Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 12-14:
On pages 6 – 11 of Applicant’s response to the most recent Office Action, it is contended that Wang does not disclose any “a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body” and that this feature is not a design choice.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang discloses host system 100 Fig 1 such as a personal computer and a storage unit 200 Fig 1/Fig 3. the storage unit has a connection unit, USB plug 204 Fig 1, for connecting the storage unit 200 Fig 1 to the display body of host system 100 Fig 3. When storage unit 200 is connected to host system 100 such as in Fig 3, a receptacle/slot not shown may receive USB plug 204. Therefore, Wang discloses “a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to a display body”. It is further noted that since no purpose or function is recited that further defines the benefit(s) or distinguishing feature(s) for connecting the storage unit along at least a front portion of the display body, the front side connection is merely a matter of design choice.
Claim 15:
Examiner notes Wang in view of Rofougaran discloses a connection unit for connecting a storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body, see remarks with respect to claims 12-14. Since the so far combination does not disclose an antenna portion including a film antenna, Kim of a similar field of endeavor, discloses the film antenna. To one of ordinary skill in the art, the storage unit of Wang can be modified to include a film antenna for device size consideration among other benefits. Therefore, the combination discloses claim 15.
Claims 16-20:
With respect to the rejection in view of Jeung, examiner notes that a certified translation is required to overcome the rejection. Examiner notes that the foreign filing date of Jeung precedes the effective filing date of the instant application which is 12/20/2012. However, in order for the foreign priority date of the instant application to be used to overcome Jeung’s foreign filing date, a certified translation is required.
Claims 21-22:
Regarding the visual indicators of Rada, examiner notes that PC 103 and peripheral device 102 Fig 1 of Rada are comparable to the host system 100 and storage unit 200 of Wang. It would have been obvious to modify the storage unit of Wang by incorporating the visual indicators disclosed by Rada for indicating different device status among other benefits. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination of reference for obvious reasons such as the aforementioned benefit.
Claims 23, 24, and 31:
It is noted that Wang discloses “a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body” as discussed with respect to claims 12-14. The combination of Wang, Rofougaran and Sugamura has been found to additionally disclose the light guide plate feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would implement the function and/or replace parts of the storage unit of Wang as modified by Rofougaran to include the light guide and achieve expected results.
Claims 25-26:
For claims 25-26, please see discussion with respect to claims 12-14 and claims 23, 24, and 31.
Claims 27-28:
Regarding the combination of Wang, Rofougaran, Rada, Sugamura, and Sasaki, it has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Sasaki. The connection storage unit, as discussed with respect to claims 12-14, can be modified by one of ordinary skill in the art to take the light emitting diodes that are positioned within the front housing of the television set and place them within a connection storage unit to achieve the benefit provided by the light emitting diodes as installed within the television.
Double Patenting
Claims 12, 13, 16, 12, 17, 18, 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 13, 16, 21, 22, 23, 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12192683. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by the patented claims.
Instant
Patent 12192683
12. (New) A display comprising:
a display body;
and a storage unit connected to the display body, wherein the storage unit comprises:
a receiving unit includes an antenna portion that receives a wireless signal transmitted by radio;
a relay unit that relays the received wireless signal to the display body;
a light emitting unit adapted for emitting light based on a control signal;
and a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body.
12. (Original) A television receiver comprising:
an electronic device which includes a display unit having a display surface;
and a connection device connectable to the electronic device, the connection device comprising:
a receiving unit configured to (i) receive a wireless signal transmitted by radio and (ii) detect an approaching operation of a user's hand or a touching operation and, based on a detection result therefrom, provide a sensor signal;
a relay unit configured to relay the received wireless signal and the sensor signal to the electronic device;
a light emitting unit configured to emit light based on a control signal transmitted from the electronic device;
and a storage unit that stores the receiving unit and the relay unit, the storage unit including a connecting portion to detachably mount the connection device to or along an external front surface of the electronic device, wherein the receiving unit includes a film antenna having an antenna portion to receive the wireless signal and a touch detection portion configured to detect the approaching operation or the touching operation.
13. (New) The display according to claim 12, wherein the connection unit further comprises: a terminal connection part which is connected to a connection terminal, wherein the storage unit stores the terminal connection part.
13. (Original) The television receiver according to claim 12, wherein the connection device further comprising: a terminal connection part which is connected to a connection terminal, wherein the storage unit stores the terminal connection part.
16. (New) The display according to claim 12, wherein the antenna portion includes a plurality of parts for receiving different communication signals.
16. (Original) The television receiver according to The television receiver according to wherein the antenna portion of the film antenna of the receiving unit has a plurality of receiving parts receiving different communications, and wherein a blocking unit which blocks radio wave interference is disposed between the plurality of receiving parts.
