Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “a 75-87,5-degree angle”
This should be amended to recite the American numbering system where we use periods for decimals instead of commas.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2022/0373655 A1) in view of Millischer (US 20220043124 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a mobile surveying system ([0009] FIG. 1 illustrates one or more exemplary LiDAR systems disposed or included in a motor vehicle) comprising:
a laser source configured to generate a laser beam ([0103] In some embodiments, light source 702 includes a laser source that can provide one or more transmission light beams);
a first deflection unit and a second deflection unit, wherein the first deflection unit is arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit ([0104] As shown in FIG. 7, transmission light beams 707 are directed to galvanometer mirror 708. Mirror 708 is controlled to oscillate about an axis between two predefined angular positions. The oscillation of the mirror 708 facilitates scanning light along one dimension (e.g., the vertical dimension) of a FOV. Mirror 708 reflects transmission light beams 707 to form transmission light beams 709, which are directed toward multiple-facet light steering device 710); and
a controller configured to:
control the first deflection unit to rotate at a first frequency to vary a position at which the laser beam impinges the second deflection unit ([0104] Mirror 708 is controlled to oscillate about an axis between two predefined angular positions), and
control the second deflection unit to rotate at a second frequency to scan the laser beam 360° about the mobile surveying system ([0105] Light steering device 710 is configured to rotate about an axis 724. Therefore, each facet of light steering device 710 takes turns to reflect light. In the present disclosure, oscillation means continuously moving back and forth in two opposite directions (e.g., clockwise and counterclockwise) within a predetermined angular range (e.g., +/−20 degrees, +/−40 degrees, etc.) in a periodical or non-periodical manner. Rotation means continuously moving in only one direction for at least 360 degrees. [0044] Disposing LiDAR system 110 at the vehicle roof facilitates a 360-degree scanning around vehicle 100)); and
wherein the first deflection unit and the second deflection unit together provide a bi-dimensional scanning profile of the laser beam about the mobile surveying system (Fig. 7 Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced below, shows light steering device 110 rotating on one axis and mirror 708 rotating about a different axis. Because the light bounces from 708 to 710 before entering the scene, these two different rotational axes create a bidirectional scanning profile due to simple physics); and
wherein the mobile surveying system further comprises:
a detector configured to detect light having traveled a beam path extending from the laser source, via the first deflection unit and the second deflection unit, to an object of an environment surrounding the mobile surveying system and then back from the object, via the second deflection unit and the first deflection unit, to the detector ([0106] Return light 713 is redirected (e.g., reflected) by light steering device 710 to form return light 715, which is directed toward galvanometer mirror 708. Return light 715 is redirected (e.g., reflected) by galvanometer mirror 708 to form return light 717, which is collected by collection lens 718. Collection lens 718 directs the collected return light to a receiver 720 of the LiDAR system 700. Receiver 720 can have multiple receiving channels corresponding to the multiple transmitter channels); and
a processor configured to:
collect, along the bi-dimensional scanning profile, a plurality of scanned points of the environment surrounding the mobile surveying system based on light detected by the detector;
generate a map of at least a part of the environment surrounding the mobile surveying system based on the plurality of scanned points ([0045] Based on the scattered light that returned to LiDAR system(s) 210, it can generate sensor data (e.g., image data or 3D point cloud data) representing the perceived external environment.); and
reconstruct a trajectory of the mobile surveying system in the map based on the plurality of scanned points ([0059] In some embodiments, high-definition (HD) maps are used for vehicle localization. HD maps can provide highly detailed, three-dimensional, computerized maps that pinpoint a vehicle's location. For instance, using the HD maps, localization and vehicle posture sub-system 225 can determine precisely the vehicle's current position (e.g., which lane of the road the vehicle is currently in, how close it is to a curb or a sidewalk) and predict vehicle's future positions.).
Li is not relied upon as teaching that the first frequency and the second frequency are non-commensurable.
