DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 29th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “an axial direction”. However, claim 1 has been amended to include this feature and therefore it’s not clear if this axial direction is the same limitation, or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 9074611) in view of Haaf (US 10107306).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 15-16;
Sauer discloses a fan housing comprising: a barrel body (2) comprising a first end, a second end and a hollow portion (Figure 1), wherein the first end and the second end are two opposite ends, and the hollow portion is in communication between the first end and the second end along an axial direction, and configured to accommodate a fan motor (Figure 9, see axial fan 41 which includes a motor); and a fixing plate comprising a plurality of splicing elements (6), wherein each two adjacent ones of the plurality of splicing elements are connected to each other, wherein the plurality of splicing elements are disposed around the barrel body and connected to the first end or the second end, the barrel body comprises an air outlet/inlet and the hollow portion therebetween (Figure 1). Sauer further discloses a protective grid (Figure 9) detachably disposed outside the air outlet, wherein the protective grid and the barrel body are fixed to each other by a fastening method, and the hollow portion of the barrel body is configured to accommodate a fan motor, and a distance is maintained between the fan motor and the protective grid (motor mount in the center, and since the distance is not defined in any form, the motor is at “a distance” from the protective grid). The grid is detachably disposed on the one end of the barrel.
Sauer fails to explicitly teach the protective grid comprises an additional ring wall detachably connected to the barrel body.
Haaf teaches a fan housing that includes a barrel body with first/second ends and a hollow portion extending along an axial direction (see Figure 7, barrel body 2), a protective grid (36) that defines an additional ring wall (6) that is detachably connected to one of the ends of the barrel body, and the additional ring extends along the axial direction (length “L”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrel fan assembly of Sauer such that the protective grid comprises an additional ring wall detachably connected to the barrel body as taught by Haaf as none but the expected result of mounting the grid to the barrel body is achieved; such a ring can provide more consistent mounting with a rigid structural connection, and the grid protects the internal components and provides safety from the rotating object.
Regarding claim 2, Sauer in view of Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 1 above. Sauer further discloses wherein each two adjacent ones of the plurality of splicing elements have a first joining surface, and are connected with each other by snap locking (Figures 3-5) or screws (Figure 10) or welding (claim 15).
Regarding claim 3, Sauer in view of Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 1 above. Sauer further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of splicing elements and the barrel body have a second joining surface, and are connected with each other by welding or screw locking (Col. 4, Lines 62-67) or snap locking (snap lock connections 11, 12).
Regarding claim 4, Sauer in view of Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 1 above. Sauer further discloses wherein the plurality of splicing elements have an identical size and shape (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, Sauer in view of Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 1 above. Sauer further discloses the barrel body forms a ring wall. Since the barrel body collectively forms a ring wall, the limitations are considered to be taught. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 9074611) in view of Haaf (US 10107306), and further in view of Vadder (US 10030663).
Regarding claim 6;
Sauer in view of Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 1 above.
Sauer fails to teach the barrel body comprises a plurality of fastening platform disposed equidistantly and arranged on an inner periphery of the barrel body, and the fan motor is connected to the plurality of locking platforms through a plurality of support brackets, wherein each of the plurality of support brackets comprises a fastened end and a holding end opposite to each other, the fastened end is detachably connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of fastening platforms, and the holding end is detachably connected to the fan motor.
Vadder teaches a fan housing comprising a barrel body (60) comprising a plurality of fastening platforms (70) disposed equidistantly and arranged on an inner periphery of the barrel body (Figure 5), and the fan motor (see fan 40) is connected to the fastening platforms through a plurality of support brackets (85), each of the plurality of support brackets comprises a fastened end (Figure 5) and a holding end (connected to 55) opposite to each other, the fastened end is detachably connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of fastening platforms (Figures 4-5) and the holding end is detachably connected to the fan motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan housing of Sauer such that the barrel body comprises a plurality of fastening platform disposed equidistantly and arranged on an inner periphery of the barrel body, and the fan motor is connected to the plurality of locking platforms through a plurality of support brackets, wherein each of the plurality of support brackets comprises a fastened end and a holding end opposite to each other, the fastened end is detachably connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of fastening platforms, and the holding end is detachably connected to the fan motor as taught by Vadder for the purposes of mounting the fan within the barrel housing.
Regarding claims 7-8, Sauer in view of Haaf and Vadder teaches the fan housing according to claim 6 above. Sauer as modified by Vadder further teaches the fastened ends of the plurality of support brackets are connected to form a ring surface (Vadder, 55) and each of the plurality of support brackets has an identical size and shape produced of metal (brackets welded to the ring 55).
Regarding claim 9;
Sauer in view of Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 6 above. Sauer further discloses the hollow portion runs through the first end and the second end along the axial direction.
Sauer fails to teach the plurality of support brackets and the fan motor are shielded by the barrel body in view of a radial direction, and the plurality of support brackets and the fan motor are accommodated in the hollow portion without exceeding the first end or the second end.
Vadder teaches a fan housing comprising a barrel body (60) comprising a plurality of fastening platforms (70) disposed equidistantly and arranged on an inner periphery of the barrel body (Figure 5), and the fan motor (see fan 40) is connected to the fastening platforms through a plurality of support brackets (85), each of the plurality of support brackets comprises a fastened end (Figure 5) and a holding end (connected to 55) opposite to each other, the fastened end is detachably connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of fastening platforms (Figures 4-5) and the holding end is detachably connected to the fan motor. The plurality of support brackets and the fan motor are shielded by the barrel body in view of a radial direction, and the plurality of support brackets and the fan motor are accommodated in the hollow portion without exceeding the first end or the second end (Figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan housing of Sauer such that the plurality of support brackets and the fan motor are shielded by the barrel body in view of a radial direction, and the plurality of support brackets and the fan motor are accommodated in the hollow portion without exceeding the first end or the second end as taught by Vadder for the purposes of mounting the fan within the barrel housing as compared to the prior art of Figure 2B in Vadder.