12. (New) A display comprising:
a display body;
and a storage unit connected to the display body,
wherein the storage unit comprises:
a receiving unit includes an antenna portion that receives a wireless signal transmitted by radio;
a relay unit that relays the received wireless signal to the display body;
a light emitting unit adapted for emitting light based on a control signal;
and a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body.
21. (Original) A television receiver comprising:
an electronic device which includes a display unit having a display surface;
and a connection device connectable to the electronic device, said connection device comprising:
a receiving device for (i) receiving a wireless signal transmitted and (ii) detecting an approaching operation of a user's hand or a touching operation and, based on a detection result therefrom, for providing a sensor signal;
relay circuitry for relaying the received wireless signal and the sensor signal to the electronic device; a storage compartment for storing the receiving device, the relay circuitry
and the light emitting unit;
and a device connection member for connecting the storage compartment to the electronic device so as to enable the connection device to be connected along a side of the electronic device and to be positioned along a front surface of the electronic device, wherein the receiving device includes a film antenna having an antenna portion to receive the wireless signal and a touch detection portion configured to detect the approaching operation or the touching operation.
17. (New) The display according to claim 16, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Bluetooth signal.
22. (Original) The television receiver of claim 21, wherein the film antenna is a Bluetooth antenna.
18. (New) The display according to claim 16, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive near field communication signal.
23. (Original) The television receiver of claim 21, wherein the film antenna is a near field communication antenna.
19. (New) The display according to claim 16, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Wi-Fi signal.
24. (Original) The television receiver of claim 21, wherein the film antenna is a Wi-Fi communication antenna
Claims 12, 13, 16, 12, 17, 18, 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 13, 17, 21, 22, 23, 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11595624. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by the patented claims.
Instant
Patent 11595624
12. (New) A display comprising:
a display body;
and a storage unit connected to the display body, wherein the storage unit comprises:
a receiving unit includes an antenna portion that receives a wireless signal transmitted by radio;
a relay unit that relays the received wireless signal to the display body;
a light emitting unit adapted for emitting light based on a control signal;
and a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body.
12. (Currently amended)
A connection device connectable to an electronic device which includes a display unit having a display surface, said
connection device comprising:
a receiving unit configured to (i) receive a wireless signal transmitted by radio and (ii) detect an approaching operation of a user's hand or a touching operation and, based on a detection result therefrom, provide a sensor signal;
a relay unit configured to relay the received wireless signal and the sensor signal to the electronic device;
a light emitting unit configured to emit light based on a control signal transmitted from the electronic device;
and a storage unit that stores the receiving unit and the relay unit,
the storage unit including a connecting portion to detachably mount the connection device to or along an external front surface of the electronic device, wherein the receiving unit includes a film antenna having an antenna portion to receive the wireless signal and a touch detection portion configured to detect the approaching operation or the touching operation.
13. (New) The display according to claim 12, wherein the connection unit further comprises: a terminal connection part which is connected to a connection terminal, wherein the storage unit stores the terminal connection part.
13. (Original) The television receiver according to claim 12, wherein the connection device further comprising: a terminal connection part which is connected to a connection terminal, wherein the storage unit stores the terminal connection part.
16. (New) The display according to claim 12, wherein the antenna portion includes a plurality of parts for receiving different communication signals.
17. (Original) The television receiver according to The television receiver according to claim 12, wherein the antenna portion of the film antenna of the receiving unit has a plurality of receiving parts receiving different communications, and wherein a blocking unit which blocks radio wave interference is disposed between the plurality of receiving parts.
12. (New) A display comprising:
a display body;
and a storage unit connected to the display body,
wherein the storage unit comprises:
a receiving unit includes an antenna portion that receives a wireless signal transmitted by radio;
a relay unit that relays the received wireless signal to the display body;
a light emitting unit adapted for emitting light based on a control signal;
and a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body.
21. (Currently amended) A connection device connectable to an electronic device which includes a display unit having a display surface, said connection device comprising: a receiving device for (i) receiving a wireless signal transmitted and (ii) detecting an approaching operation of a user's hand or a touching operation and, based on a detection result therefrom, for providing a sensor signal; relay circuitry for relaying the received wireless signal and the sensor signal to the electronic device; a storage compartment for storing the receiving device, the relay circuitry and the light emitting unit; and a device connection member for connecting the storage compartment to the electronic device so as to enable the connection device to be connected along a side of the electronic device and to be positioned along a front surface of the electronic device wherein the receiving device includes a film antenna having an antenna portion to receive the wireless signal and a touch detection portion configured to detect the approaching operation or the touching operation.
17. (New) The display according to claim 16, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Bluetooth signal.
22. (Original) The television receiver of claim 21, wherein the film antenna is a Bluetooth antenna.
18. (New) The display according to claim 16, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive near field communication signal.
