discrepancy (added on the differences to the rules, refer to par 0024, 0035, 0043).
Although Lopez disclosed the invention substantially, Lopez did not clearly disclosing the converting steps in details.
Goldschiag, in analogous art, disclosing the converting the network traffic flow into a second set of allow-only rules for controlling the network traffic (translate the policy into the local policy forms, refer to par 0090, 0091).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lopez in view of Goldschiag because Goldschiag’s teaching would allow the system of Lopez’s to seamlessly utilize the network resource from external entity without much delay in process.
Referring to Claim 3. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Lopez discloses wherein the flow data comprises source and destination IP addresses, destination ports, and transport-layer protocols associated with the network traffic flow (determine source, destination IPs and ports, refer to par 0024 and ).
Referring to Claim 4. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Goldschiag discloses wherein the flow data is obtained using passive probing by one or more hosts executing the workloads (push, refer to 0050).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lopez in view of Goldschiag because Goldschiag’s teaching would allow the system of Lopez’s to seamlessly utilize the network resource from external entity without much delay in process.
Referring to Claim 5. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Goldschiag discloses wherein the flow data is obtained using active probing by one or more hosts executing the workloads (poll, refer to par 0050).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lopez in view of Goldschiag because Goldschiag’s teaching would allow the system of Lopez’s to seamlessly utilize the network resource from external entity without much delay in process.
Referring to Claim 6. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Lopez discloses wherein converting the network traffic flow into the second set of allow-only rules comprises:
identifying a first set of flows allowed by the third-party network infrastructure (refer to par 0039- 0044);
identifying a second set of flows blocked by the third-party network infrastructure (refer to par 0039 - 0043); and converting the first set of flows into the second set of allow-only rules (refer to par 0043, 0045).
Referring to Claim 7. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Lopez discloses wherein comparing the first set of allow-only rules to the second set of allow-only rules comprises identifying one or more flows that are permitted by the segmentation policy but blocked by the third-party network infrastructure (refer to par 0039).
Referring to Claim 8. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Lopez discloses wherein comparing the first set of allow-only rules to the second set of allow-only rules comprises identifying one or more flows that are blocked by the segmentation policy but permitted by the third-party network infrastructure (refer to par 0035, 0044, 0045).
Referring to Claim 9. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Lopez discloses wherein the corrective action comprises
generating, for display via an administrative interface, a notification identifying the discrepancy, the notification comprising a recommendation to modify the segmentation policy or a configuration of the third-party network infrastructure (refer to par 0039).
Referring to Claim 10. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Lopez discloses wherein the corrective action comprises automatically modifying the segmentation policy to reduce a scope of one or more rules in response to the discrepancy (refer to par 0039, 0040, 0043).
Referring to Claim 11. Lopez with Goldschiag disclosed the method of claim 2, Lopez discloses wherein the corrective action comprises sending an instruction to modify a configuration of the third-party network infrastructure (abstract, modify the active configuration, refer to par 0040).
Referring to Claims 12 – 21, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 2-11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447