DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2-14, line 1; the phrase “a two-phase cooling system” should be changed to --the two-phase cooling system-- for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wegmann et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2014/0262158 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wegmann et al ‘158.
Regarding claim 1, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose a circulation device (10) for the two-phase cooling system (8), the circulation device that constitutes the two-phase cooling system in which a refrigerant (two-phase refrigerant) is circulated by connecting a removable evaporator (16) to the circulation device, the circulation device comprising: a pump (52) to pump the refrigerant {as shown in Fig 1: ¶¶ [0043-0045]}; an inlet connection (22) downstream of the pump connected to an inlet (16a) of the evaporator for the refrigerant, and an outlet (26) connection downstream of the pump connected to an outlet (16b) of the evaporator for the refrigerant{as shown in annotated Fig 1: ¶ [0043]}; a condenser (32) downstream of the outlet connection to cool the refrigerant {as shown in annotated Fig 1: ¶ [0044]}; and a bypass line (2226) branching at a portion downstream of the pump and upstream of the inlet connection to allow the refrigerant to flow to the condenser without passing through the inlet connection and the outlet connection {as shown in annotated Fig. 1: ¶ [0043]; wherein after decoupling of the evaporator, the refrigerant can then flow along the bypass line from the pump to the condenser}; wherein the circulation device is operable to circulate the refrigerant not through the inlet connection and the outlet connection but through the bypass line when at least the evaporator is not connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection {as shown in annotated Fig. 1: ¶ [0043]; wherein after decoupling of the evaporator, the refrigerant can then flow along the bypass line (2226) from the pump to the condenser}.
Regarding claim 2, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 1, wherein in a normal operating state in which the evaporator is connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection, a portion of the refrigerant is circulated through the evaporator, and a remaining portion of the refrigerant is circulated through the bypass line {as shown in annotated Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 4, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 1, wherein the condenser is operable to condense and cool a gas-phase refrigerant contained in a two-phase refrigerant of the refrigerant with a coolant flowing in from an outside, or to cool a liquid refrigerant of the refrigerant {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0019] and [0044]}.
Regarding claim 5, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 1, wherein the bypass line branches at a portion (2226a) downstream of the pump and upstream of the inlet connection, and is connected to a portion (2226b) downstream of the outlet connection and upstream of the condenser {as shown in annotated Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 7, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 1, wherein when the evaporator is connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection, a two-phase refrigerant flowing out of the evaporator flows into the condenser {as shown in annotated Fig. 1: ¶ [0045]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wegmann et al ‘158, in view of Louvar et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2012/0324933 A1), hereinafter referred to as Louvar et al ‘933.
Regarding claim 3, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitation of further comprising: a flow regulator in the bypass line.
Louvar et al ‘933 teach: the concept of a flow regulator (13B) in the bypass line (8) {as shown in Fig. 7: ¶ [0023]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of Louvar et al ‘933 to include the use of a flow regulator in the bypass line, in order to facilitate regulation of inline internal pressure {Louvar et al ‘933 – ¶ [0023]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of Louvar et al ‘933 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 5, EXCEPT for the limitations of further comprising: an inlet side shut-off valve between a bifurcation at which the bypass line branches on a downstream side of the pump and the inlet connection to open and close a flow path of the refrigerant, and an outlet side shut-off valve between the outlet connection and a connection portion to which the bypass line is connected on a downstream side of the outlet connection to open and close the flow path of the refrigerant.
Louvar et al ‘933 teach: the concept of an inlet side shut-off valve (13A1) and to open and close a flow path of the refrigerant (9), and an outlet side shut-off valve (13A2) {as shown in annotated Fig. 7: ¶ [0020] and [0023]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of Louvar et al ‘933 to include the use of an inlet side shut-off valve between a bifurcation at which the bypass line branches on a downstream side of the pump and the inlet connection to open and close a flow path of the refrigerant, and an outlet side shut-off valve between the outlet connection and a connection portion to which the bypass line is connected on a downstream side of the outlet connection to open and close the flow path of the refrigerant, in order to facilitate regulation of inline internal pressure {Louvar et al ‘933 – ¶ [0023]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of Louvar et al ‘933 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitations of further comprising: an inlet side shut-off valve between a bifurcation at which the bypass line branches on a downstream side of the pump and the inlet connection to open and close a flow path of the refrigerant; wherein when the refrigerant is recovered from the evaporator, the refrigerant is circulated through the bypass line without passing through the evaporator, and the refrigerant in the evaporator is led to the condenser, in a refrigerant recovery state in which the evaporator is connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection and the inlet side shut-off valve is closed.