However, Millischer teaches that the first frequency and the second frequency are non-commensurable ([0105] In some implementations, the first mirror 700 and the second mirror can be rotated at different speeds. For instance, in some implementations, the first mirror 700 can be rotated at a first rotational speed that is faster than a second rotational speed at which the second mirror is rotated. In some implementations, the first rotational speed can range from about 15,000 revolutions per minute to about 20,000 revolutions per minute. Alternatively, or additionally, the second rotational speed can range from about 100 revolutions per minute to about 200 revolutions per minute).
Li and Millischer are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of mobile LiDAR surveying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile surveying system of Li to include non-commensurable rotation frequencies for the first deflection unit and the second deflection unit of Millishcer with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to prevent repeating or overlapping scan line patterns and ensure uniform coverage across the field of view over time. By integrating Millishcer’s teaching of operating the first and second scanning mirrors at non-commensurable rotational speeds into Li’s system, the system can achieve a dense, non-repeating bi-dimensional scanning profile. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that combining deflection units operating at non-commensurable frequencies would yield the predictable result of optimizing point-cloud sampling density across the surveyed environment.
Regarding Claim 2, Li teaches a first orientation sensitive device configured to provide a first output indicative of an orientation of the first deflection unit ([0136] Galvanometer mirror position feedback data 1117 can be provided by an encoder and/or a Hall effect sensor associated with a galvanometer motor 1120 to measure the particular angular position of the galvanometer mirror 1122 at any particular time point); and
a second orientation sensitive device configured to provide a second output indicative of an orientation of the second deflection unit ([0145] Light steering device 1142 can also obtain its angular positions/speed by using a position encoder. The position encoder can be a rotary position encoder and/or a Hall effect sensor, or any other desired position encoders. The position encoder provides position feedback data 1137 to processor(s) 1110 and/or light steering device controller 1134); wherein
the processor is further configured to, for each scanned point:
determine a first orientation of the first deflection unit for the scanned point based on the output of the first orientation sensitive device ([0142] In some embodiments, galvanometer mirror 1122 has a rotary position encoder and/or a Hall effect sensor, or any other desired position encoders. The position encoder provides position feedback data 1117 to processor(s) 1110. Using one or more of movement profiles 1102A-C and the position feedback data 1117 associated with the galvanometer mirror 1122, processor(s) 1110 generates signals 1111 by performing one or more of signal processing operations. Some of these signal processing operations include data sampling, filtering, analog-to-digital conversion, superimposing, data compensation, position control, data transformation, digital-to-analog conversion, subtraction, addition, multiplication, division, and/or any other desired operations);
determine a second orientation of the second deflection unit for the scanned point based on the output of the second orientation sensitive device ([0146] In one embodiment, using position feedback data 1137, light steering device controller 1134 generates one or more control signals 1137 for directly controlling the light steering device 1142 to compensate for its position inaccuracies. For example, based on position feedback data 1137, a particular angular position and/or speed of light steering device 1142 can be modified (increased or decreased) to compensate the angular position inaccuracy of device 1142 during operation);
determine a length of the beam path travelled by the detected light ([0088] Referring back to FIG. 5A (e.g., illustrating a time-of-flight LiDAR system that uses light pulses), when light pulse 502 reaches object 506, light pulse 502 scatters or reflects to generate a return light pulse 508. Return light pulse 508 may return to system 500 along light path 510. The time from when transmitted light pulse 502 leaves LiDAR system 500 to when return light pulse 508 arrives back at LiDAR system 500 can be measured (e.g., by a processor or other electronics, such as control circuitry 350, within the LiDAR system). This time-of-flight combined with the knowledge of the speed of light can be used to determine the range/distance from LiDAR system 500 to the portion of object 506 where light pulse 502 scattered or reflected); and
determine a position of the scanned point, relative to the mobile surveying system, based on the determined length of the beam path, the determined first orientation, and the determined second orientation ([0083] For example, control circuitry 350 determines the time it takes from transmitting a light pulse until a corresponding return light pulse is received; determines when a return light pulse is not received for a transmitted light pulse; determines the direction (e.g., horizontal and/or vertical information) for a transmitted/return light pulse; determines the estimated range in a particular direction; and/or determines any other type of data relevant to LiDAR system 300).
