DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iyer et al US Patent Pub. 2023/0248513A1.
Iyer et al discloses a prosthetic valve (1800) comprising an annular frame (1804) movable between a compressed diameter in a radially compressed state and a deployed diameter in a radially expanded state, the frame comprising: a plurality of intersecting angled struts (1874a-b) and a plurality of vertical struts (1852 and 1880-81), wherein each vertical strut extends between a vertical strut inflow end (See figure below) and an opposite vertical strut outflow end (see figure below), and wherein the plurality of vertical struts comprises: a plurality of commissure struts (1846), each commissure strut comprising a commissure window (See holes below); and a plurality of non-commissural vertical struts; at least one externally formed information indicator (1860, see also paragraphs 15 and 110 disclosing that a marker can be located in the node 2116a) formed along at least one of the vertical struts (1880-81); and a valvular structure mounted within the frame and comprising a plurality of leaflets configured to regulate flow through the prosthetic valve (see Figs. 14a-c).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, as disclosed in paragraph 110 the node 2116a can have a radiopaque marker in addition to the other marker having a letter “d” (See figure below).
Regarding claim 3, see element 1860 as the indicator in one of the commissure struts.
Regarding claim 5, in paragraph 110 discloses that a radiopaque marker can be attached to the node 2116a, therefore, if the marker is a coating or is physically attached to that node, then at least the radiopaque node will be slightly bigger than the original strut.
Regarding claim 6, paragraph 110 discloses that additional radiopaque markers can be attached to the struts, therefore, the multiple radiopaque markers in the implant read on the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 8, the frame further comprises at least two support struts (1874) extending between at least two adjacent vertical struts and intersecting with each other at a support apex (1842), and wherein at least one support strut extends from the at least one externally formed information indicator (See figure below for the Examiners interpretation).
Regarding claim 14, see figure below disclosing the two angle struts intersecting the inflow end and another two angled struts intersecting the outflow end of the vertical strut.
Regarding claim 15, as disclosed in paragraph 110, radiopaque markers can be attached to a strut and a node to have fluoroscopic visualization from outside the body. Therefore, it is well known in the art to attached the markers to the struts using several techniques including crimping, coating, riveting, press-fitting and mechanical interlocking all these techniques will make the market (indicator) wider that the strut and the vertical strut it is formed along the marker (indicator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al US Patent Pub. 2023/0248513A1 in view of Guttenberg et al US Patent Pub. 2022/0039945A1.
Iyer et al discloses an implant having an indicator in the shape of a letter and another additional indicator as a marker in the node of the strut as disclosed in paragraph 110 (see figure above). However, Iyer et al does not disclose an indicator in the shape of a digit.
Guttenberg et al discloses a heart implant comprising easily identifying indicators to provide information about the heart valve measurements, type and valve model. The Guttenberg et al reference uses this information so it can be seen from outside of the body, post implantation (see paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to combine the letters of the Lyer et al reference with the numbers of the Guttenberg et al reference in order to use this information for identifying the size of the implant from outside of the body, post implantation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0000604 --- See Fig. 9A disclosing digit indicators.
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 10/16/26