DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application
with application number DE102023136757.9 dated 12/28/2023. Copies of certified
papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed on 11/27/2024 has been reviewed and the listed references have been considered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Applicant’s arguments in the Response to Election Requirements filed on August 3, 2026 is found persuasive and the restriction is withdrawn. Therefore, the present Office Action, claims 1-20 are being analyzed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 10D, reference 1038, 1040, 1042, 1044, and 1046. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “704 and 804” has been used to designate both memory, user interface and imaging, according to the drawings and specification page 6 line 27 and page 7 line 18. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 6 line 27 and page 7 line 18, reference number of memory, user interface, and imaging device should be updated to not contain the same reference number for different parts.
In page 15 line 30 recites "preforming (1222)" should be "performing (1226)"
According to 37 CFR 1.71, MPEP §§ 608.01, 2161, and 2162, the specification must be in such particularity as to enable any person skilled in the pertinent art or science to make and use the invention without involving extensive experimentation and must clearly convey enough information about the invention to show that applicant invented the subject matter that is claimed. An applicant is ordinarily permitted to use his or her own terminology, as long as it can be understood. Necessary grammatical corrections, are required. Reference characters must be properly applied, no single reference character being used for two different parts or for a given part and a modification of such part. See 37 CFR 1.84(p). Every feature specified in the claims must be illustrated, but there should be no superfluous illustrations.
A substitute specification in proper idiomatic English and in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52(a) and (b) is required. The substitute specification filed must be accompanied by a statement that it contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15-16, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (similarly claim 19) recites “A system comprising a process…” should be “A system comprising: a process…”
Claim 4 (similarly claim 6, claim 8, claim 10, claim 13, claim 15, claim 16, and claim 19) recites "the first image element" should be "the at least one first image element"
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 recite the limitation "the first image element encoding information". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear if "the first image element encoding information" is the same as "first image element coding information" in claim 1 or if it is something different. For examination purposes, they will be interpreted to be the same. Claim 14-16, dependent on claim 4, are similarly rejected.
Claim 9 recite the limitation " first imaging area" and "second imaging area". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear if " first imaging area" and "second imaging area" is the same as "first capture area" and "second capture area", respectively, in claim 1 or if it is something different. For examination purposes, they will be interpreted to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, 13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartek (GB2565544) in view of Mao et al (CN113971754A - Translation from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 1, Bartek teaches “A system comprising a processor (Bartek page 4 lines 11-13 "an apparatus, the apparatus having at least one processor and at least one memory having computer-readable code stored thereon which when executed controls the at least one processor") configured to:
determine a first image of a first capture area (Bartek page 15 lines 7-9 "A first operation 7.1 may comprise determining first candidate blocks associated with respective first candidate pixels. The first candidate blocks and their associated first candidate pixels may be in a first image") comprising at least one first image element associated with first image element coding information classified as erroneous (Bartek page 14 lines 26-27 "A subsequent operation 6.3 comprises determining a neighbouring block of pixels, adjacent an identified defect pixel");
determine a second image of a second capture area (Bartek page 14 lines 6-7 "A first operation comprises receiving a plurality of images, in this case first and 6.1 second images, from a plurality of cameras"), wherein the first capture area and the second capture area are at least partially overlapping in an overlap area (Bartek Figure 4 and page 14 lines 11-14 "A subsequent operation 6.2 comprises identifying in each of the images a group of pixels representing the same or similar content. For example, in the Figure 4 scenario, the same or similar content may be pixels corresponding to the object 51 and possibly including surrounding regions" and Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view");
Bartek Figure 4
determine a second image element spatially corresponding to the at least one first image element in the second image (Bartek page 15 lines 13-16 "A subsequent operation 7.2 may comprise determining corresponding second candidate blocks associated with respective second candidate pixels. The second candidate blocks and their associated second candidate pixels may be in a different, second image"), wherein the first image element and the second image element represent at least a part of the overlap area (Bartek Figure 4 and page 14 lines 11-14 "A subsequent operation 6.2 comprises identifying in each of the images a group of pixels representing the same or similar content. For example, in the Figure 4 scenario, the same or similar content may be pixels corresponding to the object 51 and possibly including surrounding regions" and Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view");
determine substitute image element coding information for the first image element of the first image using second image element coding information associated with the second image element of the second image (Bartek page 19 lines 23-26 "Using the numerical examples given above for just two candidate pixel positions in each of the first and second images 100' 101', it follows that
d
11
from the second image 101' is selected as the replacement pixel for pixel position
P
33
in the first image 100'") that is
associate the determined substitute image element coding information with the first image element of the first image to obtain a first substitute image (Bartek page 14 lines 33-34 "A subsequent operation 6.5 may comprise replacing, or substituting, the defect pixel with the identified replacement pixel").
