Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “torque sensors” and “torque balance blocks” in claim 1, “displacement rod” with threads and thread sections in claim 2, “two-stage reducers” in claim 3, and “dimension-positioning beacon” in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show a displacement guide rail, sliding table, rotary table, hinge, auxiliary rotary shaft, auxiliary rotary positioner, and translational dynamic device, as described in the specification. The examiner submits the annotated FIG. 7 below as a recommendation. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “Auxiliary rotary dynamic device,” “displacement device” and “translational dynamic device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the displacement rod is provided with threads in an opposite direction.” It is unclear what direction relational to the positioner parts is an opposite direction. As such, the claim language has been held to be indefinite. For examination purposes, “in an opposite direction” has been omitted from consideration.
Claim 5 recites “the worktable is a multilateral special-shaped structure.” It is unclear what is meant by a special shape. As such, the claim language has been held to be indefinite. For examination purposes, “special-shaped” has been omitted from consideration.
Claim limitation “translational dynamic device” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The drawings do not depict said translational dynamic device and the instant specification does not explain the structure, material, or functions of the translational dynamic device (see ¶[0008]-[0009], [0038], and [0042]). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heard (US 2609536 A) in view of Schell (US 4703922 A), Hanada (US4618089A), Chen (CN116079315A), Neukermans (US 5861549 A), and Alarcon (US 20150330255 A1).
Regarding claim 1, (as best understood) Heard (US 2609536 A) discloses a rotary translational positioner with multiple degrees of freedom (FIGS. 1-3), comprising support frames (FIGS. 3 and 11: standards 23 that support the apparatus),
a main rotary dynamic structure (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, Lines 4-22: section 60;
Note: The examiner reminds the applicant that claims are given their “plain meaning” unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification—see MPEP 2111.01. The specification does not provide a definition of “main rotary dynamic structure.” The plain meaning of “main rotary dynamic structure” is construed to be a structural element that is capable of rotating. Section 60 is a main structure for rotating table 50, and thus a main rotary dynamic structure),
a main frame (rotatable anvil table 50),
an auxiliary dynamic structure, (the ends of work forms 127, 128, and 129 fixing the work forms to side members 124 and 125;
Note: The examiner reminds the applicant that claims are given their “plain meaning” unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification—see MPEP 2111.01. The specification does not provide a definition of “auxiliary dynamic structure.” The plain meaning of “auxiliary dynamic structure” is construed to be a structural element that is capable of changing shape, position, or orientation. the ends of work forms 127, 128, and 129 of the jig are capable of moving atop table 50 and thus capable of changing position, meeting the limitations of the claim)
an auxiliary frame (work support forms 127, 128, and 129),
and a worktable (top surfaces of work support forms 127, 128, 129; see Col. 9, Lines 21-33),
wherein the main frame is located between the support frames, (FIGS. 2 and 3: table 50 is located between standards 23)
the main rotary dynamic structure is set at an end of the main frame and located between the main frame and the support frames, (FIGS. 2 and 3: section 60 is at a bottom end of table 50 and located between table 50 and standards 23)
the auxiliary frames are set in the main frame in a pair through the auxiliary dynamic structure, (each of the work support forms 127, 128, and 129 are set in the perimeter of table 50 via a pair of the ends of work forms 127, 128, and 129)
the auxiliary dynamic structure is located at a front end and a rear end of the auxiliary frame, (the ends of work forms 127, 128, and 129 are located at a front end—towards the top in FIG. 3—and a rear end—towards the bottom of FIG. 3—of work support forms 127, 128, 129)
and the worktable is located on the auxiliary frame; (the top surfaces of work support forms 127, 128, 129 are located on the forms 127, 128, 129; see Col. 9, Lines 21-33)
a displacement device, (a mechanism of rollers 191 along angle guide 57;
Note: This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a component that “is connected with the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to drive the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to move,” as provided in ¶[0007] in the instant application. The mechanism is connected with the ends of work forms 127, 128, and 129 through the jig frame member 124 and cause the jig to move consequently. See also Col. 6, Lines 6-20)
wherein the displacement device is arranged inside the main frame, (the mechanism of rollers 191 is arranged within the perimeter of table 50)
the displacement device comprising a displacement guide rail (angle guide 57) and the displacement guide rail is arranged on an inner side of the main frame, (the angle guide 57 is arranged on an inner side of table 50)
the main rotary dynamic structure (section 60) comprises a main rotary positioner (the structure of bars 61 and rollers 63, which position the rotational angle of the table and thus a main rotary positioner; see Col. 3, Lines 4-22) and a main rotary shaft, (pivot pin 62; see Col. 3, Lines 4-22)
wherein the main rotary positioner and the main rotary shaft are respectively arranged on an outer side of two ends of the main frame to drive the main frame to rotate; (the structure of bars 61 and rollers 63 and the pivot pin 62 are arranged on an outer surface that connects the front end with the rear end of table 50 and drives table 50 to rotate; see Col. 3, Lines 4-22).