Louvar et al ‘933 teach: the concept of an inlet side shut-off valve (13A1) and to open and close a flow path of the refrigerant (9), and an outlet side shut-off valve (13A2) {as shown in annotated Fig. 7: ¶ [0020] and [0023]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of Louvar et al ‘933 to include the use of an inlet side shut-off valve between a bifurcation at which the bypass line branches on a downstream side of the pump and the inlet connection to open and close a flow path of the refrigerant; wherein when the refrigerant is recovered from the evaporator, the refrigerant is circulated through the bypass line without passing through the evaporator, and the refrigerant in the evaporator is led to the condenser, in a refrigerant recovery state in which the evaporator is connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection and the inlet side shut-off valve is closed, in order to facilitate regulation of inline internal pressure {Louvar et al ‘933 – ¶ [0023]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of Louvar et al ‘933 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wegmann et al ‘158 and Louvar et al ‘933 as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of ITO et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2019/0154322 A1), hereinafter referred to as ITO et al ‘322.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wegmann et al ‘158 and Louvar et al ‘933 disclose and teach the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 8, EXCEPT for the limitations of further comprising: a detector to detect an amount of recovered refrigerant; and a controller configured or programmed to stop operation of the pump to terminate a recovery process of the refrigerant based on a detection result of the detector.
ITO et al ‘322 teach: the concept of a detector (24) to detect an amount of recovered refrigerant {see Fig. 14: ¶¶ [0127] and [0131-0132]}; and a controller (20/20A) configured or programmed to stop operation of the pump to terminate a recovery process of the refrigerant based on a detection result of the detector {see Figs. 2, 5 and 11-14 : ¶¶ [0075], [0098], [0101], [0104] and [0109]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of ITO et al ‘322 to include the use of a detector to detect an amount of recovered refrigerant; and a controller configured or programmed to stop operation of the pump to terminate a recovery process of the refrigerant based on a detection result of the detector, in order to facilitate elimination of accumulator, whereby the circulation device can be downsized {ITO et al ‘322 – ¶ [0016]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of ITO et al ‘322 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wegmann et al ‘158, Louvar et al ‘933 and ITO et al ‘322 disclose and teach the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 9, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose further comprising: a reservoir (50) downstream of the condenser and upstream of the pump {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0045]}; and Wegmann et al ‘158 as modified by ITO et al ‘322 further teach the limitations of wherein the detector is operable to detect an amount of stored refrigerant in the reservoir as the amount of recovered refrigerant; and the controller is configured or programmed to, in the refrigerant recovery state, perform a control to stop the operation of the pump to terminate the recovery process of the refrigerant when the amount of stored refrigerant detected by the detector while the refrigerant is circulating through the bypass line without passing through the evaporator becomes equal to or greater than a set storage amount, which is set in advance {see Figs. 2, 5 and 11-14 : ¶¶ [0075], [0098], [0101], [0104], [0109], [0127] and [0131-0132]}.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wegmann et al ‘158, Louvar et al ‘933 and ITO et al ‘322 disclose and teach the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 9, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose further comprising: a reservoir downstream (50) of the condenser and upstream of the pump; and Wegmann et al ‘158 as modified by ITO et al ‘322 further teach the limitations of wherein the detector is operable to detect an amount of stored refrigerant in the reservoir as the amount of recovered refrigerant; and the controller is configured or programmed to, in the refrigerant recovery state, perform a control to stop the operation of the pump to terminate the recovery process of the refrigerant when an amount of change in the amount of stored refrigerant detected by the detector while the refrigerant is circulating through the bypass line without passing through the evaporator becomes equal to or less than a set change amount, which is set in advance {see Figs. 2, 5 and 11-14 : ¶¶ [0075], [0098], [0101], [0104], [0109], [0127] and [0131-0132]}.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wegmann et al ‘158, Louvar et al ‘933 and ITO et al ‘322 disclose and teach the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 10, Wegmann et al ‘158 as modified by ITO et al ‘322 further teach the limitations of further comprising: a notifier to notify a user that the amount of stored refrigerant detected by the detector has become equal to or greater than the set storage amount, or that an amount of change in the amount of stored refrigerant detected by the detector has become equal to or less than a set change amount {see ¶ [0104]}.