DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20200350392).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Fig. 6) a light emitting device, comprising: a substrate (100); and a plurality of sub-pixels (PU1-PU3) disposed on the substrate, the plurality of sub-pixels comprising a first sub-pixel (SP1 of PU1) of a first color (red) (section 0163), a second sub-pixel (SP2 of PU1) of a second color (green) different from the first color, and a third sub-pixel (SP2 of PU2) of the second color (green), wherein the first sub-pixel (SP1 of PU1) is disposed adjacent to the second sub-pixel (SP2 of PU1), and the first sub-pixel (SP1 of PU1) is disposed adjacent to the third sub-pixel (SP2 of PU2), and wherein a width of the second sub-pixel (SP2 of PU1) along a first direction (X direction) is different from a width of the third sub-pixel (SP2 of PU2) along the first direction (X direction).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) a first extension direction (X direction) of a connection line (SL1b) connecting a center of the first sub-pixel (SP1 of PU1) and a center of the second sub-pixel (SP2 of PU1), and a second extension direction (Y direction) of a connection line (V1, V2) connecting the center of the first sub-pixel (SP1 of PU1) and a center of the third sub-pixel (SP2 of PU1) are different.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Fig. 6) the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises a fourth sub-pixel (SP1 of PU2) of the first color (red) and disposed adjacent to the third sub-pixel (SP2 of PU2), a width of the first sub-pixel (SP1 of PU1) along the first direction (X direction) and a width of the fourth sub-pixel (SP1 of PU2) along the first direction are different.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Fig. 6) the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises a fifth sub-pixel (SP3 of PU1) of a third color (blue) disposed adjacent to the first sub-pixel (SP1 of PU1), and a sixth sub-pixel (SP3 of PU2) of the third color disposed adjacent to the fourth sub-pixel (SP1 of PU2), and wherein the third color (blue) is different from the first color (red) and different from the second color (green).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) a third extension direction of a connection line (SL1b) connecting the center of the first sub-pixel and a center of the fifth sub-pixel, and a fourth extension direction of a connection line (V1, V2) connecting a center of the fourth sub-pixel and a center of the sixth sub-pixel are different.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) the first sub-pixel comprises an organic light emitting diode of the first color, the second sub-pixel comprises an organic light emitting diode of the second color, and the fifth sub-pixel comprises an organic light emitting diode of the third color (sections 0068, 0163).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) the first color is green, blue, or red, the second color is green, blue, or red, and the third color is green, blue, or red (section 0163).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) the first color is green, the second color is blue, and the third color is red (section 0163; dependent on a particular sub-pixel designation).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) the first sub-pixel comprises an organic light emitting diode of the first color, the second sub-pixel comprises an organic light emitting diode of the second color (sections 0068, 0163).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) the first color is green, blue, or red, and the second color is green, blue, or red (section 0163).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-12; in particular Figs. 6-7) the first color is green, and the second color is blue (section 0163; dependent on a particular sub-pixel designation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not disclose or suggest the light emitting device of claims 4-6, in particular the limitations of in a top view, the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel have different geometric shapes. The prior art does not disclose or suggest the light emitting device of claims 15-17, in particular the limitations of in a top view, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel have different geometric shapes.
Conclusion
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871