However, Bartek is not relied on to teach the second image “is not classified as erroneous”.
Mao teaches that the second image “not classified as erroneous (Mao paragraph [0047] "if an image is defective, it is possible to retake the image and replace or partially replace it to obtain image data that is defect-free or has reduced defects")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a system for correcting defects in an image as taught by Bartek and correcting a defected image by replacing information from a non-defected image as taught by Mao.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “In the field of image acquisition, especially in medical image scanning, there are often situations where poor image quality or failure to clearly depict the features of the target to be acquired leads to image data acquisition failure, requiring a second acquisition. Therefore, it is desirable to obtain a method that can automatically supplement the acquired data to obtain more accurate image data” as noted by the Mao disclosure in paragraph 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bartek with
the Mao disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1 as there is a
reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art
elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4 (similarly claim 18), the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to associate with the first image element of the first image with which the substitute image element coding information is associated with a substitute marker (Bartek page 29 lines 29-33 "As with the first image search window 100, the second image search window is a 7x7 search window identified by a reference number
P
r
c
where r refers to the row number and c to the column number of the second image. The centre pixel 113 of the second image search window 110 is referred to as P33 and is selected to have the same colour component as the defect pixel 101, i.e. R in this case") indicating that the determined substitute image element coding information is associated with the first image element of the first image (Bartek page 19 lines 23-26 "This is because
d
i
is in this case a distance measure, and hence the most similar candidate pixel will be that having the smallest distance. Using the numerical examples given above for just two candidate pixel positions in each of the first and second images 100' 101', it follows that
d
11
from the second image 101' is selected as the replacement pixel for pixel position
P
33
in the first image 100'").”
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the at least one first image element of the first image as a distribution of measured values (Bartek page 15 lines 7-9 "A first operation 7.1 may comprise determining first candidate blocks associated with respective first candidate pixels. The first candidate blocks and their associated first candidate pixels may be in a first image"); and/or determine the second image element of the second image as a distribution of measured values (Bartek page 15 lines 13-16 "A subsequent operation 7.2 may comprise determining corresponding second candidate blocks associated with respective second candidate pixels. The second candidate blocks and their associated second candidate pixels may be in a different, second image").”
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the second image element spatially corresponding to the at least one first image element in the second image, the first image element and the second image element representing at least a portion of the overlap area (Bartek Figure 4 and page 14 lines 11-14 "A subsequent operation 6.2 comprises identifying in each of the images a group of pixels representing the same or similar content. For example, in the Figure 4 scenario, the same or similar content may be pixels corresponding to the object 51 and possibly including surrounding regions" and Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view"), wherein the determining comprises performing a coordinate transformation of the first image element from a coordinate system of the first image to a coordinate system of the second image (Mao paragraph [0043] "generating final image data may include generating coordinate correction data for at least one of the first image data and the second image data based on a first feature in the first image data and a second feature in the second image data corresponding to the first feature; and superimposing the first image data and the second image data based on the coordinate correction data to obtain final image data […] coordinate correction data could be data that indicates each data point in the first image (or the second image, which is just an example here) should be moved (+ 1, -2) to align with the second image").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bartek and Mao in references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 6. Finally the system recited in claim 6 is met by Bartek and Mao.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the coordinate transformation (Mao paragraph [0043] "generating final image data may include generating coordinate correction data for at least one of the first image data and the second image data based on a first feature in the first image data and a second feature in the second image data corresponding to the first feature; and superimposing the first image data and the second image data based on the coordinate correction data to obtain final image data […] coordinate correction data could be data that indicates each data point in the first image (or the second image, which is just an example here) should be moved (+ 1, -2) to align with the second image").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bartek and Mao in references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 7. Finally the system recited in claim 7 is met by Bartek and Mao.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: classify the first image element encoding information associated with the first image element as erroneous if it corresponds to a predefined value (Bartek page 6 lines 18-23 "Defect pixels may detected using any known method. For example, one method (a mapped method) comprises a calibration phase in which a series of images are captured using a relatively long exposure time and various analogue gains, both in complete darkness and with uniform illumination. Defects are easily identified below and above a certain threshold. Another method (a dynamic method) uses dynamic thresholds based on the standard deviation and mean value of neighbouring pixels").”
