DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed November 26, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-17 recite the limitation "the display chip" in line 1 of all claim (interpreted as the color micro-LED display chip);
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-10 and 13-17 recite the limitation "the QD container" in line 4 of claim 2, line 1 of claim 4, line 2 of claim 6, line 2 of claim 7, lines 1 and 2 of claim 9, line 1 of claim 10, lines 1-2 of claim 13, line 1 of claim 14, lines 1-2 of claim 15, claim 1 of claim 16, and line 1 of claim 17 (interpreted as the plurality of QD containers);
Claims 1 and 18 recite the limitation "the two faces" in line 5 of claim 1, and line 3, page 2 of claim 18 (interpreted as the entrance face and the opposing exit face);
Claims 1 and 18 recite the limitation "the faces" in line 6 of claim 1, and line 4, page 3 of claim 18 (interpreted as the entrance face and the opposing exit face);
Claims 1-2 and 18 recite the limitation "the other face" in line 6 of claim 1, line 2 of claim 2, and lines 4-5 of claim 18 (interpreted as the entrance face or the opposing exit face);
Claims 3 and 11-12 recite the limitation "the exit face" in lines 1-2 of claim 1, line 2 of claim 11, and lines 2-3 of claim 12 (interpreted as the opposing exit face);
Claims 6-7 recite the limitation "said face" in line 3 of claim 6, and line 2 of claim 7 (interpreted as the entrance face or the opposing exit face);
Claims 1, 13 and 15-17 recite the limitation "the LEDs" in lines 3-4 of claim 1, in line 2 of claim 13, lines 1-2 of claim 15, line 1 of claim 16, and line 1 of claim 17 (interpreted as the plurality of LEDs);
Claim 19-20 recites the limitation "the display" in line 1 of both claims (interpreted as the color micro-LED display); and
Claims 18 and 20 recite the limitation "the light emitters" in line 3, page 2 of claim 18 and line 2 of claim 20 (interpreted as the plurality of light emitters).
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu (US 2023/0155076 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Fu teaches a color micro-LED display chip 100 comprising: a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) 40; and a plurality of quantum dot (QD) containers 10 positioned to receive light emitted from the LEDs 40, the QD containers 10 shaped to have an entrance face, an opposing exit face and a waist located between the two faces, the waist having (See Figures 3-4) an area that is less than an area of one of the faces (at 30) and less than or equal to an area of the other face (at 20) (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 2, Fu teaches the area of the waist being less than the area of one face (at 30) and equal to the area of the other face (at 20) (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 3, Fu teaches the area of the waist being less than the area of the exit face (at 30) and equal to the area of the entrance face (at 20) (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 4, Fu teaches the QD containers 10 having a constant cross-sectional area between the waist and the face (at 20) with the equal area (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 13, Fu teaches quantum dots 121/122 contained in the QD containers 10, the quantum dots 121/122 converting light from the LEDs 40 to a different color (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 14, Fu teaches the QD containers 10 only partly filled with quantum dots 121/122 (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 15, Fu teaches the entrance faces of the QD containers 10 abutting the LEDs 40 emitting light into the QD containers 10 (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 16, Fu teaches the LEDs 40 and the QD containers 10 supported by a single substrate 70 (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 17, Fu teaches the LEDs 40 and the QD containers 10 being two stacked layers (Figures 3-5, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0077]).
Allowable Subject Matter
As best understood, claims 5-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As best understood, claims 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to display devices:
Chung et al. (US 2022/0020943 A1) Geng et al. (US 2023/0117381 A1)
Kang et al. (US 2025/0255142 A1) Lin et al. (US 2021/0109617 A1)
Park et al. (US 2022/0149251 A1) Yuan (US 2010/0065102 A1).
IMS
January 26, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898