DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 3/17/2025. Claims 1-12 are pending for examination, the rejection cited as stated below.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
3. Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of US Patent 11317161 (hereafter “Patent’161”) in view of Trenz et al (US 2010/0306708).
As to claim 1, Patent’161 discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices (Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “at an electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices”);
displaying, via display, a plurality of representations of contacts associated with the electronic device (Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “displaying, via the display device, a user interface that includes: a first region that includes one or more first representations of different people, wherein a first respective representation of the one or more first representations corresponding to a first person includes a visual indication of the first person”); and
while displaying the plurality of representations of contacts, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input directing focus to a representation corresponding to a contact that is included in the plurality of representation of contacts (Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “while displaying the user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input selecting the first respective representation corresponding to the first person”); and
in response to detecting the first input:
in accordance with a determination that the representation is a first representation corresponding to a first contact, displaying, via the display, information including a first representation of media associated with the first contact (Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display device, information associated with the first person”; Claim 9, “The method of claim 1, wherein the information associated with the first person includes media corresponding to the first person”),
but does not expressly disclose that the information is on a landing page, or more than one representation of media associated with the first contact, or in accordance with a determination that the representation is a second representation corresponding to a second contact, different from the first representation corresponding to the first contact, displaying, via the display, a second landing page, different from the first landing page, including a second plurality of representations of media, different from the first plurality of representation of media, associated with the second contact.
Trenz discloses information on a landing page, more than one representation of media associated with the first contact (See Fig. 5, “View Friends”; and Fig. 6 and [0077], “Processing circuitry 306 may receive a selection of any one of the friends in the interactive list to either delete the friend, view the profile of the friend or view a hub-and-spoke arrangement associated with the friend. For example, the user may access hub-and-spoke arrangements of friends to see which media assets match interests of another member. In particular, processing circuitry 306 may bring up a display similar to the one shown in FIG. 6 that shows the selected friend's profile representation in the center as the hub of the hub-and-spoke arrangement and media assets that match interests of the selected friend as the spokes”); and
in accordance with a determination that a representation is a second representation corresponding to a second contact, different from a first representation corresponding to a first contact, displaying, via the display, a second landing page, different from a first landing page, including a second plurality of representations of media, different from a first plurality of representation of media, associated with the second contact (see citation in rejection to the preceding limitation, e.g., Trenz, [0077], “receive a selection of any one of the friends in the interactive list to either delete the friend, view the profile of the friend or view a hub-and-spoke arrangement associated with the friend. For example, the user may access hub-and-spoke arrangements of friends to see which media assets match interests of another member. In particular, processing circuitry 306 may bring up a display similar to the one shown in FIG. 6 that shows the selected friend's profile representation in the center as the hub of the hub-and-spoke arrangement and media assets that match interests of the selected friend as the spokes”, wherein “selecting any one of the friends” indicates that the disclosed functionality applies to a first friend and a second friend, wherein each friend has its own profile page displaying “media assets that match interest of the selected friend as the spokes”, See also Fig. 6, Fig. 7 showing multiple friends to select from).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Patent’161 with Trenz. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to allow a user to visually identify users in a community having interest that matches a particular media asset (Trenz, [0026]).
As to claim 11, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claims 2-4, see Trenz, as cited and explained in the 102 rejection to the respective claims.
As to claim 6, Patent’161 in view of Trenz discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the plurality of representations of contacts, concurrently displaying, via the display, one or more representations of media consumption activity of the contacts, including the first contact and including the second contact, that are associated with the electronic device (Patent’161, see Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “displaying, via the display device, a user interface that includes: a first region that includes one or more first representations of different people, wherein a first respective representation of the one or more first representations corresponding to a first person includes a visual indication of the first person; and a second region that includes one or more second representations corresponding to one or more media that are included in the second region in accordance with a determination that one or more friends have consumed the one or more media, wherein a second respective representation of the one or more second representations corresponding to a first media includes a visual indication of the first media, and an indication of a popularity of the first media, wherein the indication of popularity comprises a number of friends that have consumed the first media”).