Heard does not disclose the auxiliary dynamic structure comprises an auxiliary rotary dynamic device and a displacement device, the auxiliary rotary dynamic device is arranged at each of the front end and the rear end of the auxiliary frame to drive the auxiliary frame to rotate, and the displacement device is connected with the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to drive the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to move;
the auxiliary rotary dynamic device comprises an auxiliary rotary positioner, an auxiliary rotary shaft, and a rotary table, wherein the auxiliary rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary shaft are arranged on the sliding table and located at both ends of the auxiliary frame, and the rotary table is connected to the auxiliary frame through a hinge and is connected to the auxiliary rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary shaft;
the displacement device comprises a displacement guide rail, a sliding table, and a translational dynamic device, wherein the displacement guide rail is arranged on an inner side of the main frame, the sliding table is movably arranged on the displacement guide rail and connected with the auxiliary rotary dynamic device, and the translational dynamic device is connected with the sliding table;
and torque sensors are arranged on both the main rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary positioner,
and a torque balance block is arranged on both the main rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary positioner.
However, Schell (US 4703922 A), in the same or similar field of endeavor related to workpiece positioners, teaches an auxiliary dynamic structure comprising an auxiliary rotary dynamic device and a displacement means (see FIGs. 5-11: camming element 14 comprises cam followers 20 and 22 to rotate workpiece cradle 120—see FIGS. 8-9—and race 32 which permits the translational displacement of workpiece cradle 120—see FIGS. 10-11; see also Col. 6, Lines 11-27.
Note: the claimed “auxiliary rotary dynamic device” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a rotary component that “is arranged at an end of the auxiliary frame to drive the auxiliary frame to rotate,” as provided in ¶[0007] in the instant application.)
and the displacement means is connected with the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to drive the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to move; (race 32 is connected with cam followers 20 and 22 to guide the cam followers 20 and 22 to move)
and in an alternative embodiment shown in FIG. 5, the auxiliary rotary dynamic device is arranged at each of the front end and the rear end of the auxiliary frame to drive the auxiliary frame to rotate, (FIG. 5: camming elements 70 and 72 arranged at a front end and a rear end of workpiece 60, driving the workpiece to rotate—see Col. 5, line 58—Col. 6, Line 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard so that the auxiliary dynamic structure comprises an auxiliary rotary dynamic device and a displacement device, the auxiliary rotary dynamic device is arranged at each of the front end and the rear end of the auxiliary frame to drive the auxiliary frame to rotate, and the displacement device is connected with the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to drive the auxiliary rotary dynamic device to move, as taught by Schell. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “smoothly move a workpiece through various work positions without subjecting either the workpiece or the associated apparatus to shocks or jerk resulting from sudden acceleration or deceleration from or to a stationary position” (Schell Col. 1, Lines 22-54).
Additionally, Hanada (US4618089A) in the same or similar field of endeavor related to welding positioners, teaches a component that holds the end of a workpiece (FIGS. 6-7) comprising an auxiliary rotary positioner (pin 52, a rotational component that dictates the position of other components and thus an auxiliary rotary positioner),
an auxiliary rotary shaft (piece between pins 51 and 52),
and a rotary table, (a supporting surface at the end of clamp 50 for the workpiece that rotates and thus a rotary table)
and the rotary table is connected to an auxiliary frame through a hinge(the end of clamp 50 is connected to the frame shown in FIG. 4 through pin 52) and is connected to the auxiliary rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary shaft; (the end of clamp 50 is connected to pin 52 and the piece between pins 51 and 52)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard, as modified by Schell, so that auxiliary rotary dynamic device comprises an auxiliary rotary positioner, an auxiliary rotary shaft, and a rotary table, wherein the auxiliary rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary shaft are arranged on the sliding table and located at both ends of the auxiliary frame, and the rotary table is connected to the auxiliary frame through a hinge and is connected to the auxiliary rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary shaft, as taught by Hanada. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to firmly clamp the ends of the workpiece and improve welding operation.
Additionally, Chen (CN116079315A), in the same or similar field of endeavor related to welding positioners, teaches a displacement device (FIG. 2) comprising a displacement guide rail (positioning slide rail 2), a sliding table (positioning plate 3 which slides on the rail), and a translational dynamic device, (ball bearings on the bottom of positioning slide rail 2;
Note: The examiner reminds the applicant that claims are given their “plain meaning” unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification—see MPEP 2111.01. The specification does not provide a definition of “translational dynamic device.” The plain meaning of “translational dynamic device” is a structural component capable of translational motion. The ball bearings slide along the rail, and are thus capable of translational motion, meeting the planning definition of translational dynamic device.)
the sliding table is movably arranged on the displacement guide rail and connected with the ends of workpiece supporting components, (FIG. 2: positioner plate 3 is movably arranged on the slide rail 2 and connected with the distal ends of plate 3 with clamps 4)
and the translational dynamic device is connected with the sliding table; (the ball bearings are connected with positioning plate 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard, as modified, so that the displacement device further comprises a sliding table and a sliding table, the sliding table is movably arranged on the displacement guide rail and connected with the auxiliary rotary dynamic device, and the translational dynamic device is connected with the sliding table, as taught by Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to further “ensure that the welded parts of different lengths can be effectively fixed” (see Chen Trans. Pg. 2, Lines 10-12).