23. (Original) The television receiver of claim 21, wherein the film antenna is a near field communication antenna.
19. (New) The display according to claim 16, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Wi-Fi signal.
24. (Original) The television receiver of claim 21, wherein the film antenna is a Wi-Fi communication antenna
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11595624 in view of Rofougaran (Pub 20090006677).
12. (New) A display comprising:
a display body;
and a storage unit connected to the display body, wherein the storage unit comprises:
a receiving unit includes an antenna portion that receives a wireless signal transmitted by radio;
a relay unit that relays the received wireless signal to the display body;
and a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least a front portion of the display body.
However a light emitting unit adapted for emitting light based on a control signal is not explicitly disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rofougaran (Pub 20090006677) discloses a light emitting unit adapted to emitting light based on a control signal, (indicator 8 fig 3 and Para. [0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claim by incorporating Rofougaran for the purpose of allowing operation state of a connected device to be determined.
20. (Currently amended) A connection device connectable to an electronic device which includes a display unit having a display surface,
the connection device comprising:
a receiver for (i) receiving a wireless signal transmitted by radio and (ii) detecting an approaching operation of a user's hand or a touching operation and, based on a detection result therefrom, for providing a sensor signal;
a relay that transmits the received wireless signal and the sensor signal to the electronic device; a storage case formed on a surface of the connection device and used to store the receiver and the relay;
and a connection member for connecting the storage case to the electronic device so as to enable the connection device to be connected to or along a portion of a front side of the electronic device, wherein the receiver includes a film antenna having an antenna portion to receive the wireless signal and a touch detection portion configured to detect the approaching operation or the touching operation.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 30 recites “ a light guide plate positioned adjacent to the light emitting unit configured to guide light generated from the light emitting unit toward a front of the storage unit toward a rear side of the storage unit”. Examiner notes the claim is examined and interpreted that the light is generated and guided toward a front of the storage unit and toward a rear side of the storage unit. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 12 - 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub 20070228139) in view of Rofougaran (Pub 20090006677).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses a display body (system 150 comprising host
computing device fig 3 and Par. [0039]);
and a storage unit connected to the display body, (USB drive 200 fig 1/fig 3 and Para.
[0029])
wherein the storage unit comprises:
a receiving unit includes an antenna portion that receives a wireless signal transmitted by radio, (RF receiver chip 208 fig 5 which includes antenna 207 fig 5 and Para. [0040]) ;
a relay unit that relays the received wireless signal to the display body, (demodulator
205 fig 5 and Para. [0030]);
and a connection unit for connecting the storage unit to the display body along at least
a front portion of the display body, (USB interface 204 and Para. [0030] examiner notes connection along at least a front portion of a display body is a design choice).
However, a light emitting unit adapted for emitting light based on a control signal is not
disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rofougaran discloses a light emitting unit adapted to emitting light based on a control signal, (indicator 8 fig 3 and Para. [0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang by including a light emitting unit for the benefit of determining whether a device functions properly.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the connection unit further comprises: a terminal connection part which is connected to a connection terminal, wherein the storage unit stores the terminal connection part, (connection unit “USB” comprises a terminal connection part “USB bus” which is stored in storage unit “USB drive 200”, Para. [0026] and Fig 4).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses wherein the terminal connection part is a USB part, (USB interface 204 and Para. [0030]).
Claim 15 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Rofougaran in view of Kim (Pub 20130316664).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein the antenna
portion includes a film antenna is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses wherein the antenna portion includes a film
antenna, (Para. [0026]). It would have been obvious to modify the combination by incorporating Kim for the benefit of reducing component size thereby allowing miniature device design.
Claim 16-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Rofougaran in view of Jeung (Pub 20130314302).
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein the antenna
portion includes a plurality of parts for receiving different communication signals is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeung discloses wherein the antenna portion includes a
plurality of parts for receiving different communication signals, (note first terminal construed as display body may connect with external terminal construed as storage unit comprising different communication means such as WiFi, NFC, and Bluetooth, (Para. [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Jeung for the benefit of allowing reception/transmission of different signals thereby increasing the functionality of electronic devices.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Bluetooth signal is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeung discloses wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Bluetooth signal, (Para. [0072] Bluetooth). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Jeung for the benefit of allowing reception/transmission of different signals thereby increasing the functionality of electronic devices.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive near field communication signal is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeung discloses wherein antenna portion is configured to receive near field communication signal, (NFC Para. [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Jeung for the benefit of allowing reception/transmission of different signals thereby increasing the functionality of electronic devices.