As to claim 7, Patent’161 in view of Trenz discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more representations of media consumption activity include one or more representations of media viewed by the contacts (Patent’161, see Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “a second region that includes one or more second representations corresponding to one or more media that are included in the second region in accordance with a determination that one or more friends have consumed the one or more media, wherein a second respective representation of the one or more second representations corresponding to a first media includes a visual indication of the first media, and an indication of a popularity of the first media, wherein the indication of popularity comprises a number of friends that have consumed the first media”).
As to claim 8, Patent’161 in view of Trenz discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the one or more representations of media include at least one instance of live media (Trenz, [0028], “live performance”; [0040], “live video”).
As to claim 9, Patent’161 in view of Trenz discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more representations of media consumption activity include a quantity of friends that have consumed respective media corresponding to respective representations of the one or more representations of media consumption activity (Patent’161, see Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “wherein a second respective representation of the one or more second representations corresponding to a first media includes a visual indication of the first media, and an indication of a popularity of the first media, wherein the indication of popularity comprises a number of friends that have consumed the first media”).
As to claim 10, Patent’161 in view of Trenz discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
while displaying the one or more representations of media consumption activity of the contacts, receiving, via the one or more input devices, second input, different from the first input directed to a first representation of first media included in the one or more representations of media consumption activity; and in response to detecting the second input, displaying, via the display, a landing page associated with the first media (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein that the recited “first input directed to a first representation of first media included in the one or more representations of media consumption activity” is interpreted as any input. See Patent’161, Claim 9’s Parent Claim 1, “while displaying the user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input selecting the second respective representation corresponding to the first media; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the display device, a user interface corresponding to the first media”).
4. Claim 5 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Patent’161 in view of Trenz, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chandra (2011/0246500).
As to claim 5, Patent’161 in view of Trenz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the electronic device has access to a first amount of access to media consumption activity of the first contact based on a first type of relationship with the first contact (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein that the claimed “has access to a first amount of access” is interpreted as “has a first amount of access”. See Trenz, Fig. 6; and [0150], “a dashed link may indicate that the particular community member corresponding to the community member identifier 1116 has previously watched, recorded, scheduled for recording or had a reminder set or stored for a media asset corresponding to media asset identifier 1112”, which indicates a first amount of access to media consumption activity of the first contact based on a relationship being a community member friend with the first contact, see also [0072], “Processing circuitry 306 may receive a selection of setup option 540 and may generate a window or new screen with settings that the user may select. For example, one of the settings may be a privacy setting which instructs processing circuitry 306 which other community members can access or view the profile of the user”, therefore an access to a community member’s profile is considered a full access), and
the electronic device has access to a second amount of access, different from the first amount of access, to media consumption activity of the second contact based on a second type of relationship with the second contact (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein that the claimed “has access to a second amount of access” is interpreted as “has a second amount of access”. See Trenz, [0071], “the user may change a setting to cause the other community members to be any other person that is logged into the network regardless of association or shared attribute with the user (e.g., strangers)”; [0072], “Processing circuitry 306 may receive a selection of setup option 540 and may generate a window or new screen with settings that the user may select. For example, one of the settings may be a privacy setting which instructs processing circuitry 306 which other community members can access or view the profile of the user. In particular, a privacy setting may be modified to only allow other community members who belong to the same community (e.g., company) as the user (or may be broadened to allow any other community member) to access or view the user's profile”. In other words, the instant user can add a stranger (second contact) onto his friend list but if that stranger set a privacy setting to only share with community members, then the instant user’s amount of access to the stranger’s media consumption would be none, hence a different amount than that to a community member’s).
If, however, the second amount of access were to be interpreted narrowly to require another level of access, then Patent’161 in view of Trenz does not disclose a second amount of access, different from the first amount of access, to media consumption activity of the second contact based on a second type of relationship with the second contact. Chandra discloses a concept of access control allowing different levels of access from each other, to media consumption activity of a different contact based on a different type of relationship with the different contact ([0020], “The user may control access based on categories of feedback including, for example, the type of feedback provided (e.g., star ratings, click data, etc.), the items to which the feedback relates (e.g., do not share reviews of prescription medications or doctors), or other criteria. Furthermore, the user may apply different access controls to different peers. For example, the user may manually define access levels for each peer in his or her social network, automatically define access levels based on the nature of the relationship (e.g., family, best friends, colleagues, etc.), or apply the same access controls to all peers. In this manner, the user may maintain control of access to his or her feedback, such that the user's information is only shared with the peers that are granted access”).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Patent’161 in view of Trenz with Chandra. The suggestion/motivation would have been to protect privacy (Chandra, [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 5 recites “the electronic device has access to a first amount of access to media consumption activity of the first contact based on a first type of relationship with the first contact, and the electronic device has access to a second amount of access, different from the first amount of access, to media consumption activity of the second contact based on a second type of relationship with the second contact”. It is unclear what is considered “has access to a first amount of access” and “has access to a second amount of access”. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as “has a first amount of access” and “has a second amount of access” respectively.
