DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 has been made record of and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the vehicle pillar “58d” of figure 6 is not recited in the specification (see [0035]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekchian (US 2021/0221258 A1), in further view of Yamazaki (US 2023/0394702 A1).
Consider claim 1, Ekchian discloses a vehicle seat, the vehicle seat comprising an electric device for moving at least one of a seat cushion and a seat back (¶35; “the state of an active seat may be adjusted, for example, manually or by using switch activated powered adjustment mechanisms to adjust the position of the active seat by translating it, relative to a base state and/or the vehicle”; FIG. 1, ¶49; “top view of an embodiment of an adjustable active seat 1 that includes seat back 2, seat bottom 3”), comprising:
an in-vehicle capturing device, capturing an interior image including the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back (¶46; “an external sensor such as an ultrasonic sensor, stereoscopic camera, range camera, or other ranging device may be used to map a vehicle passenger compartment… an external sensor is a sensor that provides information about the surroundings of the seat. The map may be used to determine the position of vehicular components, seat components…”; ¶55, 58, 61, 67, 75, 80; “At block 152, sensor information is received from an active seat and a vehicle. The sensor information may incorporate internal sensors 253 or external sensors 251d. In block 154, the sensor information received in block 152 is used to determine the orientation of the active seat from a predetermined baseline state”); and
a processing device, comparing the interior image with an interior specified [pre-defined base state] (¶6; “when the controller receives information that the seat back of the active seat is reclined by a certain amount or is at a certain angle, the controller may use that information to…”; ¶38; pre-defined base state; ¶43; “the seat control unit may incorporate information about other objects or vehicle components that are proximate to the active seat, such as for example, their size, orientation, and/or location”; ¶55, 58; “In block 156, the position of the active seat is determined relative to the predetermined baseline state. The position of the seat may be determined relative to the vehicle, and may represent a shift in three-dimensional space from predetermined baseline state in the vehicle”; ¶61, ¶63; “the control unit may adjust various control parameters… in the new position to… account for the change in the distance between the roll axis of the seat and the roll axis of the vehicle”).
Ekchian fails to explicitly disclose a processing device, comparing the interior image with an interior specified image when the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back is in a specified position to calculate an absolute position of the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back from an amount of change of the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back relative to the specified position.
In related, art Yamazaki discloses an in-vehicle capturing device, capturing an interior image including the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back (Yamazaki ¶25; interior camera 2); and
a processing device, comparing the interior image with an interior specified image when the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back is in a specified position to calculate an absolute position of the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back from an amount of change of the at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back relative to the specified position (Yamazaki ¶6; “a memory configured to store one or more reference images representing the interior of a vehicle where a driver's seat of the vehicle is at a predetermined position that differs among the one or more reference images”; ¶41; “Each reference image represents the interior of the vehicle 10 where the driver's seat and the steering are set at predetermined positions… the multiple reference images preferably include two or more reference images in which only one of movable portions of the driver's seat and the steering is set at a position that differs among the reference images. For example, it is preferable to prepare two or more reference images in which the position of the seating surface of the driver's seat and the positions in the depth direction and up-and-down direction of the steering are fixed and only the slope of the backrest of the driver's seat differs. Alternatively, it is preferable to prepare two or more reference images in which the position of the seating surface and the slope of the backrest of the driver's seat and the position in the up-and-down direction of the steering are fixed and only the position in the depth direction of the steering differs. This clarifies the difference in the position of a particular movable portion between the mask image and a corresponding reference image, in an individual difference image.”; ¶42, 48; difference image; “the difference image generation unit 32) calculates the absolute value of the difference between pixel values of corresponding pixels of the reference image and the mask image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the interior image comparison and absolute difference calculation of Yamazaki into the interior imaging/mapping system of Ekchian to estimate seat positions by comparing interior images to reference interior images of the vehicle or seat component at a specified baseline position. As stated by Ekchian, “the position of the active seat is determined relative to the predetermined baseline state (Ekchian ¶58)”
Consider claim 2, Ekchian, as modified by Yamazaki, discloses the claimed invention wherein the processing device compares the interior image with a vehicle body portion included in the interior specified image (Ekchian ¶43, 46, 55-58, 61, 80; ¶43; “the seat control unit may incorporate information about other objects or vehicle components that are proximate to the active seat, such as for example, their size, orientation, and/or location”; Yamazaki ¶41-48).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JPH05208630A discloses a power seat control unit.
US 2007/0289800 A1 discloses a vehicle seat detecting system.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY HYTREK/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665