Regarding claim 19, the combination discloses claim 12. However, where in antenna portion is configured to receive Wi-Fi signal is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeung discloses where in antenna portion is configured to receive Wi-Fi signal, WiFi Para. [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Jeung for the benefit of allowing reception/transmission of different signals thereby increasing the functionality of electronic devices.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Bluetooth signal, near field communication signal and Wi-Fi signal is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeung discloses wherein antenna portion is configured to receive Bluetooth signal, near field communication signal and Wi-Fi signal, (see connection using one or more wireless protocols Para. [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Jeung for the benefit of allowing reception/transmission of different signals thereby increasing the functionality of electronic devices.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Rofougaran in view of Rada (Pub 20070002846).
Regarding claim 21, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein the light
emitting unit comprises a plurality of LEDs, (note visual indicators may comprise different LEDs emitting different colors is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rada discloses wherein the light emitting unit comprises a
plurality of LEDs, (note visual indicators may comprise different LEDs emitting different colors, Para. [0117]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Rada for the benefit of distinguishing among different device modes of operation and/or state of operation.
Regarding claim 22, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein the light
emitting unit is configured to provide, red, green, blue light is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rada discloses wherein the light emitting unit is configured to provide, red, green, blue light, (Para. [0117]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Rada for the benefit of distinguishing among different device modes of operation and/or state of operation.
Claim 23, 24 and 31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Rofougran in view of Sugamura (Pub 20090027224).
Regarding claim 23, the combination discloses claim 12. However, a light guide plate
positioned adjacent to the light emitting unit configured to guide light generated from the light emitting unit toward a front of the storage unit is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugamura discloses a light guide plate positioned adjacent
to the light emitting unit configured to guide light generated from the light emitting unit toward a front of the storage unit, (see light guide plate 16 fig 9 for guiding emission of light source 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sugamura for the benefit of alerting a user to device state or mode of operation.
Regarding claim 24, the combination discloses claim 12. However, wherein the light guide plate has a concave portion that houses the light emitting unit is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugamura discloses wherein the light guide plate has a concave portion that houses the light emitting unit, (see light guide 16 fig 9 comprising a concave portion around light source 32 fig 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sugamura for the benefit of selecting best suitable design for fitting and integrating a light emitting unit and light guide plate with different components thereby conserving space.
Regarding claim 31, the combination discloses claim 23. However, wherein the light guide plate has a concave portion that houses the light emitting unit is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugamura discloses wherein the light guide plate has a concave portion that houses the light emitting unit, (see light guide 16 fig 9 comprising a concave portion around light source 32 fig 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sugamura for the benefit of selecting best suitable design for fitting and integrating a light emitting unit and light guide plate with different components thereby conserving space.
Claim 25 and 26 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Rofougaran in view of Rada in view of Sugamura.
Regarding claim 25, the combination discloses claim 21. However, a light guide plate
positioned adjacent to the light emitting unit configured to guide light generated from the light emitting unit toward a front of the storage unit is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugamura discloses a light guide plate positioned adjacent
to the light emitting unit configured to guide light generated from the light emitting unit toward a front of the storage unit, (see light guide plate 16 fig 9 for guiding emission of light source 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sugamura for the benefit of selecting best suitable design for fitting and integrating a light emitting unit and light guide plate with different components thereby conserving space.
Regarding claim 26, the combination discloses claim 25. However, wherein the light guide plate has a concave portion that houses the light emitting unit is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugamura discloses wherein the light guide plate has a concave portion that houses the light emitting unit, (see light guide 16 fig 9 comprising a concave portion around light source 32 fig 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sugamura for the benefit of selecting best suitable design for fitting and integrating a light emitting unit and light guide plate with different components thereby conserving space.
Claim 27 and 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Rofougaran in view of Rada in view of Sugamura in view of Sasaki (Pub 20120057085).
Regarding claim 27, the combination discloses claim 26. However, wherein at least one
LED of the plurality of LEDs is positioned in back of a plane formed by the front portion of the display body is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sasaki discloses wherein at least one LED of the plurality of
LEDs is positioned in back of a plane formed by the front portion of the display body, (see mask 14 fig 1-fig 5 and fig which covers a front side of display panel 12. The mask comprising at least one LED (25/26 fig 2-fig 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sasaki for the benefit of selecting best suitable design for fitting and integrating a light emitting unit and light guide plate with different components thereby conserving space.
Regarding claim 28, the combination discloses claim 26. However, wherein at least one LED of the plurality of LEDs is positioned in front of a plane formed by the front portion of the display body is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sasaki discloses wherein at least one LED of the plurality of LEDs is positioned in front of a plane formed by the front portion of the display body, (see LED 25/26 Fig 2 wherein the LEDs are positioned on mask 14 which overs a front portion of display panel 12. Note the LEDs are positioned in front of display panel 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sasaki for the benefit of selecting best suitable design for fitting and integrating a light emitting unit and light guide plate with different components thereby conserving space.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422