b) Claim 10 recites “receiving, via the one or more input devices, second input, different from the first input directed to a first representation of first media included in the one or more representations of media consumption activity; and in response to detecting the second input”. The recited “the first input directed to a first representation of first media included in the one or more representations of media consumption activity” lacks sufficient antecedent basis, because neither this claim nor the parent claim recites “a first input directed to a first representation of first media included in the one or more representations of media consumption activity.” Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as any input.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
9. Claims 1-4 and 11-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Trenz et al (US 2010/0306708).
As to claim 1, Trenz discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices (Fig. 3);
displaying, via display, a plurality of representations of contacts associated with the electronic device ([0077], “Processing circuitry 306 may also include an interactive list of selectable community members that are already friends with the user when the user selects view friends option 590. The interactive list may be displayed in a window next to option 590 or in a new window to which the user is navigated”); and
while displaying the plurality of representations of contacts, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input directing focus to a representation corresponding to a contact that is included in the plurality of representation of contacts ([0077], “Processing circuitry 306 may receive a selection of any one of the friends in the interactive list to either delete the friend, view the profile of the friend or view a hub-and-spoke arrangement associated with the friend. For example, the user may access hub-and-spoke arrangements of friends to see which media assets match interests of another member. In particular, processing circuitry 306 may bring up a display similar to the one shown in FIG. 6 that shows the selected friend's profile representation in the center as the hub of the hub-and-spoke arrangement and media assets that match interests of the selected friend as the spokes.”); and
in response to detecting the first input:
in accordance with a determination that the representation is a first representation corresponding to a first contact, displaying, via the display, a first landing page including a first plurality of representations of media associated with the first contact ([0077], “Processing circuitry 306 may receive a selection of any one of the friends in the interactive list to either delete the friend, view the profile of the friend or view a hub-and-spoke arrangement associated with the friend. For example, the user may access hub-and-spoke arrangements of friends to see which media assets match interests of another member. In particular, processing circuitry 306 may bring up a display similar to the one shown in FIG. 6 that shows the selected friend's profile representation in the center as the hub of the hub-and-spoke arrangement and media assets that match interests of the selected friend as the spokes”. See Fig. 6, corresponding to “STEWIE” friend); and
in accordance with a determination that the representation is a second representation corresponding to a second contact, different from the first representation corresponding to the first contact, displaying, via the display, a second landing page, different from the first landing page, including a second plurality of representations of media, different from the first plurality of representation of media, associated with the second contact (see citation in rejection to the preceding limitation, e.g., [0077], “receive a selection of any one of the friends in the interactive list to either delete the friend, view the profile of the friend or view a hub-and-spoke arrangement associated with the friend. For example, the user may access hub-and-spoke arrangements of friends to see which media assets match interests of another member. In particular, processing circuitry 306 may bring up a display similar to the one shown in FIG. 6 that shows the selected friend's profile representation in the center as the hub of the hub-and-spoke arrangement and media assets that match interests of the selected friend as the spokes”, wherein “selecting any one of the friends” indicates that the disclosed functionality applies to a first friend and a second friend, wherein each friend has its own profile page displaying “media assets that match interest of the selected friend as the spokes”, See also Fig. 6, Fig. 7 showing multiple friends to select from).
As to claim 11, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 2, Trenz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a respective representation of respective media included in the first plurality of representations of media includes previously captured media associated with the respective media ([0006], “when the user positions a cursor over one of the displayed media asset representations, a window that includes a video clip, detailed information and/or various recording, scheduling and reminder options may be provided” wherein “a video clip” is previously captured media).