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the first image of the first imaging area based on image data from a first imaging device (Bartek Figure 4 and page 15 lines 7-9 "A first operation 7.1 may comprise determining first candidate blocks associated with respective first candidate pixels. The first candidate blocks and their associated first candidate pixels may be in a first image"); and/or determine the second image of the second imaging area based on image data from a second imaging device (Bartek Figure 4 page 15 lines 13-16 "A subsequent operation 7.2 may comprise determining corresponding second candidate blocks associated with respective second candidate pixels. The second candidate blocks and their associated second candidate pixels may be in a different, second image").”
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a spatial relationship between the first imaging device and the second imaging device (Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view");
and determine the second image element spatially corresponding to the at least one first image element in the second image (Bartek Figure 4 and page 14 lines 11-14 "A subsequent operation 6.2 comprises identifying in each of the images a group of pixels representing the same or similar content. For example, in the Figure 4 scenario, the same or similar content may be pixels corresponding to the object 51 and possibly including surrounding regions");
and wherein the first image element and the second image element represent at least a portion of the overlap area using the determined spatial relationship between the first imaging device and the second imaging device (Bartek Figure 4 and page 14 lines 11-14 "A subsequent operation 6.2 comprises identifying in each of the images a group of pixels representing the same or similar content. For example, in the Figure 4 scenario, the same or similar content may be pixels corresponding to the object 51 and possibly including surrounding regions" and Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view").”
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 10, wherein performing the coordinate transformation of the first image element from the coordinate system of the first image to the coordinate system of the second image is performed using the determined spatial relationship between the first imaging device and the second imaging device (Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view").”
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: assign to the first image element of the first image to which replacement image element encoding information is assigned a replacement marker indicating that the replacement image element encoding information is assigned to the first image element of the first image (Bartek page 19 lines 23-26 "This is because
d
i
is in this case a distance measure, and hence the most similar candidate pixel will be that having the smallest distance. Using the numerical examples given above for just two candidate pixel positions in each of the first and second images 100' 101', it follows that
d
11
from the second image 101' is selected as the replacement pixel for pixel position
P
33
in the first image 100'").”
Claim 17 recites a computer readable medium including computer executable instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer readable medium of claim 17 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Bartek and Mao presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “A system comprising a processor (Bartek page 4 lines 11-13 "an apparatus, the apparatus having at least one processor and at least one memory having computer-readable code stored thereon which when executed controls the at least one processor") configured to:
determine a first image of a first capture area (Bartek page 15 lines 7-9 "A first operation 7.1 may comprise determining first candidate blocks associated with respective first candidate pixels. The first candidate blocks and their associated first candidate pixels may be in a first image") comprising at least one first image element associated with first image element coding information classified as erroneous (Bartek page 14 lines 26-27 "A subsequent operation 6.3 comprises determining a neighbouring block of pixels, adjacent an identified defect pixel");
determine a second image of a second capture area (Bartek page 14 lines 6-7 "A first operation comprises receiving a plurality of images, in this case first and 6.1 second images, from a plurality of cameras"), wherein the first capture area and the second capture area are at least partially overlapping in an overlap area (Bartek Figure 4 and page 14 lines 11-14 "A subsequent operation 6.2 comprises identifying in each of the images a group of pixels representing the same or similar content. For example, in the Figure 4 scenario, the same or similar content may be pixels corresponding to the object 51 and possibly including surrounding regions" and Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view");
determine a second image element spatially corresponding to the at least one first image element in the second image (Bartek page 15 lines 13-16 "A subsequent operation 7.2 may comprise determining corresponding second candidate blocks associated with respective second candidate pixels. The second candidate blocks and their associated second candidate pixels may be in a different, second image"), wherein the first image element and the second image element represent at least a portion of the overlap area (Bartek Figure 4 and page 14 lines 11-14 "A subsequent operation 6.2 comprises identifying in each of the images a group of pixels representing the same or similar content. For example, in the Figure 4 scenario, the same or similar content may be pixels corresponding to the object 51 and possibly including surrounding regions" and Bartek page 13 lines 1-4 "The memory 65 may also store a set of camera alignment data 79 which represents intrinsic and extrinsic properties and characteristics of the cameras 43, 45, 4 7, including their relative spatial positions and other data sufficient to determine the common overlapping area of their respective fields-of-view");