Regarding Claim 3, Li teaches that the first deflection unit is rotatable about a first axis, and the second deflection unit is rotatable about a second axis (Fig. 7 Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced above, shows that the first deflection unit’s axis of rotation is separate from the second deflection unit’s axis of rotation).
Regarding Claim 4, Li is not relied upon as teaching that the first frequency is more than three times higher than the second frequency, or the second frequency is more than three times higher than the first frequency .
However, Millischer teaches that the first frequency is more than three times higher than the second frequency, or the second frequency is more than three times higher than the first frequency ([0105] In some implementations, the first mirror 700 and the second mirror can be rotated at different speeds. For instance, in some implementations, the first mirror 700 can be rotated at a first rotational speed that is faster than a second rotational speed at which the second mirror is rotated. In some implementations, the first rotational speed can range from about 15,000 revolutions per minute to about 20,000 revolutions per minute. Alternatively, or additionally, the second rotational speed can range from about 100 revolutions per minute to about 200 revolutions per minute).
Li (as previously modified by Millischer) and Millischer are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of mobile LiDAR surveying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection control of Li (as previously modified by Millischer) to include configuring the first frequency to be more than three times higher than the second frequency as taught by Millischer with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to achieve high-resolution, fast line-scanning along a primary dimension while maintaining a controlled cross-axis sweep. By integrating Millischer’s teaching of operating the first scanning mirror at a significantly higher speed relative to the second scanning mirror into Li (as previously modified by Millischer)’s mobile surveying system, the system can capture dense scan lines across the target area without creating wide gaps in spatial data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that driving the primary deflection unit at a frequency substantially higher than the second unit would yield the predictable result of optimizing horizontal-to-vertical sampling density and enhancing image resolution for 3D point cloud generation.
Regarding Claim 6, Li teaches that the first deflection unit comprises:
a first mirror arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit (Fig. 8 Examiner Note: Fig. 8, reproduced below, shows a first mirror (808) arranged to deflect the laser beam (811) to the second deflection unit (810)); and
a shaft aligned with and rotatable about a first axis (Fig. 8 Examiner Note: the motor (838) has a shaft that aligns with a rotational axis 834); wherein
the mirror is mounted on the shaft such that the first axis intersects the mirror surface at a 75–87,5-degree angle (Examiner Note: choosing a mounting angle within the particular range claimed is a design choice via a rearrangement of parts and routine optimization of the optical deflection angle to achieve a desired field-of-view, where the specific angular range produces no unexpected result).
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches that the first deflection unit comprises:
a first mirror arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit; and a
galvanometer arranged to rotate the mirror about a first axis, wherein the first axis is parallel with the first mirror ([0104] As shown in FIG. 7, transmission light beams 707 are directed to galvanometer mirror 708. Mirror 708 is controlled to oscillate about an axis between two predefined angular positions. The oscillation of the mirror 708 facilitates scanning light along one dimension (e.g., the vertical dimension) of a FOV. Mirror 708 reflects transmission light beams 707 to form transmission light beams 709, which are directed toward multiple-facet light steering device 710).
Regarding Claim 8, Li teaches that the first deflection unit comprises:
a rotatable body comprising a plurality of facets (Fig. 8 Examiner Note: Duplicating the structure of the second reflector (810) to replace the first reflector (808) would yield a first deflection unit comprising a plurality of facets (it may need to be made smaller, but this is a routine optimization and simple substitution of known equivalents to yield predictable results)); and
a shaft aligned with and rotatable about a first axis (Fig. 8 Examiner Note: element 808 is a motor in place that has a shaft aligned with the mirror and makes the mirror rotatable about axis 834); wherein the body is mounted on the shaft such that:
the first axis is perpendicular to a normal direction of each of the facets forming first surfaces (Fig. 8 Examiner Note: the second deflector (810) if duplicated and placed in replacement of reflector 808, would have the first axis perpendicular to a normal direction of each of the facets forming first surfaces), and
at any rotational position of the body, one of the plurality of facets is arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit (Fig. 8 Examiner Note: The facets on 810 do run the full circumference of the facet mirror. Therefore, at any rotational position of the facet mirror, there would be one of the plurality of facets arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit).