Claims 10-12 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 9074611) in view Bishop (US 20110067845) and Haaf (US 10107306).
Regarding claims 10 and 12;
Sauer discloses a fan housing comprising: a barrel body (2) comprising a first end, a second end and a hollow portion (Figure 1), wherein the first end and the second end are two opposite ends, and the hollow portion is in communication between the first end and the second end along an axial direction, and configured to accommodate a fan motor (Figure 9, see axial fan 41 which includes a motor); and a fixing plate comprising a plurality of splicing elements (6), wherein each two adjacent ones of the plurality of splicing elements are connected to each other, wherein the plurality of splicing elements are disposed around the barrel body and connected to the first end or the second end, the barrel body comprises an air outlet/inlet and the hollow portion therebetween (Figure 1). The plurality of splicing ring walls and plurality of splicing elements are fastened to one another by screw locking or snap locking.
Sauer fails to teach the splicing ring walls and plurality of splicing elements as correspondingly connected to each other and disposed in pairs (ie, two splicing elements and two splicing ring walls). Sauer further fails to explicitly teach the protective grid comprises an additional ring wall detachably connected to the barrel body.
Bishop discloses a fan housing comprising: a plurality of splicing ring walls (34), wherein each two adjacent ones of the plurality of splicing ring walls are connected to each other to form a barrel body (Figure 1), and the barrel body comprises a first end, a second end and a hollow portion (Figure 1), wherein the first end and the second end are two opposite ends (Figure 1), and the hollow portion is in communication between the first end and the second end, and configured to accommodate a fan motor (fan housing is capable of accommodating a fan motor; motor not positively recited, interpreted as intended use); and a plurality of splicing elements (see rectangular frame halves), wherein each two adjacent ones of the plurality of splicing elements are connected to each other to form a fixing plate disposed around the barrel body and connected to the first end or the second end, and the plurality of splicing ring walls and the plurality of splicing elements are correspondingly connected to each other and disposed in pairs (Figure 1, the barrel body ring walls and respective rectangular frame wall are formed in pairs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan housing of Sauer such that the splicing ring walls and plurality of splicing elements as correspondingly connected to each other and disposed in pairs as taught by Bishop for the purposes of reducing the number of parts; utilizing multiple pieces or merely pairs is considered nothing more than a design choice, and it is known to construct fan shrouds/housing into halves rather than multiple pieces.
Haaf teaches a fan housing that includes a barrel body with first/second ends and a hollow portion extending along an axial direction (see Figure 7, barrel body 2), a protective grid (36) that defines an additional ring wall (6) that is detachably connected to one of the ends of the barrel body, and the additional ring extends along the axial direction (length “L”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrel fan assembly of Sauer such that the protective grid comprises an additional ring wall detachably connected to the barrel body as taught by Haaf as none but the expected result of mounting the grid to the barrel body is achieved; such a ring can provide more consistent mounting with a rigid structural connection, and the grid protects the internal components and provides safety from the rotating object.
Regarding claim 11;
Sauer in view of Bishop and Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 10.
Sauer fails to teach the pair of the plurality of splicing ring walls and splicing elements are integrally formed into one piece by a plastic molding method.
Bishop further teaches each pair of the plurality of splicing ring walls and the plurality of splicing elements are integrally formed (Figure 1, the ring/barrel portion is integral with the frame portion of the respective spliced elements) into one piece by a plastic molding method (the shroud 30 may be formed by injection molding of a plastic and/or plastic polymer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pair of the plurality of splicing ring walls and splicing elements are integrally formed into one piece by a plastic molding method as taught by Bishop for the purposes of ease of manufacture of fewer parts and pieces.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 9074611) in view Haaf (US 10107306), and further in view of Sadi (US 9103352) and Gauss (US 10975884).
Sauer in view of Haaf teaches the fan housing according to claim 13 above.
Sauer fails to teach the barrel body comprises a first air inlet section, a second air inlet section, a parallel section and an outlet inclined section arranged from the air inlet to the air outlet in sequence, wherein the first air inlet section has a first curvature radius, the second air inlet section has a second curvature radius, and the first radius is smaller than the second radius.
Sadi teaches an axial fan housing (Figure 1) that forms a barrel body and comprises a first air inlet section and second air inlet section (see section 1.1 which defines the same bellmouth transition shape), a parallel section (1.2), and an outlet inclined section (1.5), the sections being in sequence from inlet to outlet.
Gauss teaches an axial fan housing inlet with a bellmouth shape (Figure 1) that defines the first air inlet section and second air inlet section (Figures 4-5), the first air inlet section which has a first curvature radius, the second air inlet section has a second curvature radius, and the first radius is smaller than the second radius (see the recess shape formed at the overall inlet, which then necessitates multiple radii of curvature). Such a formation counteracts the problematic stall and hence a noise generation and a loss of power.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrel body of Sauer such that the barrel body comprises a first air inlet section, a second air inlet section, a parallel section and an outlet inclined section arranged from the air inlet to the air outlet in sequence as taught by Sadi for the purposes of reducing noise, turbulence and pressure drop and the first air inlet section has a first curvature radius, the second air inlet section has a second curvature radius, and the first radius is smaller than the second radius as taught by Gauss for the purposes of counteracting stall and thereby achieving a reduction in noise and loss of power.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745