determine substitute image element coding information for the first image element of the first image using second image element coding information associated with the second image element of the second image (Bartek page 19 lines 23-26 "Using the numerical examples given above for just two candidate pixel positions in each of the first and second images 100' 101', it follows that
d
11
from the second image 101' is selected as the replacement pixel for pixel position
P
33
in the first image 100'") that is classified as erroneous (Bartek page 14 lines 26-27 "A subsequent operation 6.3 comprises determining a neighbouring block of pixels, adjacent an identified defect pixel"); and
based on the determined substitute image element coding information (Bartek page 23 lines 1-3 "Search windows 153, 155 in the second and third images respectively cover the corresponding object 51 and have centre pixels with the same R, G or B colour component as the defect pixel 151"), discard the first image element coding information associated with the first image element to obtain a first substitute image (Bartek page 14 lines 33-34 "A subsequent operation 6.5 may comprise replacing, or substituting, the defect pixel with the identified replacement pixel").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bartek and Mao in references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 19. Finally the system recited in claim 19 is met by Bartek and Mao.
Claims 2-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartek and Mao, in view of Ovsiannikov et al. (US 2012/0173184 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches the system of claim 1. However, the combination of Bartek and Mao is not relied on to teach “wherein the first image is a first three-dimensional image, comprising distance information; and/or wherein the second image is a second three-dimensional image, comprising distance information”
Ovsiannikov teaches “wherein the first image is a first three-dimensional image, comprising distance information; and/or wherein the second image is a second three-dimensional image, comprising distance information (Ovsiannikov paragraph [0105] "the 3D image sensor 500 is a device that obtains 3D image information by combining a function of measuring depth information using the depth pixel D included in the unit pixel array 522-1 or 522-2 illustrated in FIG. 9 or 10 and a function of measuring color information ( e.g., red color information, green color information, or blue color information) using each of the color pixels R, G, and B").”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a system for correcting defects in an image as taught by Bartek and Mao to use 3d image data as taught by Ovsiannikov.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “Depth images are obtained using a depth sensor using the TOF principle. The depth images may include noise. Accordingly, a method of reducing pixel noise by detecting and correcting defective pixels is desired” as noted by the Ovsiannikov disclosure in paragraph 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bartek and Mao with the Ovsiannikov disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bartek, Mao, and Ovsiannikov teaches “The system of claim 2, wherein the first image is a 3D point cloud or depth image; and/or wherein the second image is a 3D point cloud or depth image (Ovsiannikov paragraph [0105] "the 3D image sensor 500 is a device that obtains 3D image information by combining a function of measuring depth information using the depth pixel D included in the unit pixel array 522-1 or 522-2 illustrated in FIG. 9 or 10).”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bartek, Mao, and Ovsiannikov references presented in the rejection of claim 2, applies to claim 3. Finally the system recited in claim 3 is met by Bartek, Mao, and Ovsiannikov.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bartek, Mao, and Ovsiannikov teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the first imaging device is a first camera, a first LiDAR camera or a first depth camera; and/or wherein the second imaging device is a second camera, a second LiDAR camera or a second depth camera (Ovsiannikov paragraph [0036] "Referring to FIGS. 1 through 5, the depth sensor 10 that can measure a distance or a depth using a time-of-flight (TOF) principle includes a semiconductor chip 20 which includes the array 22 in which a plurality of2-tap depth pixels (detectors or sensors) 23 are arranged, a light source 32, and a lens module 34").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bartek, Mao, and Ovsiannikov references presented in the rejection of claim 2, applies to claim 12. Finally the system recited in claim 12 is met by Bartek, Mao, and Ovsiannikov.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartek and Mao, in view of Oboril et al. (US 2022/0366586 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first result image of the first capture area (Bartek page 15 lines 7-9 "A first operation 7.1 may comprise determining first candidate blocks associated with respective first candidate pixels. The first candidate blocks and their associated first candidate pixels may be in a first image") based on the first substitute image (Bartek page 19 lines 28-30 "Having identified the replacement pixel, it is substituted for the defect pixel in the first image 101'. The process may then be repeated for other defect pixels in the images")”.