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wegmann et al ‘158, Louvar et al ‘933 and ITO et al ‘322 disclose and teach the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system according to claim 9, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose further comprising: a reservoir downstream (50) of the condenser and upstream of the pump {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0045]}; Wegmann et al ‘158 as modified by ITO et al ‘322 further teach the limitations of wherein the detector is operable to detect an amount of stored refrigerant in the reservoir as the amount of recovered refrigerant {see Fig. 14: ¶¶ [0127] and [0131-0132]}; the circulation device for the two-phase cooling system further comprises an outlet side shut-off valve (15) between the outlet connection and a connection portion to which the bypass line is connected on a downstream side (12) of the outlet connection to open and close the flow path of the refrigerant {as shown in Figs. 9-10: ¶¶ [0075], [0099-0100]}; and the controller is configured or programmed to, based on the detection result of the detector, perform a control to close the outlet side shut-off valve to prevent the refrigerant from flowing out from the outlet side shut-off valve toward the outlet connection {see Figs. 2, 5 and 11-14 : ¶¶ [0050-0051], [0073], [0075], [0087], [0092], [0098], [0101], [0104], [0109], [0127] and [0131-0132]}.
Regarding claim 14, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose a refrigerant circulation method in a circulation device (10) for a two-phase cooling system (8), the circulation device that constitutes the two-phase cooling system in which a refrigerant (two-phase refrigerant) is circulated by connecting a removable evaporator (16) to the circulation device, the refrigerant circulation method comprising: circulating the refrigerant not through an inlet connection (22) connected to an inlet (16a) of the evaporator for the refrigerant, and an outlet connection (26) connected to an outlet (16b) of the evaporator for the refrigerant but through a bypass line (2226) operable to allow the refrigerant to flow therethrough when at least the evaporator is not connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection; and cooling the refrigerant that has flowed through the bypass line into a condenser (32) {as shown in annotated Fig. 1: ¶ [0043]; wherein after decoupling of the evaporator, the refrigerant can then flow along the bypass line from the pump to the condenser}.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wegmann et al ‘158, in view of ITO et al ‘322.
Regarding claim 15, Wegmann et al ‘158 disclose the refrigerant circulation method according to claim 14, further comprising: circulating the refrigerant not through the evaporator but through the bypass line and leading the refrigerant in the evaporator to the condenser {as shown in annotated Fig. 1: ¶ [0043]; wherein after decoupling of the evaporator, the refrigerant can then flow along the bypass line from the pump to the condenser}.
However, Wegmann et al ‘158 fail to disclose the limitation of a refrigerant recovery state in which the evaporator is connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection and an inlet side shut-off valve between a bifurcation at which the bypass line branches and the inlet connection is closed, when the refrigerant is recovered from the evaporator; and stopping circulation of the refrigerant to terminate a recovery process of the refrigerant based on a detection result of an amount of recovered refrigerant.
ITO et al ‘322 teach: the concept of a detector (24) to detect an amount of recovered refrigerant {see Fig. 14: ¶¶ [0127] and [0131-0136]}; and a controller (20/20A) configured or programmed to stop operation of the pump to terminate a recovery process of the refrigerant based on a detection result of the detector {see Figs. 2, 5 and 11-14 : ¶¶ [0075], [0081], [0098-0099], [0101], [0104-0106], [0109] and [0127]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of ITO et al ‘322 to include a method of a refrigerant recovery state in which the evaporator is connected to the inlet connection and the outlet connection and an inlet side shut-off valve between a bifurcation at which the bypass line branches and the inlet connection is closed, when the refrigerant is recovered from the evaporator; and stopping circulation of the refrigerant to terminate a recovery process of the refrigerant based on a detection result of an amount of recovered refrigerant, in order to facilitate elimination of accumulator, whereby the circulation device can be downsized {ITO et al ‘322 – ¶ [0016]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Wegmann et al ‘158 in view of ITO et al ‘322 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20050039888-A1 to Pfahnl, Andreas C.
US-20180088607-A1 to Chainer; Timothy Joseph.
US-20230247795-A1 to Khalili; Sadegh
US-10945354-B1 to Dede; Ercan Mehmet.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
06/30/2026