DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on November 27, 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, the limitation “the tool moves” is not fully understood because it lacks antecedent basis. More specifically, the claims fail to define the tool being configured to move.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker (USP 11,648,634).
Walker teaches an apparatus comprising: a tool (200) having a first fit portion (206,208); a grip device (100) that includes a plurality of finger parts (106) having a second fit portion (110) and an actuator (301) that drives the plurality of finger parts; and a movement device (301) that moves the grip device, wherein at least one of the first fit portion and the second fit portion has a taper shape (such as 114,116), and the first fit portion and the second fit portion fit each other when the actuator (301) drives the plurality of finger parts such that the plurality of finger parts grip the tool.
Claim 4: Walker teaches the first fit portion has a recess shape, and the second fit portion has a protrusion shape.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piotrowski (USP 3,964,616).
Piotrowski teaches an apparatus comprising: a tool (16) having a first fit portion (45); a grip device that includes a plurality of finger parts (35) having a second fit portion (111) and an actuator (36,37,38) that drives the plurality of finger parts; and a movement device (14) that moves the grip device, wherein at least one of the first fit portion and the second fit portion has a taper shape (V-shaped groove shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 9), and the first fit portion and the second fit portion fit each other when the actuator drives the plurality of finger parts such that the plurality of finger parts grip the tool.
Claim 3: Piotrowski illustrates (Figs. 1-2) a placement device (13) on which the tool is placed, wherein the tool has a third fit portion (39), the placement device has a fourth fit portion (24), at least one of the third fit portion and the fourth fit portion has a taper shape (Fig. 2 shows 39 is tapered), and the third fit portion and the fourth fit portion fit each other when the movement device moves the grip device such that the tool is placed on the placement device.
Claim 4: Piotrowski illustrates the first fit portion has a recess shape, and the second fit portion has a protrusion shape.
Claim 5: As best understood, Piotrowski teaches the tool has a blade (Fig. 1) for cutting a cut target (work piece), and the blade extends in a direction that is perpendicular to a direction in which the tool moves (relative to the work piece) for cutting the cut target.
Claim 6: Piotrowski illustrates (Fig. 1) the tool has an assistance surface (an outer surface of the tool shaft) that is connected (integral or non-integral) to one end of the blade, and the assistance surface extends (in an axial direction) in a plane that intersects with the direction in which the blade extends (blade extends in both a radial and axial direction).
Claim 7: Piotrowski illustrates (Fig. 1) the tool includes a guide portion (outer surface) that comes into contact with the cut target (work piece) and guides (via relative movement of the tool) the cut target to the blade.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piotrowski (USP 3,964,616), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (CN 204677135).
Piotrowski teaches a tool placement device (13) for holding the tool (16). Piotrowski does not teach the placement device having an elastic connection portion that elastically connects a base portion to a contact part. Sun teaches a placement device (8) for holding a tool, the placement device having an elastic connection portion (6) that elastically connects a base portion (7.8) to a tool contacting part (3), wherein the placement device holds the tool in a safe and reliable manner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of claimed device to configure the tool placement device of Piotrowski with an elastic connection portion that elastically connects a base portion to a contact part, as taught by Sun, motivation being to hold the tool in a safe and reliable manner.
Claim 8: Piotrowski illustrates (Figs. 1-2) a placement device (13) on which the tool is placed, wherein the tool has a third fit portion (39), the placement device has a fourth fit portion (24), at least one of the third fit portion and the fourth fit portion has a taper shape (Fig. 2 shows 39 is tapered), and the third fit portion and the fourth fit portion fit each other when the movement device moves the grip device such that the tool is placed on the placement device.
Claim 9: Piotrowski illustrates the first fit portion has a recess shape, and the second fit portion has a protrusion shape.
Claim 10: As best understood, Piotrowski teaches the tool has a blade (Fig. 1) for cutting a cut target (work piece), and the blade extends in a direction that is perpendicular to a direction in which the tool moves (relative to the work piece) for cutting the cut target.
Claim 11: Piotrowski illustrates (Fig. 1) the tool has an assistance surface (an outer surface of the tool shaft) that is connected (integral or non-integral) to one end of the blade, and the assistance surface extends (in an axial direction) in a plane that intersects with the direction in which the blade extends (blade extends in both a radial and axial direction).
Claim 12: Piotrowski illustrates (Fig. 1) the tool includes a guide portion (outer surface) that comes into contact with the cut target (work piece) and guides (via relative movement of the tool) the cut target to the blade.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the tool device disclosed by the prior art listed on form PTO 892.
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618