However, the combination of Bartek and Mao is not relied on to teach “determine a second result image of the second capture area based on the second image”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Oboril teaches “determine a first result image of the first capture area based on the first substitute image (Oboril paragraph [0034] "Using the aspects of the HistoGrid approach described herein, it is for example possible to remove all particles in a 3D LiDAR point cloud that relate to dynamic objects ( or to static environment background)"); and
determine a second result image of the second capture area based on the second image (Oboril paragraph [0027] "In Step 340, dynamic objects may be separated from the stationary environment elements, even when noise sensor data is used (due to the modelling as distributions/histograms). By fusing the outlier information from multiple sensors 110, 212 with different FOV, a moving human or moving AR arm 216 may be identified. Using location information 360 of where the AR 140, 214 (and its arms) is located (cloud robotics has this information), outliers related to the AR may be ignored or removed, and then only other outliers (e.g., caused by humans) remain").”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a system for correcting defects in an image as taught by Bartek and Mao to include multi-image results as taught by Oboril.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “These sensors 120 may comprise stereo cameras, standard RGB cameras, LiDAR sensors, radar sensors, imaging radar sensors, and/or the like covering different fields-of-view (FOV)” as noted by the Oboril disclosure in paragraph 9. The multiple field of view assist in accurately corrected defects in an image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bartek and Mao with the Oboril disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bartek, Mao and Oboril teaches “The system of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the first result image of the first capture area based on the first substitute image by performing an outlier analysis on a further first image of the first capture area omitting the first image element of the first image with which the substitute marker (Bartek page 29 lines 29-33 "As with the first image search window 100, the second image search window is a 7x7 search window identified by a reference number
P
r
c
where r refers to the row number and c to the column number of the second image. The centre pixel 113 of the second image search window 110 is referred to as P33 and is selected to have the same colour component as the defect pixel 101, i.e. R in this case") is associated (Oboril paragraph [0027] "In Step 340, dynamic objects may be separated from the stationary environment elements, even when noise sensor data is used (due to the modelling as distributions/histograms). By fusing the outlier information from multiple sensors 110, 212 with different FOV, a moving human or moving AR arm 216 may be identified. Using location information 360 of where the AR 140, 214 (and its arms) is located (cloud robotics has this information), outliers related to the AR may be ignored or removed, and then only other outliers (e.g., caused by humans) remain"); and
determine the second result image of the second capture area (Bartek page 14 lines 6-7 "A first operation comprises receiving a plurality of images, in this case first and 6.1 second images, from a plurality of cameras") based on the second image by performing an outlier analysis on a further second image of the second capture area (Oboril paragraph [0027] "In Step 340, dynamic objects may be separated from the stationary environment elements, even when noise sensor data is used (due to the modelling as distributions/histograms). By fusing the outlier information from multiple sensors 110, 212 with different FOV, a moving human or moving AR arm 216 may be identified. Using location information 360 of where the AR 140, 214 (and its arms) is located (cloud robotics has this information), outliers related to the AR may be ignored or removed, and then only other outliers (e.g., caused by humans) remain").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bartek, Mao, and Oboril references presented in the rejection of claim 14, applies to claim 15. Finally the system recited in claim 15 is met by Bartek, Mao, and Oboril
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bartek, Mao and Oboril teaches “The system of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first result image of the first capture area by: determining substitute image element coding information based on the determined substitute image element coding information associated with the first image element of the first substitute image (Bartek page 19 lines 23-26 "Using the numerical examples given above for just two candidate pixel positions in each of the first and second images 100' 101', it follows that
d
11
from the second image 101' is selected as the replacement pixel for pixel position
P
33
in the first image 100'") ;
updating the first substitute image by associating the determined substitute image element coding information with the first image element of the first substitute image(Bartek page 14 lines 33-34 "A subsequent operation 6.5 may comprise replacing, or substituting, the defect pixel with the identified replacement pixel"); and
determining the first result image based on the updated first substitute image, optionally by performing an outlier analysis on a further first image of the first capture area (Oboril paragraph [0027] "In Step 340, dynamic objects may be separated from the stationary environment elements, even when noise sensor data is used (due to the modelling as distributions/histograms). By fusing the outlier information from multiple sensors 110, 212 with different FOV, a moving human or moving AR arm 216 may be identified. Using location information 360 of where the AR 140, 214 (and its arms) is located (cloud robotics has this information), outliers related to the AR may be ignored or removed, and then only other outliers (e.g., caused by humans) remain"); and