Regarding Claim 9, Li teaches that the second deflection unit comprises:
a second mirror arranged to deflect the laser beam; and
a shaft aligned with and rotatable about a second axis ([0105] Light steering device 710 is configured to rotate about an axis 724. Therefore, each facet of light steering device 710 takes turns to reflect light); wherein
the second mirror is mounted on the shaft to scan the laser beam about the mobile surveying system upon rotation of the shaft (Fig. 8, Examiner Note: Fig. 8, reproduced above, shows that the Facet mirror (second mirror) is mounted horizontally and rotates about an axis, there is a circle at the end of the line 824 (the axis) that represents the shaft mentioned. Further, choosing a shaft to affix a rotating mirror and having that shaft be located along the axis of rotation and coupled to the mirror and motor is a routine optimization).
Regarding Claim 11, Li teaches that the processor is configured to generate a point cloud from the plurality of scanned points ([0091] This is because the LiDAR system can measure the depth of an object or the range/distance to the object, which provides the extra dimension of data. Therefore, a 2D scanning by a LiDAR system can generate a 3D point cloud for mapping the external environment of the LiDAR system.).
Regarding Claim 13, Li teaches a method for reconstructing a trajectory of a mobile surveying system ([0059] In some embodiments, high-definition (HD) maps are used for vehicle localization. HD maps can provide highly detailed, three-dimensional, computerized maps that pinpoint a vehicle's location. For instance, using the HD maps, localization and vehicle posture sub-system 225 can determine precisely the vehicle's current position (e.g., which lane of the road the vehicle is currently in, how close it is to a curb or a sidewalk) and predict vehicle's future positions) including a laser source ([0103] In some embodiments, light source 702 includes a laser source that can provide one or more transmission light beams), a first deflection unit, a second deflection unit unit ([0104] As shown in FIG. 7, transmission light beams 707 are directed to galvanometer mirror 708. Mirror 708 is controlled to oscillate about an axis between two predefined angular positions. The oscillation of the mirror 708 facilitates scanning light along one dimension (e.g., the vertical dimension) of a FOV. Mirror 708 reflects transmission light beams 707 to form transmission light beams 709, which are directed toward multiple-facet light steering device 710) and a detector ([0106] Return light 713 is redirected (e.g., reflected) by light steering device 710 to form return light 715, which is directed toward galvanometer mirror 708. Return light 715 is redirected (e.g., reflected) by galvanometer mirror 708 to form return light 717, which is collected by collection lens 718. Collection lens 718 directs the collected return light to a receiver 720 of the LiDAR system 700. Receiver 720 can have multiple receiving channels corresponding to the multiple transmitter channels), the first deflection unit being arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit ([0104] Examiner Note: See previous [0104] citation), the method comprising:
operating the laser source to generate a laser beam ([0103] In some embodiments, light source 702 includes a laser source that can provide one or more transmission light beams);
controlling the first deflection unit to rotate at a first frequency to vary a position at which the laser beam impinges the second deflection unit ([0104] Mirror 708 is controlled to oscillate about an axis between two predefined angular positions), and controlling the second deflection unit to rotate at a second frequency to scan the laser beam 360° about the mobile surveying system ([0105] Light steering device 710 is configured to rotate about an axis 724. Therefore, each facet of light steering device 710 takes turns to reflect light. In the present disclosure, oscillation means continuously moving back and forth in two opposite directions (e.g., clockwise and counterclockwise) within a predetermined angular range (e.g., +/−20 degrees, +/−40 degrees, etc.) in a periodical or non-periodical manner. Rotation means continuously moving in only one direction for at least 360 degrees. [0044] Disposing LiDAR system 110 at the vehicle roof facilitates a 360-degree scanning around vehicle 100)), to generate a bi-dimensional scanning profile of the laser beam about the mobile surveying system (Fig. 7 Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced above, shows light steering device 110 rotating on one axis and mirror 708 rotating about a different axis. Because the light bounces from 708 to 710 before entering the scene, these two different rotational axes create a bidirectional scanning profile due to simple physics),