As to claim 3, Trenz discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
while displaying the first plurality of representations of media, receiving, via the one or more input devices, input directing focus toward the respective representation of respective media ([0006], “when the user positions a cursor over one of the displayed media asset representations, a window that includes a video clip, detailed information and/or various recording, scheduling and reminder options may be provided”); and
in response to receiving the input directing the focus toward the respective representation of respective media, displaying, via the display, a media landing page corresponding to the respective media ([0006], “when the user positions a cursor over one of the displayed media asset representations, a window that includes a video clip, detailed information and/or various recording, scheduling and reminder options may be provided. In some implementations, the window may be displayed adjacent to the media asset representation over which the cursor is positioned”. See also Fig. 6; and [0117], “When the user positions a cursor over one of media asset identifiers 630 or one of community member identifiers 650, processing circuitry 306 may automatically display information about the media asset corresponding to media asset identifier 630 or the community member corresponding to community member identifier 650 over which the cursor is positioned. For example, when the user positions a cursor over one of the media asset identifiers 630, processing circuitry 306 may display a window next to the media asset identifier 630 over which the cursor is positioned that includes information about the media asset corresponding to the media asset identifier 630”).
As to claim 4, Trenz discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the media landing page includes an indication of a quantity of contacts associated with the respective media, including the first contact, that expressed interest in the respective media (see citation in rejection to claim 1, wherein a quantity of contacts associated with the respective media is one including the first contact, indicated by the name of the first contact, see, e.g., Fig. 6. It is to be noted that the claim does not require a specific format for the indication of a quantity. See [0026], “allow a user to visually identify users within a community have interests that match a particular media asset”; [0077], “the user may access hub-and-spoke arrangements of friends to see which media assets match interests of another member. In particular, processing circuitry 306 may bring up a display similar to the one shown in FIG. 6 that shows the selected friend's profile representation in the center as the hub of the hub-and-spoke arrangement and media assets that match interests of the selected friend as the spokes”. It is to be noted that the claim does not require a specific way to express interest in the respective media, therefore Examiner interprets as any way. Also see Fig. 6 and [0115], “a dashed line may indicate that the media asset corresponding to the media asset identifier 630 may be old to the user in that the user has previously accessed that media asset”; [0150], “a dashed link may indicate that the particular community member corresponding to the community member identifier 1116 has previously watched, recorded, scheduled for recording or had a reminder set or stored for a media asset corresponding to media asset identifier 1112”, wherein “previously accessed/watched, recorded, scheduled for recording or had a reminder set or stored for a media asset” indicates expressions of interest”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
11. Claim 5 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Trenz, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chandra (2011/0246500).
As to claim 5, Trenz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the electronic device has access to a first amount of access to media consumption activity of the first contact based on a first type of relationship with the first contact (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein that the claimed “has access to a first amount of access” is interpreted as “has a first amount of access”. See Fig. 6; and [0150], “a dashed link may indicate that the particular community member corresponding to the community member identifier 1116 has previously watched, recorded, scheduled for recording or had a reminder set or stored for a media asset corresponding to media asset identifier 1112”, which indicates a first amount of access to media consumption activity of the first contact based on a relationship being a community member friend with the first contact, see also [0072], “Processing circuitry 306 may receive a selection of setup option 540 and may generate a window or new screen with settings that the user may select. For example, one of the settings may be a privacy setting which instructs processing circuitry 306 which other community members can access or view the profile of the user”, therefore an access to a community member’s profile is considered a full access), and
the electronic device has access to a second amount of access, different from the first amount of access, to media consumption activity of the second contact based on a second type of relationship with the second contact (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein that the claimed “has access to a second amount of access” is interpreted as “has a second amount of access”. See [0071], “the user may change a setting to cause the other community members to be any other person that is logged into the network regardless of association or shared attribute with the user (e.g., strangers)”; [0072], “Processing circuitry 306 may receive a selection of setup option 540 and may generate a window or new screen with settings that the user may select. For example, one of the settings may be a privacy setting which instructs processing circuitry 306 which other community members can access or view the profile of the user. In particular, a privacy setting may be modified to only allow other community members who belong to the same community (e.g., company) as the user (or may be broadened to allow any other community member) to access or view the user's profile”. In other words, the instant user can add a stranger (second contact) onto his friend list but if that stranger set a privacy setting to only share with community members, then the instant user’s amount of access to the stranger’s media consumption would be none, hence a different amount than that to a community member’s).
