DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed on 11/26/2024. Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
Priority
1. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2024 and 2/6/2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Remarks
3. The Examiner has provided their own translation of Nakamura (JP 2022077138 A) with the paragraphs numbered. This will be the translation used in the citations below.
Specification
4. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (US 20120170130 A1).
7. Regarding Claim 1, Sasaki teaches a vehicle display device comprising: a display device configured to display an image to a driver of a vehicle (Sasaki: [0002] and [0044]);
And a control unit configured to control the display device (Sasaki: [0202]),
Wherein an image to be displayed by the display device includes a first image and a second image (Sasaki: [0072] Note that the background image 740d is equivalent to the first image and the display object 180 is equivalent to the second image.),
Wherein the first image is an image simulating a scenery of a front side of the vehicle, and is an image in which a depth that is based on a first vanishing point is represented (Sasaki: [0087]),
And wherein the second image is an image for information provision that is to be displayed in a same region as a display region of the first image, and is an image in which a depth that is based on a vanishing point different from the first vanishing point is represented (Sasaki: [0082] and [0089]).
8. Regarding Claim 2, Sasaki remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, teaches the second image includes an image indicating a front object being an object detected on a front side of the vehicle (Sasaki: [0040] and [0067]),
Wherein the image indicating the front object is an image in which a depth that is based on a second vanishing point is represented (Sasaki: [0082]),
And wherein the second vanishing point is positioned on an upper side of the first vanishing point in an image up-down direction (Sasaki: [0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20120170130 A1) in view of Nakamura (JP 2022077138 A).
13. Regarding Claim 3, Sasaki remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further teaches the first image includes a line image being an image representing a boundary of a lane on which the vehicle runs (Sasaki: [0087]).
Sasaki fails to explicitly teach wherein the second image includes a guide image displayed along the line image, wherein the guide image is an image in which a depth that is based on a third vanishing point different from the first vanishing point is represented, and wherein the third vanishing point is shifted from the first vanishing point in an image traverse direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches the first image includes a line image being an image representing a boundary of a lane on which the vehicle runs, wherein the second image includes a guide image displayed along the line image, wherein the guide image is an image in which a depth that is based on a third vanishing point different from the first vanishing point is represented, and wherein the third vanishing point is shifted from the first vanishing point in an image traverse direction (Nakamura: [0050]).
Sasaki and Nakamura are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of vehicle displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura for the second image to include a guide image along the line image in which a depth is based on a third vanishing point because it provides the benefit of forming an augmented reality in which a virtual object is added and displayed in a real landscape to provide the driver with additional information as explicitly explained in [0002] and [0003] of Nakamura.
14. Regarding Claim 4, Sasaki and Nakamura remains as applied above in Claim 3, and further, Nakamura teaches the line image includes a left line image representing a left-side boundary of the lane, and a right line image representing a right-side boundary of the lane, wherein the third vanishing point to be used in a case where the guide image is displayed along the left line image is positioned on a left side of the first vanishing point in the image traverse direction, and wherein the third vanishing point to be used in a case where the guide image is displayed along the right line image is positioned on a right side of the first vanishing point in the image traverse direction (Nakamura: [0050] Note that Nakamura explains the perspective imaginary image V50 can be displaced in the left-right direction. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the guide image can also be displayed along the right line image positioned on a right side of the first vanishing point.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3663