determine a second result image of the second capture area based on the second image, optionally by performing an outlier analysis on a further second image of the second capture area (Oboril paragraph [0027] "In Step 340, dynamic objects may be separated from the stationary environment elements, even when noise sensor data is used (due to the modelling as distributions/histograms). By fusing the outlier information from multiple sensors 110, 212 with different FOV, a moving human or moving AR arm 216 may be identified. Using location information 360 of where the AR 140, 214 (and its arms) is located (cloud robotics has this information), outliers related to the AR may be ignored or removed, and then only other outliers (e.g., caused by humans) remain").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bartek, Mao, and Oboril references presented in the rejection of claim 14, applies to claim 16. Finally the system recited in claim 16 is met by Bartek, Mao, and Oboril
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartek and Mao, in view of Klassen et al. (US 2006/0110009 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Bartek and Mao teaches “The system of claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to: classify the first image element coding information associated with the first image element (Bartek page 15 lines 7-9 "A first operation 7.1 may comprise determining first candidate blocks associated with respective first candidate pixels. The first candidate blocks and their associated first candidate pixels may be in a first image")
classify the second image element coding information associated with the second image element (Bartek page 15 lines 13-16 "A subsequent operation 7.2 may comprise determining corresponding second candidate blocks associated with respective second candidate pixels. The second candidate blocks and their associated second candidate pixels may be in a different, second image")
However, the combination of Bartek and Mao is not relied on to teach the process of classifying an image element “as erroneous by determining that the first image element coding information associated with the first image element is determined based on a first origin image element of a first origin image, wherein the first origin image element corresponds spatially to the first image element, and wherein the first origin image element is associated with first origin image element coding information that is classified as erroneous” and classifying another image element “as erroneous by determining that the second image element coding information associated with the second image element is determined based on a second origin image element of a second origin image, wherein the second origin image element corresponds spatially to the second image element, and wherein the second origin image element is associated with second origin image element coding information that is classified as erroneous”.
Klassen teaches classifying an image element “as erroneous by determining that the first image element coding information associated with the first image element is determined based on a first origin image element of a first origin image, wherein the first origin image element corresponds spatially to the first image element, and wherein the first origin image element is associated with first origin image element coding information that is classified as erroneous (Klassen paragraph [0038] "The original image data obtained in step S2000 is rendered in step S3000. Next, in step S4000, the rendered image is scanned. Then, in step S5000, the image data of the scanned image is compared to input image data. Next, whether the rendered images include image quality defects is determined in step S6000. Operation of the method then continues to step S7000, where the method ends")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a system for correcting defects in an image as taught by Bartek and Mao to use a process of detecting a defect in an image using multiple images as taught by Klassen.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “Image rendering devices such as photocopiers, printers, facsimile machines, and other image producing devices, have been widely used in commerce and industry. Computing devices have also been widely used in commerce and industry. Higher demand for these computing devices has resulted in faster processing speeds that are sufficient for electronically detecting defects in the images rendered by image rendering devices. Detection of image quality defects ensures the production of quality images by image rendering devices” as noted by the Klassen disclosure in paragraph 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bartek and Mao with the Klassen disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Publication 20170256056 A1 to Jain et al. discloses a system and method for detecting outliers in imaging area, where the imaging area is a region of overlap between a first and second image. After detecting the outlier, a replacement value is determined and the image is updated.
"HistoDepth - Novel Depth Perception for Safe Collaborative Robots" to Buerkle et al. discloses a system for differentiating dynamic vs static objects in an image using outlier determination in 3d images captured from multiple sensors.
"HistoGrid: Robust LiDAR-Based Traffic Monitoring" to Buerkle et al. discloses a system using Lidar sensors for determining dynamic vs static objects based on outlier data captured from the sensors.
Conclusion
/JASPREET KAUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662