If, however, the second amount of access were to be interpreted narrowly to require another level of access, then Trenz does not disclose a second amount of access, different from the first amount of access, to media consumption activity of the second contact based on a second type of relationship with the second contact. Chandra discloses a concept of access control allowing different levels of access from each other, to media consumption activity of a different contact based on a different type of relationship with the different contact ([0020], “The user may control access based on categories of feedback including, for example, the type of feedback provided (e.g., star ratings, click data, etc.), the items to which the feedback relates (e.g., do not share reviews of prescription medications or doctors), or other criteria. Furthermore, the user may apply different access controls to different peers. For example, the user may manually define access levels for each peer in his or her social network, automatically define access levels based on the nature of the relationship (e.g., family, best friends, colleagues, etc.), or apply the same access controls to all peers. In this manner, the user may maintain control of access to his or her feedback, such that the user's information is only shared with the peers that are granted access”).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Trenz with Chandra. The suggestion/motivation would have been to protect privacy (Chandra, [0020]).
12. Claims 6-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Trenz, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHAI et al (US 20130061266).
As to claim 6, Trenz discloses the claimed invention substantially as discussed in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose while displaying the plurality of representations of contacts, concurrently displaying, via the display, one or more representations of media consumption activity of the contacts, including the first contact and including the second contact, that are associated with the electronic device. CHAI discloses concurrently displaying, via the display, one or more representations of media consumption activity of contacts, including a first contact and including a second contact, that are associated with the electronic device (Fig. 7; and [0050], “FIG. 7 is a sample user interface illustrating a social selection input. When the user selects the social icon 308, each row of channels is organized based on the user's social connections, such that each channel or row of the EPG provides updated thumbnails of programs that a particular friend is viewing or has viewed. For example, the first row of channels presents programs that Allison is watching and has watched in the past (e.g., based on a scroll right input), while the second row presents what Joey is currently watching. The user may scroll on the row to view what Joey has viewed in the past as well”).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Trenz with CHAI. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable viewing social connection and respective media activities on the same page (CHAI, [0050]).
As to claim 7, Trenz in view of CHAI discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more representations of media consumption activity include one or more representations of media viewed by the contacts (CHAI, Fig. 7; and [0050], “FIG. 7 is a sample user interface illustrating a social selection input. When the user selects the social icon 308, each row of channels is organized based on the user's social connections, such that each channel or row of the EPG provides updated thumbnails of programs that a particular friend is viewing or has viewed. For example, the first row of channels presents programs that Allison is watching and has watched in the past (e.g., based on a scroll right input), while the second row presents what Joey is currently watching. The user may scroll on the row to view what Joey has viewed in the past as well”).
As to claim 8, Trenz in view of CHAI discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the one or more representations of media include at least one instance of live media (Trenz, [0028], “live performance”; [0040], “live video”).
As to claim 9, Trenz in view of CHAI discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more representations of media consumption activity include a quantity of friends that have consumed respective media corresponding to respective representations of the one or more representations of media consumption activity (CHAI, Figure 7, e.g., “Show-003 4:30PM” shows under “Allison” only therefore a quantity of friends is one. It is to be noted that the claim does not require a specific way to present the quantity).
As to claim 10, Trenz in view of CHAI discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
while displaying the one or more representations of media consumption activity of the contacts, receiving, via the one or more input devices, second input, different from the first input directed to a first representation of first media included in the one or more representations of media consumption activity; and in response to detecting the second input, displaying, via the display, a landing page associated with the first media (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein that the recited “first input directed to a first representation of first media included in the one or more representations of media consumption activity” is interpreted as any input. See CHAI as cited in rejection to claim 6 regarding displaying the one ore more representation of media consumption activity of the contacts. See Trenz, Fig. 6; and [0117], “When the user positions a cursor over one of media asset identifiers 630 or one of community member identifiers 650, processing circuitry 306 may automatically display information about the media asset corresponding to media asset identifier 630 or the community member corresponding to community member identifier 650 over which the cursor is positioned. For example, when the user positions a cursor over one of the media asset identifiers 630, processing circuitry 306 may display a window next to the media asset identifier 630 over which the cursor is positioned that includes information about the media asset corresponding to the media asset identifier 630”).
Conclusion
/HUA FAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458