DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 11-15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman (US 20170021850 A1) in view of Lei (US 20230227086 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Bowman discloses a vehicle/wagon (wagon 10, fig.1) comprising: a frame (base 12) attached to a plurality of wheels (wheels 20); a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element connected to a front end of the frame and each rotatable with respect to the frame (frame members 42 rotatable with respect to base 12, figs.1-12); a third rotatable element and a fourth rotatable element connected to a rear end of the frame and each rotatable with respect to the frame (frame members 42 rotatable with respect to base 12, figs.1-12); a first rotatable, disengageable, and collapsable connecting arm arrangement (side walls 14 have upper frame members 36 rotatable, disengageable, and collapsible as seen in figures 1 and 5-12); a second rotatable, disengageable, and collapsable connecting arm arrangement side walls 14 have upper frame members 36 rotatable, disengageable, and collapsible as seen in figures 1 and 5-12); and an enclosure (covers 46 and 48, fig.13) attached to the frame. Bowman fails to disclose the first and second rotatable, disengageable, and collapsable connecting arm arrangements are rotatably mounted with the front and rear elements.
However, Lei discloses the first and second rotatable, disengageable, and collapsable connecting arm arrangements are rotatably mounted with the front and rear elements (connecting rods 201 are rotatable mounted to front side frame 11 and rear side frame 12, figs.1-7).
Bowman and Lei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wagons. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bowman with the connecting arm arrangement rotatable to front and rear side of Lei with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the wagon to be collapsed in a length direction for storage.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Bowman in combination with Lei discloses further comprising a push handle (Bowman, handle 18, fig.1; Lei, handle 3 and rod 4, figs.1-2).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Bowman in combination with Lei, Lei discloses wherein the first rotatable, disengageable, and collapsable connecting arm arrangement comprises: a first cross rod (rods 201, figs.1-7); and a second cross rod (rods 201, figs.1-7), wherein a first end of the first cross rod interfaces a first hinge seat installed on an upper end of the first rotatable element (end of rod 201 couples to hinge seat on the front side frame 11 as seen in figures 1-2) and a first end of the second cross rod interfaces an upper end of the third rotatable element (end of rod 201 couples to hinge seat on the rear side frame 12 as seen in figures 1-2) and the first cross rod and the second cross rod are connected by a disconnectable joint (hinge part 205 couples the rods 201, and hinge part 205 has two rotatable parts 2051 connected by screws allowing them to be disconnected, figs.1-7).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Bowman in combination with Lei, Lei discloses wherein the disconnectable joint comprises: a circular first connecting seat (rotating parts 2051 and cannula part 2052, rotating parts 2051 are circular, figs.1-7); and a second connecting seat (rotating parts 2051 and cannula part 2052, rotating parts 2051 are circular, figs.1-7); wherein the circular first connecting seat is fixed to an opposite end of the second cross rod (rotating parts 2051 and cannula part 2052 are fixed to end of rod 201, figs.1-7) and the second connecting seat is fixed to an opposite end of the first cross rod (rotating parts 2051 and cannula part 2052 are fixed to end of rod 201, figs.1-7).
Regarding claim 14, Bowman in combination with Lei, Lei discloses further comprising a sleeve (Lei, parts 2052 connected to parts 2051, figs.1-7; Bowman, frame connector 44 has sleeves for the rods 36, figs.1-2) fixed to the first connecting seat and the second connecting seat, wherein one end of the sleeve is sleeved on the first cross rod and fixed on the second cross rod.
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman (US 20170021850 A1) in view of Lei (US 20230227086 A1), and in further view of Choi (US 11465664 B1).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Bowman in combination with Lei disclose the vehicle/wagon of claims 1, 8, and 15, but fail to disclose further comprising a cover positioned over the vehicle.
However, Choi discloses a cover (canopy 400, figs.1-2) positioned over the vehicle.
Bowman and Choi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wagons. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi with the canopy of Choi with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing protection inside the wagon.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Bowman in combination with Lei and Choi, Choi discloses further comprising four support elements (canopy frame 412 and canopy fixing poles 411, fig.1-2, 8, 10, and 23) adjoining the vehicle and configured to maintain the cover above the vehicle.
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman (US 20170021850 A1) in view of Lei (US 20230227086 A1), and in further view of Chin (US 20250074494 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Bowman in combination with Lei disclose the vehicle/wagon of claims 6 and 19, but fail to disclose an internal enclosure sealable at a seam.
However, Chin discloses an internal enclosure sealable at a seam (basket 100 and cover 500 sealable at seam 212 with zippers 540, figs.8-10) wherein rotation of the first cross rod and the second cross rod and opening of the seam provides access to or from an interior of the wagon (seam 212 and zippers 540 provide access to the front section 502, figs.8-10).
Bowman and Chin are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of child carriers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bowman with the sealable compartment of Chin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing a secure and separate storage area inside the wagon/basket.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613