detecting light having traveled along a beam path extending from the laser source, via the first deflection unit and the second deflection unit, to an object of an environment surrounding the mobile surveying system and then back from the object, the second deflection unit and the first deflection unit, to the detector ([0106] Return light 713 is redirected (e.g., reflected) by light steering device 710 to form return light 715, which is directed toward galvanometer mirror 708. Return light 715 is redirected (e.g., reflected) by galvanometer mirror 708 to form return light 717, which is collected by collection lens 718. Collection lens 718 directs the collected return light to a receiver 720 of the LiDAR system 700. Receiver 720 can have multiple receiving channels corresponding to the multiple transmitter channels);
collecting a plurality of scanned points of the environment surrounding the mobile surveying system, along the bi-dimensional scanning profile, based on the detected light;
generating a map of at least a part of the environment surrounding the mobile surveying system based on the plurality of scanned points ([0045] Based on the scattered light that returned to LiDAR system(s) 210, it can generate sensor data (e.g., image data or 3D point cloud data) representing the perceived external environment.); and
reconstructing a trajectory of the mobile surveying system in the map based on the plurality of scanned points ([0059] In some embodiments, high-definition (HD) maps are used for vehicle localization. HD maps can provide highly detailed, three-dimensional, computerized maps that pinpoint a vehicle's location. For instance, using the HD maps, localization and vehicle posture sub-system 225 can determine precisely the vehicle's current position (e.g., which lane of the road the vehicle is currently in, how close it is to a curb or a sidewalk) and predict vehicle's future positions).
Li is not relied upon as teaching that the first frequency and the second frequency are non-commensurable.
However, Millischer teaches that the first frequency and the second frequency are non-commensurable ([0105] In some implementations, the first mirror 700 and the second mirror can be rotated at different speeds. For instance, in some implementations, the first mirror 700 can be rotated at a first rotational speed that is faster than a second rotational speed at which the second mirror is rotated. In some implementations, the first rotational speed can range from about 15,000 revolutions per minute to about 20,000 revolutions per minute. Alternatively, or additionally, the second rotational speed can range from about 100 revolutions per minute to about 200 revolutions per minute).
Li and Millischer are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of mobile LiDAR surveying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile surveying system of Li to include non-commensurable rotation frequencies for the first deflection unit and the second deflection unit of Millishcer with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to prevent repeating or overlapping scan line patterns and ensure uniform coverage across the field of view over time. By integrating Millishcer’s teaching of operating the first and second scanning mirrors at non-commensurable rotational speeds into Li’s system, the system can achieve a dense, non-repeating bi-dimensional scanning profile. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that combining deflection units operating at non-commensurable frequencies would yield the predictable result of optimizing point-cloud sampling density across the surveyed environment.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2022/0373655 A1) and Millischer (US 20220043124 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0341677 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Li is not relied upon as teaching that the first deflection unit comprises a prism wedge arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit, wherein:
the prism wedge is rotatable about a first axis; and
the prism wedge is arranged to deflect the laser beam at a 5–30-degree angle from the first axis.
However, Wang teaches the first deflection unit comprises a prism wedge arranged to deflect the laser beam onto the second deflection unit ([0130] In some embodiments, the LiDAR systems may include a first rotating optical element, e.g., wedge prism 116, 216, 760, or 860, and a second rotating optical element including a reflective surface, e.g., reflector 120, second optical element 220, or second optical element 720, as described herein when scanning the environment Examiner Note: Fig. 2, reproduced below, shows the prism reflecting light towards the second deflector unit), wherein:
the prism wedge is rotatable about a first axis (Fig. 2, Examiner Note: Fig. 2, reproduced below, shows the prism is rotatable about a first axis); and
the prism wedge is arranged to deflect the laser beam at a 5–30-degree angle from the first axis ([130] Although scanning patterns in FIGS. 14A, 14B, 15A, 15B, 16A, 16B, 17A, 17B, 18A, 18B, 19A, and 19B may correspond to fields characterized by an azimuth angle from 0° to 360° and a zenith angle in a range from 60° to 120°, it is appreciated that similar scanning patterns can be obtained from various embodiments of the LiDAR systems described herein, and the scanning patterns can be characterized by other parameters, such as using azimuth angle—pitch angle (e.g., subtset(b) of FIG. 1C), etc., that are suitable for different ranges or scanning fields).