Additionally, Neukermans (US 5861549 A), in the same or similar field of endeavor related to rotary manufacturing carriers, teaches torque sensors arranged on a positioner (torsion sensor 142 on frame 102; see FIG. 5 and Col. 8, Lines 18-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard, as modified, to further comprise torque sensors arranged on both the main rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary positioner, as taught by Shulz. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide greater control over the manufacturing process involving the positioner given the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Further, Alarcon (US 20150330255 A1), in the same or similar field of endeavor related to welding fixtures, teaches torque balance blocks arranged on a positioner (wedge-shaped torque block on an anti-torsion assembly used for positioning and securing a liner; see ¶[0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard, as modified, so that a torque balance block is arranged on both the main rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary positioner. One would have been motivated to make such a modification for adding additional stability for the rotational components of the positioner given the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art .
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Heard, as modified, teaches that the translational dynamic devices are set to 2-4 (Note: The claim and the specification do not narrow down how the translational dynamic devices are grouped or counted. As the teachings of Chen are used in the modification discussed in claim 1 above, there are 4 sets of positioning plates 3 and thus 4 corresponding sets of translational dynamic devices, meeting the claim limitations.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Heard, as modified, further teaches that the worktable is a multilateral (FIG. 3: top surfaces of work support forms 127, 128, 120 is a structure with multiple sides and thus multilateral)
the main frame is a rectangular box (rotatable anvil table 50 is a rectangular box), and the auxiliary frame is a rectangular frame (work support forms 127, 128, and 129 individually are rectangular).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heard (US 2609536 A) in view of Schell (US 4703922 A), Hanada (US4618089A), Chen (CN116079315A), Neukermans (US 5861549 A), and Alarcon (US 20150330255 A1), in further view of Jacobs (US 20150113792 A1).
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Chen, as used to modify Heard in claim 1, teaches an output end of the translational dynamic device is provided with a displacement rod,
two sliding tables at a same end of the auxiliary frames in the pair are connected to a same displacement rod, (Chen FIG. 1: there are multiple positioning plates 3 at a same end of a pair of workpiece holding clamps 4, connected to a same rail 2)
and the two sliding tables are respectively arranged on [different sections of the displacement rod] in different directions (see FIG. 1L the positioning plates 3 are arranged on different sections in different directions on rail 2).
Chen, as modified, does not teach the displacement rod is provided with threads in an opposite direction,
and the two sliding tables are respectively arranged on thread sections in different directions.
However, Jacobs (US 20150113792 A1), in the same or similar field of endeavor related to workpiece holders, teaches a workpiece holder incorporating a rod for displacement provided with threads (see FIG. 8A: threaded shaft 140 in torque unit 200 on movable assembly 270; see ¶[0040] and 0071]). Jacobs also teaches that threaded connections are commonly used in workpiece holders subject to torque (see ¶[0034]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard, as modified, so that the displacement rod is provided with threads in an opposite direction, and the two sliding tables are respectively arranged on thread sections in different directions, as taught by Jacobs. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to connect components in a way that “is safe to use and is efficient, durable, dependable and cost effective” (Jacobs ¶[0007]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heard (US 2609536 A) in view of Schell (US 4703922 A), Hanada (US4618089A), Chen (CN116079315A), Neukermans (US 5861549 A), and Alarcon (US 20150330255 A1), in further view of Gorski (US 7207741 B2).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Heard, as modified, does not teach that the main rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary positioner are equipped with a two-stage reducer.
However, Gorski (US 7207741 B2), in the same or similar field related to rotating machinery, teaches equipping a positioner with a two-stage gear reducer (incorporation of a gear reducer in rotational mounting structures that allow for desired balancing or centering of loads, see Col. 1, Lines 24-51 and Col. 3, Lines 29-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard, as modified, so that the main rotary positioner and the auxiliary rotary positioner are equipped with a two-stage reducer. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to optimize torque and make operations smoother given the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heard (US 2609536 A) in view of Schell (US 4703922 A), Hanada (US4618089A), Chen (CN116079315A), Neukermans (US 5861549 A), and Alarcon (US 20150330255 A1), in further view of Becker (US 20160125592 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Heard, as modified, does not teach a dimension positioning beacon is arranged on the worktable.
However, Becker (US 20160125592 A1), in the same or similar field of endeavor related to manufacturing systems including positioners, teaches a dimension positioning beacon is arranged on the worktable (see FIG. 52 and ¶[0252]: beacons 764 of the local positioning system 762 are arranged at known locations about the welding environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioner of Heard, as modified, to have a dimension positioning beacon arranged on the worktable, as taught by Becker. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to enable the determination of the welding torch relative to the positioner (see ¶[0171]) and optimize welding operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grabner (US 2427133 A) discloses a work holding apparatus wit a rotating rod.
Hertlein (US 2141751 A) discloses an adjustable work head with sliding components.
/C.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723