DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,904. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed elements of claims 1, 9 and 17 of the instant application are broader in scope and already patented scope of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,904.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991,230. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed elements of claims 1, 9 and 17 of the instant application are broader in scope and already patented scope of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991,230.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lok et al. (Pub No US 2023/0080458) in view of Osorio et al. (Pub No US 2008/0072250). Hereinafter, referenced as Lok and Osorio, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Lok discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a user request for a content item (e.g. internet content) from a user equipment (UE) (e.g. end user device 332… 336) of a user associated with a multi-dwelling unit (MDU) (Paragraphs [0038] [0039] figure 3; end user device 332… 336 in multi-dwell unit 330 requesting content);
identifying an MDU network segment to which the UE is connected (Paragraphs [0037] [0038] figure 3; multi-dwell tenant units 330, 360 assigned to their corresponding virtual residential gateway 323, 324… 326);
identifying an integrated user-network segment profile associated with the user (Paragraphs [0014] [0040] [0042] figure 3; each subscriber account being associated with a unique organizational unit assigned a unique network segment);
identifying a user segment to which the user belongs, based on the integrated user-network segment profile (Paragraphs [0014] [0040] [0042] figure 3; e.g. user account);
determining that the requested content item is accessible by the user (e.g. subscriber authentication credentials), based on the MDU network segment (e.g. virtual residential gateway 323, 324… 326 segments) and the user segment (Paragraphs [0014] [0040] [0042] figure 3; each subscriber account being associated with a unique organizational unit assigned a unique network segment);
and providing access to the requested content item to the UE over the MDU network segment (Paragraphs [0011] figure 3; providing requested content to end user device 332 from its assigned virtual residential gateway 323, 324,… 326 based on subscriber authentication credentials).
However, it is noted that Lok is silent to explicitly disclose that the user request is a user request for streaming a content item.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Osorio discloses that the user request is a user request for streaming a content item (Paragraphs [0013] [0046] figure 1; distributing content over on multiple dwelling units (MDUs), wherein the content distributed to user devices may include streaming video; paragraphs [0020] [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lok by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Osorio, for the predictable result of distributing well known types of services in multiple dwelling units (MDUs), including video streaming, that would allow the user to efficiently utilize the MDU network and increase revenue.
Regarding claim 2, Lok and Osorio disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Lok discloses that the MDU network segment is identified based on a network identity of the MDU network segment, the network identity is selected from a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID), a Service Set Identifier (SSID), a Media Access Control (MAC) address, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0048] figure 3; e.g. BSSID).
Regarding claim 3, Lok and Osorio disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Lok discloses that the MDU network segment is a virtual local area network (VLAN) (Paragraphs [0036] [0039] figure 3; e.g. VLAN assignments for each virtual residential gateway 323, 324…326).
Regarding claim 7, Lok and Osorio disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Lok discloses the MDU network segment (Paragraphs [0037] [0038] figure 3; multi-dwell tenant units 330, 360 assigned to their corresponding virtual residential gateway 323, 324… 326).
However, it is noted that Lok is silent to explicitly disclose that the content item is a shared recording stored in a local storage device within the MDU and connected to the MDU network.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Osorio discloses that the content item is a shared recording stored in a local storage device (e.g. property server 502) within the MDU and connected to the MDU network (Paragraphs [0012] [0013] figure 5; property server 502 located at a multiple dwelling unit (MDU), wherein the property server 502 stores content, e.g. movies, for distribution to the user devices, wherein content module library 904 in property server 502 provides access to digital media information available for distribution to end users; paragraph [0090] figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lok by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Osorio, for the predictable result of implementing a local server that may store content to stream to multiple clients, saving the network distribution bandwidth and its resources.
Regarding claim 8, Lok and Osorio disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Lok discloses providing access to the requested content item to the UE (Paragraphs [0011] figure 3; providing requested content to end user device 332 from its assigned virtual residential gateway 323, 324,… 326 based on subscriber authentication credentials).
However, it is noted that Lok is silent to explicitly disclose sending a personalized user interface template for content streaming to the UE, the personalized user interface template configured to display the requested content item and provide designated interactive features.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Osorio discloses sending a personalized user interface template for content streaming to the UE, the personalized user interface template configured to display the requested content item and provide designated interactive features (Paragraphs [0054] [0055] [0067] figure 2; customized and personalized GUI experience for each viewer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lok by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Osorio, for the predictable result of allowing the customization of each interface implementing it own unit set of functions and features (Osorio – paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, 15 and 16, Lok and Osorio disclose all the limitations of claims 9, 10, 11, 15 and 16; therefore, claims 9, 10, 11, 15 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claims 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8, respectively.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Lok and Osorio disclose all the limitations of claims 17 and 18; therefore, claims 17 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claims 1 and 2, respectively.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lok and Osorio further in view of Deal et al. (Pub No US 2025/0024114). Hereinafter, referenced as Deal.
Regarding claim 4, Lok and Osorio disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Lok discloses that the integrated user-network segment profile (Paragraphs [0014] [0040] [0042] figure 3; each subscriber account being associated with a unique organizational unit assigned a unique network segment).
However, it is noted that Lok and Osorio are silent to explicitly disclose identify based on user information included in the user request, the user information indicates a user identity and a UE identity
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Deal discloses identify based on user information included in the user request, the user information indicates a user identity and a UE identity (Paragraphs [003] [0085]; a media content request may include identifiers such as ID for the client device and ID of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lok and Osorio by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Deal, for the predictable result of implementing user and device identification schemes that would easily allow the content distribution system to ID who is sending the request for content.
Regarding claim 12, Lok, Osorio and Deal disclose all the limitations of claim 12; therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
Claims 5, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lok and Osorio further in view of Smith (Pub No US 2025/0008328 – claiming priority to provisional application 63/524,314 filed on Jun 30, 2023). Hereinafter, referenced as Smith.
Regarding claim 5, Lok and Osorio disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Lok discloses that the integrated user-network segment profile (Paragraphs [0014] [0040] [0042] figure 3; each subscriber account being associated with a unique organizational unit assigned a unique network segment).
However, it is noted that Lok and Osorio are silent to explicitly disclose that the integrated user-network segment profile indicates a specific range of streaming bitrate and a specific level of quality of service (QoS) for the requested content item, wherein providing access to the requested content item to the UE further comprises delivering the content item to the UE according to the specific range of streaming bitrate and the specific level of QoS.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Smith discloses that the integrated user-network segment profile (e.g. network slice) indicates a specific range of streaming bitrate (e.g. assign a constant bit rate) and a specific level of quality of service (QoS) for the requested content item (e.g. defined QoS), wherein providing access to the requested content item to the UE further comprises delivering the content item to the UE according to the specific range of streaming bitrate and the specific level of QoS (Paragraphs [0578] [0586]; allocate to a group a network slice that may be dynamically adjusted based on the application requirements within the group, wherein a constant bit rate (CBR) or defined bandwidth to the group with a defined QoS to that group may be assigned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lok and Osorio by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Smith, for the predictable result of guarantees a quality of service to the viewers in order to avoid content presentation errors, further increasing user satisfaction and experience.
Regarding claim 13, Lok, Osorio and Smith disclose all the limitations of claim 13; therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, Lok, Osorio and Smith disclose all the limitations of claim 19; therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
Conclusion
JUNIOR O. MENDOZA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/JUNIOR O MENDOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424