Li (as previously modified by Millischer) and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of optical scanning and LiDAR surveying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first deflection unit of Li to comprise a prism wedge rotatable about a first axis and arranged to deflect the laser beam at a 5-30 degree angle from the first axis onto the second deflection unit as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to achieve precise angular deviation of the transmitted beam with minimal optical distortion and high rotational durability. By integrating Wang’s teaching of using a rotating prism to deflect light at a defined off-axis angle relative to its rotation axis into the combined system, the system can steer the laser beam across targeted angular ranges toward a downstream deflection element. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that utilizing a rotating prism wedge at the primary deflection stage would yield the predictable result of providing stable, high-speed angular beam deflection within a compact optical footprint.
Regarding Claim 10, Li is not relied upon as teaching that the second deflection unit comprises:
a second prism arranged to deflect the laser beam, the second prism being rotatable about a second axis to scan the laser beam about the mobile surveying system.
However, Wang teaches that the second deflection unit comprises:
a second prism arranged to deflect the laser beam, the second prism being rotatable about a second axis to scan the laser beam about the mobile surveying system ([0047] For example, some embodiments of this disclosure provide mechanical scanning LiDAR systems with fewer or single line(s) of light source(s) including a combination of a first optical element, such as a prism, and a second optical element, such as a reflecting mirror or a prism including a reflective surface. As the first optical element and the second optical element rotate (e.g., together or separately), the reflective surface rotates about a corresponding axis while reflects the light beam. The reflection of the light beam can scan multiple directions, e.g., including a range of 360°).
Li (as previously modified by Millischer) and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of optical scanning and LiDAR surveying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second deflection unit of Li (as previously modified by Millischer) to be substituted with the second prism arranged to deflect the laser beam and rotatable about a second axis to scan the laser beam about the mobile surveying as system of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a compact, mechanically simple beam-steering mechanism capable of wide-angle scanning while minimizing optical assembly complexity. By integrating Wang’s teaching of using a rotatable prism with a reflective surface an optical deflection element into the combined system, the system can deflect and scan the laser beam across multiple directions, including up to a full 360° range. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that substituting or incorporating a rotating prism into the secondary deflection stage would yield the predictable result of achieving controlled rotational deflection of the beam path with reliable mechanical stability.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2022/0373655 A1) and Millischer (US 20220043124 A1) in view of Jansseune (US 2026/0208725 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Li is not relied upon as teaching that the processor is configured to: perform a Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) algorithm using the plurality of scanned points; and reconstruct the trajectory of the mobile surveying system in the map based on the SLAM algorithm.
However, Jansseune teaches that the processor is configured to:
perform a Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) algorithm using the plurality of scanned points ([0060] V-SLAM, or a control of the vehicle based on a method for automatic localizing and mapping using at least one surroundings sensor for generating a point cloud of the surroundings of the vehicle, in particular using at least one radar sensor and/or one LiDAR-based surroundings sensor); and
reconstruct the trajectory of the mobile surveying system in the map based on the SLAM algorithm ([0060] The driving route or a corresponding trajectory can be determined, depending on the method and its embodiment, in the vehicle, specifically the corresponding driver assistance system, or on the server side).
Li (as previously modified by Millischer) and Jansseune are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of mobile LiDAR systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile surveying system of Li (as previously modified by Millischer) to include performing a SLAM algorithm using the scanned points and reconstructing the system’s trajectory based on the SLAM algorithm as taught by Jansseune with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to enable real-time autonomous vehicle localization and dynamic trajectory estimation without relying solely on external positioning systems (such as GPS). By integrating Jansseune’s teaching of using SLAM processing on sensor point clouds to determine driving routes and vehicle trajectories into the combined system, the processor can continuously update environmental maps while simultaneously tracking vehicle movement through unknown or GPS-denied environments. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applying SLAM algorithms to point cloud data for trajectory reconstruction would yield the predictable result of improving localization accuracy and robust vehicle tracking in mobile surveying applications.
Conclusion
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645